Scientific communication Services for Science 2.0

Exploration of new ways of working
Exploration of new ways of working | © The Lighthouse - Fotolia.com

Digitalisation is drastically changing communication in research and publishing processes. How scientific libraries are supporting this development is explained here by Lambert Heller. He runs the Open Science Lab at the Hanover-based German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB).

Herr Heller, what in your opinion are the most important developments in the realm of modern scientific communication?

With the advent of the Web researchers started sharing their research findings online. This not only speeded up and simplified communication among the researchers themselves, but also changed the way they communicated with the rest of the world. Information about what researchers are actually doing has now broken through the walls of the cocoon they were living in.

At the same time it has also been observed that over the last five to ten years the lines between what researchers do and what interested lay people do have become blurred. The Association for Psychological Science, for example, has explicitly asked its members to post their findings on Wikipedia. Another good example are the science bloggers, who, although they come from an academic background, are not actually involved in real research work.

The formation of a new infrastructure

What does the role of the research libraries look like in this new environment?

Lambert Heller Lambert Heller | © Lambert Heller We, as a specialist subject library for science and technology, feel it is our role to help build up and shape the new infrastructure in the field of research. That is also the reason why we co-founded the Leibniz Research Alliance Science 2.0 in cooperation with the two other central research libraries in Germany – the German National Library of Medicine (ZB MED) in Cologne and the German National Library of Economics (ZBW) in Kiel. The Alliance enables us to get together to explore the new ways of working, in order to improve the tailoring of our services to meet the needs of the researchers.

Your Research Alliance carried out a large-scale survey to ascertain how these new opportunities might be used ....

Yes, the survey showed, for example, that 95 per cent of all researchers read Wikipedia, either in a professional or specialist context. And two-thirds of them make use of Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive. What we are actually going through at the moment is the initial stage of the “onlineification” of science. In a pragmatic way the researchers are using the tools that are already available, but tools that were not actually developed to be specifically used by researchers. Together with the researchers we are striving to find out how we can improve these tools.

Free access to research data and findings

In concrete terms how do you actually go about doing that?

One major area is the Open-Access Infrastructures service, which is provided by the central research libraries – incidentally in close cooperation with each other. Making research findings both quickly and freely available on the Internet is a lot more these days than simply posting your paper online. In the field of science they endeavour greatly to research everything as carefully as possible and to differentiate between all the various sources and their respective quality. It is not a job that takes care of itself all on its own and there is no guarantee when it is done by commercial players alone. This is where the research libraries come into play with their sustainability and professionalism.

A  further example would be the RADAR project – a project in which a research data repository has been set up in which raw data from various research projects can be published as citable – in some cases the amounts of data involved are huge.

The ZB MED, with its eyeMoviePedia, has developed an open access portal for operations in the field of ophthalmology. And just a short while ago the TIB launched an AV portal which is a kind of Youtube for researchers.

Yes, videos can be uploaded on it which can then be found by others via scientific research portals. Our portal, however, can do a good deal more than Youtube. For example, the language spoken in the films is recognised and can then be searched. Furthermore the videos can be cited to the precise second by means of a digital object identifier (DOI).

Tools for joint writing

Do the new research and publication processes differ greatly from one scientific discipline to another?

Yes, absolutely. In mathematics and physics, for example, there is a marked tendency towards the so-called Pre-print Culture. Drafts of articles are electronically published via the arXiv.org open-access platform – quite irrespective of them later appearing again in a journal. In the humanities field this is still quite unheard of.

One of the focuses of the work being done by the Research Alliance 2.0 is on tools that promote and support researchers working together ...

Quite right, for example, we invited experts from various fields to come to the TIB in order to write a book together. The aim of the project was to find out what the advantages of this method might be and how we might improve the necessary tools and infrastructures. For our “Book Sprint” we modified the MediaWiki software that Wikipedia uses. Within two weeks we were able to produce a handbook entitled CoScience which focuses on joint research work and publishing on the Internet. Before the end of the year the project is to be accompanied by a series of related video lectures showing collaborative techniques.

Our “Book Sprint” was also a hit in other fields and subjects. On our platform at the moment, for example, there is a network of 60 researchers of Romance languages and literature writing a handbook on the Renaissance and Middle Ages in Romania - not exactly in two weeks, but over a period of one year, which is an amazingly short period of time for the realm of the humanities.

Wissenschaftskommunikation Dienstleistungen für die Wissenschaft 2.0

Erforschung neuer Arbeitsweisen
Erforschung neuer Arbeitsweisen | © The Lighthouse - Fotolia.com

Die Digitalisierung verändert die Kommunikation in Forschungs- und Publikationsprozessen stark. Wie wissenschaftliche Bibliotheken diese Entwicklung begleiten, erklärt Lambert Heller. Er leitet das Open Science Lab der Technischen Informationsbibliothek (TIB) in Hannover.

Herr Heller, was sind für Sie die wichtigsten Entwicklungen in der modernen Wissenschaftskommunikation?

Seit es das Internet gibt, teilen Wissenschaftler ihre Forschungsergebnisse online. Das hat nicht nur die Kommunikation der Wissenschaftler untereinander schneller und einfacher gemacht, sondern auch die Kommunikation mit dem Rest der Welt verändert. Die Information darüber, was Wissenschaftler tun, ist aus dem Kokon herausgekommen.

Zudem kann man beobachten, dass in den letzten fünf bis zehn Jahren die Grenzen zwischen dem, was Wissenschaftler und was interessierte Laien tun, verwischen. Die Association for Psychological Science fordert etwa ihre Mitglieder explizit dazu auf, an der Wikipedia mitzuschreiben. Und auch Wissenschaftsblogger, die zwar meist einen akademischen Hintergrund haben, aber nicht selbst forschen, sind dafür ein gutes Beispiel.

Aufbau einer neuen Infrastruktur

Wie sieht die Rolle der wissenschaftlichen Bibliotheken in diesem Umfeld aus?

Lambert Heller Lambert Heller | © Lambert Heller Wir sehen uns als Zentrale Fachbibliothek für Technik und Naturwissenschaften in der Rolle, die wissenschaftliche Infrastruktur mitzubauen und mitzuprägen. Auch deswegen haben wir zusammen mit den beiden anderen Zentralen Fachbibliotheken in Deutschland, also mit der ZB MED, der Deutschen Zentralbibliothek für Medizin in Köln und der ZBW, der Deutschen Zentralbibliothek für Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Kiel, den Leibniz-Forschungsverbund Science 2.0 mitbegründet. Dort erforschen wir die neuen Arbeitsweisen, um unsere Dienste noch besser auf die Bedürfnisse von Wissenschaftlern zuzuschneiden.

Ihr Forschungsverbund hat mit einer großen Umfrage untersucht, wie die neuen Möglichkeiten genutzt werden.

Die Umfrage hat zum Beispiel gezeigt, dass 95 Prozent aller Wissenschaftler in einem beruflichen oder fachlichen Kontext die Wikipedia lesen. Und zwei Drittel nutzen Cloud-Speicherdienste wie Dropbox oder Google Drive. Wir befinden uns in einer frühen Phase der „Onlineifizierung“ der Wissenschaft. Die Wissenschaftler benutzen in pragmatischer Weise die Werkzeuge, die bereits da sind, die aber nicht speziell für Forschende entwickelt worden sind. Wir wollen gemeinsam mit den Wissenschaftlern herausfinden, wie wir diese Werkzeuge verbessern können.

Freier Zugang zu Forschungsdaten und -ergebnissen

Wie geschieht das konkret?

Ein großer Bereich sind die Open-Access-Infrastrukturen, die die Zentralen Fachbibliotheken – übrigens in enger Abstimmung miteinander – anbieten. Forschungsergebnisse schnell im Internet frei zugänglich zu machen, ist heute deutlich mehr, als nur sein Paper online zu stellen. In der Wissenschaft will man sehr genau recherchieren sowie unterschiedliche Quellen und deren Qualität auseinanderhalten können. Das erledigt sich nicht von selbst und wird auch nicht allein von kommerziellen Playern gewährleistet. Dazu braucht man die Nachhaltigkeit und Professionalität von wissenschaftlichen Bibliotheken.

Ein weiteres Beispiel ist das Projekt Radar, in dem ein Forschungsdatenrepositorium aufgebaut wird. Dort können die Rohdaten der Forschung – zum Teil sind das ungeheure Datenmengen – zitierfähig veröffentlicht werden.

Die Zentralbibliothek für Medizin hat mit EyeMoviePedia ein Open-Access-Portal für Operationsfilme im Bereich der Augenheilkunde entwickelt. Auch die Technische Informationsbibliothek hat vor kurzem mit ihrem AV-Portal eine Art Youtube für Wissenschaftler eröffnet.

Ja, hier können Videos hochgeladen werden, die dann über wissenschaftliche Rechercheportale auffindbar sind. Unser Portal kann aber eine ganze Menge mehr als Youtube. So wird etwa die gesprochene Sprache in den Filmen erkannt und kann durchsucht werden. Darüber hinaus können die Videos sekundengenau mit einem Digital Object Identifier (DOI) zitiert werden.

Werkzeuge zum gemeinsamen Schreiben

Unterscheiden sich die neuen Forschungs- und Publikationsprozesse in den verschiedenen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen stark?

Absolut, in der Mathematik und Physik ist zum Beispiel die sogenannte Preprint-Kultur ganz stark ausgeprägt. Über die Open-Access-Plattform Arxiv.org werden Entwürfe von Artikeln elektronisch veröffentlicht – ganz unabhängig davon, ob sie später noch einmal in einer Zeitschrift erscheinen. Das ist in den Geisteswissenschaften heute noch nicht üblich.

Ein Arbeitsschwerpunkt liegt im Forschungsverbund Science 2.0 auf Werkzeugen, die die Zusammenarbeit von Wissenschaftlern unterstützen.

Wir hier an der TIB haben zum Beispiel Experten aus verschiedenen Fächern eingeladen, zusammen ein Buch zu schreiben. Mit diesem Projekt wollten wir herauszufinden, welche Vorteile diese Methode hat und wie wir die dafür notwendigen Tools und Infrastrukturen verbessern können. Für unseren Book Sprint haben wir die Software MediaWiki, die für Wikipedia eingesetzt wird, modifiziert. Innerhalb von zwei Wochen ist dabei das Handbuch CoScience zum gemeinsamen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten und Publizieren im Internet entstanden. Noch in diesem Jahr wird es dazu eine Reihe von Videovorlesungen geben, die kollaborative Techniken vorstellen.

Unser Book Sprint ist übrigens auch in anderen Fächern gut angekommen. Gerade schreibt auf unserer Plattform ein Netzwerk von 60 Romanisten ein Handbuch über Renaissance und Mittelalter in der Romania – zwar nicht in zwei Wochen, aber in einem für geisteswissenschaftliche Verhältnisse enorm kurzen Zeitraum von nur einem Jahr.