Multi-storey timber construction Up to the high-rise building level

H8 in Bad Aibling
H8 in Bad Aibling | Photo (detail): Schankula Architekten

Multi-storey buildings are not usually associated with wood, far more with materials such as steel, glass and concrete. Timber, however, should not be immediately ruled out as an alternative material for buildings with several storeys.

Quite the contrary: in future, topics such as the saving of resources or the reduction of CO2 emissions are going to increase the demand for sustainable materials of a renewable source in all fields of construction. Apart from being a feasible construction method as such, multi-storey timber construction can also produce buildings of high and lasting durability. This is made evident by existing historic structures of timber design, such as timber-frame houses, for example, or traditional log houses.

Fire safety in timber construction

While in many countries today buildings that exceed the high-rise building limit of 22 metres use timber for the supporting structure and shell, in Germany such projects have a host of obstacles to face. These are set out in statutory provisions and first and foremost concern fire safety. Building Code regulations are the responsibility of the individual federal states or Laender in Germany and are therefore not uniform. The Master Building Code (Musterbauordnung) prepared by the Conference of Building Ministers is supposed to serve as the basis for harmonising basic requirements. Its implementation in the building regulations of the 16 Laender, however, varies significantly. Speaking in simple terms and in compliance with the Master Building -Code it can be said that in Germany timber can be used for load-bearing elements in buildings that have up to five storeys.

Pilot projects in multi-storey timber construction

For buildings that have more than five storeys the supporting structure has to be of non-combustible construction materials. This practically rules out the use of wood. It is, however, possible, in individual cases, to obtain approval for buildings that deviate from these prescriptive requirements if appropriate enhanced fire safety measures are established. This could include such facilities as sprinkler systems, for instance, the encapsulating of combustible materials or the provision of additional escape routes. While observing the described statutory provisions, over the past years a number of pilot projects with multi-storey timber structures were implemented in Germany. Initially, the highest project was the seven-storey residential block “e3” that was erected on a vacant plot in Berlin.

Eight storeys in Bad Aibling

Just recently, the construction of an eight-storey timber building “H8” was completed in the Bavarian town of Bad Aibling, in the county of Rosenheim. This project was to demonstrate that timber is also a suitable basic construction material for high-rise buildings and can replace conventional materials. The project was supported by the German Environmental Foundation and it is part of the project “From Military Wasteland to Zero Emission City” funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology.

Prefabricated wall elements

The supporting walls are made of solid wood cross-sections of between 8 by 8 cm and 16 by 16 cm that stand close together on a threshold and are joined at the top by means of a plate (horizontal end profile). With fire protection provided by two layers of gypsum fibreboard these walls are used both as an outside and inside wall. For the outside wall the elements were brought to the site fully assembled with mineral wool insulation, timber cladding and inserted windows. Partial areas of the façade are plastered, such as the ground floor and the stairway.

Floors of cross-laminated timber boards

For the floors 20 cm thick, cross-laminated timber boards have been used that are covered with a grit layer and have a plasterboard panelling underneath. In the living areas this panelling is omitted to expose the wood surface. The stairway is of a concrete design for fire safety reasons. It was also brought to the site as prefabricated elements. The access to the apartments via an external corridor prevents the development of smoke in the event of fire. The balconies are made of steel due to the direct exposure to weather conditions.

Flexible floor plans

Besides the building’s suitability for residential purposes, the floor plan concept has been designed to permit different types of office use as well. Due to there only being a few load-bearing walls, the use of the available space can be varied to suit individual requirements and adjust to future developments. All units have barrier-free access. The building has a decentralised air conditioning system with heat recovery, and boasts a very low heating requirement of approximately 18 kWh/m²a.

The timber structure was erected in 16 working days, one storey every two days. During this process some 600 cubic metres of timber were installed. This means that approximately 600 tons of CO2, that were absorbed from the earth’s atmosphere during the growing period of the trees, is now stored in the building as carbon.

High-rise buildings for the future

The feasible limit does not stop at eight storeys. In the London district of Shoreditch a residential tower measuring almost 30 metres was built in 2008 – eight of the storeys are designed in solid wood and are built on a plinth of reinforced concrete. Another building, the LifeCycle Tower, will accommodate up to 20 storeys and is the work of an international team of architects, engineers and building contractors who are participating in a research project. As a first pilot project with just eight storeys initially, the tower is set for completion in the spring of 2012 in Dornbirn, Austria, close to the Bavarian border. In the long term, Germany will also not be able to stop timber construction exceeding the existing high-rise building limit.

Mehrgeschossiger Holzbau Bis an die Hochhausgrenze

H8 in Bad Aibling
H8 in Bad Aibling | Foto (Ausschnitt): Schankula Architekten

Mehrgeschossiges Bauen wird gemeinhin nicht mit dem Werkstoff Holz, sondern vielmehr mit Materialien wie Stahl, Glas und Beton in Verbindung gebracht. Dennoch muss Holz als Baustoff für den Geschossbau nicht von vornherein als Alternative ausgeschlossen werden.

Im Gegenteil: Zukünftig werden Ziele wie Ressourcenschonung oder Reduktion des Ausstoßes von CO2 den Einsatz von nachwachsenden Rohstoffen in allen Bereichen der Produktion zunehmend notwendig machen. Dass mehrgeschossiges Bauen mit Holz nicht nur machbar ist, sondern Gebäude von großer Dauerhaftigkeit hervorbringen kann, zeigt ein Blick auf historische Holzbauwerke wie zum Beispiel Fachwerkhäuser oder traditionelle Blockbauten.

Brandschutz beim Bauen mit Holz

Während in vielen anderen Ländern auch heute, teilweise bis über die Hochhausgrenze von 22 Meter hinaus, mit Holz als Material für Tragwerk und Hülle gebaut wird, stehen dem in Deutschland handfeste Hindernisse in Form gesetzlicher Vorschriften vor allem zum Brandschutz im Wege. Das Bauordnungsrecht liegt in Deutschland bei den einzelnen Bundesländern, ist also nicht bundesweit einheitlich gestaltet. Eine von der Bauministerkonferenz formulierte Musterbauordnung soll der Orientierung und Vereinheitlichung dienen, ist aber in den Landesbauordnungen der 16 Bundesländer wiederum sehr unterschiedlich umgesetzt. Vereinfacht und entsprechend der Musterbauordnung kann aber gesagt werden, dass in Deutschland Holz für tragende Bauteile bei Gebäuden mit bis zu fünf Geschossen eingesetzt werden darf.

Pilotprojekte im mehrgeschossigen Holzbau

Für Gebäude mit mehr als fünf Geschossen ist das Tragwerk aus nicht brennbaren Baustoffen herzustellen, Holz scheidet hier zunächst also aus. Allerdings besteht die Möglichkeit, im Einzelfall Abweichungen von dieser Vorschrift genehmigt zu bekommen, wenn im Rahmen eines Brandschutzkonzeptes entsprechende Kompensationsmaßnahmen nachgewiesen werden können. Dafür kommen zum Beispiel Sprinkleranlagen, die Kapselung von brennbaren Bauteilen oder zusätzliche Fluchtwege in Betracht. Im Kontext der beschriebenen rechtlichen Regelungen ist in den vergangenen Jahren in Deutschland eine Reihe von Pilotprojekten mit mehrgeschossigen Holzbauten entstanden. Vorläufiger Höhepunkt war das siebengeschossige Wohnhaus „e3“ in einer Baulücke in Berlin.

Acht Geschosse in Bad Aibling

Nun ist im oberbayerischen Bad Aibling, Landkreis Rosenheim, das achtgeschossige Gebäude „H8“ in Holzbauweise fertiggestellt worden. Mit dem Projekt sollte demonstriert werden, dass Holz auch bei hohen Gebäuden als Grundbaustoff einsetzbar ist und konventionelle Baustoffe ersetzen kann. Es wurde von der Deutschen Bundesstiftung Umwelt unterstützt und ist eingebettet in das vom Bundeswirtschaftsministerium geförderte Projekt „Eine Militärbrache auf dem Weg zur Nullenergiestadt“.

Vorgefertigte Wandelemente

Die tragenden Wände bestehen aus Vollholz-Querschnitten zwischen 8 auf 8 und 16 auf 16 Zentimetern, die oben mit einem Rähm (waagerechten Abschluss) verbunden, dicht nebeneinander auf einer Schwelle stehen. Durch zweilagig aufgebrachte Gipsfaserplatten gegen Brand geschützt, sind diese Wände sowohl als Außen- und als Innenwand eingesetzt. Als Außenwand wurden sie komplett mit Mineralwolldämmung, Holzschalung und eingebauten Fenstern auf die Baustelle gebracht. Teilbereiche der Fassade, wie das Erdgeschoss und das Treppenhaus, sind verputzt.

Decken aus Brettsperrholzplatten

Als Decken wurden 20 Zentimeter dicke, untereinander gekoppelte Brettsperrholzplatten eingesetzt, die durch eine Splitt-Schicht bedeckt und von unten mit Gipsplatten verkleidet sind. In den Wohnbereichen ist auf die Gipsplatten verzichtet worden, sodass hier die Holzoberflächen sichtbar bleiben. Das Treppenhaus besteht zum Schutz gegen Feuer aus Beton und wurde ebenfalls in Fertigteilen auf die Baustelle gebracht. Die Wohnungen sind über einen Laubengang verbunden, diese Bauweise verhindert im Brandfall Gefahren durch Rauchbildung. Die Balkone wurden aus Stahl gefertigt, da sie direkt der Witterung ausgesetzt sind.

Flexible Grundrisse

Das zugrunde liegende Grundrisskonzept ermöglicht neben Wohnungen auch verschiedene Büro-Typen. Aufgrund nur weniger tragender Wände sind alle Grundrisse variierbar, sodass auch individuellen Wünschen und zukünftigen Entwicklungen entsprochen werden kann. Alle Nutzungseinheiten sind barrierefrei zugänglich. Das Gebäude verfügt über eine dezentrale Lüftungsanlage mit Wärmerückgewinnung. Mit circa 18 Kilowattstunden pro Quadratmeter und Jahr hat es einen sehr geringen Wärmebedarf. Zum Vergleich: 2002 betrug der durchschnittliche Wärmebedarf in Deutschland 160 Kilowattstunden pro Quadratmeter und Jahr.

Der Holzbau wurde in 16 Arbeitstagen aufgestellt, alle zwei Tage ein Geschoss. Dabei wurden insgesamt rund 600 Kubikmeter Holz verbaut. Damit sind circa 600 Tonnen CO2, die während des Wachstums der Bäume der Erdatmosphäre entzogen wurden, in Form von Kohlenstoff im Gebäude gespeichert.

Hochhäuser für die Zukunft

Mit acht Geschossen ist die Grenze des Machbaren noch nicht erreicht. Im Londoner Stadtteil Shoreditch wurde bereits 2008 ein knapp 30 Meter hoher Wohnturm errichtet – acht Geschosse in Massivholz auf einem Sockelgeschoss aus Stahlbeton. Auf bis zu 20 Geschosse ist der sogenannte LifeCycle Tower ausgelegt, der von einem internationalen Team aus Architekten, Ingenieuren und Bauunternehmen im Rahmen eines Forschungsprojektes entwickelt wurde. Als ein erstes Pilotprojekt mit zunächst einmal acht Geschossen soll er im Frühjahr 2012 im österreichischen Dornbirn, nahe der Grenze zu Bayern fertiggestellt werden. Langfristig wird wohl auch in Deutschland der Holzbau nicht am Überschreiten der Hochhausgrenze gehindert werden können.