Steiff Factory Building in Giengen Glass-Icon of Modernism

Steiff Factory Building
Steiff Factory Building | Photo: Steiff

Only a few functional buildings can take pride in a history as unique as that of the 1903 glass factory building of the Steiff-Spielzeugfabrik.

The largely unknown factory building had been standing in the Swabian town of Giengen an der Brenz for almost 30 years before it experienced an amazing wave of admiration for a short time in 1932. This was due, on the one hand, to its absolutely modern look, and on the other hand its very innovative architectural design. In the forward-looking Frankfurt architecture magazine Die neue Stadt the small glass factory building was hailed an icon of modernism: with its “rational and simple elegance of design” it is one of the best results of the “movement for functional architecture”. In the same year, the engineer, Hermann Maier-Leibnitz, discovered the building as “probably the first glass building for utilitarian purposes” for his compendium Der Industriebau.

A genuine curtain wall

This credit was not undeserved. The so-called “Ostbau” or East Block of the company Steiff dates back to 1903. It boasted a very modern style and was designed as a purely glass and steel construction with a double skin glass enclosure. The three-storey steel frame structure was built on an area measuring 30 x 12 m as a plain rectangular block in crosswise direction, with plinth and a flat mono-pitch roof. The outer skin glass enclosure extends from the plinth to the cornice, curtaining the frame structure. It forms a curtain wall that also extends around the corners. There is no mention of an architect in the files. Today, however, the design is most frequently accredited to Richard Steiff, the nephew of the founder of the company, Margarete Steiff. Richard Steiff trained at the Kunstgewerbeschule in Stuttgart, and during a stay in England in 1897 he was able to study the Crystal Palace and the greenhouse buildings that were designed in iron and glass.

Margarete Steiff (1847-1909) - bound to a wheelchair from early childhood - founded the factory in 1880, and in doing so, laid the cornerstone to a toy manufacturing empire in Giengen. She started off making pincushions in the shape of an elephant („Elefäntle“), then she changed to the toy segment and designed felt toy animals, a move that was to have a legendary impact: in 1902 her nephew, Richard, designed the first teddy bear for Steiff with the model name “Bär 55 PB”. After a sharp rise in the production due to huge international demand, a speedy expansion of the manufacturing facilities was needed.
 
  • Factory Building, historical view Photo: Steiff
    Factory Building, historical view
  • Factory Building, historical view Photo: Steiff
    Factory Building, historical view
  • Factory Building, historical view Photo: Steiff
    Factory Building, historical view
  • Factory Building, historical view Photo: Steiff
    Factory Building, historical view
  • Factory Building, historical view Photo: Steiff
    Factory Building, historical view
  • Factory Building, interior Photo: Steiff
    Factory Building, interior
  • Detail Steiff Factory Building Photo: Rudolf Fischer
    Detail Steiff Factory Building

Unique façade design

The illumination of the work areas was a decisive criterion for the design concept. An evenly distributed illumination with natural daylight provided the ideal condition for work at the sewing tables. Economic considerations probably also played a part in the decision in favour of a steel framework. In comparison to the massive construction method, such a framework structure could be implemented relatively promptly and at low cost. The building contract went to the Eisenwerk München AG, a steel construction company that had already erected several glass-iron structures in southern Germany. The unique façade design of the Steiff factory building features a rear-ventilated, multiple-skin transparent system that anticipates state-of-the-art climate facades and stands out as a great engineering achievement.

The transparent façade system of the factory building, dating back to 1903, is actually the earliest known version of a curtain wall in factory construction. And it is indeed earlier than the Fagus-Werk in Alfeld, built by Walter Gropius in 1911. A building with a similar glass curtain wall extending around all four sides was not to be found in Germany again until the end of the 1920’s, in the buildings of Mies van der Rohe, for example.

Building permit obstacles

In view of the extremely futuristic design for this period around 1903 there were major difficulties to be overcome when dealing with the authorities. As a permit had never been granted for a building of this kind before, lengthy negotiations were needed before the building permit was finally granted, and then with the specific remark that permission was granted only “under explicit terms, conditionally and at the company’s own risk“. The Labour Inspectorate wrote on the permit application plan: “People will go blind in a such a building made of glass.” It was a fact that during the summer months work in the factory building was hard-going, due to the lack of sun screening measures. The interior was turned into a hothouse. As a remedial action the glass façade was whitewashed and the paint then washed off again in the autumn.

This stunning factory of glass and steel nevertheless appears to have been extremely popular. New buildings were erected from 1904 until 1910, and were practically identical to the building of 1903, except, however, that these buildings were based on a timber frame structure. Giengen therefore became the site of an ensemble of translucent factory buildings that were flooded with light. This complex was unique in Europe and was implemented during the first decade of the 20th century, before work started on the Fagus-Werke in Alfeld in 1911.
It was relatively soon after winning the acclaim of the avant-garde at the beginning of the 1930’s that the Steiff factory building fell back into a deep slumber, and it was not until the end of the 1970’s that the building was rediscovered and given a place in architectural history.

Steiff-Spielzeugfabrik in Giengen Gläserne Ikone der Moderne

Steiff Spielzeugfabrik
Steiff Spielzeugfabrik | Foto: Steiff

Nur wenige Zweckgebäude können mit einer solch einzigartigen Entstehungsgeschichte aufwarten wie der bereits 1903 entstandene gläserne Produktionsbau der Steiff-Spielzeugfabrik.

Im Jahr 1932 erfuhr das damals schon knapp 30 Jahre alte und weitgehend unbekannte Fabrikgebäude der Steiff-Werke im schwäbischen Giengen an der Brenz für kurze Zeit eine erstaunliche Wertschätzung. Die verdankte es zum einen seinem modernen Aussehen, zum anderen seiner innovativen Bauweise. In der progressiven Frankfurter Architekturzeitschrift Die neue Stadt wurde der kleine gläserne Fabrikbau als „Ikone der Moderne” gefeiert: Er sei in seiner „ganz unpathetischen und schlichten Eleganz der Konstruktion“ eines der besten Ergebnisse des „Kampfes um die funktionale Architektur“. Im selben Jahr entdeckte der Ingenieur Hermann Maier-Leibnitz den Bau als „wohl erstes Glashaus für Fabrikationszwecke“ für sein Kompendium Der Industriebau.

Eine echte „Curtain Wall“

Dies geschah nicht unverdient, denn der sogenannte Ostbau der Firma Steiff war bereits im Jahr 1903 in modernster Weise als reine Stahl-Glas-Konstruktion mit einer zweischaligen, hinterlüfteten Glasfassade ausgeführt worden. Der dreigeschossige Stahlskelettbau wurde auf einer Grundfläche von 30 mal 12 Metern als schlichter, quergerichteter Quader mit Sockel und einem flachen Pultdach errichtet. Die äußere Glashaut ist vom Sockel bis zum Gesims durchgehend ausgebildet und dem Tragesystem vorgehängt. Sie bildet eine echte sogenannte Curtain Wall (deutsch: Vorhangfassade), die zudem konsequent um die Ecken geführt wurde. Ein Architekt ist nicht in den Akten vermerkt, der Entwurf wird jedoch heute meist Richard Steiff, dem Neffen der Firmengründerin Margarete Steiff, zugeschrieben, der an der Kunstgewerbeschule Stuttgart ausgebildet wurde und während eines England-Aufenthaltes 1897 den Crystal Palace zur Weltausstellung in London und die Gewächshausbauten im Glas-Eisen-Stil studieren konnte.

Margarete Steiff (1847–1909), seit ihrer frühen Kindheit auf den Rollstuhl angewiesen, hatte 1880 mit der Gründung der Manufaktur den Grundstein zum Imperium der Spielzeugwarenfabrik in Giengen gelegt. Sie produzierte anfangs Nadelkissen in Elefantenform, die sogenannten Elefäntle, dann wechselte sie mit weich gestopften Spieltieren aus Filz ins Spielwarengeschäft, was massive Auswirkungen haben sollte: 1902 wurde von ihrem Neffen Richard der erste Teddybär mit dem Modellnamen Bär 55 PB für Steiff entwickelt. Nachdem die Produktion aufgrund der großen internationalen Nachfrage rapide anstieg, wurde ein rascher Ausbau der Fabrikationsfläche notwendig.
 
  • Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, historische Ansicht Foto: Steiff
    Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, historische Ansicht
  • Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, historische Ansicht Foto: Steiff
    Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, historische Ansicht
  • Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, Gesamtanlage, historische Ansicht Foto: Steiff
    Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, Gesamtanlage, historische Ansicht
  • Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, Gesamtanlage, historisches Luftbild Foto: Steiff
    Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, Gesamtanlage, historisches Luftbild
  • Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, historische Ansicht Foto: Steiff
    Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, historische Ansicht
  • Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, Innenansicht Foto: Steiff
    Spielzeugfabrik Steiff, Innenansicht
  • Fassadendetail Steiff Spielzeugfabrik Foto: Rudolf Fischer
    Fassadendetail Steiff Spielzeugfabrik

Einzigartige Fassadenkonstruktion

Ein entscheidendes Kriterium für die Gebäudekonzeption stellte die Beleuchtung der Arbeitsräume dar. Zum Nähen an Arbeitstischen war gleichmäßiges Tageslicht ideal. Wirtschaftliche Erwägungen mochten auch für die Wahl der Bauweise, einer Stahlskelettkonstruktion, gesprochen haben, die im Vergleich zur Massivbauweise relativ schnell und kostengünstig realisiert werden konnte. Den Zuschlag für die Ausführung bekam die Stahlbaufirma Eisenwerk München AG, die im süddeutschen Raum bereits einige Glas-Eisen-Konstruktionen realisiert hatte. Die einzigartige Fassadenkonstruktion der Steiff-Fabrik stellt ein hinterlüftetes, mehrschaliges und transparentes System dar, das modernen Klima-Fassaden-Systemen vorgreift und eine Glanzleistung der Ingenieurgeschichte darstellt.

Das Fassadensystem des Steiff-Fabrikgebäudes aus dem Jahr 1903 ist die wohl früheste Version einer Curtain Wall im Fabrikbau und nicht etwa das von Walter Gropius 1911 erbaute Fagus-Werk in Alfeld. Ein ähnlicher alle Seiten durchgehend umspannender Glasvorhang findet sich in Deutschland erst wieder Ende der 1920er-Jahre beispielsweise in den Bauten von Mies van der Rohe.

Genehmigung mit Hindernissen

Angesichts der für das Jahr 1903 geradezu futuristisch anmutenden Bauplanung gab es erhebliche Probleme mit den Behörden. Die Baugenehmigung wurde erst nach längeren Verhandlungen, und nur „unter ausdrücklichen Bedingungen, vorbehaltlich und auf eigenes Risiko“ erteilt, da die Zulassung eines solchen Gebäudes ohne Vorbild war. Die Gewerbeinspektion vermerkte auf den Baugesuchsplan: „In so einem Glashaus wird man blind.“
In der Tat war die Arbeit in dem Gebäude aufgrund fehlender Sonnenschutzmaßnahmen gerade in den Sommermonaten sehr beschwerlich. Der Innenraum verwandelte sich in einen Brutkasten. Als Gegenmaßnahme wurde die Glasfassade in den heißen Monaten mit Farbe geschlämmt und im Herbst wieder abgewaschen.

Die markante Fabrik aus Glas und Stahl scheint aber grundsätzlich begeistert zu haben: 1904 bis 1910 wurden weitere Bauten realisiert, die in Konstruktion und Aussehen nahezu identisch mit dem Gebäude von 1903 waren, allerdings auf einer Holzkonstruktion basierten. Schon bald nachdem die gläserne Steiff-Fabrik Anfang der 1930er-Jahre von den avantgardistischen Architektur-Magazinen gefeiert worden war, fiel sie in einen Dornröschenschlaf. Erst in den 1970er-Jahren wurde das Gebäude von den Architekturhistorikern wiederentdeckt.