Nestor German Network of Expertise for Digital Preservation

Data centre at GWD in Göttingen
Data centre at GWD in Göttingen | Photo (detail): ©Thomas Meyer / Ostkreuz

Given the rapid pace of technological change, the long-term preservation of digital objects requires constant attention. The nestor network is gathering the requisite expertise all over Germany.

In Book 9 of the Odyssey, the old man Nestor is described as wise and well-meaning; his advice to the Greeks in Troy is considered to be felicitous and helpful. Just like this character from antiquity, the nestor network also regards itself as an expert advisor on strategic questions – albeit from another millennium.

The acronym “nestor” stands for “Network of Expertise in long-term Storage and availability of digital Resources in Germany”.

Interdisciplinary network

Within Germany’s federal system, no central authority is responsible for the digital preservation of the country’s cultural heritage. In 2003, nestor was launched as a project funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Today, ten years on, the network of expertise is run by 18 institutions working in partnership – libraries, museums, archives and research institutes.

“We joined forces with a view to exchanging views and ideas and to jointly tackling problems”, explains Armin Straube, who runs the nestor office at the German National Library in Frankfurt am Main. “Our activities are based on three key elements: we establish a network of institutions that work in the field of long-term preservation; we attempt to create joint standards; and we provide training, for instance to librarians and archivists, in the form of continuing education courses and workshops.”

Further developing strategies

Problems of long-term preservation cannot be solved once and for all. “The main challenges we face are that we are dealing with extremely different types of digital objects and that both software and hardware are changing all the time”, says Armin Straube. The experts therefore monitor and keep track of technological developments and check their compatibility with the objects that need to be preserved.

When problems can be foreseen – for example the fact that it will soon no longer be possible to play a film on a certain medium – action needs to be taken. Two fundamental strategies are followed here: either migration, where an outdated object is converted into a new form, or emulation, where the original software or hardware environment is recreated.

nestor gathers together practical experience and research results relating to digital preservation, processes this information and makes it available to the community. “Unfortunately, our workshops, publications and information services have so far only been able to reach a handful of the many institutions that are acutely affected by this problem in Germany. Our goal is for the tools and recommendations we are working on to be implemented in the great majority of these institutions.”

International networking

nestor is not only a network of institutions in Germany, but also a part of international initiatives. One central forum when it comes to sharing know-how and expertise is the APARSEN project run by the European Alliance for Permanent Access. This association of national libraries, archives and networks functions as a kind of umbrella organization. A key role is also played by the Open Planets Foundation. The result of an EU project, the Foundation drives forward technical developments in the area of digital preservation.

“One of our role models – especially in terms of the scope of its activities – is without doubt the British Digital Preservation Coalition, with whom we cooperate closely”, says Armin Straube. Although the DPC boasts far more members, and thus greater resources, nestor has no need to hide its light under a bushel. “The certification system we developed has for example achieved international acclaim.”

nestor has compiled a comprehensive catalogue of criteria for trusted digital repositories. “We worked out which elements are needed, in institutional and technical terms, to ensure that objects stored in a long-term archive will have a good chance of being preserved in the future.” Institutions can have their repositories checked against this catalogue of criteria and – assuming the criteria are met – acquire the nestor seal.

Incidentally, the Nestor of Greek mythology is supposed to have lived three human lifespans – a very considerable length of time. When the nestor experts talk about the “long term”, they are not concerned with concrete figures. “It would be unprofessional to make any promises, guaranteeing for example that it will still be possible to view a particular object in 50 years’ time. All we can do is establish the conditions to ensure that it will be easier in future to take the next step in adapting to technological progress.”

Nestor
Deutsches Kompetenznetzwerk für digitale Langzeitarchivierung

Rechenzentrum GWD in Göttingen
Rechenzentrum GWD in Göttingen | Foto (Ausschnitt): ©Thomas Meyer / Ostkreuz

Die Langzeitarchivierung von digitalen Objekten bedarf angesichts des rasanten technologischen Wandels ständiger Aufmerksamkeit. Im Netzwerk Nestor wird deutschlandweit das Know-how dafür gesammelt.

Als weise und wohlmeinend wird der greise Nestor im neunten Gesang der Odyssee beschrieben; sein Rat gilt den Griechen in Troja als trefflich und hilfreich. Wie die antike Figur versteht sich auch das Kompetenznetzwerk Nestor als fachkundiger Berater in strategischen Fragen – wenngleich diese aus einem anderen Jahrtausend stammen.

Das Akronym Nestor steht für „Network of Expertise in long-term Storage and availability of digital Resources in Germany“. Zu Deutsch: Nestor kümmert sich um Fragen der Langzeitarchivierung und -verfügbarkeit digitaler Ressourcen in Deutschland.

Spartenübergreifender Zusammenschluss

In der föderalen Bundesrepublik gibt es keine zentrale Behörde, die für die digitale Langzeitarchivierung des kulturellen Erbes zuständig ist. Im Jahr 2003 ist Nestor als ein vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördertes Projekt gestartet. Heute wird das Kompetenznetzwerk von 18 Partnerinstitutionen – Bibliotheken, Museen, Archiven und Forschungseinrichtungen – getragen.

„Wir haben uns zusammengeschlossen, um uns auszutauschen und gemeinsam Probleme anzugehen“, erläutert Armin Straube, der die Nestor-Geschäftsstelle in der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main leitet. „Den Kern unserer Arbeit bilden drei Schwerpunkte: Wir vernetzen Institutionen, die mit dem Thema Langzeitarchivierung zu tun haben, wir versuchen, gemeinsame Standards zu schaffen, und wir qualifizieren zum Beispiel Bibliothekare und Archivare im Rahmen von Fortbildungen und Workshops.“

Weiterentwicklung von Strategien

Probleme der Langzeitarchivierung löst man nicht ein für alle Mal. „Die großen Herausforderungen sind, dass wir es zum einen mit den vielfältigsten digitalen Objekten zu tun haben, und sich zum anderen sowohl die Software- als auch die Hardware-Umgebung ständig wandeln“, sagt Armin Straube. So beobachten die Experten die technologischen Entwicklungen und gleichen sie mit den Objekten ab, die es aufzubewahren gilt.

Sind Probleme absehbar – etwa, dass Filme in naher Zukunft nicht mehr abgespielt werden können –, so müssen Maßnahmen ergriffen werden. Dafür gibt es zwei grundlegende Strategien: die Migration, bei der ein veraltetes Objekt in eine neue Form gebracht wird, und die Emulation, bei der die ursprüngliche Software- oder Hardware-Umgebung nachgebaut wird.

Bei Nestor werden praktische Erfahrungen und Forschungsergebnisse zur digitalen Langzeitarchivierung gesammelt, aufbereitet und in die Fachöffentlichkeit hineingetragen. „Leider erreichen wir bisher mit unseren Workshops, Veröffentlichungen und Informationsangeboten nur einen Teil der vielen Einrichtungen, die in Deutschland akut mit dem Problem befasst sind. Unser Ziel ist es, dass die Werkzeuge und Empfehlungen, die wir entwickeln, auch in der Masse der Institutionen implementiert werden.“

Internationale Vernetzung

Nestor vernetzt nicht nur Institutionen in Deutschland, sondern ist auch Teil internationaler Initiativen. Ein zentrales Forum für den Austausch von Know-how ist das Projekt Aparsen, hinter dem die europäische Alliance for Permanent Access steht. Dieser Zusammenschluss aus Nationalbibliotheken, Archiven und Netzwerken fungiert als eine Art Dachorganisation. Eine zentrale Rolle spielt auch die Organisation Open Planets Foundation. Sie ist aus einem EU-Projekt hervorgegangen und treibt technische Entwicklungen im Bereich der digitalen Langzeitarchivierung voran.

„Eines unserer Vorbilder – vor allem, was die Menge an Aktivitäten angeht – ist sicherlich die britische Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC), mit der wir eng zusammenarbeiten“, sagt Armin Straube. Doch auch wenn die DPC deutlich mehr Mitglieder und damit mehr Mittel hat, muss sich Nestor nicht verstecken. „International beachtet wird etwa unsere Entwicklung eines Zertifizierungsverfahrens.“

Nestor hat einen umfangreichen Kriterienkatalog dazu erstellt, was ein vertrauenswürdiges digitales Langzeitarchiv ausmacht. „Wir haben festgelegt, welche Elemente institutionell und technisch zusammenkommen müssen, damit die in einem Langzeitarchiv gespeicherten Objekte eine gute Chance haben, in Zukunft erhalten zu werden.“ Institutionen können ihr Archiv entsprechend prüfen lassen und – falls es den Kriterien gerecht wird – das Nestor-Siegel erwerben.

Der mythische Nestor soll im Übrigen drei Menschenalter gelebt haben. Eine lange Zeit. Wenn die Nestor-Experten von „Langzeit“ sprechen, geht es ihnen nicht um konkrete Zahlen. „Es ist unseriös, Garantien zu geben – etwa darüber, dass ein bestimmtes Objekt in 50 Jahren noch darstellbar ist. Wir können nur die Voraussetzungen schaffen, dass es in Zukunft einfacher sein wird, den nächsten Schritt in der Anpassung an den technologischen Wandel zu tun.“