Citizens’ Initiatives We Are the City

At the latest since the public outrage over the Stuttgart 21 project, no major urban development project in Germany is begun without taking citizen participation into account early on. But for many citizens, being asked for their opinion is no longer sufficient. They want to be actively involved themselves, and develop solutions to problems for which city administrations and the real-estate business have no answers.

betahaus| Berlin betahaus| Berlin | Photo: Stephano Borghi In science, many projects are no longer being worked out by permanent employees, but by changing teams of free-lancers. The number of voluntary and involuntary self-employed is on the increase. But where do they find an affordable infrastructure that adapts to the changing order situation? Betahaus on Berlin’s Moritzplatz offers work stations that one can rent for a few days per month or for 24 hours at one go. On its spacious loft floors, chance places graphic artists and programmers next to translators, architects and designers next to solicitors, or video artists next to journalists. The central café of this co-working space has become a meeting place for the neighbourhood and a platform for new ideas and project partnerships.

German city administrations have now recognised the contributions that initiatives situated at the interface of art and economics are making. Recently, the Berlin real estate fund was directed to assess not only the market price, but also the neighbourhood public interest when evaluating the utilisation of plots of land. A key factor fort his development was the intensive engagement of a group of artists who had acquired the grounds of the former Rotaprint Printing Company in Berlin Wedding. Under the label Exrotaprint, the landmark ensemble was renovated and awakened to new life with a mixture of businesses, studios for culture producers and social service facilities.

Direct responsibility for the neighbourhood

An additional form of self-generated initiative has established itself as an influential niche product of the real-estate industry: the building group. Instead of purchasing an owner-occupied flat “off the self,” a number of persons take on the investment risk together. They can then take part in decision-making and save on average 25%-30%. However, building groups do not merely want housing that is inexpensive and customised to their needs and wishes; they also look for trans-generational types of housing and place value on sustainable construction. Their goal is to shape surroundings that are both urban and family-friendly, which makes them important catalysers of revitalisation of inner-city neighbourhoods. For this reason, urban planning policy in Berlin and Hamburg supports building groups in the financing phase by reserving plots of land.

The larger the initiatives become, the more responsibility they bear for the city’s public space. “Am Urban” in Berlin Kreuzberg, the largest building group to date, with 140 home-builders, stands out with its radically integrative concept. On the grounds of a former hospital, not only flats and commercial surfaces have arisen, but also facilities for mentally ill persons and publically accessible open spaces. Maintaining this openness and taking the linkage to the neighbourhood seriously now lies in the hands of the members.

Swapping crisis for city

In times of austerity, when municipalities’ finances scarcely suffice to care for existing parks, it is increasingly citizens’ initiatives that create new open spaces. In the Glauchaviertel in Halle an der Saale, citizens transformed a vacant lot into an urban garden. Next to a colourful meadow with a garden pond, patches of ground can be used free of charge for growing vegetables, fruit and herbs. Theatre performances, workshops on environmental topics and flea markets enliven the green space. The volunteer supporting association Postkult e. V. runs additional projects in the neighbourhood such as the swap-meet “Umsonstladen“ and the “Stadthof Glaucha“, which is being planned and renovated with young people.

City Garden Glaucha, Halle City Garden Glaucha, Halle | Photo: Postkult e. V. What kinds of opportunities for action are being opened up by citizens’ initiatives can be observed in particular in the crisis-ravaged cities of south-western Europe. In the Turin district Miraorti, residents and schools are utilising a vacant lot as a communal garden and experimental surface for small business ideas. In Lisbon, artists are founding a hotel where, as an artist-in-residence, one can pay with art as well. In Toulouse, designers are opening their studio next to a bulky waste disposal site. If one hands over something for disposal, one can experience how supposed rubbish is transformed into a trendy design piece.

In 2013, under the title “We-Traders. Swapping Crisis for City,” the Goethe-Institute of the region South-Western Europe started a platform with workshops, exhibitions and web forums to link and support such initiatives. What these “we-traders” have in common is a redefining of the relationship between value, profit and the common good. They denote in terms of democratic policy a decisive step forward from co-determination to co-creation, thereby enhancing ecological, economic and social sustainability, since those active in development and involved in production take care of things.

Bürgerschaftliche Initiativen Wir sind die Stadt

Spätestens seit der Empörung rund um das Bahnhofsprojekt Stuttgart 21 wird in Deutschland kein großes Stadtentwicklungsprojekt gestartet, ohne frühzeitig an Bürgerbeteiligung zu denken. Vielen Bürgern genügt es aber nicht mehr, nach ihrer Meinung gefragt zu werden. Sie werden von sich aus aktiv und entwickeln Lösungen für Probleme, auf die Stadtverwaltungen und Immobilienwirtschaft keine Antwort haben.

betahaus| Berlin betahaus| Berlin | Foto: Stephano Borghi In der Wissensgesellschaft werden viele Projekte nicht mehr von Festangestellten, sondern von wechselnden Teams aus freien Mitarbeitern erarbeitet. Die Zahl der freiwillig oder unfreiwillig Selbstständigen nimmt zu. Doch wo finden sie eine Infrastruktur, die sie sich leisten können und die sich der wechselnden Auftragslage anpasst? Co-Working-Spaces wie das Betahaus am Berliner Moritzplatz bieten Arbeitsplätze, die man für ein paar Tage im Monat oder auch einmal rund um die Uhr mieten kann. In den großzügigen Loftetagen reiht der Zufall Grafiker und Programmierer neben Übersetzer, Architekten und Designer neben Rechtsanwälte, Videokünstler neben Journalisten. Das zentrale Café des Co-Working-Space ist zum Treffpunkt fürs Quartier und zur Plattform für neue Ideen und Projektpartnerschaften geworden.

Deutsche Stadtverwaltungen haben mittlerweile den Beitrag erkannt, den Initiativen an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wirtschaft zur Stadtentwicklung leisten. Seit Kurzem ist der Berliner Liegenschaftsfonds angewiesen, bei der Verwertung von Grundstücken nicht allein den Preis, sondern auch den Gemeinnutz für das Quartier zu bewerten. Mitbestimmend für diese Entwicklung war das intensive Engagement einer Gruppe von Künstlern, die das Gelände der ehemaligen Rotaprint-Druckerei in Berlin-Wedding erworben hatte. Unter dem Label Exrotaprint wurde das denkmalgeschützte Ensemble saniert und mit einer Mischung aus Gewerbebetrieben, Ateliers für Kulturschaffende und sozialen Einrichtungen zum Leben erweckt.

Eigenverantwortung fürs Quartier

Eine weitere Form der Eigeninitiative hat sich in Städten wie Berlin, Hamburg oder Tübingen als einflussreiches Nischenprodukt am Rande der Immobilienindustrie etabliert: die Baugruppe. Anstatt eine Eigentumswohnung von der Stange zu kaufen, übernehmen mehrere Leute gemeinsam das Investitionsrisiko. Sie können dafür bei der Planung mitentscheiden und sparen im Schnitt 25 bis 30 Prozent der Kosten. Baugruppen wollen aber nicht nur maßgeschneidert und kostengünstig wohnen, sie suchen auch nach generationenübergreifenden Wohnformen und legen Wert auf nachhaltiges Bauen. Ihr Ziel ist es, eine zugleich urbane und familiengerechte Umgebung zu gestalten, was sie zu wichtigen Katalysatoren für die Revitalisierung von innerstädtischen Quartieren macht. Aus diesem Grund unterstützt die Planungspolitik in Berlin und Hamburg Baugruppen in der Finanzierungsphase durch die Reservierung von Grundstücken.

Je größer die Initiativen werden, desto mehr tragen sie Verantwortung für den öffentlichen Raum der Stadt. Die mit 140 Bauherrn bislang größte Baugruppe „Am Urban“ in Berlin-Kreuzberg zeichnet sich durch ein radikal integratives Konzept aus. Auf dem Gelände eines ehemaligen Krankenhauses sind nicht nur Wohnungen und Gewerbeflächen entstanden, sondern auch Einrichtungen für psychisch kranke Menschen und öffentlich zugängliche Freiflächen. Es liegt nun an den Mitgliedern, diese Offenheit zu erhalten und die Anbindung ans Quartier ernst zu nehmen.

Tausche Krise gegen Stadt

In Zeiten der Sparpolitik, wenn die Finanzen der Kommunen kaum für die Pflege der vorhandenen Parks reichen, sind es vermehrt bürgerschaftliche Initiativen, die neue Freiräume schaffen. Im Glauchaviertel in Halle an der Saale verwandelten Bürger eine Baulücke zu einem Stadtgarten. Neben einer bunten Wiese mit Gartenteich können Beete gratis zum Anbau von Gemüse, Obst und Kräutern genutzt werden. Theateraufführungen, Workshops zu Umweltthemen und Flohmärkte beleben das Grün. Der ehrenamtlich arbeitende Trägerverein Postkult betreibt noch weitere Projekte im Quartier wie die Tauschbörse „Umsonstladen“ und den „Stadthof Glaucha“, der mit Jugendlichen geplant und renoviert wird.

Stadtgarten Glaucha, Halle Stadtgarten Glaucha, Halle | Foto: Postkult e. V. Welche Handlungsspielräume bürgerschaftliche Initiativen öffnen, lässt sich aktuell besonders in den krisengeschüttelten Städten Südwesteuropas beobachten. Im Turiner Stadtteil Miraorti nutzen Anrainer und Schulen gemeinsam eine Brachfläche als Gemeinschaftsgarten und Experimentierfläche für kleine Geschäftsideen. In Lissabon gründen Künstler ein Hotel, in dem man als Artist in residence auch mit Kunst bezahlen kann. In Toulouse eröffnen Designer ihr Studio neben einer Sperrmülldeponie. Wer etwas abgibt, kann vor Ort erleben, wie vermeintlicher Abfall zum trendigen Designstück wird.

Die Goethe-Institute der Region Südwesteuropa betreiben seit 2013 unter dem Titel „We-Traders. Swapping Crisis for City“ eine Plattform mit Workshops, Ausstellungen und Webforen zur Vernetzung und Unterstützung solcher Initiativen. Was diese We-Traders gemeinsam haben, ist die Neudefinition der Beziehung zwischen Wert, Profit und Gemeinwohl. Sie markieren demokratiepolitisch einen entscheidenden Schritt vom Mitstimmen zum Mitgestalten und erhöhen so die ökologische, ökonomische und soziale Nachhaltigkeit. Denn wer aktiv in Entwicklung und Produktion involviert ist, trägt Sorge für die Dinge.