Advisory Boards

Committee to the Goethe Medal

Once a year, the Goethe-Institut awards the Goethe Medal, an official decoration of the Federal Republic of Germany. The Committee to the Goethe-Medal consisting of persons from the fields of science, literature, art and theatre pre-selects the awardees which have to be affirmed by the Board of Trustees.

Egon Ammann, publisher, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Aleida Assmann, University of Konstanz, department of literature studies/anglistics

Dr. Jens Bisky, journalist, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Christina von Braun (chairwoman to the committee), cultural scientist, writer, film-maker, Humboldt University in Berlin

Dr. Ina Hartwig, literature critic, Frankfurt

Ulrich Khuon, director Deutsches Theater, Berlin

Dr. Navid Kermani
, writer and orientalist, Köln

Eva Menasse, writer, Berlin

Elisabeth Ruge, author and literature agent, Berlin

Dr. Nike Wagner, Artistic Director of Beethovenfest Bonn

Representative of the Federal Foreign Office

MinDir Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans-Ulrich Seidt, Federal Foreign Office, Head of the Department for Culture and Communication, Berlin

Representative of the Board of Trustees

Volker Doppelfeld, 1st Vice-President of the Goethe-Institut e.V., Munich

Representatives of the Goethe-Institut

Prof. Dr. h.c. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, President of the Goethe-Institut

Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut