We Are Young. We Are Strong.

We are Young. We are Strong. (Wir sind jung. Wir sind stark.)

We are Young. We are Strong. (c) Stephan Rabold  teamWorx Television & Film GmbH
We are Young. We are Strong. (c) Stephan Rabold  teamWorx Television & Film GmbH
  • SIGNIS Award, AMC Best Editing & Sorriso diverson Roma (Rome 2014)
  • International Jury Special Award (Sofia 2015)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Joel Basman (German Film Award 2015)
  • Best Direction VOICES (Vologda 2015)

Germany, 2014, black and white and color, 127 min., German and Vietnamese with English subtitles
Director: Burhan Qurbani Screenplay: Martin Behnke, Burhan Qurbani Producers: Jochen Laube, Leif Alexis With: Jonas Nay, Trang Le Hong, Devid Striesow, Joel Basman, Saskia Rosendahl Sales: Beta Cinema, Munich, Germany

Discussion with scriptwriter Martin Behnke follows both screenings.

In August 1992, three years after the wall came down and Germany reunified, anti-immigration rioting jolted the former East German port city of Rostock. Protesters rallied against the massive refugee reception center situated between a number of high-rise apartment blocks, and the large number of people it held. One plot strand focuses on Lien (Trang Le Hong), a young Vietnamese woman. Another follows Stefan (Jonas Nay) and his restless, angry chums, while a third depicts Martin (Devid Striesow), an ambitious yet repressed local politician. As an on-screen clock counts down the time and cinematographer Yoshi Heimrath’s camera switches from the “old” black and white world to brave yet chaotic color, this urgently timely broad-stroke drama recreates an event that helped push a calcified society into the modern, multi-cultural Germany of today.

Tuesday, November 10, 6:30 and 9:30 pm
Related links

Burhan Qurbani (c) betacinema

Burhan Qurbani
(b. 1980, Erkelenz, Germany) is an Afghan-German director whose family moved to Germany during the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan. He studied at the Film Academy Baden-Württemberg. His films include the short Illusion (2007), which won the German Film Critics prize, and Faith (2010), recipient of the German Art House Cinema award.