Formats for continuing education Librarian Communication in Flux

BibCamp 2011
BibCamp 2011 | Photo (detail): © Thomas Hapke

By 2010 at the latest, librarians had developed a huge appetite for new formats: both in the area of continuing education and, more generally, for professional events. There is an increasingly urgent need nowadays for librarians to get together in informal settings to generate ideas – irrespective of their seniority levels or the libraries to which they belong. On the Web, blogs are beginning to give wings to professional discourse.

The BibCamp “librarians’ unconference” was staged for the first time in 2008. The term “unconference” says it all: there are no audiences at the BibCamps, only participants. What is more, the programme is not fixed in advance – instead, a colourful mix of library practitioners come from all over Germany (and increasingly from other countries too) to discuss and exchange views on subjects that are currently important to them.

At the start of the BibCamp anyone can suggest a topic for discussions – if a handful of people can be found who are interested in the topic, the proposal leads to a session. Just like at traditional conferences, many large and smaller sessions generally take place in parallel. The results are documented either during or after the sessions in blogs, on Twitter or in the form of a joint Wiki.

From well-kept secret to widely acknowledged form of continuing education

While the first BibCamp that took place in Berlin and Potsdam in 2008 was still something of a well-kept secret, the third German-language BibCamp 2010 in Hanover received so many applications that the organizers had to reject all but 150 prospective participants: the venue simply could not accommodate any more people. In a bid to ensure they remain open to participants still undergoing training, the BibCamps are often held at universities of applied science. Thanks also to sponsoring and, above all, the hard work of volunteers at the local level, this allows conference fees to be avoided. Most people who attend a BibCamp are impressed and keen to take part again.

The audience had changed noticeably again at the fourth BibCamp 2011 in Hamburg: no longer was the event dominated by young, technophile librarians almost exclusively from academic libraries. Most of the participants were able, with the blessing of their library directors, to attend the event during work time – their participation was acknowledged as being continuing education.

New formats for knowledge generation

Those behind the BibCamps have been taken by surprise by the way the events have developed. The intentionally relaxed, informal event format was never meant to compete with the established range of continuing education offered by professional associations, universities and library federations. By 2010 at the latest, however, librarians had developed a huge appetite for new formats: both in the area of continuing education and, more generally, for professional events.

In 2011, for example, the Virtual Specialist Libraries (Vifa) staged a VifaCamp, while the first “information science BarCamp” FreiTag 2011 was successfully launched at the Humboldt University in Berlin and parts of the Informare mutated in 2011 to become Informare!Camp, to name but three striking recent developments. These days hardly a single conference of librarians takes place at which computer games and eBook readers are not presented at busy exhibition stands or where there isn’t a rapid succession of short lectures with enthusiastic discussion sessions which are subsequently posted on YouTube. In this context, the organization Zukunftswerkstatt e.V. (i.e. Future Workshop) – the initiator and operator of these exhibition stands – merits particular mention.

The official librarian conference programme is now doing its best to catch up: from the successful Inetbib Conference 2010 at the ETH Zurich it has adopted the concept of “lightning talks” where speakers are urged to spend just five minutes focusing on aspects of real importance. Sufficient scope is provided for joint discussions after each of these lectures – in some cases the debates acquire a dynamism that is reminiscent of the conducive learning atmosphere of a BibCamp session.

Bringing disorder into professional learning

What is the reason for this appetite? Probably the most important educational aspect the highly enthusiastic BibCamp participants experience is the anarchy of the learning process itself. Many are surprised to find that learning can function without predefined contents and roles, that one’s own curiosity can be a sufficient driving force, and that an exchange amongst motivated practitioners can serve as its basis. Communities of practice – in which librarians get together in informal settings to generate ideas, irrespective of their seniority levels or the libraries to which they belong – have for many years hardly been pursued at all within the business and communication cultures of libraries, despite the fact that they are urgently needed.

The half-life of knowledge acquired during vocational education and at university has become dramatically reduced. At the same time, a generation of young professionals is now entering the information sector for whom informal learning – both with and about new technologies – is the rule. Added to this open attitude to technology, and at least as important, is an absolute taking for granted of the communality of learning.

Blogs open up space

It is noticeable that many enthusiastic BibCamp participants are themselves authors of their own blogs which have the power to give wings to written professional discourse by liberating it from traditional print era dependencies such as editorial and business policies, subscription fees and the like. Blogs open up space for rapidly communicated observations and direct feedback from the community, for the development of individual strong opinions, and – last but not least – for practical experiences and experiments with Web media which in many respects have become indispensable for information professionals.

Weiterbildungsformate Bibliothekarische Kommunikation in Bewegung

BibCamp 2011
BibCamp 2011 | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Thomas Hapke

Spätestens seit 2010 existiert ein regelrechter Heißhunger nach neuen Formaten in der bibliothekarischen Weiterbildung und den Fachveranstaltungen allgemein. Gemeinschaftliche informelle Ideenproduktion quer über Dienstgrade und Institutionszugehörigkeiten hinweg wird heute dringender denn je benötigt. Im Web beginnen Blogs die Fachdiskussion zu beflügeln.

Die „bibliothekarische Unkonferenz“ BibCamp fand 2008 das erste Mal statt. Der Begriff Unkonferenz ist Programm: Auf den BibCamps gibt es keine Zuhörer, nur Teilnehmer. Zudem gibt es kein vorher festgesetztes Programm – nur eine bunte Mischung aus Bibliothekspraktikern, die aus ganz Deutschland (und immer häufiger aus anderen Ländern) anreisen, um sich über das auszutauschen, was für sie aktuell wichtig ist.

Zu Beginn des BibCamps kann jeder Themenvorschläge machen: Wenn sich ein paar Interessierte finden, dann wird eine Session daraus. Wie auf traditionellen Konferenzen finden meist zahlreiche große und kleine Sessions parallel zueinander statt. Was dabei herauskommt wird während oder nach den Sessions gebloggt, getwittert oder in einem gemeinsamen Wiki festgehalten.

Vom Geheimtipp zur anerkannten Weiterbildung

War das erste BibCamp 2008 in Berlin und Potsdam noch ein Geheimtipp, so gab es zum dritten deutschsprachigen BibCamp 2010 in Hannover bereits so viele Anmeldungen, dass die Organisatoren nach 150 Anmeldungen einen Schnitt machen mussten: Für mehr Personen hätte der Platz am Veranstaltungsort nicht gereicht. Gerade um offen zu bleiben für Teilnehmende, die noch in der Ausbildung sind, finden die BibCamps oft in den Räumlichkeiten von Fachhochschulen statt. Dadurch, aber auch durch Sponsoring und vor allem das Engagement Freiwilliger vor Ort, werden Tagungsgebühren vermieden. Die meisten, die ein BibCamp besuchen, sind beeindruckt und wollen wieder teilnehmen.

Beim vierten BibCamp 2011 in Hamburg hatte sich das Publikum nochmals spürbar verändert: Mit der Dominanz der jungen, technikaffinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen, die fast ausschließlich aus wissenschaftlichen Bibliotheken kamen, war es nun vorbei. Die meisten Teilnehmenden konnten mit dem Segen ihrer Bibliotheksleitung eine Dienstreise zu der Veranstaltung unternehmen, der Besuch wurde als Fortbildung anerkannt.

Wissensproduktion in neuen Formaten

Die Entwicklung der BibCamps hat die Macherinnen und Macher überrumpelt. Mit der betont lockeren, informellen Veranstaltungsform hatte man dem etablierten Weiterbildungsangebot der Berufsverbände, Hochschulen und Bibliotheksverbünde nie Konkurrenz machen wollen. Doch spätestens seit 2010 existiert ein regelrechter Heißhunger nach neuen Formaten in der bibliothekarischen Weiterbildung und den Fachveranstaltungen allgemein.

So veranstalteten die Virtuellen Fachbibliotheken (Vifa) 2011 ein VifaCamp, an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin wurde erfolgreich das erste „informationswissenschaftliche BarCamp“ FreiTag 2011 ausgerichtet, und die Informare mutierte 2011 in Teilen zum Informare!Camp, um nur drei auffällige aktuelle Anlehnungen zu nennen. Mittlerweile vergeht kein Bibliothekartag, auf dem nicht an hochfrequentierten Messeständen Computerspiele und E-Book-Lesegeräte gezeigt oder in rascher Abfolge Kurzvorträge in diskussionsfreudiger Stimmung durchgeführt und nachträglich auf YouTube veröffentlicht werden. In diesem Zusammenhang ist insbesondere die Zukunftswerkstatt e. V. als Initiator und Betreiber dieser Messestände hervorzuheben.

Das offizielle Bibliothekartagsprogramm bemüht sich nun aufzuholen: Von der erfolgreichen Inetbib-Konferenz 2010 an der ETH Zürich wurde das Konzept der sogenannten Lightning Talks übernommen, bei denen die Rednerinnen und Redner dazu angehalten werden, in nur fünf Minuten das zu sagen und zu zeigen, was wirklich wichtig ist. Das gemeinsame Diskutieren hat nach jedem dieser Vorträge angemessenen Raum – und bekommt manchmal einen Schwung, der an die lernfreundliche Atmosphäre einer BibCamp-Session erinnert.

Unordnung ins berufliche Lernen bringen

Was steckt hinter diesem Hunger? Vermutlich ist das vielleicht wichtigste Bildungserlebnis der begeisterten BibCamp-Teilnehmer die Erfahrung der Anarchie des Lernens selbst. Dass Lernen ohne vorgegebene Inhalte und Rollen funktioniert, dass die eigene Neugier der Antrieb sein kann und der Austausch unter engagierten Praktikern die Basis – das überrascht viele. Communities of practice, also gemeinschaftliche, informelle Ideenproduktion quer über Dienstgrade und Institutionszugehörigkeiten hinweg, sind in den bibliothekarischen Unternehmens- und Kommunikationskulturen über viele Jahre hinweg kaum gepflegt worden. Dabei werden sie dringend benötigt.

Die Halbwertzeit des in Berufsbildung und Studium gewonnenen Wissens hat sich drastisch verringert. Zugleich drängt eine Generation von Berufsanfängerinnen und -anfängern in die Informationsbranche, für die informelles Lernen, auch mit und von Neuen Technologien, die Regel ist. Zu dieser Offenheit gegenüber der Technik kommt, mindestens ebenso wichtig, eine selbstverständliche Gemeinschaftlichkeit des Lernens hinzu.

Weblogs öffnen den Raum

Dabei fällt auf, dass viele engagierte BibCamp-Teilnehmende auch Autorinnen und Autoren eigener Weblogs sind, die den schriftlichen Fachdiskurs beflügeln können, da sie ihn von überkommenen Abhängigkeiten des Print-Zeitalters wie Redaktions- und Geschäftspolitiken, Abogebühren und dergleichen befreien. Weblogs öffnen den Raum für rasch mitgeteilte Beobachtungen und direktes Feedback aus der Community, für die Entwicklung meinungsstarker individueller Stimmen und nicht zuletzt für praktische Erfahrungen und Experimente mit Webmedien, die für Information Professionals in vielfacher Hinsicht unverzichtbar geworden sind.