German Digital Library “A Strategy Is Needed for the Digitization Process”

Ute Schwens
Ute Schwens | Photo (detail): © dnb

Starting 2012, the German Digital Library is to be filled with content. This is one of the reasons why Germany needs a digitization strategy, explains Ute Schwens, director of the German National Library in Frankfurt am Main.

Ms Schwens, you gave a lecture at this year’s Convention of German Librarians entitled “Germany needs a digitization strategy”. Is digitization in Germany currently proceeding in a haphazard manner?

It goes without saying that the processes of digitization are already being undertaken in a carefully planned manner, generally in accordance with the guidelines issued by the German Research Foundation (DFG). The DFG, after all, is the organization which is most strongly promoting this move, and is highly scientific in terms of its orientation. From the perspective of the German Digital Library, however, the spectrum should be even wider.

So far relatively little digitized material has been included from archives, and virtually none from museums or from the areas of film and monument protection. These are important elements of the German Digital Library which we are in the process of establishing. There is as yet no overall picture of the type the German Digital Library is aiming for.

Prioritization and balance

Why does this necessitate a strategy?

Because funding will always be tight, for one thing, meaning that we will need to select and prioritize. For another thing, reasons of capacity will not allow everything to be done in one fell swoop. The digitization projects will have to be placed in order of priority. Digitization simply takes time, several years.

What would the sort of strategy you are hoping for actually address?

For me, the key questions are as follows: Where should digitization begin? And how can a certain balance be achieved right from the outset? After all, the process is supposed to encompass not only all the different sectors – such as libraries, museums, archives and monument protection – but also all the various thematic areas and user interests.

We must not focus too much on one particular sector or one particular type of material, as the target group – that is anyone who uses the Internet – has very broad-ranging interests. Ultimately, we do not want the German Digital Library to contain only text. Some users are more interested in music, film or museum collections, so it is important for us to strike the right balance.

Time planning and quality standards

And then there is the question of the actual schedule…

When it comes to determining the order in which to digitize which materials it is once again a question of maintaining a balance between the different institutions and subjects. In other words, it is about priorities and defining appropriate criteria. It is not only questions of content that play a role, but political arguments too, such as how this content is distributed among Germany’s federal states.

Another important area is to agree on the quality criteria for the content to be digitized. As regards technical questions, a framework also needs to be defined if digitized content of varying origin is to be incorporated into a single overall complex.

Role models in other countries?

Have other countries already developed such strategies?

For a number of reasons it is not possible to compare other countries with the situation in Germany – because they have a centralized organization, for example, or simply because they are smaller. Take France: at most two or three institutions there are carrying out digitization programmes – such as the National Library of France and the Institut national de l’audiovisuel.

The Netherlands is another example. The National Library of the Netherlands has been allocated considerable funding and is now teaming up with maybe twelve or 15 other institutions to organize the digitization process.

Germany’s federalist structure gives cultural projects a particular character. Although this generates diversity, it also necessitates considerable coordination and negotiation. What is more, many, many more institutions are affected in Germany than in other countries. After all, the German Digital Library is supposed to serve as a central national portal, bringing together the digital offerings of some 30,000 cultural and academic institutions in a single network. All these differences aside, however, I am sure we can learn from the examples of other countries.

Are there certain areas in Germany where strategies already exist and can be built upon?

Individual libraries have strategies which will be incorporated into an overall strategy just like the DFG guidelines will. Experts in Germany’s federal states have also already addressed the question on a political level. The state of Brandenburg has developed and adopted its own digitization strategy. The German Digital Library, in other words, does not have to start from scratch.

Associations develop joint solution

And who in your opinion should develop the strategy?

I imagine that the German Digital Library with its administrative offices and executive board can take responsibility for organizing and overseeing this process.

It would contact the associations in the individual sectors – such as the German Library Association, the Archive Administration Conference and the German Museums Association – and ask them each to send two representatives. Such a body could discuss and jointly develop a national digitization strategy.

Are you hopeful that your demand will not fall on deaf ears?

It is not only my dream but the wish of many people – and this is a good starting point that justifies optimism. The German Digital Library is now beginning to contact possible representatives of the individual sectors. After all, we are assuming that we will have a fully functional prototype in place for the German Digital Library by the end of 2011.

From that point on, considerable amounts of digital content can be entered. In the first stage, this will be content that is already available in digitized form. To generate new digital content, cooperation with the private sector will be necessary, as the public sector cannot finance digitization on a grand scale all on its own. A properly thought-through and comprehensible strategy is thus also indispensable when it comes to attracting cooperation partners.

Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek „Digitalisierung braucht eine Strategie“

Ute Schwens
Ute Schwens | Foto (Ausschnitt): © dnb

Ab 2012 soll die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek mit Inhalten gefüllt werden. Auch deshalb braucht Deutschland eine Digitalisierungsstrategie, erklärt Ute Schwens, die Direktorin der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek in Frankfurt am Main.

Frau Schwens, Ihr Vortrag auf dem diesjährigen Deutschen Bibliothekartag hieß „Deutschland braucht eine Digitalisierungsstrategie“. Läuft die Digitalisierung hierzulande denn im Moment planlos?

Die Digitalisierungen werden natürlich auch heute schon sehr planvoll, meistens nach den Richtlinien der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, durchgeführt. Die DFG ist ja der größte Förderer in diesem Bereich – und sie ist sehr stark wissenschaftlich orientiert. Aus der Sicht der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek sollte das Spektrum aber breiter werden.

Bislang gibt es verhältnismäßig wenig digitalisierte Materialien aus Archiven und so gut wie gar keine aus Museen oder aus den Bereichen Film und Denkmalschutz. Für die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek, die wir zurzeit aufbauen, sind das wichtige Standbeine. Ein Gesamtbild, wie es die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek zeichnen will, gibt es noch nicht.

Priorisierung und Balance

Warum braucht man dafür eine Strategie?

Zum einen, weil die finanziellen Mittel immer knapp sein werden. Also muss man auswählen und priorisieren. Zum anderen, weil man aus Kapazitätsgründen nicht alles auf einen Schlag machen kann. Die Digitalisierungsvorhaben müssen in eine Reihenfolge gebracht werden. Das Digitalisieren braucht einfach seine Zeit, etliche Jahre.

Was soll eine Strategie, wie Sie sie sich wünschen, regeln?

Die zentralen Fragen sind für mich: Womit beginnt man bei der Digitalisierung? Und wie erreicht man von Anfang an eine gewisse Ausgeglichenheit? Schließlich sollen nicht nur alle Sparten – Bibliotheken, Museen, Archive und der Denkmalschutz –, sondern auch alle Themenbereiche und Nutzerinteressen abgedeckt sein.

Wir dürfen nicht zu stark in eine Sparte oder auch eine Materialart gehen, denn wir sehen bei der Zielgruppe, und das sind alle Menschen, die das Internet nutzen, sehr breit gefächerte Interessen. Wir wollen ja am Ende nicht nur Texte in der Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek haben. Manche Nutzerinnen und Nutzer interessieren sich eher für Musik, für Film oder für die Bestände von Museen. Hier muss man ausgewogen arbeiten.

Zeitliche Planung und Qualitätsstandards

Und dann geht es noch um den konkreten zeitlichen Ablauf …

Auch bei der Frage, in welcher Reihenfolge welche Materialien digitalisiert werden, gilt es eine Balance zwischen den Institutionen und Fächern zu halten. Es geht also um Prioritäten und um Kriterien für eine Abfolge. Dabei spielen neben inhaltlichen Fragestellungen immer auch politische Argumente – wie etwa die Verteilung auf die Bundesländer – eine Rolle.

Ein weiterer großer Bereich sind die Qualitätskriterien für die Digitalisate, auf die man sich einigen muss. Und auch bei technischen Fragen muss man natürlich einen Rahmen abstecken, wenn Digitalisate unterschiedlicher Herkunft in einen Gesamtkomplex eingebunden werden sollen.

Vorbilder in anderen Ländern?

Gibt es in anderen Ländern bereits Strategien dafür?

Andere Länder sind aus verschiedenen Gründen nicht mit der Situation in Deutschland zu vergleichen. Etwa weil sie zentralistisch organisiert sind oder weil sie einfach kleiner sind. Nehmen Sie zum Beispiel Frankreich: Dort digitalisieren höchstens zwei oder drei Institutionen – wie die Nationalbibliothek und das Institut national de l’audiovisuel.

Ein anderes Beispiel sind die Niederlande. Die Königliche Bibliothek der Niederlande hat große Mittelzuweisungen erhalten und organisiert die Digitalisierung nun zusammen mit vielleicht zwölf oder fünfzehn anderen Einrichtungen.

Die föderalistische Struktur Deutschlands prägt kulturelle Vorhaben in besonderer Weise. Sie sorgt für Vielfalt, bringt aber auch Abstimmungsbedarf mit sich. Hinzu kommt, dass bei uns viel, viel mehr Institutionen betroffen sind als in anderen Ländern. Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek soll ja als zentrales nationales Portal die digitalen Angebote von rund 30.000 Kultur- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen miteinander vernetzen. Trotz aller Unterschiede können wir aber sicher von den Beispielen aus anderen Ländern lernen.

Und gibt es in Deutschland bereits Strategien für bestimmte Bereiche, auf denen man aufbauen kann?

Es gibt Strategien einzelner Bibliotheken, die man ebenso wie die Richtlinien der DFG in eine Gesamtstrategie einbeziehen wird. Auch auf politischer Ebene haben sich Fachleute in den Bundesländern bereits mit der Fragestellung befasst. Das Land Brandenburg hat eine eigene Digitalisierungsstrategie entwickelt und verabschiedet. Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek muss also nicht bei Null anfangen.

Verbände entwickeln gemeinsame Lösung

Und wer sollte die Strategie Ihrer Meinung nach entwickeln?

Ich stelle mir vor, dass die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek mit ihrer Geschäftsstelle und ihrem Vorstand die Organisation und Moderation dieses Prozesses übernehmen kann.

Sie würde die Verbände der einzelnen Sparten ansprechen – also neben dem Bibliotheksverband die Archivreferentenkonferenz und den Museumsbund – und sie bitten, jeweils zwei Vertreter zu entsenden. In einem solchen Gremium könnte eine nationale Digitalisierungsstrategie diskutiert und gemeinsam entwickelt werden.

Haben Sie Hoffnung, dass Ihre Forderung gehört wird?

Es ist ja nicht nur meine Vorstellung, sondern der Wunsch von vielen. Das ist immer ein guter Ausgangspunkt, der zu Hoffnungen berechtigt. Die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek fängt jetzt an, mögliche Spartenvertreter anzusprechen. Schließlich gehen wir davon aus, dass wir bis Ende 2011 einen funktionierenden Prototyp für die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek haben.

Danach können in größerem Maße digitale Inhalte eingestellt werden. Im ersten Schritt werden dies bereits vorhandene Digitalisate sein. Um neue digitale Inhalte zu generieren, werden auch Kooperationen mit der Privatwirtschaft notwendig sein. Digitalisierungskampagnen in großem Stil kann die öffentliche Hand nicht alleine finanzieren. Eine durchdachte und nachvollziehbare Strategie ist daher auch für die Werbung von Kooperationspartnern unverzichtbar.