Paula Nascimento

Paula Nascimento (1981) is an architect and independent curator based in Luanda. She is the co-founder of Beyond Entropy Africa, a research studio that operates on the fields of architecture, visual arts and geopolitics and developed a series of curatorial projects bridging art and architecture and design including Luanda Encyclopedic City, the award-winning Angola Pavilion at the Venice Biennale in 2013. As an independent curator, Paula has been working on interdisciplinary projects and exploring post-colonial themes, identity construction, contemporary readings for historical themes. She has curated a number of exhibitions in Angola, South Africa, Portugal, Italy, Bamako Biennial, Lubumbashi Bienial and is the curator of African section and talks at Arco Lisbon Art Fair. Paula is also a founding member of Colectivo Pes Descalços, a platform based in Luanda dedicated to educational projects in the cultural field, and a contributor to several publications.

Gabi Ngcobo

Since the early 2000’s Gabi Ngcobo has been engaged in collaborative artistic, curatorial, and educational projects in South Africa and on an international scope. She is a founding member of the Johannesburg based collaborative platforms NGO – Nothing Gets Organised and Center for Historical Reenactments (CHR, 2010–14). NGO focusses on processes of self-organization that take place outside of predetermined structures, definitions, contexts, or forms. The CHR responded to the demands of the moment through an exploration of how historical legacies impact and resonate within contemporary art.
Ngcobo curated the 10th Berlin Biennale of Contemporary Art and was one of the co-curators of the 32nd Bienal de São Paulo.  Recent exhibitions also include All in a Day’s Eye: The Politics of Innocence in the Javett Art Collection at the Javett Art Center at the University of Pretoria, Mating Birds Vol.2 at the KZNSA Gallery both in 2019, A Labour of Love, 2015, at Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt am Main, DE. She has worked at the Iziko South African National Gallery in Cape Town, SA, and at the Cape Africa Platform where she co-curated the Cape07 Biennale, 2007, Cape Town, South Africa. In the past she has collaborated with various institutions including Centro Atlantico de Arte Moderno (CAAM), Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain; Durban Art Gallery, South Africa; Joburg Art Fair, Johannesburg, South Africa; Johannesburg Workshop in Theory and Criticism (JWTC), Johannesburg, South Africa; LUMA/Westbau, Pool, Zurich, Switzerland; New Museum, Museum as Hub, New York, US; and Raw Material Company, Dakar, Senegal, amongst others.
 
She has been teaching at the Wits School of Arts, University of Witswatersrand, South Africa since 2011. Her writings have been published in various catalogues, books, and journals. She currently lives and works in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Sarah Rifky

Sarah Rifky is co-founder of Beirut, an art initiative in Cairo, and founder of CIRCA (Cairo International Resource Center for Art). She has served as artistic director of ArteEast in New York (2017–18), co-curator of Jogjakarta Biennale XII (2013), curator of Townhouse (2009–11), and curatorial Agent for dOCUMENTA(13) (2012). She is co-editor of Thresholds 47:Repeat, Positionen: Zeitgenössische Künstler aus der Arabischen Welt and Damascus: Artists, Tourists and Secret Agents. She is author of The Going Insurrection (2012). Rifky is a Ph.D. candidate in History, Theory and Criticism at the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture at MIT in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Jury

Paula Nascimento Photo by Mário Macilau

Paula Nascimento

Paula Nascimento (1981) ist eine in Luanda ansässige Architektin und unabhängige Kuratorin. Sie ist eine Mitbegründerin von Beyond Entropy Africa, einem Forschungsstudio welches im Bereich der Architektur, visueller Kunst und der Geopolitik agiert und das eine Reihe kurativer Projekte entwickelt hat, welche eine Brücke zwischen Kunst, Architektur und Design schlagen. Eines dieser Projekte war Luanda Encyclopedic City, dem preisgekrönten angolanischen Pavillon auf der Biennale di Venezia 2013. Als unabhängige Kuratorin hat Paula an vielen interdisziplinären Projekten gearbeitet, die sich unter anderem mit den Motiven des Postkolonioalismus, Identitätskonstruktion und der gegenwärtigen Lesart historischer Themen beschäftigt. Sie kuratierte eine Vielzahl von Ausstellungen in Angola, Südafrika, Portugal, Italien, Bamako Biennial, Lubumbashi Bienial und ist die Kuratorin der afrikanischen Sektion und Diskussionen bei der Arco Lisbon Kunstmesse. Paula trägt zudem zu einer Reihe verschiedener Publikationen bei und ist ein Grundüngsmitglied des Colectivo Pes Descalços, einer in Luanda ansässigen Plattform, die sich erzieherischen Projekten im kulturellen Bereich widmet.

Gabi Ngcobo Photo by Sofia Colucci courtesy Fundação Bienal de São Paulo

Gabi Ngcobo

Gabi Ngcobo ist seit den frühen 2000er Jahren mit kollaborativer Kunst, kurativen und lehrenden Projekten in Südafrika und mit internationalem Ausmaß beschäftigt. Sie ist ein Grundüngsmitglied der in Johannesburg basierten kollaborativen Plattform Nothing Gets Organised (NGO) und dem Center for HIstorical Reenachtmens (CHR, 2010-2014). NGO befasst sich mit Prozessen der Selbstorganisation, die außerhalb vorbestimmter Strukturen, Definitionen, Kontexte oder Formen stattfindet. Das CHR war eine Antwort auf momentane Bedürfnisse indem es erkundete, wie historisches Erbe kontemporäre Kunst beeinflusst.
Ngcobo kuratierte die 10. Berlin Biennale der Gegenwartskunst und war Mitkuratorin der 32. Bienal de São Paulo. Ihre neueren Ausstelungen beinhalten All In a Day's Eye: The Politics of Innocence in der Javett Art Collection am Javett Art Center an der Universität Pretoria, Mating Birds Vol. 2 in der KZNSA Gallerie, beide im Jahr 2019, A Labour of Love im Weltkulturen Museum Frankfurt am Main im Jahr 2015, Sie arbeitet in der Iziko South African National Gallerie in Kapstadt, Südafrika, und an der Cape Africa Platform, wo sie 2007 die Cape07 Biennale mitkuratierte. Sie kollaborierte bereits mit den verschiedensten Institutionen zusammen, einschließlich dem Centro Atlantico de Arte Moderno (CAAM), Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spanien; der Durban Art Gallery in Durban, Südafrika, der Joburg Art Fair und dem Johannesburg Workshop in Theory and Criticism (JWTC), die beide Johannesburg, Südafrika veortet sind; dem LUMA/Westbau Pool, in Zürich in der Schweiz; dem New Museum, Museum as Hub, New York, USA; und der Raw Material Company, Dakar, Senegal, sowie vielen weiteren.

Sie lehrt seit 2011 an der Wits School of Arts in Witswatersrand, Südafrika. Ihre Schriften wurden in diversen Katalogen, Büchern und Zeitschriften veröffentlicht. Sie lebt und arbeitet derzeit in Johannesburg, Südafrika.

Sarah Rifky Photo by Randa Effat

Sarah Rifky

Sarah Risky ist Mitbegründerin von Beirut, einer Kunstinitiative in Kairo und Gründerin von CIRCA (Cairo International Resource Center for Art). Sie arbeitete als künstlerische Leiterin von ArteEast in New York (2017-18), Mitkuratorin von Townhouse (2009-11) und k
Sie ist Redakteurin für Thresholds 47:Repeat, Positionen: Zeitgenössische Künstler aus der Arabischen Welt und Damascus: Artists, Tourists and Secret Agents. Sie ist Autorin von The Going Insurrection (2012). Rifky promoviert in Geschichte, Theorie und Kritik am Aga Khan Programm für islamische Architektur am MIT in Cambridge, Massachusetts.