Street art in Hannover Bringing Colour to Everyday Life

Hannover Streetart, Enni Vuong
Hannover Streetart, Enni Vuong | © Jan Willem Huntebrinker

Graffiti and street art have long since become an essential part of the cityscape. New works appear daily – others vanish. They are creative expressions, temporary logos and statements for a constantly changing art in public space.

Street art is quickly equated with vandalism. But the project Who Owns the City?, in cooperation with young people, architects, historians artists and communications designers in Hanover, have clearly demonstrated that new forms of art in public space are concealed behind street art, thereby building a bridge to deeper investigation of the interrelationships of space, architecture and the city. The project was initiated by Jan Willem Huntebrinker of the Historical Museum in Hanover.

“Experiment Street Art”

Hanover centre, Pro-Nana demonstration at Leibnizufer Hanover centre, Pro-Nana demonstration at Leibnizufer | Bildarchiv HMH, Photo: Niehuus, Essen Street art and art in public space have been a tradition in Hanover. The programme Experiment Straßenkunst was launched in 1970 to reach people who would otherwise not come in contact with art. There was a widespread desire to drive out the city’s grey and boring image. Residents were included in the dialogue on the perception of their city with contemporary art forms and targeted provocations. It was by no means a quiet process, at the outset there was much citizen outrage but also appreciation and support. What followed were actions such as the Rote Faden (i.e. red thread), a trail of red colour which is winding its way through the streets of Hanover, connecting art and architecture with the city’s space.

Rhythm in the belly of the city

However, for many a street art and graffiti artists, this strategy of art communication bypasses the reality of young peoples’ lives. Their pictorial languag is characterised by rhythm in the belly of the city but also by the wastelands of the suburban outskirts, which bear within them far more vitality than the business worlds of the city centre suggest. Not all proceed as ostentatiously as Moses, whose tags are jammed in along Hanover’s train paths. Young people’s experimental spaces live from their subversive power, from provocation, which is nonetheless not necessarily destructive or criminal.

Poetic enhancement of everyday life

Hanover, Street art, Jan Lotz Hanover, Street art, Jan Lotz | Photo: Jan Willem Huntebrinker In the project Who Owns the City?, young people encountered their urban life worlds with highly differentiated temporary statements associated with the particular site. Stencil technique was a part of their repertoire just as were direct interventions in urban space. Jan Lotz, for instance, was fascinated by the light in the city. Photographs of people who live in Hanover’s old city were the basis of his motifs taped with parcel tape onto Plexiglas. These art works, fashioned of layers of tape in a complex process, resemble sepia photographs. Fastened to the shades of historic street lamps near the parliament building, they were to be seen only by night in the glow of the lights, as a moment of surprise and poetic enhancement of everyday life.

Chance encounters

Hanover, Street art Hanover, Street art | Photo: Lasse Kück Also as part of Who Owns the City?, Ellen Kubicki and Shana M'Baya took on the theme of play in the city. The young women missed ease and free spaces for playing in the city, as well as a playful approach to streets and open spaces. Their response was a temporary play promenade along the banks of the Leine with simple, found materials, small interventions, spontaneous gestures and invitations to participate.

Enni Vuong focused on the grounds between the Parliament and the New City Hall. The staircase by the historic “Flusswasserkunst” lies exactly in the line of sight between the two government buildings. The white steed of Lower Saxony is present as a motif a number of times. Vuong has taken this symbol of sovereignty as her point of departure, to conflate the location with the historic city hall in the background into a romantic image. All risers between the steps of the staircase were laminated with colourful, luminescent foil strips that gave visibility at night as well to the motif with two unicorns.

Collective digital memory

On the website of Hannoverliebe the outcomes as well as other locations in the category of art in public are space visible for the future as well. With the continually growing maps, which also include favourite places, artistic discoveries in public space are being documented and thus added to our collective memory. An initiative for presenting the city in a different way, and for creating new identifications with emotional references.

Streetart am Beispiel Hannover
Heimat markieren und den Alltag bunt machen

Hannover Streetart, Enni Vuong
Hannover Streetart, Enni Vuong | © Jan Willem Huntebrinker

Graffiti und Streetart sind längst nicht mehr aus dem Stadtbild wegzudenken. Täglich tauchen neue kreative Äußerungen und Statements auf, andere verschwinden. Die Kunst im öffentlichen Raum bleibt ständig in Bewegung.

Streetart wird oft mit Vandalismus gleichgesetzt. Dass sich hinter Streetart aber auch neue Formen der Kunst im öffentlichen Raum verbergen und sich damit eine Brücke zur Auseinandersetzung mit Raum, Architektur und Stadt bauen lässt, hat das Projekt Wem gehört die Stadt? in Zusammenarbeit von Jugendlichen, Architekten, Historikern, Künstlern und Kommunikationsdesignern in Hannover deutlich gemacht. Jan Willem Huntebrinker vom Historischen Museum Hannover hat es initiiert.

„Experiment Strassenkunst“

Hannover-Mitte, Pro-Nana Kundgebung am Leibnizufer Hannover-Mitte, Pro-Nana Kundgebung am Leibnizufer | Bildarchiv HMH, Foto: Niehuus, Essen Straßenkunst und Kunst im öffentlichen Raum haben in Hannover Tradition. 1970 wurde das Programm Experiment Straßenkunst auf den Weg gebracht, um Menschen zu erreichen, die sonst nicht mit Kunst in Berührung kommen. Man wollte der Stadt das graue und langweilige Image nehmen. Mit zeitgenössischer Kunst und gezielten Provokationen wurden die Bewohner in den Dialog um die Wahrnehmung ihrer Stadt einbezogen. Anfangs gab es zwar jede Menge Bürgerfuror, aber auch viel Anerkennung und Zustimmung. Was folgte, waren Aktionen wie der Rote Faden. Eine rote Farbspur schlängelt sich seit 1971 durch die Straßen Hannovers und verbindet Kunst und Architektur mit dem Stadtraum.

Rhythmus der Stadt

Diese Strategie der Kunstvermittlung geht jedoch so manchem Streetart- und Graffitikünstler an der Lebenswirklichkeit der Jugend vorbei. Ihre Bildsprache ist geprägt vom Rhythmus der Stadt, auch von der Ödnis der suburbanen Ränder. Nicht alle gehen dabei so herausfordernd vor wie Moses, dessen Tags sich entlang der Zugtrassen durch ganz Hannover ziehen. Streetart lebt von einer subversiven Kraft, von Provokation, aber die ist nicht zwangsläufig zerstörerisch und kriminell.

Poetische Alltagsergänzung

Hannover, Street Art, Jan Lotz Hannover, Street Art, Jan Lotz | Foto: Jan Willem Huntebrinker Im Projekt Wem gehört die Stadt sind Jugendliche ihren urbanen Lebenswelten mit sehr differenzierten, dem Ort verbundenen temporären Statements begegnet. Schablonentechnik am Bauzaun gehörte ebenso dazu wie direkte Eingriffe in den Stadtraum. Jan Lotz beispielsweise war fasziniert vom Licht in der Stadt. Grundlage für seine aus Paketklebeband gestalteten Motive auf Plexiglas waren Fotografien von Menschen, die in der Altstadt von Hannover leben. Diese in einem aufwendigen Prozess aus Schichten von Klebeband gefertigten Kunstwerke gleichen Sepia-Fotografien. Befestigt an den Schirmen der historischen Straßenlaternen in der Nähe des Niedersächsischen Landtags, waren sie im Schein des Lichts nur bei Nacht als Überraschungsmoment und poetische Ergänzung zum Alltäglichen zu sehen.

Begegnungen des Zufalls

Hannover, Street Art Hannover, Street Art | Foto: Lasse Kück Das Spiel in der Stadt haben Ellen Kubicki und Shana M'Baya, ebenfalls im Projekt Wem gehört die Stadt zum Thema gemacht. Den jungen Frauen fehlte es an Leichtigkeit, an Freiräumen für das Spielen und am spielerischen Umgang mit Straßen und Räumen. Ihre Idee war ein temporärer Spieleparcours rund um das Leineufer mit einfachen Materialien, kleinen Eingriffen, spontanen Gesten und Aufforderungen zum Mitmachen.

Enni Vuong fokussierte sich auf das Areal zwischen Landtag und Neuem Rathaus. Die Treppe an der historischen „Flusswasserkunst“ liegt genau in der Sichtachse zwischen den beiden Regierungsgebäuden. Das Niedersachsenross ist hier mehrfach als Motiv präsent. Dieses Hoheitssymbol hat Vuong zum Ausgangspunkt genommen, um den Ort mit dem historischen Rathausbau im Hintergrund zu einem romantisierenden Bild zu verschmelzen. Alle Stufen der Treppen wurden mit farbigen und nachtleuchtenden Folienstreifen beklebt, die auch im Dunkeln das Motiv mit den zwei Einhörnern sichtbar machten.

Kollektives digitales Gedächtnis

Diese und andere Projekte aus dem Bereich Kunst im öffentlichen Raum werden auf der Website von Hannoverliebe dokumentiert. Auf ihrer ständig wachsenden Karte, die auch Lieblingsorte der Nutzer enthält, werden hier Kunstentdeckungen im öffentlichen Raum gesammelt und so zum kollektiven digitalen Gedächtnis. Es ist eine Initiative, um die Stadt anders zu präsentieren und neue Identifikationen mit emotionalen Bezügen zu schaffen.