Gaming in libraries Knowledge goes gaming

Gaming in the Cologne City Library
Gaming in the Cologne City Library | © Cologne City Library

As a cultural asset, computer games are up there with books and have found their way into libraries. Increasingly, libraries are presenting themselves as play places. Does the future lie in the “gamification” of library use?

Libraries as play places? Libraries as play places? | © digital cat via flickr.com, Lizenz CC BY 2.0 Playing and learning have been seen as opposites since time immemorial. Yet in only very few cases does this contrast correspond to the reality of life. An entire generation is now growing up with computer games and demonstrating how fun in play, learning and work merge: in virtual worlds even the hardest nut can be easily cracked in play. Because computer games have everything that a successful learning experience needs: they set clear goals, provide immediate feedback, take away the fear of failure, open space for creative thinking and social interaction. Game worlds reduce complexity, foster the feeling out and exploration of the new and enable us to engage in trial actions.

Computer games are now firmly in the mainstream of society: they find users across all differences of age and education. Especially young people expect to find the operating principles of games even outside the game world. Accordingly, today game principles that we otherwise know only from computer games are ever more frequently found in non-gaming contexts. The name of this trend is “gamification”, the deliberate use of gaming mechanism to raise people’s motivation and to encourage them to adopt a certain kind of behaviour.

Points and badges for library use

The trend, born in the United States, has already found its way into the world of libraries. Thus, for example, with Summer Game the city library in Ann Arbor, Michigan, offers its users not only gaming fun but also takes an innovative path for presenting library services, learning information skills and encouraging visitors to use the library. In the best computer game manner, the library user receives points and badges for engaging in various actions: for instance, for successfully finding a book in the library catalogue or writing a blog entry. The earned points can then even be redeemed for prizes.

Librarygame, a software programme that can be integrated into a library’s own system and so can transform the use of any library into a game, offers something similar: borrowing or returning a book, recommending or evaluating a book and similar actions are rewarded and the success made visible. More rapid advancement in the game can be achieved by those users who can perform a combination of actions – for example, going to the library three times on the weekend, reading all the works of an author or borrowing books on the most various topics. There then ensues a contest in library use.

Because games are the defining medium of the digital age, and because they were recognized in 2008 as a cultural asset of equal status to classical media such as books, they will play an increasingly more important role in cultural education and the transmission of knowledge. “Libraries will have to be seen and present themselves as sites of gaming culture”, explains Christoph Deeg, consultant for social media and gaming and author of the book Gaming und Bibliotheken (i.e., Gaming and Libraries). But this will require, according Deeg, nothing less than a profound cultural change.

Libraries as play places

The move to include games among media assets has already been made. The first libraries are already experimenting with presenting themselves as play places and offering gamers a platform for collaborative gaming. Thus the programme of the Cologne City Library regularly includes events for gamers. With games4kalk, the Cologne branch library in the district of Kalk has launched a model project in playful learning with computer games. A specially designed gaming zone was set up in the library, where every week a games tester group meets and events for intergenerational games and regular tournaments take place. The City Library of Neukirchen-Vluyn invites children and young people to their daddelBIB to test computer games and play together there under supervision. The media educational project Dr. Ghosthacker – Night in the Library even sends children and young people on a search for scoundrels in the library so as to acquaint them playfully with the available media and at the same time promote media literacy.

“A growing number of libraries has recognized that computer games are a mass and guiding medium and that their immense attraction can lure above all young people into libraries, but also that the medium is suited to serve the transmission of knowledge”, explains Cordula Nötzelmann, Head of the Decentralised Library System at the Cologne City Library. The learning and gaming principles of computer games have not yet been integrated into the working tools of German libraries. Following the example of Summer Game and “gamifying” the library catalogue or promoting playful interaction with contents could of course call forth new forms of education: if the search for and exploration of information takes place playfully, learning occurs almost automatically and by the way.

Gaming in Bibliotheken Wissen geht spielen

Gaming in der Kölner Stadtbibliothek
Gaming in der Kölner Stadtbibliothek | © Stadtbibliothek Köln

Als Kulturgut treten Computerspiele neben Bücher und finden Eingang in Bibliotheksbestände. Zunehmend inszenieren sich Bibliotheken auch als Spiel-Orte. Liegt die Zukunft in der „spielifizierten“ Bibliotheksnutzung?

Seit jeher werden Spiel und Lernen als Gegensatz begriffen. Doch nur in den wenigsten Fällen hält dieser Kontrast der Lebenswirklichkeit stand. Eine ganze Generation wächst heute mit Computerspielen auf und führt vor Augen, wie Spielspaß, Lernen und Arbeit in eins fallen: In virtuellen Welten wird selbst die härteste Nuss spielend geknackt. Denn Computerspiele beinhalten alles, was eine erfolgreiche Lernerfahrung braucht: Sie setzen klare Ziele, geben unmittelbares Feedback, nehmen die Angst vor Fehlschlägen, öffnen Raum für kreatives Denken und soziale Interaktion. Spielwelten reduzieren Komplexität, fördern das Ergründen und Erkunden von Neuem und ermöglichen Probehandeln.

Computerspiele sind längst in der Mitte der Gesellschaft angekommen: Über alle Alters- und Bildungsstufen hinweg finden sie ihre Nutzer. Insbesondere junge Leute erwarten deren Funktionsprinzipien auch außerhalb von Spielen anzutreffen. Dementsprechend finden sich heute Spielprinzipien, wie wir sie sonst nur aus Computerspielen kennen, immer häufiger in spielfremden Kontexten. Gamification nennt sich der Trend, Spielmechanismen ganz bewusst einzusetzen, um die Motivation von Menschen zu wecken und sie zu bestimmtem Verhalten zu animieren.

Punkte und Badges für die Bibliotheksnutzung

Bibliotheken als Spielorte? Bibliotheken als Spielorte? | © digital cat via flickr.com, Lizenz CC BY 2.0 Der in den USA geborene Trend hat dort auch schon Eingang in die Bibliothekswelt gefunden. So bietet etwa die Stadtbibliothek Ann Arbor in Michigan seinen Nutzern mit dem Summer Game nicht nur Spielspaß, sondern beschreitet damit gleichzeitig einen innovativen Weg, die Bibliotheksservices zu präsentieren, Informationskompetenz zu lehren und zu Besuchen zu animieren. In bester Computerspiel-Manier erhält der Bibliotheksnutzer für die verschiedensten Aktionen Punkte und Badges: etwa für das erfolgreiche Auffinden von Titeln im Bibliothekskatalog oder das Verfassen von Blogbeiträgen. Die verdienten Punkte können sodann sogar gegen Preise eingelöst werden.

Ähnliches bietet Librarygame, eine Software, die in die bibliothekseigenen Systeme integriert werden kann und auf diese Weise die Nutzung jeder beliebigen Bibliothek in ein Spiel verwandelt: Das Ausleihen oder Zurückgeben eines Buchs, eine Buchempfehlung oder -bewertung und ähnliche Aktionen werden belohnt und Erfolge sichtbar gemacht. Einen noch schnelleren Aufstieg schafft, wer Kombinationen von Aktionen vollbringt, also beispielsweise dreimal am Wochenende in die Bibliothek kommt, alle Werke eines Autors liest oder Titel aus möglichst verschiedenen Themenbereichen ausleiht. So entbrennt ein Wettkampf um die Bibliotheksnutzung.

Weil Computerspiele das prägende Medium des digitalen Zeitalters sind und seit ihrer Anerkennung als Kulturgut im Jahr 2008 gleichberechtigt neben klassische Medien wie Bücher treten, werden sie immer stärker eine Rolle in der Kultur- und Wissensvermittlung spielen. Daher „werden Bibliotheken sich als Orte der Gaming-Kultur verstehen und inszenieren müssen“, erklärt Christoph Deeg, Berater für Social Media und Gaming sowie Autor des Buches Gaming und Bibliotheken. Dabei brauche es allerdings nicht weniger als einen tiefgreifenden Kulturwandel, so Deeg.

Bibliotheken als Spiel-Orte

Der Schritt, Spiele in den Medienbestand aufzunehmen, ist bereits getan. Erste Bibliotheken experimentieren auch schon damit, sich als Spielorte anzubieten und Gamern eine Plattform für gemeinsames Spielen zu geben. So stehen in der Stadtbibliothek Köln etwa regelmäßig Events für Gamer auf dem Programm. Die Kölner Stadtteilbibliothek Kalk rief mit games4kalk ein Modellprojekt zum spielerischen Lernen mit Computerspielen ins Leben. Dazu wurde in der Bibliothek eigens eine Gaming-Zone eingerichtet, wöchentlich findet sich eine Spiele-Tester-Gruppe zusammen, zudem sind Veranstaltungen für generationenübergreifendes Spielen sowie regelmäßige Turniere vorgesehen. Und die Stadtbücherei Neukirchen-Vluyn lädt Kinder und Jugendliche in ihre daddelBIB ein, um Computerspiele zu testen und vor Ort unter Betreuung miteinander zu spielen. Das medienpädagogische Projekt Dr. Ghosthacker – nachts in der Bücherei schickt Kinder und Jugendliche gar auf eine Schurkenjagd in die Bibliothek, um ihnen die angebotenen Medien spielerisch näher zu bringen und gleichzeitig Medienkompetenz zu fördern.

„Eine wachsende Zahl von Bibliotheken hat erkannt, dass das Computerspiel als Massen- und Leitmedium durch seine immense Anziehungskraft vor allem junge Menschen in Bibliotheken locken kann, dass sich das Medium zugleich aber zum Zweck der Wissensvermittlung eignet“, erklärt Cordula Nötzelmann, Abteilungsleiterin Dezentrales Bibliothekssystem bei der Stadtbibliothek Köln. In die Arbeitsinstrumente deutscher Bibliotheken wurden die Lern- und Spielprinzipien von Computerspielen bislang jedoch nicht integriert. Nach dem Vorbild von Summer Game den Bibliothekskatalog zu „spielifizieren“ oder die spielerische Auseinandersetzung mit Inhalten zu fördern, könnte freilich neue Formen der Bildungsarbeit hervorbringen: Wird spielerisch bei der Informationssuche und -erkundung unterstützt, stellt sich Lernen quasi automatisch und ganz nebenbei ein.