Makerspaces in Libraries The Creative Workshops of the 21st Century

3-D printer in the City Library of Cologne
3-D printer in the City Library of Cologne | © City Library fo Cologne

Libraries in Germany have now also started to experiment with open creative spaces, so-called Makerspaces. The experiences have all been very positive and show that libraries and the Do-it-yourself Movement indeed go together very well.

Makerspaces are open spaces in which people can work on physical objects. They are spaces for new ideas and do-it-yourself projects. Makerspaces, also known as Fablabs (fabrication laboratories) are, so to speak, the hobby rooms of the digital age. The tools no longer consist of saws and wood or scissors and fabric, but more of laser cutters and 3-D printers. The new rooms are above all ideally suited to networking. Gone are the days when people used to tinker and fiddle about with things all alone hidden away in some cellar; now they gather in a public space to experiment together with all the new technologies, to exchange their ideas and experiences and to look for fellow DIY enthusiasts.  

The first Makerspaces in German libraries

In 2013 the Makerspace Movement finally arrived in German libraries, although it had already started flourishing in the USA in the early years of the new millennium. The City Library of Cologne was the first German library to launch a Makerspace in June 2013. On the new media floor of the Central Library located on Cologne’s Josef-Haubrich-Hof users are not only able to avail themselves of a 3-D printer and scanner, but also of iPads, a keyboard, guitars, as well as a launch pad for controlling music software. The Makerspace fans use them for digitalising records, recording podcasts, composing on iPads and much, much more. “The Makerspace enables us to impart know-how outside the regular education system and thereby contribute to extending people’s equality of opportunity,” explains Hannelore Vogt, Director of the City Library of Cologne. “The Makerspace prides everybody with access to new developments in the realm of technology.”

The first research library to follow suit was the Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden/ SLUB (Saxon State Library – Dresden State and University Library) in the middle of 2014. It was there that the creative possibilities of a Fablab were explored. The project was a joint undertaking between the library and various faculties of the Technical University, in collaboration with Fablab Dresden, a mobile high-tech workshop with 3-D printers and laser cutters.

Imparting skills as the core mission of a library 

The question is, however, why are libraries, of all places, predestined to set up Makerspaces? Can a Fablab be considered to be the logical further development of what libraries have always provided? Or are the libraries moving in a totally new direction? Hannelore Vogt sees this more as a form of continuity than change. “In themselves Makerspaces are in fact relatively new, if we ignore the handicraft afternoons held in children’s libraries. When it comes, however to the basic idea of a library, Makerspaces are indeed in line with the traditional purposes of a library as a place of learning, as a place of communication and as a place of participation.”

Lukas Oehm, who runs the temporary Fablab at SLUB, also sees Makerspaces as a logical further development. “In a library you can find comprehensive knowledge on almost every subject. The different specialist disciplines, however, lay down different requirements. Whereas the humanities and the social sciences are very text-bound, the engineering and natural sciences have to deal with physical objects of all kinds.”

Networking and further education are the main tasks

Both librarians have evaluated their first experience with a Makerspace as positive. “What we had to offer was well received,” reports Lukas Oehm from SLUB. “And the courses that FabLab Dresden organised for using the tools were well attended.” In addition the faculties involved in the project held a successful summer school that dealt with the technologies found in a Makerspace. Energised by all these positive experiences Lukas Oehm, in collaboration with his partners, is now planning the permanent installation of a Fablab at SLUB. One thing is, however, clear – merely providing hardware does not make a Makerspace. “Users need contact persons, an introduction and to be given a few tips and tricks on how to deal with the new tools,” says Lukas Oehm.

In Cologne the Makerspace has already managed to establish a fully functioning network. “The library serves merely as an agent and a facilitator,” explains Hannelore Vogt. “It provides the technological and spatial infrastructure – and the people help each other and pass their knowledge on.” The emphasis is therefore on networking, information and further education. “Our comprehensive range of courses has been compiled by the people for the people. At the same time the concept’s options have been kept open deliberately.” 

For Ms Vogt intergenerational learning is one of the main points. At the Makerspace in Cologne school pupils from the neighbouring school, the Kaiserin-Augusta-Schule, offer courses such as composing on an iPad, setting up your own weblog, digital image processing and a crash course in 3-D for beginners. “What the Makerspace has to offer is not just being used by tech-savvy nerds, but by anybody who has managed to retain a curiosity for the innovative.”

Makerspaces in Bibliotheken Kreativwerkstätten des 21. Jahrhunderts

3-D printer in the City Library of Cologne
3-D printer in the City Library of Cologne | © City Library fo Cologne

An deutschen Bibliotheken gibt es die ersten Experimente mit offenen Kreativräumen, sogenannten Makerspaces. Die positiven Erfahrungen zeigen, dass Bibliotheken und die Do-it-yourself-Bewegung durchaus gut zusammenpassen.

Makerspaces sind offene Räume, in denen Menschen kreativ an physischen Objekten arbeiten. Es sind Räume für neue Ideen und Do-it-yourself-Projekte. Der Makerspace, auch FabLab (Fabrication Laboratory) genannt, ist quasi der Hobbykeller des digitalen Zeitalters. Die Werkzeuge sind nicht mehr Säge und Holz oder Schere und Stoff, sondern Laser-Cutter und 3-D-Drucker. Die neuen Räume dienen vor allem auch der Vernetzung. Man tüftelt nicht mehr allein im Verborgenen vor sich hin, sondern experimentiert gemeinschaftlich im öffentlichen Raum mit neuen Techniken, tauscht Erfahrungen aus und findet Mitstreiter.

Die ersten Makerspaces in deutschen Bibliotheken

Die Makerspace-Bewegung, die in den USA schon in den ersten Jahren des neuen Jahrtausends aufkam, ist mittlerweile auch in deutschen Bibliotheken angekommen. Die Stadtbibliothek Köln eröffnete 2013 als erste Bibliothek in Deutschland einen Makerspace. Neben einem 3-D-Drucker und -Scanner stehen den Nutzern heute auf der neuen Medien-Etage in der Zentralbibliothek am Josef-Haubrich-Hof unter anderem iPads, ein Keyboard, Gitarren sowie ein Launchpad zur Steuerung von Musiksoftware zur Verfügung. Hier können die Nutzer Schallplatten digitalisieren, Podcasts aufnehmen, an iPads komponieren und vieles mehr. „Wir vermitteln im Makerspace Know-how außerhalb des regulären Bildungssystems und tragen damit zur Erhöhung der Chancengerechtigkeit bei“, erklärt Hannelore Vogt, die Leiterin der Stadtbibliothek Köln. „Im Makerspace hat jeder Zugang zu neuen technischen Entwicklungen.“

Als erste wissenschaftliche Bibliothek testete dann 2014 die Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden (SLUB) die kreativen Möglichkeiten eines FabLabs: eine Gemeinschaftsaktion der Bibliothek mit einigen Lehrstühlen der Technischen Universität und der Kreativwerkstatt FabLab Dresden, einer wandernden Hightech-Werkstatt mit 3-D-Drucker und Laser-Cutter.

Kompetenzvermittlung als Kernaufgabe der Bibliothek

Doch was prädestiniert gerade Bibliotheken dazu, Makerspaces einzurichten? Kann das FabLab als konsequente Weiterentwicklung dessen gelten, was Bibliotheken immer schon getan haben? Oder gehen die Bibliotheken damit in eine ganz neue Richtung? Hannelore Vogt sieht mehr Kontinuität als Wandel. „Von der Sache her sind Makerspaces zwar etwas relativ Neues, wenn man einmal von Bastelnachmittagen in Kinderbibliotheken absieht. Doch bei der Grundidee gibt es viele Übereinstimmungen mit den traditionellen Aufgaben der Bibliothek als Lernort, als Ort der Kommunikation und der Teilhabe.“

Auch Lukas Oehm, der das temporäre FabLab in der SLUB betreut hat, sieht im Makerspace eine folgerichtige Weiterentwicklung. „In einer Bibliothek findet man zu nahezu jedem Thema umfangreiches Wissen. Verschiedene Fachdisziplinen haben aber verschiedene Anforderungen. Während die Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften sehr textgebunden sind, ist es für die Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften notwendig, auch an physischen Objekten unterschiedlichster Art arbeiten zu können.“

Vernetzung und Fortbildung als zentrale Ziele

Die ersten Erfahrungen mit den Makerspaces bewerten beide Bibliothekare rundum positiv. „Das Angebot wurde gut angenommen“, berichtet Oehm. „Und die Kurse, die das FabLab Dresden zur Benutzung der Werkzeuge angeboten hat, waren gut besucht.“ Zudem haben die beteiligten Lehrstühle eine erfolgreiche Summerschool rund um die Technologien im Makerspace veranstaltet. Beflügelt durch die positiven Erfahrungen plant Oehm nun mit seinen Kooperationspartnern die feste Einrichtung eines FabLabs an der SLUB. Dabei ist klar, dass die Bereitstellung von Hardware allein keinen Makerspace macht: „Die Nutzer brauchen Ansprechpersonen, eine Einführung und die Vermittlung von Tipps und Tricks im Umgang mit den neuen Werkzeugen“.

In Köln ist der Makerspace bereits mit einem gut funktionierenden Nutzer-Netzwerk fest etabliert. „Die Bibliothek tritt ja nur als Vermittler und Ermöglicher auf“, erklärt Hannelore Vogt. „Sie stellt die technische und räumliche Infrastruktur – und die Menschen helfen sich gegenseitig und geben ihr Wissen weiter.“ Der Schwerpunkt liegt also auf Vernetzung, Information und Fortbildung. „Unser umfangreiches Kursangebot gestalten Bürger für Bürger. Dabei ist das Konzept bewusst sehr offen gehalten.“

Für Vogt ist auch das generationenübergreifende Lernen ein zentraler Punkt. Im Kölner Makerspace bieten Schülerinnen und Schüler der benachbarten Kaiserin-Augusta-Schule Kurse wie Komponieren mit dem iPad, Wie erstelle ich ein eigenes Weblog?, Digitale Bildbearbeitung und einen 3-D-Crashkurs für Anfänger an. „Unsere Angebote werden daher nicht nur von technikaffinen Nerds genutzt, sondern von allen, die sich die Neugierde auf Neues bewahrt haben.“