Hamburg Hafencity and IBA 2013 New Urbanity for a Diverse City

View of the Niederbaumbrücke, approx. 1880
View of the Niederbaumbrücke, approx. 1880 | Photo (detail): Georg Koppmann, public domain

With Hafencity and the Internationale Bauausstellung (IBA) 2013, new concepts of sustainability in urban planning have been realised in Hamburg.

Hamburg’s concept for the new Hafencity is a sophisticated and ambitious plan for expanding the Hanseatic city in its urban centre, and to render it fit for a green future. Factors taken into consideration are building sustainability through five levels of resource efficiency, an expanded heat energy supply through technologically neutral and distributed systems, regenerative energy sources, CO2 benchmarking, and a concentrated mobility structure as well as a remixing of urban structure with surface conversion.

Europe’s largest inner-city development project

Starting in 2001, the inner-city harbour edge has been rezoned on the basis of the “Masterplan” by Kees Christiaanse / ASTOC approved by the Senate in 2000. An expansion for housing, work and living, business, service industries, culture and tourism arose on a 157 hectare surface between the historic Speicherstadt (old warehouse district) and the Elbe. Hamburg’s Hafencity thus became Europe’s largest development project. The premisses of ecological sustainability determined not only the large-scale buildings for industry such as Unilever’s, designed by Behnisch Architekten.

High standards for energy conservation

Buildings for small and medium-sized firms, as well as buildings for housing, schools and education set high standards in terms of energy conservation and modern workplace culture. Ecological sustainability is also reflected in a transportation concept with concentrated local public transportation, and numerous bicycle and pedestrian paths. A standard is also being set with solar thermal energy, fuel cells and block-type thermal power stations to supplement the heating grid of the new district on the water’s edge.

International construction exhibition (Internationale Bauausstellung) Hamburg 2013

Sustainability and climate change, elementary thematic complexes for tomorrow’s metropolises, have been intensively factored into the preliminary planning for the Internationale Bauausstellung Hamburg. Since 2007, Hamburg has been working on research and development programmes to focus the urban-development expansion of pre-existing structures - far above and beyond the ecological aspects - on the social co-existence of different cultures, as exemplified by the city districts of Veddel and Wilhelmsburg. Unlike Veddel, Wilhelmsburg – an Elbe island situated behind dikes – was decoupled from the City of Hamburg since it was a part of Harburg, and was assigned to the Hamburg-Mitte district only in 2008.

Cultural diversity

In this city district, business and infrastructure are characterised to this day by the free port, shipping, commerce and industry. The inhabitants are multi-cultural; almost half of the residents of Wilhelmsburg have a migration background. Investment in housing lagged here for a long time. With the IBA Hamburg, things got moving in the Elbe-island quarters behind the dikes. The housing project Open-House, located in the heart of old Wilhelmsburg, shows how cultural diversity, energy conservation and social issues can be reconciled with ideas and concepts for a new urbanity.

Open-House by Onix

Here, right by the Vogelhüttendeich in the Reiherstieg district and overlooking the idyllic Ernst August Canal, a jointly planned building arose that completely fulfils the wish for diversity among the residents. In November 2007, the architectural firm Onix (Groningen, The Netherlands) won the attestation procedure and realised the building together with the Hamburg firm Kunst + Herbert Architekten. The first residents moved in in December 2011. The building owners were the urban development company steg, the housing association Schanze eG, the building cooperative Schipperort and the Rosengarten communal solar power plants. It is a building that not only convinces as a model for passive house energy conservation with solar thermal energy and two thermal power stations, but also imports a new understanding of community into the district in terms of urban planning considerations, design and concept.

Here, the right to a voice in decision-making on the part of both owners and users lends the tradition of housing association accommodations a contemporary impulse. The three-storey building, conceived for a total of 44 tenant and owner parties, is a hybrid in which the town house model as well as communal housing with joint-use areas, roof lofts and a maisonette flat is realised. The white-plastered building does not stand out in the neighbourhood; it fits in with and supplements existing older buildings. The residents benefit from the fact that Open-House opens up onto the landscape and, with its mixture of private, semi-public and public outdoor areas, successfully reflects the concept of neighbourly living.

Understanding identity as community

The fact that climate protection and sustainable construction cannot be achieved through construction engineering alone is shown by numerous additional projects for Wilhelmsburg, such as the new building by Sauerbruch Hutton for Hamburg’s Department of Urban Development and the Environment. What is also needed is a willingness to rethink outdated structures, shortening working distances, combining work and living, and strengthening community identification, even if all it involves is sharing the solar thermal system with one’s neighbours.

Hamburg Hafencity und IBA 2013 Neue Urbanität einer durchmischten Stadt

Blick über die Niederbaumbrücke, circa 1880
Blick über die Niederbaumbrücke, circa 1880 | Foto (Ausschnitt): Georg Koppmann, gemeinfrei

In der Hansestadt Hamburg sind mit der Hafencity und der Internationalen Bauausstellung (IBA) 2013 neue Nachhaltigkeitskonzepte im Städtebau verwirklicht.

Das Hamburger Konzept für die neue Hafencity ist ein hoch entwickelter und ehrgeiziger Plan, um die Hansestadt in ihrem urbanen Kern zu erweitern und für eine grüne Zukunft fit zu machen. Berücksichtigt werden Gebäudenachhaltigkeit durch fünf Ebenen der Ressourceneffizienz, eine erweiterte Wärmeenergieversorgung durch technologieoffene und dezentrale Systeme, regenerative Energiequellen, CO2-Benchmark, dazu eine verdichtete Mobilitätsstruktur sowie eine neue Durchmischung der Stadtstruktur mit Konversion von Flächen.

Größtes innerstädtisches Entwicklungsprojekt Europas

Auf Grundlage des 2000 durch den Senat der Stadt beschlossenen Masterplans von Kees Christiaanse / ASTOC hat man ab 2001 den innerstädtischen Hafenrand südlich des Zentrums neu überplant. Zwischen historischer Speicherstadt und Elbe entstand auf einer 157 Hektar großen Fläche eine Stadterweiterung für das Wohnen, Arbeiten und Leben, für Handel, Dienstleistung, Kultur und Tourismus. Die Hamburger Hafencity wurde damit zum größten innerstädtischen Entwicklungsprojekt Europas. Die Prämisse ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit bestimmte dabei nicht nur die Großbauten für Unternehmen wie zum Beispiel Unilever von Behnisch Architekten.

Hohe Standards für Energieeinsparung

Auch die Gebäude für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen, die Wohn-, Schul- und Bildungsbauten setzen hohe Standards hinsichtlich Energieeinsparung und moderner Arbeitsplatzkultur. Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit aber spiegelt sich auch in dem Verkehrskonzept mit verdichtetem öffentlichen Personennahverkehr, vielen Rad- und Fußgängerwegen wider. In der Energieversorgung werden mit Solarthermie, Brennstoffzellen und Blockheizkraftwerken zur Ergänzung des Fernwärmenetzes im neuen Stadtteil am Wasser Zeichen gesetzt.

Internationale Bauausstellung Hamburg 2013

Diese für die Metropole von Morgen elementaren Themenkomplexe Nachhaltigkeit und Klimawandel sind intensiv in die Vorplanungen der Internationalen Bauausstellung Hamburg eingeflossen. Seit 2007 arbeitet die Hansestadt an Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprogrammen, um am Beispiel der Stadtteile Veddel und Wilhelmsburg die städtebauliche Erweiterung vorhandener Strukturen weit über den ökologischen Aspekt hinaus auf das Zusammenleben verschiedener Kulturen zu fokussieren. Im Gegensatz zur Veddel war die hinter Deichen liegende Elbinsel Wilhelmsburg als Teil von Harburg eher abgekoppelt von der City.

Kulturelle Vielfalt

Wirtschaft und Infrastruktur sind in diesem Stadtteil bis heute geprägt durch den Freihafen, Schifffahrt, Handel und Industrie. Die Bewohnerschaft ist multikulturell, fast die Hälfte der Wilhelmsburger hat einen Migrationshintergrund. In das Wohnen ist hier lange Zeit nicht investiert worden. Mit der IBA Hamburg kam Bewegung in die Elbinselquartiere hinter den Deichen. Wie sich kulturelle Vielfalt, Energiesparen und soziale Belange mit Ideen und Konzepten für eine neue Urbanität vereinbaren lassen, zeigt das mitten im alten Wilhelmsburg liegende Wohn-Projekt Open-House.

Open-House von Onix

Hier direkt am Vogelhüttendeich im Reihersteigviertel, mit Blick auf den idyllischen Ernst-August-Kanal, entstand ein gemeinschaftlich geplantes Gebäude, das ganz dem Wunsch nach einer durchmischten Bewohnerschaft entspricht. Das Architekturbüro Onix aus Groningen hatte im November 2007 das gutachterliche Verfahren gewonnen und den Bau zusammen mit den Hamburger Kunst + Herbert Architekten realisiert. Im Dezember 2011 sind die ersten Bewohner eingezogen. Bauherren waren die Stadtentwicklungsgesellschaft steg, die Baugenossenschaft Schanze eG, die Baugemeinschaft Schipperort und die Bürger-Solarkraftwerke Rosengarten. Es ist ein Bau, der nicht nur als Energiesparmodell in Passivhausweise mit Solarthermie und zwei Blockheizkraftwerken überzeugt, sondern der städtebaulich, gestalterisch und konzeptuell einen neuen Gemeinschaftsgedanken in das Quartier trägt.

Die Tradition des genossenschaftlichen Wohnens erhält hier durch das Mitspracherecht von Bauherren und Nutzern einen zeitgemäßen Impuls. Der für insgesamt 44 Miet- und Eigentümerparteien konzipierte dreigeschossige Bau ist ein Hybrid, in dem das Stadthausmodell wie auch die Gemeinschaftswohnanlage mit kollektiven Bereichen, Dachlofts und einer Maisonettewohnung verwirklicht ist. Aufdrängen tut sich der weiß verputzte Neubau im Viertel nicht, er fügt sich ein und ergänzt den Altbaubestand. Zum Vorteil seiner Bewohner öffnet sich das Open-House eher der Landschaft und spiegelt mit einer Mischung aus privaten, halböffentlichen und öffentlichen Außenbereichen die Idee vom nachbarschaftlichen Wohnen gelungen wider.

Sich als Gemeinschaft begreifen

Klimaschutz und Nachhaltigkeit beim Bauen, das zeigen zahlreiche weitere Projekte für Wilhelmsburg wie zum Beispiel der Neubau der Behörde für Stadtentwicklung und Umwelt von Sauerbruch Hutton, sind nicht nur mit Gebäudetechnik zu meistern. Es bedarf eben auch der Bereitschaft, überkommene Strukturen zu überdenken, Arbeitswege zu verkürzen, Wohnen und Arbeiten zu verknüpfen und sich wieder stärker als Gemeinschaft zu begreifen, auch wenn nur so weit geht, sich das Blockheizkraftwerk mit seinen Nachbarn zu teilen.