Science Film Festival

The Prize of the Jury

Title: The Physics of Light

Director: Si Joon Kim, Hyung Joon Kim
Produced by: Korea Educational Broadcasting System
Country: South Korea
Year: 2014
Running Time: 52 Minutes

Winner 2015: The Physics of Light

The film takes the viewer on an amazing scientific journey through the physics of light. Focusing on this crucial theme about the nature of the universe, it focuses on Einstein´s life, explaining his thoughts and discoveries through an inventive approach. Engaging sequences presented by the host take the viewer from past to future, connecting ideas and concepts and enriching our understanding of light in a way that is both informative and entertaining. The production uses re-enactments of historical events and figures and an imaginative narration structure to explain the concept of time and the Theory of Relativity exceptionally well. In the International Year of Light 2015, this is an outstanding film on this year’s festival theme.