Architectural Education Heritage Conservation as an Export Product

Measuring the Marienturm | Kaiserpfalz Aachen
Measuring the Marienturm | Kaiserpfalz Aachen | (detail) | Photo: Peter Winandy

Throughout the world, European standards on monument preservation and restoration are well-established as a key to effective conservation, reconstruction and protection of cultural heritage. More and more people from outside of Europe are also studying architecture and historic building conservation in Germany. They are then able to transfer the knowledge they have acquired back to their home countries.
Christian Raabe of RWTH Aachen University, Department of Historic Building Conservation and Research DHB), talks about historic building conservation education and the impact of this specific course.

Mr. Raabe, what do the European standards on heritage conservation comprise?
 
From an international viewpoint, the defined goal of monument preservation and restoration is always the same: the protection of cultural heritage. The idea that heritage conservation is a responsibility of the state goes back to around the year 1800. The Memorandum zur Denkmalpflege (memorandum on the preservation of monuments), issued by the architect Karl Friedrich Schinkel in 1815, played an important role for the development in Germany in this respect and for the first time outlined structures for a state monument preservation. France adopted a first law on monument preservation in 1887, which has served as a model for modern heritage conservation legislation. The Venice Charta was then drawn up in 1964 and just a year later the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) was founded that also advises UNESCO on the World Heritage status. This led to the development of internationally recognised heritage conservation rules and methods.
 
Is it possible to transfer these conservation principles to areas outside of Europe? Where can or should concessions be made?
 
The goals and the methods are, of course, transferrable. Experts who are eager to preserve monuments in different countries belong to the same international organisations, such as ICOMOS, for instance, and they also attend the same international congresses. It is irrelevant whether they are European or not.
 
Concessions have to be made if the heritage protection laws are not sufficient, not observed, or if there is a wide margin left for interpretation of the legal basis, something that is uncommon here in Europe. Then there is the issue of financing and the question about the priority awarded to heritage conservation in the eyes of the people, in politics and in administration. Let us not forget that up until well into the nineteen eighties we simply demolished many buildings worthy of preservation in our country as well.
 
What courses on historic building conservation does your university offer?
 
The “classic” architecture course of studies at the RWTH University Aachen focuses on the theory of design and construction, flanked by five interdisciplinary fields: Cultural Heritage, Reuse and Redevelopment, Infrastructure, Production and Process, Material, Function and Production, Context and Form.
 
In the field of Cultural Heritage the subjects History of Architecture, History of Art, Theory of Architecture as well as Historic Building Conservation and Research are mandatory and elective subjects in the course programme. Historic Building Conservation prepares the students in practical aspects relating to the conservation and restoration of buildings. Besides the history of theory formation and monument preservation practice, the course explores the main documentation and examination methods and gives an introduction into the specific properties of historic materials and structures. There is also some theory on legal and institutional aspects to show how our national historic building preservation and also the World Heritage status are organised and the respectively applicable criteria.
 
What experiences have you had with students who come from other cultural environments, are there major differences in their concept of conservation value? Have you been able to inspire them in a way that will help them in their home country?
 
International definitions for conservation-worthy projects do indeed differ. Many students from different cultural environments are very interested in this topic. One often has the impression that here in Germany they are inclined to award greater importance to their own heritage and the need for conservation. The way historic monuments are dealt with in their home country is a subject of discussion and frequently comment on negatively.
 
It is rather like the development of environmental awareness: a society as well as the political and administrative representatives must accept the preservation of architectural heritage as an imperative obligation. For sensible heritage conservation I therefore need a “critical mass”. This also includes civil involvement, patronage and, of course, appropriate educational training.
 
We can offer our education courses. These naturally first and foremost focus on our own local conditions and architectural culture, the acquired knowledge is, however, translated by the students. But we cannot generate the “critical mass”, and if this is lacking we are just sending back lone warriors. But that is at least a start.
 

Cooperations exist between German universities and universities outside of Europe, at the Brandenburgische Technical University (BTU ) Cottbus Senftenberg with Helwan University in Cairo, for example, and at the RWTH Aachen with Iran.
Currently, with the support of the Foreign Office, a Master Degree course in Architectural Conservation is being launched at the German Jordanian University (GJU) in Amman/Jordan. This addresses interested Jordanian students with Bachelor degrees in related subjects, and in particular students from Syria, or from Iraq, for example, who are living in one of the refugee camps in Jordan. 

 

Christian Raabe Photo: RWTH Aachen Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Raabe, Architect, since 1994 office partnership with Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martina Abri. In 2008 appointed as professor for Historic Building Conservation and Research at the RWTH Aachen University. Many restoration projects in Berlin and abroad.

Architekturausbildung Denkmalpflege als Exportprodukt

Vermessung des Marienturms | Kaiserpfalz Aachen
Vermessung des Marienturms | Kaiserpfalz Aachen | (Ausschnitt) | Foto: Peter Winandy

Die europäischen Standards zur Denkmalpflege gelten weltweit als feste Größe zur Erhaltung, zum Wiederaufbau und Schutz von Kulturgut. Immer mehr Nicht-Europäer studieren auch in Deutschland Architektur und Denkmalpflege und transferieren damit ihr Wissen in ihre Heimatländer.
Christian Raabe von der RWTH Aachen, Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet Denkmalpflege und Historische Bauforschung (DHB) erläutert die Ausbildung zur Denkmalpflege und deren Wirkung.
 

Herr Raabe, was beinhalten die europäischen Denkmalpflegestandards?
 
International betrachtet ist das formulierte Ziel der Denkmalpflege immer das gleiche: Es geht um den Schutz von Kulturgut. Die Vorstellung, dass der Schutz der Denkmäler eine staatliche Aufgabe ist, entstand um 1800. Von großer Bedeutung für die Entwicklung in Deutschland war das von dem Architekten Karl Friedrich Schinkel im Jahr 1815 verfasste Memorandum zur Denkmalpflege, in dem zum ersten Mal Strukturen einer staatlichen Denkmalpflege skizziert wurden. Frankreich erließ bereits 1887 ein erstes Denkmalschutzgesetz, das als Vorbild für die moderne Denkmalschutzgesetzgebung gilt. 1964 wurde dann die Charta von Venedig formuliert, ein Jahr später folgte die Gründung des International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS), das unter anderem auch die UNESCO zum Welterbestatus berät. In der Folge haben sich international anerkannte Regeln und Methoden zur Denkmalpflege entwickelt.
 
Sind diese Grundsätze der Erhaltung übertragbar auf außereuropäische Gebiete? Wo können oder müssen Abstriche gemacht werden?
 
Die Ziele und auch die Methoden sind selbstverständlich übertragbar. Die Fachleute, die sich in den verschiedenen Ländern um Denkmäler bemühen, gehören den gleichen internationalen Fachorganisationen wie zum Beispiel ICOMOS an und besuchen dieselben internationalen Tagungen. Europäisch oder nicht spielt dabei keine Rolle.
 
Abstriche müssen gemacht werden, wenn die rechtliche Absicherung des Denkmalschutzes nicht ausreicht oder aber übergangen wird, oder wenn rechtliche Interpretationsspielräume bestehen, die bei uns eher unüblich sind. Damit verbunden sind das Thema der Finanzierung und die Frage nach dem Stellenwert der Denkmalpflege im Bewusstsein von Bürgern, Politik und Administration. Vergessen wir nicht, dass wir selbst bis in die 1980er-Jahre hinein in unserem Land viele denkmalwerte Gebäude ohne große Hemmungen abgerissen haben.
 
Welche Unterrichtseinheiten bietet Ihre Hochschule zum Thema Denkmalschutz?
 
Im „klassischen“ Architekturstudium an der RWTH Aachen stehen die Entwurfs- und die Konstruktionslehre im Zentrum, die von fünf interdisziplinären Schwerpunkten, sogenannten Verbundforschungsfeldern, flankiert werden: Cultural Heritage, Reuse and Redevelopment, Infrastructure, Production and Process, Material, Structure and Function, Context and Form.
 
Im Bereich Cultural Heritage sind die Fächer Architekturgeschichte, Kunstgeschichte, Architekturtheorie sowie Denkmalpflege und Historische Bauforschung im Pflicht- und Wahlfachprogramm vertreten. Die Denkmalpflege bereitet die Studierenden auf die Fragestellungen vor, die in der Praxis mit der Konservierung und Restaurierung von Gebäude verbunden sind. Neben der Geschichte der Theoriebildung und der denkmalpflegerischen Praxis werden die wesentlichen Dokumentations- und Untersuchungsmethoden vorgestellt und es gibt eine Einführung in die Besonderheiten historischer Materialien und Konstruktionen. Hinzu kommt dann noch etwas Rechts- und Institutionenlehre, um zu wissen, wie unsere nationale Denkmalpflege und auch der Welterbestatus organisiert sind und welche Kriterien hier jeweils gelten.
 
Welche Erfahrungen haben Sie mit Studierenden aus anderen Kulturkreisen gemacht, gibt es große Unterschiede in der Wahrnehmung was erhaltenswert ist, und was nicht? Konnten Sie Ihnen etwas mitgeben, was Ihnen vor Ort, in ihrer Heimat, helfen kann?
 
Die Kriterien für die Denkmalwürdigkeit unterscheiden sich in der Tat international. Seitens vieler Studenten und Studentinnen aus anderen Kulturkreisen gibt es ein großes Interesse an dem Thema. Nicht selten hat man das Gefühl, dass für sie das eigene Erbe von Deutschland aus betrachtet an Bedeutung gewinnt und die Fragen nach der Notwendigkeit des Erhalts wichtiger werden. Der Umgang mit den Denkmälern in der Heimat wird thematisiert und häufig negativ kommentiert.
 
Es ist ein bisschen wie mit der Entwicklung des Umweltbewusstseins: Eine Gesellschaft sowie die politischen und administrativen Vertreter müssen die Pflege des baulichen Erbes als Verpflichtung annehmen. Für einen vernünftigen Denkmalschutz brauche ich also eine „kritische Masse“, zu der auch bürgerschaftliches Engagement, Mäzenatentum und natürlich die entsprechende Ausbildung gehören.
 
Mitgeben können wir unsere Ausbildung, die natürlich vor allem auf unsere Verhältnisse und unsere Baukultur abzielt, die aber von den Studierenden übertragen werden. Die „kritische Masse“ können wir aber nicht erzeugen, und wenn die fehlt, dann schicken wir eben Einzelkämpfer zurück. Immerhin ein Anfang.
 

Kooperationen zwischen deutschen und außereuropäischen Hochschulen existieren zum Beispiel an BTU Cottbus Senftenberg mit der Helwan University in Kairo, an der RWTH Aachen mit dem Iran.
Zurzeit wird mit der Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes ein Master-Studiengang Architectural Conservation an der German Jordanian University (GJU) in Amman/Jordanien eingerichtet. Angesprochen sind hier neben jordanischen interessieren Bachelorabsolventen verwandter Fächer vor allem Studierende aus z.B. Syrien oder dem Irak, die in einem der Flüchtlingslager in Jordanien untergebracht sind.
 

 

Christian Raabe Foto: RWTH Aachen Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Raabe, Architekt, seit 1994 Büropartnerschaft mit Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martina Abri. 2008 Berufung zum Professor für Denkmalpflege und Historische Bauforschung (DHB) an die RWTH Aachen University. Zahlreiche Restaurierungsprojekte in Berlin und im Ausland.