Study on Reading Promotion “The Library Has to Become an Environment People Can Feel at Home in”

Libraries make an important contribution to the promotion of reading.
Libraries make an important contribution to the promotion of reading. | Photo (detail): © wip-studio – Fotolia.com

The Technical University of Applied Sciences in Hamburg has carried out a study on the promotion of reading in libraries. An interview with Ute Krauss-Leichert, Coordinator of the study, about reading motivation and reading performance.

Mrs Krauss-Leichert, what forms of reading promotion are currently available in libraries?

The promotion of reading has been one of the most important tasks of public libraries for a long time. The PISA shock of 2000, however, and the debate that followed it, have of course moved it even more into the public eye. Since then, the advertising done by libraries to promote reading has had much more of an impact. The classic formats embrace such activities as picture book cinema, holiday reading clubs, book rallies or readings by authors. A more recent approach, for example, would be "Kamishibai", an image-based form of reading aloud that originates from Japan. What it requires is a stage made of cardboard, in which images from the book being read are inserted – this is a really nice option, especially for refugee children.

What role do digital devices and services play when it comes to the promotion of reading?

Digital devices and services are becoming increasingly important. One example would be hybrid picture books that work on the principle of augmented reality. With the help of a free app the children can experience the classic picture book with text in a completely different way. If it is a book about birds, for example, then the appropriate birdsong sounds accompany the pictures. Apps, in fact, seem to be the order of the day, even for children in day care centres or at elementary school. Older children have the possibility to create their own e-books using an app, or they can take part in social reading events in which they chat online about what is being read. Even multimedia forms like this come under the heading of reading promotion.

Spotting the wrong word and the urge to read

At the Technical University of Applied Sciences in Hamburg you carried out a long-term study on the promotion of reading – the only study up to now that focuses on Germany as a whole. Are there any findings that confirm that the promotion of reading has been successful?

We first had to clarify what is to be understood by reading skills. We decided on an approach expounded in the theory of reading socialization. This does not just involve examining reading performance, but also reading habits and reading motivation. For our study we chose a second year class of a primary school with a high percentage of immigrant children in the Brackwede district of Bielefeld and accompanied the class through to the fourth year. At first the pupils attended an event at the municipal library to promote reading twice a month, later every two months. In addition a “spot the wrong word” test was conducted regularly at their school – a test in which they had to identify the wrong word in a given sentence. Their reading performance, however, was not the decisive indicator for us – more their reading motivation and reading habits.

How can reading motivation and reading habits be measured?

One possible indicator is, for example, if the children have their own library card. In the beginning, 50 percent of the pupils borrowed books using their own library card, by the end of the study it was 80 percent. This is also a reflection of their loyalty to the library. The families that buy the most books are those who can afford to. Many poorer families, especially those from educationally deprived sections of society, however, have to rely on borrowing the books free of charge from a library. Another interesting finding – the number of children who stated in our survey that they like to read increased from an initial 14 per cent to over 70 per cent.

Reading promotion even for crawlers and toddlers

And this is due solely to the promotion of reading in libraries?

No. We would never be able to prove that the results can be put down to one factor only. After all, children nowadays are exposed to all kinds of influences from the media. Nor can we clearly show what form of reading promotion is the most effective. The libraries, however, can train children how to use books and the media, show them how much fun it can be and help them to view reading as a matter of course.

What insights have been gained for public libraries from your study?

You have to start early with the promotion of reading! Not with children in day care centres, but even with those who are still crawling or toddling. There are so-called precursor skills that form an important basis for the acquisition of written language. Such skills can be promoted in libraries, by offering, for example, activities for the promotion of reading in early childhood such as nursery rhymes, songs, finger games, picture books and storytelling. A lot of libraries are already doing this, but it requires trained personnel. It is also important that reading promotion events are held on a regular basis, not just once every school year.

Of course, adequate financial resources also have to be made available.

Above all, it is important to provide reading promotion on a decentralized basis. In many places the scene is dominated by the swish, well equipped central library, but in the district libraries it is often quite a different story. This is where the children from educationally deprived backgrounds can be found and reached, although too often these district libraries unfortunately lack the appropriate equipment and services. The library has to become a place people can feel at home in.
 
Prof. Dr. Ute Krauß-Leichert Prof. Dr. Ute Krauß-Leichert | Photo (detail): © HAW/Paula Markert Ute Krauss-Leichert is a librarian, sociologist, social psychologist and professor for information technology services at the Technical University of Applied Sciences in Hamburg. She is responsible for the long-term study entitled Leseförderung und Wirkungsforschung (Reading Promotion and Impact Research), which was conducted from 2009 to 2014 in cooperation with the Municipal Library of Bielefeld.

Studie zur Leseförderung „Die Bibliothek muss zur vertrauten Umgebung werden“

Bibliotheken leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Leseförderung.
Bibliotheken leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Leseförderung. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © wip-studio – Fotolia.com

Die Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften in Hamburg hat eine Studie zur Leseförderung in Bibliotheken durchgeführt. Ein Gespräch mit Ute Krauß-Leichert über Lesemotivation und Leseleistung.

Frau Krauß-Leichert, welche Formen der Leseförderung werden gegenwärtig in Bibliotheken angeboten?

Leseförderung gehört schon lange zu den wichtigsten Aufgaben öffentlicher Bibliotheken, wobei das Thema durch den PISA-Schock von 2000 und die folgende Debatte verstärkt in den Fokus gerückt ist. Seitdem können Bibliotheken öffentlichkeitswirksamer damit werben, dass sie Leseförderung anbieten. Zu den klassischen Formaten zählen Bilderbuchkino, Ferienleseclubs, Buch-Rallys oder Autorenlesungen. Neuere Ansätze sind zum Beispiel das aus Japan stammende „Kamishibai“, ein bildgestütztes Vorlesen. Dazu wird eine Bühne aus Pappe aufgebaut, in die man Bilder aus den gelesenen Büchern schiebt – ein sehr schönes Angebot gerade für Flüchtlingskinder.

Welche Rolle spielen digitale Angebote bei der Leseförderung?

Digitale Angebote werden immer wichtiger. Ein Beispiel sind hybride Bilderbücher, die nach dem Prinzip der Augmented Reality funktionieren. Die Kinder können dabei das klassische Bilderbuch mit Text über eine kostenlose App noch einmal anders erleben. Wenn es sich um ein Buch über Vögel handelt, sind beispielsweise die entsprechenden Vogelstimmen zu den Abbildungen zu hören. Überhaupt wird viel mit Apps gearbeitet, auch schon bei Kindern im Kita- oder Grundschulalter. Für ältere Kinder gibt es Angebote, per App eigene E-Books zu erstellen, oder Social-Reading-Angebote, den online geführten Austausch über Texte. Auch solche multimedialen Formen fallen in den Bereich der Leseförderung.

Stolperwörter und Leselust

Sie haben an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Hamburg die deutschlandweit einzige Langzeitstudie zur Leseförderung durchgeführt. Woran lässt sich erkennen, ob die Leseförderung erfolgreich ist?

Wir mussten zunächst klären, was unter Lesekompetenz verstanden werden soll. Wir haben einen Ansatz gewählt, der aus der Lesesozialisations-Theorie stammt. Dabei wird neben der Leseleistung auch die Lesegewohnheit und die Lesemotivation untersucht. Wir haben uns dann die zweiten Klassen einer Grundschule mit hohem Migrationsanteil im Bielefelder Stadtteil Brackwede zur Evaluation ausgesucht, die wir bis zur vierten Klasse begleiten haben. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler haben anfangs zweimal im Monat eine Veranstaltung zur Leseförderung in der Stadtteilbibliothek besucht, später alle zwei Monate. Regelmäßig wurde in der Schule dazu ein Stolperwörtertest durchgeführt, bei dem es darum geht, innerhalb eines Satzes ein unpassendes Wort zu identifizieren. Aber die Leseleistung war für uns nicht der entscheidende Indikator, sondern die Lesemotivation und Lesegewohnheit.

Wie lassen sich Lesemotivation und -gewohnheit messen?

Ein möglicher Indikator ist zum Beispiel ein eigener Bibliotheksausweis. Zu Beginn haben sich 50 Prozent der Schüler mit einem eigenen Ausweis Bücher ausliehen, am Ende der Studie 80 Prozent. Das spricht auch für die Bindung an die Bibliothek. In Familien, die es sich leisten können, werden die meisten Bücher gekauft. Viele ärmere Familien – vor allem aus bildungsfernen Schichten – sind aber auf die kostenlose Ausleihe angewiesen. Noch ein interessanter Wert: Die Zahl der Kinder, die in unseren Befragungen angegeben haben, gerne zu lesen, ist von anfangs 14 auf über 70 Prozent gestiegen.

Förderung schon im Krabbelalter

Und das ist ausschließlich der Leseförderung in der Bibliothek zu verdanken?

Nein. Die Ergebnisse nur einem Faktor zuzuordnen, wäre nicht beweisbar. Dazu sind die Kinder heutzutage zu vielen medialen Einflüssen ausgesetzt. Genauso wenig kann man eindeutig belegen, welche Form der Leseförderung am wirksamsten ist. Doch die Bibliotheken können die Kinder im Umgang mit Büchern und Medien schulen, ihnen den Spaß daran vermitteln und sie dabei unterstützen, das Lesen zu etwas Selbstverständlichem zu machen.

Welche Erkenntnisse für die öffentlichen Bibliotheken folgen aus Ihren Untersuchungen?

Früh mit der Leseförderung zu beginnen! Also nicht erst mit Kita-Kindern, sondern schon im Krabbelalter. Es gibt sogenannte Vorläuferfertigkeiten, die eine wichtige Grundlage für den Erwerb der Schriftsprache bilden. Solche Fertigkeiten können Bibliotheken fördern, etwa durch Angebote zur frühkindlichen Leseförderung wie Reimen, Singen, Fingerspiele, Bilderbücher anschauen und Vorlesen. Das machen viele auch bereits. Aber dazu braucht man geschultes Personal. Außerdem ist es wichtig, dass die Veranstaltungen zur Leseförderung regelmäßig angeboten werden, nicht nur einmal pro Schuljahr.

Dazu müssen natürlich auch entsprechende finanzielle Mittel zur Verfügung stehen.

Vor allem ist es wichtig, die Leseförderung dezentral anzubieten. Vielerorts gibt es die schicke Zentralbibliothek, die gut ausgestattet ist. Aber in den Stadtteilbibliotheken sieht es oft anders aus. Dort wären die Kinder aus bildungsfernen Schichten zu erreichen, wozu jedoch leider noch viel zu oft die entsprechenden Angebote fehlen. Die Bibliothek muss zur vertrauten Umgebung werden.
 

Prof. Dr. Ute Krauß-Leichert Prof. Dr. Ute Krauß-Leichert | Foto (Ausschnitt): © HAW/Paula Markert Ute Krauß-Leichert ist Bibliothekarin, Soziologin, Sozialpsychologin und Professorin für Dienstleistungen im Informationssektor an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften (HAW) in Hamburg. Sie ist verantwortlich für die Langzeitstudie Leseförderung und Wirkungsforschung (LeWi), die von 2009 bis 2014 in Kooperation mit der Stadtbibliothek Bielefeld durchgeführt wurde.