Musikraum

Musikraum


Music spaces in the Arab World

Living rooms turn into concert halls, kitchens morph into auditoriums. Popular entertainers jamming on couches, up-and-coming artists showcasing their skills between coffee tables and bookcases. The Goethe-Institutes in the region Middle East/North Africa present live performances in private homes. Inspired by the Hamburg-based project www.kuechensessions.de. Young musicians as well as seasoned bands offer a wide range of music, from traditional songs to Arabic Alternative Rock, reflecting their environments with contemporary lyrics and modern sounds.

Yet the events are not confined to their tiny venues. Each concert can be experienced by a worldwide audience online, which allows artists to showcase their art to a large audience and connect with one another. In a region, where concerts in public spaces are often socially restricted, music becomes alive in private spaces and the internet.

The live concerts are organized as small, local events in a private setting, which means that the select audience can get up close and personal with the musicians. The concerts are held all over the Arabic world, in Alexandria, Beirut, Bethlehem, Baghdad, Gaza, Cairo, Khartoum, Ramallah and Tunis.

A regional curatorial jury was formed by experts from the Arab World and Germany: Laura Hartz (Director of the Goethe-Institut Ramallah til June 2017), Ahmed Qatamesh (Musician and Cultural Manager), Angie Balata (Cultural Manager and expert in the Arab music scene) and Jens Pfeifer (Producer and Sound Engineer) have been responsible for the selection of the Bands and the implementation of the project.

For more Information:
Mona Kriegler
Director
Goethe-Institut Palestinian Territories
mona.kriegler@goethe.de

Thomas Scheele
Programme Coordinator
Goethe-Institut Palestinian Territories
thomas.scheele@goethe.de
The objective of both the Goethe Institut and the Hamburg kitchen sessions is to connect musicians with one another and make their music accessible to audiences in the Arab world as well as in Germany.
 
The “Hamburg Küchensessions” project is a video blog, a concert series and a CD project offering both up-and-coming singer-songwriters as well as popular artists a platform to publicize their work. Through the cooperation with the Goethe-Institut now also musicians from Egypt, Lebanon, Iraq, the Palestinian territories and Sudan get involved. The individual gigs of the music room are freely available online, for instance on their own YouTube channel as well as on this Website. The cooperation began in April 2016 and will continued at least until the end of 2017.
Public concerts with Arabic and German musicians are also held in Hamburg, organized by our partner Hamburger Küchensessions!

Next Concert:

Hamburger Küchensessions Festival, 05.11.2017 in Hamburg


 
Current press information:
  • WDR: New platform for Arab music. Kitchen Sessions goes Cairo. More
  • dotmsr: From inside the kitchen "Music Connection". More
  • WDR: A concert between Stove and refrigerator. More
  • Deutschlandradio Kultur: Fleeing the censorship. More
  • Goethe-Institut: Concerts between pots and pans: More
  • Tibe96.0: Hamburger Küchensessions gehen raus! Arabia Special. More
  • Siegerland Kurier: Live-Performance reminds us of the Situation in der Arab World. More
  • Gymnasium Stift Keppel: East meets West in the Stiftsküche. More
  • DW: A platform for independent sing- and songwriters. More.
  • DANDIN: Music spaces in the Arab World. More
  • Goethe-Institut: The Voices of the City Khartoum. More
  • Goethe-Institut: Podcast. More

NEW

Safar Banner


BEIRUT

Mo Ali Banner


KHARTOUM

Mafar Banner


BETHLEHEM

Donia & Beshr  Banner


ALEXANDRIA

Shereen Abdo Banner


CAIRO

Filter Happier Banner


BEIRUT

Songwriter

MORE VIDEOS

Jerusalem Musikraum


Interview with Maysa Daw

Lamma Musikraum


Behind the Scenes in Bethlehem

Die Musikerinnen und Musiker

  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Bagdad Musikvideo Inanna © Goethe-Institut
  • Bagdad Musikvideo Inanna © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut

Partner

Musikraum

Musikraum

Musikräume in der arabischen Welt


Das Wohnzimmer wird zum Konzertsaal. Die Küche zur großen Bühne. Namenhafte Künstlerinnen jammen auf dem Sofa und aufstrebende Newcomer präsentieren sich zwischen Couchtisch und Bücherregal von ihrer besten Seite. Die Goethe-Institute in der Region Nordafrika/Nahost präsentieren Live-Performances in Privaträumen – in Anlehnung an das Hamburger Projekt www.kuechensessions.de. Junge Musikerinnen und Musiker sowie erfahrene Bands bieten eine breite Palette von traditionellem Liedgut bis hin zu Arabic Alternative Rock. Dabei reflektieren sie ihre Umgebung mit zeitgenössischer Lyrik und modernen Klängen.

Doch die Veranstaltung endet nicht im kleinen Kreis. Das Herzstück des Projekts ist eine Onlineplattform, auf der jedes Konzert weltweit und immer wieder von neuem erlebbar ist. So bekommen die Künstlerinnen und Künstler die Gelegenheit, sich auch einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren und gegenseitig mehr über sich herauszufinden. In einer Region, in der Konzerte im öffentlichen Raum oftmals gesellschaftlichen Restriktionen unterliegen, wird Musik im Privatraum und Internet erlebbar.  

Die Live-Konzerte werden als kleine, lokale Veranstaltungen in privater Atmosphäre organisiert, wobei das Publikum ganz nah an die Musik herankommt. Die Konzerte finden verteilt in der arabischen Welt in Alexandria, Beirut, Bethlehem, Baghdad, Gaza, Kairo, Khartum, Ramallah oder Tunis statt.

Eine regionale Kuratoren-Jury wurde durch Experten sowohl aus der arabischen Welt, als auch aus Deutschland gebildet: Laura Hartz (Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Ramallah bis Juni 2017), Ahmed Qatamesh (Musiker und Kulturmanager), Angie Balata (Kulturmanagerin und Expertin in der arabischen Musikszene) und Jens Pfeifer (Produzent und Tontechniker) waren für die Auswahl der Bands, sowie für die Projektumsetzung verantwortlich.

Weitere Information:
Mona Kriegler
Institusleitung
Goethe-Institut Palästinensische Gebiete
mona.kriegler@goethe.de

Thomas Scheele
Programmkoordinator
Goethe-Institut Palästinensische Gebiete
thomas.scheele@goethe.de



 
Das Goethe-Institut und Hamburger Küchensessions möchten mit ihrer Initiative Musikerinnen und Musiker miteinander vernetzten und für das Publikum in der arabischen Welt ebenso wie in Deutschland zugänglich machen.

Die Hamburger Küchensessions sind ein Video-Blog, eine Konzertreihe und CD-Projekt, das sowohl Newcomern der Singer-Songwriter-Szene, als auch namhaften Künstlern eine Plattform bietet. Durch die Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut werden nun auch verstärkt Musikerinnen und Musiker aus Ägypten, dem Libanon, dem Irak, den Palästinensischen Gebieten und dem Sudan eingebunden. Die einzelnen Sessions des Musikraums sind als Video frei im Internet, unter anderem in einem separaten Kanal auf YouTube sowie auf dieser Website, einsehbar. Die Kooperation begann im April 2016 und läuft noch mindestens bis Ende 2017.

 
Öffentliche Konzerte werden auch mit arabischen und deutschen Musikerinnen und Musikern in Hamburg veranstaltet. Die Sommer-Konzertreihe „Hamburger Küchensessions gehen raus!“ wird seit 2014 in Szenetreffs der norddeutschen Metropole organisiert.

Mehr Infos:

www.kuechensessions.de/gehen-raus-2016/
Aktuell aus der Presse:
  • WDR: Neue Plattform für arabische Musik. Küchensession goes Kairo. Weiter
  • dotmsr: Aus der Küche "Musikverbidung". Weiter
  • WDR: Konzerte zwischen Herd und Kühlschrank. Weiter
  • Deutschlandradio Kultur: Flucht vor der Zensur. Weiter
  • Goethe-Institut: Konzerte zwischen Herd und Pfanne: Weiter
  • Tibe96.0: Hamburger Küchensessions gehen raus! Arabia Special. Weiter
  • Siegerland Kurier: Live-Performance zur Erinnerung an die Situation in der arabischen Welt. Weiter
  • Gymnasium Stift Keppel: Osten trifft Westen in der Stiftsküche. Weiter
  • DW: Eine Plattform für unabhängige arabischer Liedermacher Weiter
  • DANDIN: Musikräume in der Arabischen Welt. Weiter
  • Goethe-Institut: Die Stimmen der Stadt Khartum. Weiter
  • Goethe-Institut: Podcast zu Musikraum. Weiter

NEU

Alko B


BEIRUT

Typo Teaser


Gaza

Jerusalem Musikraum


Jerusalem

Songwriter

MEHR VIDEOS

Jerusalem Musikraum


Interview mit Maysa Daw

Lamma Musikraum


Behind the Scenes in Bethlehem

Die Musikerinnen und Musiker

  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Bagdad Musikvideo Inanna © Goethe-Institut
  • Bagdad Musikvideo Inanna © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut
  • Musikraum © Goethe-Institut

Partner

Hamburger Küchensessions

IN KOOPERATION MIT:





 



 

SOCIAL MEDIA:

  SoundCloud