Battling corruption Libraries As Providers of Information

IFLA 2013

As guardians of freedom of information, libraries generate transparency and in doing so support the battle against corruption. However, awareness of this important function is only gradually beginning to emerge, explains Hermann Rösch, a professor at the Institute of Information Science at Cologne University of Applied Sciences, in an interview with Goethe.de

Mr Rösch, how would you describe the role libraries play in the battle for transparency and against corruption?

Essentially, libraries are institutions that play a vital part in the basic provision of information to a country’s citizens. This, in turn, is a prerequisite for reducing the disparities between the information levels of the general public and the government. As a member of the public, I can only adopt a particular stance, agree or protest if I know what activities are taking place at government level. In other words, a supply of information is indispensable to ensure freedom of opinion and democracy.

Naturally, this is not a task that libraries face alone. Libraries, however, thanks to their guaranteed quality, their freedom from economic constraints and their mandatory neutrality, are able to perform this role far better than, for example, the media, which are in private ownership or depend on governments and are subject to economic constraints.

“Shedding light around the corner”

Libraries, in other words, generate transparency?

Yes, their remit is to collect, open up and make available materials which document, comment upon or criticize government activities. Thus they are institutions that facilitate political civic participation.

If one wishes to fight corruption on a political level, one first has to identify it. Transparency must be made possible – shedding light, as it were, around the corner. Then citizens will be more likely to discover, for example, that certain agreements which may not be legally compliant have been made behind closed doors.

Are librarians in Germany aware of the important role they play in this context?

Even the reading societies which emerged in the 18th century as the forerunners of public libraries had the goal of controlling power and striving for democratic structures. Today, too, libraries help strengthen democracy, promote transparency and fight political corruption, though this tends to happen implicitly.

Were we to consciously and explicitly focus on this aspect of our role and develop services accordingly, our contribution to battling corruption could achieve greater impact – and would certainly also be beneficial to the reputation of libraries.

So why hasn’t this already happened long ago?

Partly, no doubt, because this role of libraries has not long been explicitly articulated. It was not until 2008 that the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions adopted a manifesto on this ...

... the IFLA Manifesto on Transparency, Good Governance and Freedom from Corruption …

Precisely. In my view this genuinely represents an extremely helpful stance which can serve as an orientation benchmark. Its aim is to transform the function that librarians fulfil, often subconsciously or indeed unconsciously, into a conscious and controlled function. As librarians, we could then perform this role far more intensively and effectively than we do at present.

The role of libraries in the political system

The IFLA manifesto calls upon libraries to “create anti-corruption portals and support existing or planned citizens’ advice centres provided by anti-corruption NGOs.” Is this already happening anywhere in the world?

I don’t know. The role of the manifesto, however, is not to describe an existing state but to articulate an objective.

Which concrete steps could librarians take to emphasize their role as information providers?

In their daily work, librarians in Germany tend to see their profession as being predominantly about providing access to media and less about playing an active role in the political system. They could step up their role in this regard if they were to take a stance, through their umbrella and professional associations, on socially controversial issues relating to freedom of information.

This concerns above all the question of data protection. As librarians, we have a huge interest in maintaining data protection. I think it would not be a bad idea, for instance, if one were to say that we, as librarians, are the guardians of freedom of opinion and information, which we believe is threatened by the use of government trojans – software which can be used to search private computers.

I believe we have yet to recognize fully what an important role we can play in the information society.

Korruptionsbekämpfung Aufklärungsinstanz Bibliothek

IFLA 2013

Als Garanten der Informationsfreiheit sorgen Bibliotheken für Transparenz und unterstützen damit den Kampf gegen Korruption. Doch das Bewusstsein für diese wichtige Funktion wächst erst langsam, meint Hermann Rösch, Professor am Institut für Informationswissenschaft der Fachhochschule Köln, im Gespräch mit Goethe.de.

Herr Rösch, wie würden Sie die Rolle der Bibliotheken im Kampf für Transparenz und gegen Korruption beschreiben?

Bibliotheken sind prinzipiell Einrichtungen, die wesentlich zur informationellen Grundversorgung der Bürgerinnen und Bürger beitragen. Diese wiederum ist die Voraussetzung dafür, dass der unterschiedliche Informationsstand zwischen Bürgern und Regierung verringert wird. Nur wenn ich als Bürger weiß, was für ein Handeln sich auf Regierungsebene abspielt, kann ich mich entsprechend positionieren, zustimmen oder Protest anmelden. Das heißt, die Versorgung mit Informationen ist die Voraussetzung für Meinungsfreiheit und Demokratie.

Natürlich sind die Bibliotheken mit dieser Aufgabe nicht allein. Aber Bibliotheken können – durch ihre Qualitätsgarantie, ihre ökonomische Unabhängigkeit und ihre Verpflichtung zur Neutralität – diese Rolle weitaus besser spielen als etwa die Medien, die in privater Hand oder von Regierungen abhängig sind und unter ökonomischen Zwängen stehen.

„Man muss um die Ecke leuchten“

Bibliotheken sorgen also für Transparenz?

Ja, ihr Auftrag ist es, Materialien, die Regierungstätigkeiten dokumentieren, kommentieren oder kritisieren, zu sammeln, zu erschließen und bereitzustellen. Daher sind sie Einrichtungen, die die politische Partizipation von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern erleichtern.

Wenn man beispielsweise Korruption auf politischer Ebene bekämpfen will, muss man sie ja erstmal erkennen. Man muss Transparenz ermöglichen – sozusagen um die Ecke leuchten. Dann können die Bürger eher entdecken, dass etwa hinter verschlossenen Türen irgendwelche Absprachen getroffen worden sind, die möglicherweise nicht rechtskonform waren.

Sind sich die Bibliothekarinnen und Bibliothekare in Deutschland bewusst, dass sie für die demokratische Meinungsbildung eine wichtige Rolle spielen?

Schon die Lesegesellschaften, die im 18. Jahrhundert als Vorläufer der öffentlichen Bibliotheken entstanden sind, hatten zum Ziel, Macht zu kontrollieren und demokratische Strukturen anzustreben. Wenn heute Bibliotheken zur Stärkung der Demokratie, zur Transparenz und zur Bekämpfung politischer Korruption beitragen, dann geschieht dies jedoch eher implizit.

Wenn wir diese politische Funktion bewusst und explizit in den Vordergrund rücken und entsprechende Angebote entwickeln würden, könnte unser Beitrag zur Bekämpfung von Korruption größere Wirkung zeigen. Und dem Ansehen der Bibliotheken würde dies sicher auch nutzen.

Warum ist das nicht längst geschehen?

Das hat sicher auch damit tun, dass diese Rolle im Bibliothekswesen insgesamt noch nicht lange explizit artikuliert wird. Im Weltverband der Bibliotheken wurde erst 2008 ein Manifest dazu verabschiedet ...

... das IFLA-Manifest zu Transparenz, verantwortungsbewusster Regierungsführung und Korruptionsfreiheit …

Ja, genau. Nach meiner Einschätzung ist das wirklich eine sehr hilfreiche Positionierung, die als Orientierungsmaßstab dient. Sie soll die Funktion, die Bibliothekarinnen und Bibliothekare oft unterbewusst oder auch unbewusst miterfüllen, zu einer bewussten und gesteuerten Funktion machen. Denn dann könnten wir Bibliothekare dieses Angebot viel intensiver und viel wirkungsvoller betreiben, als wir es gegenwärtig tun.

Rolle der Bibliotheken im politischen System

Im IFLA-Manifest heißt es, Bibliotheken sollten „Anti-Korruptions-Portale einrichten und bereits bestehende oder geplante Bürgerberatungsstellen, die von Anti-Korruptions-NGOs betrieben werden, unterstützen.“ Geschieht dies bereits irgendwo auf der Welt?

Das ist mir nicht bekannt. Aber die Rolle dieses Manifests ist es ja nicht, einen bestehenden Zustand zu beschreiben, sondern ein Ziel zu artikulieren.

Was könnten die Bibliothekarinnen und Bibliothekare denn konkret tun, um ihrer Aufklärungsrolle mehr Ausdruck zu verleihen?

Die Auffassung von ihrem Beruf ist in der täglichen Praxis der Bibliothekare in Deutschland stark auf die Bereitstellung und Erschließung von Medien bezogen – und viel weniger auf eine aktive Rolle im politischen System. Ihre dahingehende Funktion wäre deutlicher, wenn sich Bibliothekare über ihre Dach- und Berufsverbände zu gesellschaftlichen Kontroversen rund um das Thema Informationsfreiheit positionieren würden.

Das betrifft aktuell vor allem den Bereich des Datenschutzes. Als Bibliothekare haben wir ein massives Interesse daran, dass der Datenschutz hochgehalten wird. Ich fände es zum Beispiel nicht schlecht, wenn man sagen würde: Wir als Bibliothekare sind Anwälte von Meinungs- und Informationsfreiheit und die sehen wir durch den Einsatz von Bundestrojanern – also einer Software, mit der private Computer durchsucht werden können – gefährdet.

Ich denke, wir haben noch nicht in ausreichendem Maße erkannt, welch wichtige Rolle wir in der Informationsgesellschaft einnehmen können.