Museum of Art in Ahrenshoop Enjoy Works of Art in a Relaxed and Unhurried Fashion

Museum of Art Ahrenshoop
Museum of Art Ahrenshoop | © Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow

Building art museums has taken over from abbeys and cathedrals as the major architectural undertaking. No other projects allow the architect so much adventurous freedom in their design of form, shape and space. Therefore, for many architects it is indeed a sorry task to have to plan a museum that they cannot triumphantly boast about, that has to blend inconspicuously in the local surroundings using the regional form and style, and still not evoke a feeling of traditional nostalgia.

An artists’ colony in the secluded countryside

The architects Volker Staab Architekten, from Berlin, have magnificently accomplished this task. They won the competition announced by the foundation Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop. The small and tranquil fishing port on the Fischland-Darss-Zingst peninsular in the Baltic Sea made a name for itself as an artists’ colony. This was in 1898, following the departure of many artists from the hustle and bustle of the big cities at that time to live in a more secluded area where they could still enjoy the company of their contemporaries. The dreamy countryside between the Baltic Sea and the Saaler Bodden was, of course, the subject matter of many of their paintings.

Artists´colony Ahrenshoop, Elisabeth von Eicken, nach 1880 Artists´colony Ahrenshoop, Elisabeth von Eicken, nach 1880 | Photo: Museum of Art Ahrenshoop During the First World War the colonists left, but after it ended new artists, including Alfred Partikel, Theodor Schultze-Jasmer and Hedwig Woermann, were drawn to the fishing village, particularly in the summer months. With the founding of the German Democratic Republic some artists fled to the Fischland peninsular to escape political pressure from the state led cultural scene, and Ahrenshoop became an artists’ colony again. Today it still fosters its tradition and name as a place for inspiring and communicating art, with Open Studio events for tourists as well as scholarships etc.

Between tradition and Modernism

Museum of Art Ahrenshoop Museum of Art Ahrenshoop | Photo: Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow This communication has now been enhanced through the erection of the new Art Museum. The complex is situated on the edge of the village and gives the impression of being a mere addition to the other village houses. It comprises an ensemble of five buildings that has been built to the scale and in the style of the local surroundings. The houses of approximately the same size are arranged in an irregular order, reminiscent of a farmstead, and are interlinked by a flat tract that accommodates the central foyer.

Museum of Art Ahrenshoop Museum of Art Ahrenshoop | Photo: Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow By cladding the walls and roofs with an envelope of irregularly profiled brass sheets the houses have the traditional thatched look of the cottages found all over the Darss (this being the middle section of the Fischland-Darss-Zingst peninsular). Oxidisation will soon make the shinny-gold brass almost indistinguishable from the thatching of the neighbouring buildings. The houses are built without projections at the eaves and instead of a ridge there is an upturn that holds the skylight, distinguishing the design as a modern artefact that stands out against the traditional fisherman’s houses.

One of the individual units accommodates the administration office and a room for seminars, the other four houses each feature a windowless “white cube” of an agreeable size for large and small picture formats. Daylight is softly dispersed through glass prisms mounted in the skylights. A narrow glass door creates a link to the outside world and simultaneously serves as an escape route. The four smallish exhibition rooms are designed with almost equal proportions and uniform walls, and make life easier for the curators.

A way to enjoy art on vacation

Museum of Art Ahrenshoop Museum of Art Ahrenshoop | Photo: Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow Visitors to the art museum in Ahrenshoop on the Darss come to look around in a leisurely, holiday mood. They are perhaps just passing by. It may be a dull rainy day and they can simply enjoy the museum in a relaxed atmosphere. Here they will discover an exhibition that is carefully put together, charmingly curated and inspired by genius loci. The opening exhibition “Um uns ist ein Schöpfungstag” (Like a Day of Creation) shows works of art that highlight Ahrenshoop as a home to artists. It also allows one to identify interactions between the founders of the colony, like Paul Müller-Kaempff or Elisabeth von Eicken, and those artists who came to this coastal region as summer guests. Among these were such famous names as Erich Heckel, Alexej von Jawlensky or Lyonel Feininger, and also César Klein and George Grosz, as well as Gerhard Marcks with his sculptures. Also leading artists of the GDR, like Manfred Böttcher and Wolfgang Mattheuer, discovered motifs for their work in Fischland/Darss.

Museum of Art Ahrenshoop Museum of Art Ahrenshoop | Photo: Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow The new museum on the Darss is not on the scale of an internationally famous or spectacular building with Bilbao Effect - this would not be appropriate in such a setting. The truly positive experience when visiting this museum and its collection is the enjoyment of art in an unhurried fashion and the concept of being able to understand and recreate the way the artists felt in this rather special location. Newspapers and journals were indeed full of praise for the museum, and it is certainly destined to receive a host of architects’ awards.

Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop Entschleunigter Kunstgenuss

Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop
Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop | © Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow

Das Entwerfen von Museen hat heute den Kirchenbau als Königsdisziplin des architektonischen Schaffens abgelöst. Keine Bauaufgabe lässt den Baukünstlern so viele Freiheiten, ihre Raum- und Formvorstellungen zu verwirklichen. Für viele Architekten ist es deshalb eine undankbare Aufgabe, ein Museum zu planen, das sich nicht selbstgefällig in die Brust wirft, das sich unauffällig in den lokalen Kontext einreiht und auf regionale Bauformen zurückgreift, ohne sich traditionalistisch-nostalgisch anzubiedern.

Malerkolonie in der Abgeschiedenheit

Volker Staab Architekten aus Berlin haben sich einer solchen Aufgabe mit Bravour entledigt. Sie hatten den von der Stiftung Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop ausgelobten Wettbewerb gewonnen. Das kleine beschauliche Fischerdorf auf der Ostseehalbinsel Fischland-Darß-Zingst hatte sich seit 1898 als Malerkolonie einen Namen gemacht, als sich viele Künstler der hektischen Szene in den Großstädten entzogen, um in Abgeschiedenheit, aber nicht ohne die Gesellschaft von ihresgleichen, zu arbeiten. Naturgemäß machten viele die karge Landschaft zwischen Ostsee und Saaler Bodden zum Sujet ihrer Malerei.

Künstlerkolonie Ahrenshoop, Elisabeth von Eicken, nach 1880 Künstlerkolonie Ahrenshoop, Elisabeth von Eicken, nach 1880 | Foto: Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop Während des Ersten Weltkriegs zerstreuten sich die Kolonisten, doch danach zog das Fischerdorf vor allem in den Sommermonaten wieder neue Künstler an, darunter Alfred Partikel, Theodor Schultze-Jasmer und Hedwig Woermann. Nach Gründung der DDR wählten manche Künstler das Fischland als Rückzugsort, um weitab vom zentral gesteuerten Kulturbetrieb politischem Druck auszuweichen. Auf diese Weise erfüllte Ahrenshoop weiterhin seine Funktion als Künstlerkolonie und versucht auch heute, die Tradition und seinen Ruf als Ort der Kunstentstehung und -vermittlung auch für die Zukunft aufrechtzuerhalten, zum Beispiel mit Stipendiaten oder Ateliers, die für Touristen offen stehen.

Zwischen Tradition und Moderne

Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop | Foto: Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow Dazu trägt seit Kurzem das neue Kunstmuseum bei, das vor allem die Vermittlung dieser Tradition zum Auftrag hat. Das am Ostrand des Ortes gelegene Museum scheint sich wie ein kleiner Hof den anderen Anwesen hinzuzugesellen. Fünf in Maßstab und Form den örtlichen Bautypen angeglichene Hauskörper formieren sich, ungezwungen schiefwinklig zueinander gestellt, zu einer Art Gehöft. Die etwa gleich großen Gebäude sind durch einen flachen Trakt miteinander verklammert, in dem sich das Foyer als zentraler Zugang befindet.

Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop | Foto: Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow Mit der Verkleidung von Wänden und Dächern durch eine „Karosserie“ aus Messingblechbahnen mit einem unregelmäßigen Profil erinnern die Häuser an die auf dem Darß, dem mittleren Teil der Ostseehalbinsel Fischland-Darß-Zingst, allgegenwärtigen Reetdächer. Das anfangs goldblinkende Messing wird sich durch Patina bald an die Reetdach-Nachbarn angleichen. Die Häuser haben keinen Traufüberstand und statt eines Firsts eine Aufkantung, hinter der sich das Oberlicht befindet, genügend formale Eigenheiten also, um sich als moderne Artefakte von den traditionellen Fischerhäusern abzusetzen.

In einem der Häuser befindet sich ein Seminarraum und die Verwaltung. In den anderen vier Häusern betritt man jeweils einen fensterlosen „White Cube“ von angenehmer, großen wie kleinen Bildformaten dienlicher Dimension. Tageslicht fällt, mithilfe von Prismengläsern weich gestreut, durch die Oberlichter. Eine schmale Glastür, gleichzeitig als Rettungsweg dienend, knüpft die visuelle Beziehung zur Außenwelt. Die vier fast gleich proportionierten, nicht allzu großen Räume mit ihren gleichförmigen Wänden sind leicht zu bespielen und verlangen den Kuratoren keine besonderen Anstrengungen und Geistesblitze ab.

Kunstgenuss im Urlaub

Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop | Foto: Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow Die Besucher des Kunstmuseums in Ahrenshoop auf dem Darß kommen in Freizeitkleidung und Urlaubsstimmung vorbei. Stressfrei und beiläufig, vielleicht an einem Regentag, genießen sie einen ganz entspannten Museumsbesuch. Sie erwartet eine sorgfältig und liebevoll kuratierte Ausstellung, beseelt vom Geist des Ortes. Um uns ist ein Schöpfungstag, die Eröffnungsausstellung, wurde konzipiert, um Ahrenshoop als Künstlerort vor Augen zu führen. Sie zeigt die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Gründern der Kolonie wie Paul Müller-Kaempff oder Elisabeth von Eicken und jenen Künstlern, die als Sommergäste in die Küstenregion kamen. Darunter waren durchaus berühmte Namen – Erich Heckel, Alexej von Jawlensky oder Lyonel Feininger etwa, auch César Klein und George Grosz sowie Gerhard Marcks mit seinen Skulpturen. Auch DDR-Malergrößen wie Manfred Böttcher und Wolfgang Mattheuer waren in Fischland/Darß auf Motivsuche fündig geworden.

Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop Kunstmuseum Ahrenshoop | Foto: Voigt & Kranz UG Prerow Ein international beachteter, spektakulärer Neubau mit Bilbao-Effekt ist auf dem Darß nicht entstanden, doch das wäre dem Ort nicht angemessen. Der Gewinn beim Besuch des Hauses und seiner Sammlung besteht im entschleunigten Kunstgenuss und dem Gefühl, die Wahrnehmungen der Künstler an diesem besonderen Ort nachempfinden zu können. Für viel lobende Worte in der Tages- und Fachpresse hat es bislang allemal gereicht und die Architekturpreise werden nicht lange auf sich warten lassen.