Building for Refugees New Concepts for Living

Collage for roof system;
Collage for roof system; | Photo: Jovis Verlag

German authorities are faced with the object of providing suitable accommodation for refugees. Ideas and concepts show how appropriate housing for sustainable use can be created quickly.

In the year 2015, over a million people from all crisis regions of this world had reached Germany as refugees. People seeking protection and in need of a place to stay, whether temporarily or permanently. Germany has opened its borders to all refugees. The motto of chancellor Angela Merkel: “We can do it!” set in motion a new wave of willingness to help.

But it is also becoming increasingly clear that managing this task represents a greatsocietal challenge and requires community energies. The Bundesländer have long since been coordinating their efforts and have requested so called administrative assistance from the municipalities in providing care and shelter for refugees. Vacant barracks, schools, hotels, DIY supermarkets as well as on a temporary basis gymnasiums, and trade fair and industrial halls have been repurposed as emergency shelters. Tent camps, containers and winterised quick-assembly cabins have been set up to offer at least basic shelter. But this still cannot be described as housing.

“Refugees welcome”

Collage for housing in garden plot; Collage for housing in garden plot; | Photo: Jovis Verlag Collage for closing gaps; Collage for closing gaps; | Photo: Jovis Verlag At the federal and state level, easing of construction law requirements to facilitate planning has been hurriedly obtained to make available pre-existing shelters and facilitate the building of new ones. Parallel to the federal government, the states and municipalities, and of relief, social and church organisations, voluntary fire-fighters and numerous private initiatives, Germany’s architects are also championing the cause: Architectural associations and chambers are combining their energies and offering solutions for issues relating to shelter and housing. Already in spring 2015, a step forward was taken by Hamburg architect Jörg Friedrich, who teaches as a Professor of Design and Architectural Theory at the University of Hanover. Together with his students, he developed a series of new housing concepts, with Hanover serving as illustration. These concepts were presented in the publication Refugees Welcome (Jovis Verlag).

Among their concepts is construction on locations for which zoning plans exist, but no land-use plans, courtyard conversions, flat-roof buildings of modular wood construction, floating housing units on old barges, or converting allotment cabins. The central issue here is to explore spatial and social potentials in cities. Jörg Friedrich wants that planners and developers consider differentiated, mixed approaches in architectural and urban-planning implementation instead of hasty improvisation. So out of the initial use as refugee housing, housing for students and others can be developed later on.

Closing the gap in Kopernikusstrasse in Hanover; Closing the gap in Kopernikusstrasse in Hanover; | Renderung: KSW Architekten The architectural firm ksw architekten + stadtplaner has developed a sustainable mixed approach in a housing project as gap closure for the urban housing association Bauen und Wohnen in the Kopernikusstrasse in Hanover. The refugee housing units above a storefront level are conceived in such a way that out of four units per storey six can be adapted later on. The conversion was taken into consideration already when the plannig begun, so interventions are reduced to a minimum.

Modular construction

Modular construction in Vorarlberg; Modular construction in Vorarlberg; | Photo: Mosaik Architekten Timber-construction residential complexes, so called “modular locations”, are being planned for Hanover’s Linden-Nord district with an eye to longer-term use. The three two-storey housing rows for about 100 refugees consist of montages of approx. 2.70 x 12 meter containers. These wooden modules are produced, complete with all interior features, in the state of Vorarlberg, Austria. Three to five containers are assembled into a single housing unit with a community kitchen. The upper-storey flats are accessed via an arcade that serves as an emergency exit at the same time. The project, collaboratively developed by the city’s building management with Mosaik Architekten BDA, Drewes + Speth and the firm LINNEA Landschaftsarchitektur, is designed in such a way that subsequent use by student flat shares or families is conceivable.

Living and working

Housing in Hötzum; Housing in Hötzum; | Photo: Decker Architekten Private initiatives, such as that of Roland Bohlmann of Hötzum, a village in the southeast of the German State Lower Saxony. He is planning to convert an old building in the countryside, in collaboration with Braunschweig architect Lieselotte Decker. Here, not only long-established village residents are helping out, but also numerous businesses from the region are supporting the project with construction materials. In this project, living and working are closely linked. Four refugee families will not only live here in the future. They will have their own work areas in two adjoining workshops, since skilled craftspeople are needed in depopulated this rural area.

Collage for housing at trains station; Collage for housing at trains station; | Photo: Jovis Verlag That refugees should live in completely normal housing is also the view of Berlin architect and Professor of Architecture and Urban Resaerch, Arno Brandlhuber. Germany’s almost two million vacant flats and houses can be used for the new arrivals. He makes the case for building a wide range of housing types, above all budget-friendly ones. Brandlhuber advocates venturing more experiments in housing construction, and believes that existing standards for materials and housing typologies should be given a second look and re-evaluated. Doing so would open up a great opportunity for letting architecture and the city live out the full spectrum of their diversity and possibilities.

Bauen für Geflüchtete Neue Wohnkonzepte

Collage für Dachaufstockung;
Collage für Dachaufstockung; | Foto: Jovis Verlag

Deutsche Behörden stehen vor der Aufgabe, Flüchtlingen geeignete Unterkünfte bereitzustellen. Ideen und Entwürfe zeigen, wie passender Wohnraum schnell geschaffen und nachhaltig genutzt werden kann.

Im Jahr 2015 kamen über eine Million Menschen als Flüchtlinge nach Deutschland. Sie suchen Schutz und brauchen einen Ort, um zu bleiben – temporär oder für immer. Deutschland hat seine Grenzen für Geflüchtete geöffnet. Das Credo der Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel „Wir schaffen das“ löste eine Welle der Hilfsbereitschaft aus.

Immer deutlicher wird aber auch, dass die Bewältigung dieser Aufgabe eine große gesellschaftliche Herausforderung ist und gemeinschaftlicher Kräfte bedarf. Längst haben sich die Bundesländer koordiniert und die Kommunen um Amtshilfe bei der Versorgung und Unterbringung von Flüchtlingen gebeten. Leer stehende Kasernen, Schulen, Hotels, Baumärkte sowie vorübergehend auch Sporthallen, Messe- und Industriehallen sind zu Notunterkünften umfunktioniert worden. Zeltlager, Container und winterfeste Schnellbauhütten wurden errichtet, um zumindest eine Grundversorgung zu bieten. Von Wohnen aber kann hierbei nicht die Rede sein.

„Refugees welcome“

Collage Unterkunft im Schrebergarten; Collage Unterkunft im Schrebergarten; | Foto: Jovis Verlag Collage für Lückenbebauung; Collage für Lückenbebauung; | Foto: Jovis Verlag Auf Bundes- und Länderebene wurden im Eiltempo baurechtliche Planungserleichterungen beim Bereitstellen vorhandener und beim Bauen neuer Unterkünfte geschaffen. Parallel zur Bundesregierung, den Ländern und Gemeinden, zu Hilfs- und Sozial- und kirchlichen Organisationen, den Freiwilligen Feuerwehren und vielen privaten Aktivitäten engagieren sich auch die deutschen Architekten: Architektenverbände und -kammern bündeln ihre Kräfte und bieten Lösungen für Unterbringungs- und Wohnfragen. Bereits im Frühjahr 2015 gab es einen Vorstoß des Hamburger Architekten Jörg Friedrich, der als Professor für Entwerfen und Architekturtheorie an der Leibniz-Universität Hannover lehrt. Zusammen mit seinen Studierenden entwickelte er am Beispiel von Hannover eine Reihe von neuen Wohnkonzepten und präsentierte sie in der Publikation Refugees Welcome (Jovis Verlag).

Zu den vorgestellten Konzepten gehören beispielsweise Lückenbebauungen, Hofüberbauungen, Flachdachaufbauten aus einer modularen Holzbauweise, schwimmende Wohnungen auf alten Binnenschiffen oder Konzepte, um Schrebergärten bewohnbar zu machen. Es geht dabei vor allem um das Ausloten räumlicher wie sozialer Potenziale in der Stadt. Jörg Friedrich wünscht sich von Planern und Bauherren, dass sie bei der architektonischen und städtebaulichen Umsetzung von Wohnprojekten für Flüchtlinge über differenzierte Mischkonzepte nachdenken, anstatt hastig zu improvisieren. So könnten aus Flüchtlingswohnungen später zum Beispiel Wohnungen für Studierende oder andere Gruppen entstehen.

Lückenbebauung Kopernikusstrasse in Hannover; Lückenbebauung Kopernikusstrasse in Hannover; | Visualisierung: KSW Architekten Ein nachhaltiges Mischkonzept hat das Büro ksw architekten + stadtplaner bereits in einem Wohnbauprojekt als Lückenschluss für die städtische Gesellschaft Bauen und Wohnen in der Kopernikusstraße in Hannover entwickelt. Die Flüchtlingswohnungen über einer Ladenzone sind so konzipiert, dass aus anfänglich vier Wohneinheiten pro Etage später sechs werden können. Der spätere Umbau wurde bereits von Anfang an in der Planung berücksichtigt, sodass nur minimale Eingriffe erforderlich werden.

Modulare Bauweise

Modulherstellung in Vorarlberg; Modulherstellung in Vorarlberg; | Foto: Mosaik Architekten Als sogenannte Modularstandorte werden in Hannover Linden-Nord Wohnanlagen in Holzbauweise geplant, die ebenfalls auf längerfristige Nutzung angelegt sind. Die drei zweigeschossigen Wohnzeilen für rund 100 Flüchtlinge bestehen aus zusammenmontierten, circa 2,70 Meter breiten und 12 Meter langen Containern. Produziert werden diese Holzmodule vollständig mit allen Innenausbauten im österreichischen Vorarlberg. Drei bis fünf Container sind jeweils zu einer Wohneinheit mit Gemeinschaftsküche zusammengefasst. Die Wohnungen der Obergeschosse werden über einen Laubengang erschlossen, der gleichzeitig als Rettungsweg dient. Das gemeinsam vom städtischen Gebäudemanagement mit Mosaik Architekten BDA, Drewes + Speth sowie dem Büro LINNEA Landschaftsarchitektur entwickelte Projekt ist so konzipiert, dass eine Nachnutzung durch studentische Wohngemeinschaften oder Familien denkbar ist.

Wohnen und Arbeiten

Unterkunft in Hötzum; Unterkunft in Hötzum; | Foto: Decker Architekten Es gibt auch private Initiativen, wie die von Roland Bohlmann aus dem Dorf Hötzum im Südosten Niedersachsens. Zusammen mit der Braunschweiger Architektin Lieselotte Decker plant er den Umbau eines Altbaus auf dem Land. Hier helfen nicht nur alteingesessene Dorfbewohner mit, auch zahlreiche Unternehmen aus dem Umland unterstützen das Projekt mit Baumaterialien. Wohnen und Arbeiten sind eng miteinander verzahnt. Zukünftig werden hier vier geflüchtete Familien ein neues Zuhause finden, in zwei angegliederten Werkstätten erhalten sie zudem eigene Arbeitsbereiche, denn Handwerk wird dort in der ländlichen Region dringend gebraucht.

Collage für Unterbringung am Bahnhof; Collage für Unterbringung am Bahnhof; | Foto: Jovis Verlag Flüchtlinge sollten in ganz normalen Wohnungen leben, das meint auch der Berliner Architekt und Professor für Architektur und Stadtforschung Arno Brandlhuber. Die knapp zwei Millionen leer stehenden Wohnungen in Deutschland ließen sich für die Ankommenden nutzen. Er plädiert dafür, viel mehr unterschiedliche Wohnungen zu bauen, vor allem aber viel mehr kostengünstige. Brandlhuber fordert, im Wohnungsbau mehr Experimente zu wagen. Er sagt, es sei nötig, bestehende Standards bei den Materialien und bei den Wohnungstypologien zu hinterfragen und neu auszuloten. Das bietet die große Chance, die Wohn- und Lebensmodelle aller Nutzer vielfältiger zu gestalten.