Commemorative Culture Avoiding the Pathos

Holocaust memorial | Berlin
Holocaust memorial | Photo (detail): Marko Priske

German cities are full of memorial sites. Memorial culture has undergone fundamental changes in western Germany since the Second World War, and furthermore since reunification.

 

It all started in the 14th through the 17th centuries, with statues of the hero Roland symbolizing city and town privileges, equestrian statues of generals and princes oriented on Roman models, followed by all the Goethes and Schillers of German classicism. In the wake of the founding of the German Reich in 1871 and the Franco-German War, the nation congratulated itself with a multitude of patriotic victors’ monuments. In particular, the Bismarck cult found expression in 146 Bismarck towers and columns, plus an additional 550 monuments. German cities are full of memorial sites. 

German cities are full of memorial sites. Nonetheless, their character changed following the First World War. In place of bombastic victors’ monuments, sites arose in honour of heroically fallen soldiers. After the devastating Second World War, no one felt any further need for hero worship, and in many places additional plaques with the names of fallen fellow citizens were simply added to those of the First World War.

Memorial instead of monument

Since then, monuments celebrating national pride or outstanding personalities from politics, culture or science are no longer expedient. Instead of monuments, memorials arise that warn against war, displacement and exile, and genocide. Since the initiation of the process of coming to terms with the persecution of the Jews in the mid-‘Seventies, more and more memorials have been erected, culminating in Berlin’s Holocaust Memorial. Omnipresent are the so called “Stolpersteine”, literally “stumbling stones”, small cobblestones with gleaming brass plates in front of houses and buildings where the persecuted had lived. To an extent that would be practically unthinkable in other countries, Germans are thematising their own political and moral failure by means of memorials and monuments.
 
  • Holocaust memorial | Berlin Photo: Marko Priske
    1. Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, Berlin 2005. The Holocaust memorial designed by American architect Peter Eisenman, as the central remembrance site next to the Brandenburg Gate, has become a major public attraction. It consists of a field of 2711 concrete pillars of differing heights, some standing aslant, and a below-ground information point where the history of persecution of the Jews is exemplified and illustrated.
  • Memorial to the Sinti and Roma of Europe Murdered under the National Socialist Regime Photo: Marko Priske
    2. Memorial to the Sinti and Roma of Europe Murdered under the National Socialist Regime, Berlin 2012. Israeli artist Dani Karavan designed the remembrance site in Berlin’s Tiergarten as a circular, deep-black pool of water with a triangular island on which a fresh flower is continually laid. Glass panels with an inscribed chronology of the genocide enclose the grounds.
  • Memorial and Information Point for the Victims of National Socialist “Euthanasia” Killings Photo: Marko Priske
    3. Memorial and Information Point for the Victims of National Socialist “Euthanasia” Killings, Berlin 2014. Initially, a monumental sculpture by American artist Richard Serra from 1986, consisting of two rusting steel plates placed near the Philharmonic, was rededicated as a memorial. In 2014, a light-blue glass wall following a design by Ursula Wilms and Heinz W. Hallmann was added, as well as a long concrete reading pult with informative texts and video stations.
  • Stumbling Stones Photo: Karin Richert
    4. Stolpersteine (Stumbling Stones). The “Stolpersteine” with which artist Gunter Demnig evokes the memory of those persecuted and murdered during the National Socialist era are to be found set into the sidewalks in front of victims’ former homes. Beginning in 1992, 60,000 square brass plaques with hand-engraved inscriptions have been installed in Germany and 20 other European countries.
  • Memorial to the victims of political persecution in the Soviet Occupation Zone (SBZ) and the GDR from 1945-1989 Photo: Kristian Philler
    5. Memorial to the victims of political persecution in the Soviet Occupation Zone (SBZ) and the GDR from 1945-1989, Jena 2010. The memorial was placed before the former Jena district headquarters of the GDR Ministry of State Security. Following the design by artists Sibylle Mania and Martin Neubert, 285 document boxes made of coloured concrete were stacked on a steel plate, referencing the soullessly administrative perfection of the persecution of regime opponents.
  • Monument to Freedom and Unity © Milla & Partner
    6. Monument to Freedom and Unity, Berlin. The design “Bürger in Bewegung” (i.e. citizens on the move) by event agency Milla & Partner and choreographer Sasha Waltz is planned for the site of the former Kaiser Wilhelm National Monument in front of the City Palace. An enterable bowl will move up and down, following visitors’ actions. The construction, dubbed the “Unity See-Saw,” remains controversial.
  • Marienborn Memorial of German Division Photo: Gedenkstätte Deutsche Teilung Marienborn
    7. Marienborn Memorial of German Division. On the 7.5 hectare grounds by the A2, at one time the most important border crossing to the GDR, former transit travellers can now take a look behind the scenes and view passport processing, vehicle checks and internal offices. In the former staff building a permanent exhibition offers information on the history of this checkpoint.
  • Berlin-Hohenschönhausen Memorial © Gedenkstätte Berlin-Hohenschönhausen/Gvoon
    8. Berlin-Hohenschönhausen Memorial, Berlin 1994, 2013. The central remand prison of the Ministry of State Security was the most notorious place in the illegitimate GDR state. The interrogation rooms and cells where prisoners were psychologically broken by means of traceless “white torture” have been preserved in all their oppressive banality into an impressive memorial site.
  • Bundeswehr Memorial Photo: Bundeswehr/Bienert
    9. Bundeswehr Memorial, Berlin 2009. On the grounds of the German Federal Ministry of Defence, architect Andreas Meck erected this externally enterable memorial in the form of a concrete cube with perforated bronze side walls. Inside, the names of 3100 Bundeswehr members who lost their lives are projected at 5-second intervals onto the wall of the “Room of Stillness”.
  • Forest of Remembrance Photo: Bundeswehr/Hannemann
    10. Forest of Remembrance, Potsdam 2016. The complex designed by Rüthnick Architekten as a memorial to Bundeswehr soldiers who have died in the course of deployment abroad is embedded within the trees surrounding the Operations Command barracks. A 150-meter long path with an exhibition centre at the beginning and a Room of Stillness at the end is lined with seven stelae with commemorative plaques and memorial groves brought back from the Bundeswehr’s overseas operations zones.

With their typology and design more recent memorials attempt to convey feelings of menace, deracination and despair, calling to mind – sometimes symbolically, and sometimes concretely – deportation and annihilation through scenarios with railway wagons, luggage and similar imagery. Here, in the past decade, perspectives have been expanded and further differentiated. Following the numerous memorial sites to the fates of their Jewish fellow citizens, Germans have recently erected memorials to persecuted Sinti and Roma, homosexuals, euthanasia victims and others.

Keep memory alive

German reunification provided a new occasion for memorialisation. However, to date unity has not been achieved with respect to the site of the Monday Demonstrations in Leipzig in 1989, nor in the now-unified German capital of Berlin on the subject of monuments commemorating unification in general. It seemed simpler to keep alive the memory of the “illegitimate” GDR. The Wall Museum in Berlin seeks to lend visibility to the inhuman border fortifications, although these were almost completely eliminated following reunification.  The border checkpoint on the A2 between Braunschweig and Magdeburg, since 1996 "Gedenkstätte Deutsche Teilung Marienborn“ /Memorial to the Division of Germany, became a site of remembrance and historical and political education. Former facilities and prisons of the GDR’s Ministry of State Security (StaSi) from Rostock to Erfurt have been opened as documentation and remembrance centres, above all the notorious Stasiuntersuchungsgefängnis (StaSi remand prison) in Berlin-Hohenschönhausen and the Stasi Museum in the former Ministry of State Security.
 
Coming to terms with National Socialist iniquity and the SED dictatorship is included in the German federal government’s funding objectives. Other political themes and more recent political history such as European unification are receding into the background and are only seldom thematised by memorials or centres of remembrance.
Two current “war memorials” exist in a new form. The central Bundeswehr memorial to army members who died serving their country stands on the grounds of the Ministry of Defence in Berlin since 2009. A memorial site near Potsdam dedicated to soldiers who lost their lives in Bundeswehr deployments abroad bears the title “Forest of Remembrance (Wald der Erinnerung)“.
 
More recent memorials have in common an architecture that avoids emotional pathos of any sort by means of restraint and simple design. They do not flaunt national pride or pretensions to power and are not directed against other peoples, but possess an moral and ethical educational mission. They are meant to impart insight and humility and appeal to tolerance and humanity.

Erinnerungskultur Das Pathos vermeiden

Holocaust-Mahnmal | Berlin
Holocaust-Mahnmal | Berlin | Foto (Ausschnitt): Marko Priske

Deutsche Städte sind voller Erinnerungsorte. Allerdings hat sich die Memorialkultur nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs und nach der Wiedervereinigung 1989 grundlegend gewandelt.

Denkmale früherer Jahrhunderte sind zumeist Standbilder, etwa das Stadtrecht symbolisierende Rolandstatuen vom 14. bis 17. Jahrhundert oder an römischen Vorbildern orientierte Reiterstandbilder von Feldherren und Fürsten. Ihnen folgten Goethe- und Schiller-Statuen im Zeitalter der deutschen Klassik. Nach dem Deutsch-Französischen Krieg und der Reichsgründung 1871 und feierte sich die Nation mit einer Vielzahl patriotischer Siegerdenkmale. Insbesondere der Bismarck-Kult fand in 146 Bismarcktürmen und -säulen und weiteren 550 Denkmalen seinen Ausdruck.

Deutsche Städte sind voller Erinnerungsorte. Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg änderte sich allerdings häufig ihr Charakter. Statt auftrumpfender Siegerdenkmale entstanden vielfach Orte zu Ehren der, wie es hieß, heldenhaft gefallenen Soldaten. Nach dem Ende des verheerenden Zweiten Weltkrieg verspürte man kaum noch Bedürfnisse zur Heldenverehrung und fügte vielerorts den vorhandenen Denkmälern einfach weitere Namenstafeln der gefallenen Mitbürger hinzu.

Mahnmal statt Denkmal

Denkmale, die den Nationalstolz oder herausragende Persönlichkeiten aus Politik, Kultur und Wissenschaft feiern, sind mittlerweile nicht mehr opportun. Anstelle von Denkmalen dieser Art entstehen Mahnmale gegen den Krieg, gegen Vertreibung und Völkermord. Seit etwa Mitte der 1970er-Jahre die Aufarbeitung der Verfolgung und Ermordung der Juden Europas begann, wurden mehr und mehr Gedenkstätten zu dieser Thematik errichtet, zuletzt das Berliner Holocaust-Mahnmal. An vielen Orten präsent sind die „Stolpersteine“: kleine, messingglänzende, mit Namen versehene Pflastersteine. Sie liegen vor den Häusern, in denen die hier Benannten einst gewohnt haben, bevor sie Opfer nationalsozialistischer Verfolgung wurden. In einem in anderen Ländern kaum denkbaren Maße thematisieren die Deutschen ihr eigenes politisches und moralisches Versagen während der NS-Diktatur mittels Mahn- und Gedenkstätten.
 
  • Holocaust-Mahnmal | Berlin Foto: Marko Priske
    Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden Europas, Berlin 2005. Das von dem amerikanischen Architekten Peter Eisenman gestaltete Holocaust-Mahnmal ist als zentraler Gedenkort in unmittelbarer Nähe des Brandenburger Tors zum Publikumsmagneten geworden. Es besteht aus einem Feld von 2711 unterschiedlich hohen, zum Teil schräg stehenden Betonstelen und einem unterirdischen Ort der Information, in dem die Geschichte der Judenverfolgung veranschaulicht wird.
  • Denkmal für die im Nationalsozialismus ermordeten Sinti und Roma Europas Foto: Marko Priske
    Denkmal für die im Nationalsozialismus ermordeten Sinti und Roma Europas, Berlin 2012. Der israelische Künstler Dani Karavan entwarf den Erinnerungsort im Stadtteil Tiergarten als kreisrundes, tiefschwarzes Wasserbecken mit einer dreieckigen Insel, auf der immer eine frische Blume abgelegt wird. Glastafeln mit eingeschriebener Chronologie des Völkermords umfrieden das Areal.
  • Gedenk- und Informationsort für die Opfer der nationalsozialistischen »Euthanasie«-Morde Foto: Marko Priske
    Gedenk- und Informationsort für die Opfer der nationalsozialistischen »Euthanasie«-Morde, Berlin 2014. Zunächst wurde eine nahe der Philharmonie postierte, aus zwei rostenden Stahlplatten bestehende Monumentalskulptur des amerikanischen Künstlers Richard Serra aus dem Jahr 1986 zum Mahnmal umgewidmet. 2014 entstand nach dem Entwurf von Ursula Wilms und Heinz W. Hallmann als Ergänzung eine hellblaue Glaswand und ein lang gestrecktes Betonpult mit Informationstexten und Videostationen.
  • Stolpersteine Foto: Karin Richert
    Stolpersteine. Vor den jeweiligen Wohnhäusern auf dem Gehweg eingelassen sind die „Stolpersteine“ zu finden, mit denen der Künstler Gunter Demnig an zur Zeit des Nationalsozialismus verfolgte und ermordete Hausbewohner erinnert. Von den quadratischen Messingplatten mit von Hand eingeschlagener Beschriftung sind seit 1992 in Deutschland und in 20 weiteren europäischen Ländern 60.000 Stück verlegt worden.
  • Zum Gedenken an die politisch Verfolgten in der sowjetischen Besatzungszone (SBZ) und in der DDR zwischen 1945 und 1989 Foto: Kristian Philler
    Zum Gedenken an die politisch Verfolgten in der Sowjetischen Besatzungszone (SBZ) und in der DDR zwischen 1945 und 1989, Jena 2010. Das Denkmal fand vor der ehemaligen Außenstelle Jena des DDR-Ministeriums für Staatssicherheit seinen Platz. Nach einem Entwurf der Künstler Sibylle Mania und Martin Neubert wurden auf einer Stahlplatte 285 Aktenbehälter aus gefärbtem Beton gestapelt, die auf die seelenlose verwaltungstechnische Perfektion der Verfolgung von Regimegegnern verweisen.
  • Denkmal für Freiheit und Einheit © Milla & Partner
    Denkmal für Freiheit und Einheit, Berlin. Der von der Eventagentur Milla & Partner und der Choreografin Sasha Waltz gestaltete Entwurf „Bürger in Bewegung“ soll am Ort des früheren Kaiser-Wilhelm-Nationaldenkmals vor dem Schloss errichtet werden. Eine begehbare Schale wird sich, je nach Aktion der Besucher, auf und ab bewegen. Das „Einheitswippe“ genannte Bauwerk ist nach wie vor umstritten.
  • Gedenkstätte Deutsche Teilung Marienborn Foto: Gedenkstätte Deutsche Teilung Marienborn
    Gedenkstätte Deutsche Teilung Marienborn. Auf der 7,5 Hektar großen Anlage an der A 2, einst der wichtigste Grenzübergang zur DDR, können ehemalige Transitreisende heute einen Blick hinter die Kulissen werfen und die Passbearbeitung, die Fahrzeugkontrollen und internen Diensträume besichtigen. Im ehemaligen Stabsgebäude informiert eine Dauerausstellung über die Geschichte des Kontrollpunkts.
  • Gedenkstätte Berlin Hohenschönhausen © Gedenkstätte Berlin-Hohenschönhausen/Gvoon
    Gedenkstätte Berlin Hohenschönhausen, Berlin 1994, 2013. Das zentrale Untersuchungsgefängnis der Staatssicherheit war der berüchtigtste Ort des DDR-Unrechtsstaats. Die Vernehmungsräume und Zellen, in denen die Gefangenen durch spurenlose „weiße Folter“ psychisch gebrochen wurden, sind in ihrer ganzen beklemmenden Banalität und Freudlosigkeit erhalten. Der Architekt HG Merz hat die Baulichkeiten und die Ausstellung sensibel zu einem eindrücklichen Gedenkort gestaltet.
  • Ehrenmal der Bundeswehr Foto: Bundeswehr/Bienert
    Ehrenmal der Bundeswehr, Berlin 2009. Der Architekt Andreas Meck errichtete auf dem Gelände des Bundesverteidigungsministeriums dieses von außen zugängliche Ehrenmal in Form eines Betonquaders mit durchbrochenen, bronzenen Seitenwänden. Im Inneren werden die Namen von 3100 im Dienst ums Leben gekommenen Bundeswehrangehörigen im Fünfsekundentakt an die Wand des „Raums der Stille“ projiziert.
  • Wald der Erinnerung Foto: Bundeswehr/Hannemann
    Wald der Erinnerung, Potsdam 2016. Die von Rüthnick Architekten gestaltete Anlage zum Gedenken an im Ausland gefallene Bundeswehrsoldaten ist in den Baumbestand der Kaserne des Einsatzführungskommandos eingebettet. Ein 150 Meter langer Weg mit einem Ausstellungsgebäude am Beginn und einem Raum der Stille am Ende ist gesäumt von sieben Stelen mit Gedenktafeln und von Ehrenhainen, die von den ausländischen Einsatzorten der Bundeswehr zurückgeführt wurden.
Die jüngeren Mahnmale versuchen mit ihrer Typologie und Gestaltung, Gefühle von Bedrohung, Entwurzelung und Hoffnungslosigkeit zu vermitteln und erinnern mal symbolisch, mal konkret durch Szenarien mit Eisenbahnwagen, Reisegepäck und dergleichen an Verschleppung und Vernichtung. Dabei weitete und differenzierte sich der Blick im letzten Jahrzehnt. Nach den zahlreichen, an die Schicksale jüdischer Mitbürger erinnernden Gedenkorte wurden jüngst solche errichtet, die etwa an verfolgte Sinti und Roma, Homosexuelle sowie Euthanasieopfer erinnern.

Erinnerung Wachhalten

Neuen Anlass zum Gedenken gab die deutsche Wiedervereinigung. Allerdings hat man sich bislang weder in Leipzig am Ort der Montagsdemonstrationen 1989, noch in der Hauptstadt Berlin auf Einheitsdenkmale einigen können. Einfacher schien es, die Erinnerung an den Unrechtsstaat DDR wachzuhalten. Das Mauermuseum in Berlin versucht, die unmenschlichen Sperranlagen zu veranschaulichen, obwohl diese nach der Wende fast restlos getilgt wurden. Der Grenzübergang an der A2 zwischen Braunschweig und Magdeburg, seit 1996 „Gedenkstätte Deutsche Teilung Marienborn“, wurde zum Ort der Erinnerung und der historisch-politischen Bildung. Ehemalige Einrichtungen und Gefängnisse der DDR-Staatssicherheit von Rostock bis Erfurt sind als Dokumentations- und Gedenkstätten geöffnet, allen voran das berüchtigte Stasiuntersuchungsgefängnis in Berlin-Hohenschönhausen und das Stasimuseum im ehemaligen Ministerium für Staatssicherheit.   
 
Die Aufarbeitung des NS-Unrechts und der SED-Diktatur gehören zu den Förderungszielen der Bundesregierung. Andere politische Themen und die aktuellere politische Geschichte wie etwa die europäische Einigung sind weniger präsent und werden durch Erinnerungsstätten nur selten thematisiert.

Zwei Denkmale jüngeren Datums mit militärischem Bezug weisen neue Formen auf: Auf dem Gelände des Verteidigungsministeriums in Berlin steht seit 2009 das zentrale Ehrenmal der Bundeswehr zum Gedenken an die im Dienst umgekommenen Bundeswehrangehörigen. „Wald der Erinnerung“ heißt ein Gedenkort bei Potsdam, der den in Auslandseinsätzen der Bundeswehr ums Leben gekommenen Soldaten gewidmet ist.
 
Den jüngeren Denk- und Mahnmalen ist gemeinsam, dass ihre Architektur durch Zurückhaltung und schlichte Gestaltung jegliches Pathos vermeidet. Sie symbolisieren nicht Nationalstolz und Herrschaftsansprüche und sind nicht gegen andere Völker gerichtet, sondern sie haben einen moralischen Bildungsauftrag. Sie sollen Einsicht und Demut vermitteln und an Toleranz und Menschlichkeit appellieren.