Documentation Centre for the History of National Socialism A place of historical and political learning for Munich

A documentation centre for the era of National Socialism has long been a subject of debate in Munich. Now the shell of the building is ready for fitting out and plans for the permanent exhibition are well under way. Winfried Nerdinger, university professor und founding director of the Documentation Centre for the History of National Socialism talks about the concept of this project that is now taking shape.

Building site NS Documentation Centre Munich Building site NS Documentation Centre Munich | Photo: NS Documentation Centre Munich/Jens Weber Professor Nerdinger, you have backed the idea of a Munich NS Documentation Centre since the nineteen eighties. In cooperation with citizens’ initiatives, and in particular the Community Initiative for a NS Documentation Centre, you have now succeeded in getting this project off the ground. What is the key concern and central aim of a NS Documentation Centre in Munich?

The Documentation Centre for the History of National Socialism has a sub-heading “A place of historical and political learning for the future”. The centre therefore has two tasks to perform: on the one hand it addresses this history of National Socialism that originated in Munich. This is to be a place where the citizens of Munich, young people and visitors from all over the world can discover the origin and meaning of National Socialism in Munich – there has not been a place of this kind before; and on the other hand, it is a place of learning, where people can learn to understand how such a movement could develop and the consequences that each of us should draw from it.

The central question that the permanent exhibition explores is “What has this got to do with me?” It is therefore not just intended to recall the sequence of historic events, but also and most importantly to make clear how significant this topic still is today; and to say “Never again!” – so that nothing like this can ever happen again.

Winfried Nerdinger, Founding Director of the NS Documentation Centre in Munich Winfried Nerdinger, Founding Director of the NS Documentation Centre in Munich | Photo: NS Documentation Centre in Munich/Zintel The exhibition area covers approximately 1.200 square metres and takes the visitor along a chronological path that starts at the top of the building and then leads down. What are the most important topic areas of the exhibition?

The permanent exhibition commences on the fourth floor. This area addresses the question: Why and how did National Socialism develop in Munich? The exhibition starts with the “great seminal catastrophe”, World War I. It also picks up the ideological roots from the 19th century to then continue through the period of the Weimar Republic up to the seizure of power in 1933. The next section on the third floor is devoted to the era of National Socialism in Munich from 1933 up until the time when the war reached the city in 1941/42. The visitors then move on to the second floor that concerns the wartime period in Munich from 1942 until 1945; this is directly followed by an investigation into the ways in which Munich faced up to its national socialist past and also how it failed to do so. The question here is how the people and also political figures addressed the issue of Munich being the “Capital City of the Movement”. This theme is continued on the first floor and leads up to the present day.

At the end of the exhibition a map shows the visitors other places in Munich and Bavaria that were linked with National Socialism. The story being told therefore does not end in the Documentation Centre. There is also a large wall displaying all the current topical issues, including, for example, the National Socialist Underground (NSU) processes, so that after taking a walk through history the visitors are forced to take a look at themselves and the present day.

Documents and historical objects have been intentionally left out, this makes the Documentation Centre different from other similar establishments, why is this important?

This is due to the theme and the content of the exhibition - the centre is not a memorial. In a memorial it is important to gain an insight into the victims’ biographies and their background and to unfold their living environment with the help of realia. The Documentation Centre presents a “Täterort”, that means the location associated with the perpetrators, a place where we approach the figures who inflicted the suffering. The aim is not to foster empathy, but to create a deeper understanding. This is not a place that needs objects or uniforms and SS Ehrendolche (presentation daggers), here it is important to focus on the backgrounds, functions, behaviour and biographies.

The task of this centre is quite different to that of a memorial. The Documentation Centre is erected over a “Täterort”. Its concept is also embedded in this site. Already when entering the building the visitors are informed about where they are actually standing: right on the site that was originally the headquarters of the NSDAP, inside the “Brown Haus”; and after taking the elevator to the fifth floor the view opens out over the former Nazi party administrative district at the Königsplatz square. The visitors are faced here with the authentic location.

Design new construction Design new construction | Picture: Georg Scheel Wetzel Architekten/LH München This is a most important part of the concept: the visitor can always see the authentic location at the corresponding places in the exhibition, and it is for this reason that there are practically no virtual reconstructions or electronic media within the permanent exhibition. This is not a place for virtual presentations in a playful fashion, these could otherwise lead to a blurring between the ‘real’ and the ‘virtual’ - particularly in the case of young people, or possibly quite generally with future generations. This place is authentic and for this reason the topographic integration is repeatedly emphasised, such as the view onto the “Führerbau” which is the building where the “Munich Agreement” was signed. This is not a virtual event, it actually happened here.

Besides the permanent exhibition the Documentation Centre is to be an active place of learning, what are the plans in this respect?

Just a little more than half of the floor space in this building can be seen above ground. There are also two basement storeys that extend beyond the boundaries of the cube structure. These areas are for more in-depth study, with areas for pedagogical and didactic presentation. Here there is a database that provides detailed information on everything displayed in the permanent exhibition, and a great deal more.

Design foyer Design foyer | Picture: Georg Scheel Wetzel Architekten/LH München The permanent exhibition area is limited, here we can present perhaps 200 portraits. There are, of course, so many more people who are important, both victims and perpetrators, and visitors will be able to find out more about them in the basement areas. The databases also provide lists of deported persons, concentration camps and industrial sites, for example. Besides this, there are interactive communication means that are being developed within a cooperation and research project with the TU München. Touchscreen tables will visualise locations where events took place. It will, for instance, be possible to see where Jewish citizens used to live, how they were then cramped into so-called “Jew Houses” and later deported. In this in-depth study area it will therefore be possible to visualise individual topics using state-of-the-art technology.

Up until September 2012 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Winfried Nerdinger, architectural historian, was professor of architectural history at the TU München and Director of the TU München Architectural Museum in the art gallery Pinakothek der Moderne. Since October 2012 he has been Founding Director of the NS Documentation Centre in Munich that is due to open at the end of 2014.

The architects Georg Scheel Wetzel from Berlin designed the building. The landscaping is by Weidinger Landschaftsarchitekten, the artwork for the Documentation Centre is by Benjamin und Emanuel Heisenberg.

NS-Dokumentationszentrum Ein Erinnerungs- und Lernort für München

Lange wurde in München über ein Dokumentationszentrum über die Zeit des Nationalsozialismus diskutiert, nun steht der Rohbau und die Planungen für die Dauerausstellung sind in vollem Gange. Winfried Nerdinger, Hochschulprofessor und Gründungsdirektor des NS-Dokumentationszentrums erläutert im Gespräch das Konzept des künftigen Hauses.

Baustelle NS-Dokumentationszentrum München Baustelle NS-Dokumentationszentrum München | Foto: NS-Dokumentationszentrum München/Jens Weber Herr Nerdinger, Sie haben sich seit den 1980er-Jahren für ein Münchner NS-Dokumentationszentrum engagiert. Im Verbund mit Bürgerinitiativen, insbesondere mit dem „Initiativkreis für ein NS-Dokumentationszentrum“ ist es Ihnen gelungen, das Projekt auf den Weg zu bringen. Was ist das zentrale Anliegen, was ist die Aufgabe eines NS-Dokumentationszentrums in München?

Dieses NS-Dokumentationszentrum hat ja noch einen Untertitel, der heißt „Lern- und Erinnerungsort zur Geschichte des Nationalsozialismus“. Das bedeutet, es geht um zwei Aufgabenbereiche: zum einen um eine Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte des Nationalsozialismus, der in München entstanden ist. Es soll ein Ort entstehen, an dem Münchner Bürger, Jugendliche und Besucher aus allen Ländern über die Herkunft und Bedeutung des Nationalsozialismus in München informiert werden, denn das gab es bisher nicht. Und es ist zum zweiten ein Lernort, das heißt, dort kann gelernt werden, wie es zur Herrschaft der Nationalsozialisten kommen konnte und welche Konsequenzen jeder Einzelne für sich daraus ziehen sollte.

Winfried Nerdinger, Gründungsdirektor des NS-Dokumentationszentrum München Winfried Nerdinger, Gründungsdirektor des NS-Dokumentationszentrum München | Foto: NS-Dokumentationszentrum München/Zintel Deswegen steht als Leitfrage über der gesamten Dauerausstellung: „Was geht mich das an?“ Das heißt also, es geht nicht darum, nur einen historischen Ablauf noch einmal in Erinnerung zu rufen, sondern auch zu vermitteln, dass das heute noch von größter Bedeutung ist – durchaus auch im Sinne des „nie wieder!“.

Sie haben über vier Geschosse circa 1.200 Quadratmeter Ausstellungsfläche, die durch eine chronologische Wegeführung von oben nach unten erschlossen wird. Welches sind die wichtigsten Themenbereiche, die dort abgehandelt werden?

Die Dauerausstellung beginnt im vierten Obergeschoss. Dieses Geschoss widmet sich der Frage, warum und wie der Nationalsozialismus in München entstand. Die Ausstellung setzt ein mit der „Urkatastrophe“, mit dem Ersten Weltkrieg, greift aber auch zurück auf ideologische Wurzeln im 19. Jahrhundert und führt dann durch die Weimarer Republik bis hin zur Machtergreifung durch die Nationalsozialisten im Jahr 1933. Anschließend wird im dritten Obergeschoss die Zeit des Nationalsozialismus in München behandelt – von 1933 bis zu dem Zeitpunkt, an dem der Krieg in die Stadt kam, also bis 1941/42. Dann gelangt man in das zweite Obergeschoss, hier geht es um München im Krieg von 1942 bis 1945. Direkt daran anschließend folgt die Auseinandersetzung, wie auch die Nicht-Auseinandersetzung Münchens mit dem Nationalsozialismus. Dort wird der Frage nachgegangen, wie sich die Bevölkerung, aber auch die politisch Verantwortlichen mit dem Thema München als „Hauptstadt der Bewegung“ befasst haben. Diese Thematik wird noch im ersten Obergeschoss fortgesetzt und führt bis in die Gegenwart.

Am Ende der Ausstellung erfahren die Besucher zum einen durch eine Art Karte von anderen Orten, die in München und Bayern mit dem Nationalsozialismus in Verbindung standen. Die Geschichte endet also nicht im Dokumentationszentrum. Zum anderen werden an einer großen Wand alle aktuellen Themen bis hin zu den NSU-Prozessen ausgebreitet, sodass die Besucher, nachdem sie durch die Geschichte gegangen sind, mit sich selbst und mit ihrer Gegenwart konfrontiert sind.

Bewusst werden Dokumente und historische Objekte vermieden. Darin unterscheidet sich das Dokumentationszentrum auch von anderen Einrichtungen dieser Art, warum?

Das liegt am Inhalt und am Thema, es handelt sich hier nicht um eine Gedenkstätte. Dort ist es wichtig, in die Biografien und das Umfeld der Opfer einsteigen zu können, sich auch mittels Realia ihrer Lebenswelt anzunähern. Im Dokumentationszentrum geht es um einen sogenannten „Täterort“, das ist der Ort, an dem man sich mit den Personen auseinandersetzt, die Herrschaft und Verbrechen der Nationalsozialisten verursacht haben. Dabei geht es nicht darum, Empathie zu entwickeln, sondern Zusammenhänge zu verstehen. Dazu braucht es keine Gegenstände, auch keine Uniformen und Ehrendolche, sondern dafür müssen Hintergründe, Funktionen, Verhalten und biografische Verbindungen ausgeleuchtet werden.

Das heißt, dieses Haus hat eine ganz andere Aufgabe als eine Gedenkstätte. Die Konzeption des Dokumentationszentrums ist auch ganz bewusst auf diesen Ort als „Täterort“ ausgerichtet. Schon wenn man eintritt, erfährt man, wo man sich befindet: nämlich an der Stelle, wo ursprünglich die Parteizentrale der NSDAP war, im sogenannten „Braunen Haus“; und wenn man dann den Aufzug benutzt, kann man vom fünften Obergeschoss aus das ganze Umfeld des ehemaligen Parteiviertels am Königsplatz sehen, das heißt, man wird mit dem authentischen Ort konfrontiert.

Entwurf Neubau Entwurf Neubau | Bild: Georg Scheel Wetzel Architekten/LH München Das ist ganz bewusst ein Teil der Konzeption, dass man immer an den entsprechenden Stellen in der Ausstellung auf den authentischen Ort sehen kann und deswegen wird auch auf virtuelle Rekonstruktionen und auf elektronische Medien innerhalb der Dauerausstellung weitgehend verzichtet. Denn hier soll nichts in einem virtuellen spielerischen Raum vorgeführt werden, was gerade bei Jugendlichen, oder wahrscheinlich generell bei zukünftigen Generationen zu einer Verwischung von Realem und Virtuellem führen kann. Dieser Ort ist authentisch, deswegen immer wieder die topografischen Bezüge, beispielsweise der Blick auf den „Führerbau“. Hier wurde das „Münchner Abkommen“ unterzeichnet, das ist nichts Virtuelles, sondern da ist es passiert.

Über die ständige Ausstellung hinaus soll das Dokumentationszentrum zu einem lebendigen Lernort zu werden, was ist hier geplant?

Oberirdisch sieht man nur etwas mehr als die Hälfte der Fläche, die dieses Haus bietet. Es gibt noch zwei Untergeschosse, die über die Fläche des Kubus hinausgreifen. Hier befinden sich die Vertiefungsebenen, die Bereiche für die pädagogische und didaktische Auseinandersetzung. Dort wird man über eine Datenbank die Möglichkeit haben, noch einmal alles abzurufen, was man in der Dauerausstellung gesehen hat, und kann darüber hinaus noch weitere Informationen erhalten.

Entwurf Foyer Entwurf Foyer | Bild: Georg Scheel Wetzel Architekten/LH München Die Dauerausstellung ist per se begrenzt, da können wir vielleicht 200 Personen vorstellen. Es gibt natürlich viel mehr Personen, die wichtig sind, sowohl Täter als auch Opfer, über die kann man hier mehr erfahren. In den Datenbanken kann man auch zum Beispiel Deportiertenlisten, Lager- oder Industriestandorte sehen. Dazu werden in einem Kooperations- und Forschungsprojekt mit der Technischen Universität München interaktive Formen der Vermittlung entwickelt. Touchscreen-Tables, an denen man die historischen Orte visualisieren kann. Man kann beispielsweise sehen, wo jüdische Mitbürger gelebt haben, wie sie dann in sogenannte „Judenhäuser“ zusammengedrängt und später deportiert wurden. In diesem Vertiefungsbereich können also einzelne Themen mittels moderner Technologie visualisiert werden.

Diese individuelle Interaktion wurde aus Platzgründen und in Hinblick auf die erwarteten zahlreichen Besucher bewusst aus der Dauerausstellung herausgenommen und in die Vertiefungsebene gelegt. Im zweiten Untergeschoss befindet sich dann noch ein großer Versammlungsraum für 200 Personen für Filme, Vorträge und Symposien. Es gibt eigene Gruppenräume, in die sich Schulklassen oder andere Gruppen zur Vertiefung und Aufbereitung der Themen zurückziehen können. Das Haus ist somit auf diese beiden Richtungen ausgerichtet: Es ist Erinnerungsort und Lernort.

Der Architekturhistoriker Prof. Dr.-Ing. Winfried Nerdinger war bis September 2012 Professor für Architekturgeschichte an der Technischen Universität München sowie Direktor des Architekturmuseums der TU München in der Pinakothek der Moderne. Seit Oktober 2012 ist er der Gründungsdirektor des NS-Dokumentationszentrums in München, das Ende 2014 eröffnet wird.

Die Architekten des Gebäudes sind Georg Scheel Wetzel aus Berlin. Die Landschaftsarchitektur wird durch Weidinger Landschaftsarchitekten, die Kunst am Bau durch Benjamin und Emanuel Heisenberg gestaltet.