Long-term digital archiving “The legal framework has to change”

Dr. Paul Klimpel teaches courses on copyright law, digitalization and cultural heritage.
Dr. Paul Klimpel teaches courses on copyright law, digitalization and cultural heritage. | Photo (detail): Jürgen Keiper, CC BY 4.0

Digitalization puts libraries, museums and archives before new challenges. In order to preserve our cultural heritage, we need new strategies, says the jurist Paul Klimpel.

Mr. Klimpel, what challenges does the digital age represent for the archiving of cultural works?

Digitalization concerns three large areas, which can’t be considered in isolation from each other. First of all, there’s the purely technical question of how certain data can be secured over a long period of time. This is about the migration and emulation of works and the recording, indexing and networking of information. The technical changes, however, will also have an effect on the organization of memory institutions: it makes a difference whether you write a researched address down on a card or whether address information is automatically integrated into a database. Thirdly, there are many legal issues, especially those pertaining to copyright law.

What are the key digitalization initiatives in Germany?

In Germany, culture is predominantly organized on a federal basis, which is why there are numerous initiatives by individual federal states. At the national level, the German Digital Library [Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek / DDB] is the most important one. It also acts as a national data aggregator of Europeana, the central portal that links various European initiatives and promotes the exchangeability of data via specific technical standards. At the national level, the DDB also has the function of a catalyst. When data are linked there, their importance for our cultural memory increases. Moreover, the Archive Portal-D, a subarea of the DDB, pursues a completely independent approach by allowing searches across archive boundaries.

What should we understand under the term “cultural memory”?

“Cultural heritage” is everything that enters into our collective memory of witnesses to human culture – for example, paintings or novels from the area of high culture. But it also concerns socially relevant objects of everyday culture. Take, for instance, a collection of leaflets from the student movement of 1968: a single leaflet calling for a demonstration may not interest everyone, but as a whole such a collection is of course very important, for scholarship too, in order to make present again the development of our country at this time. Cultural heritage also includes films, music and computer games. They influence our daily life and therefore at least a selection of them should be preserved.

Institutions must be allowed to carry out mass digitalization

As co-author of the “Hamburger Note zur Digitalisierung des kulturellen Erbes” [i.e. Hamburg Note on Digitalization of the Cultural Heritage], you make a case for simplifying the complicated legal situation surrounding copyright protected works in archives, libraries and museums. Why?

Our legal frameworks are not designed for the large-scale digitalization of content and making it available online. In the copyright we have an iron principle: if you want to make a copy of a protected work – and all digitalization is a copy – you need the consent of the author or the copyright owner. But when digitalizing large collections, it’s quite impossible to obtain permission for each individual work.

How can this problem be solved?

We need a solution that allows memory institutions to digitalize large quantities of data without having to check each individual object. This can work by using a collective licenses and paying a lump sum to the collecting society. It can also work by means of legal exceptions. You can argue about how to do it. But that there must be a basis which allows institutions to carry out mass digitalization – on this everyone is in agreement: jurists as well as all important cultural institutions, ranging from the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation, the German National Library and the Federal Archives to the German Film Institute.

The funding must be put on a permanent basis

Extensive digitalization projects are expensive. How are they financed in the long-term?

In the early days of digitalization there were mainly project-related subsidies. In the meantime, digitalization has become a natural part of the work of institutions. For this reason, the funding of structures for the sustainable preservation of digital artefacts must be put on a permanent rather than a temporary basis. We’ve also reached the political point at which project-related structures must be given a permanent form. And this isn’t always easy.

Why?

Tasks like long-term digital archiving aren’t very popular. Long-term backup isn’t visible, and you get applause when something is visible – for example when a digital inventory is available on the internet. So long as there are no great disasters in which digital objects are lost, there will be a lacking public awareness of the problem. The fire at the Amalia Library in Weimar or the collapse of the Cologne City Archives have created an awareness of how endangered physical artefacts are. As a result, more money was made available – for instance, for fire prevention. Probably money will flow into long-term archiving only once important digital research data are lost. Most people go to the dentist only when they have a toothache. Then it’s often too late.

What are the next steps that have to be taken to press ahead with long-term digital archiving?

The most urgent is a change in the legal framework. All other efforts will otherwise always run into this wall and above all devour incredibly many resources. It’s very expensive to hire consultants and case workers to clarify rights pertaining to leaflets and photos. This has to change if we’re to move forward.
 

Paul Klimpel who has a doctorate in law, was administrative director of the German Cinematheque. Since 2012, he has been a partner in the law firm iRights.Law. Among other activities, he chaired in November 2016 the conference Zugang gestalten! Mehr Verantwortung für das kulturellen Erbe (i.e. Designing Access! More Responsibility for the Cultural Heritage) and teaches courses on copyright law, digitalization and cultural heritage at various institutions.

 
The software collection of the Computer Games Museum in Berlin Photo (detail): Jörg Metzner, © Computerspielemuseum Archiving of Computer Games: A Cultural Heritage Worth Protecting
We are running the risk of losing a part of our computer games heritage forever, because data storage devices and consoles are getting old. This is where libraries and museums can step in to relieve the situation.

Digitale Langzeitarchivierung „Die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen müssen sich ändern“

Der Jurist Paul Klimpel lehrt zu Urheberrecht, Digitalisierung und kulturellem Erbe.
Der Jurist Paul Klimpel lehrt zu Urheberrecht, Digitalisierung und kulturellem Erbe. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Jürgen Keiper, CC BY 4.0

Die Digitalisierung stellt Bibliotheken, Museen und Archive vor neue Herausforderungen. Um unser kulturelles Erbe zu bewahren, braucht es neue Strategien, sagt der Jurist Paul Klimpel.

Herr Klimpel, welche Herausforderungen stellt das digitale Zeitalter an die Archivierung kultureller Werke?

Die Digitalisierung betrifft drei große Bereiche, die man nicht isoliert voneinander betrachten kann. Da ist zunächst die rein technische Frage, wie bestimmte Daten über einen langen Zeitraum gesichert werden können. Hier geht es um Migration und Emulation von Werken sowie um die Aufnahme, Verschlagwortung und Vernetzung von Informationen. Die technischen Veränderungen werden sich allerdings auch auf die Organisation der Gedächtnisinstitutionen auswirken: Es macht einen Unterschied, ob man eine recherchierte Adresse auf eine Karteikarte schreibt oder ob Adressinformationen automatisiert in eine Datenbank eingebunden werden. Drittens stellen sich auch viele rechtliche Fragen, besonders die des Urheberrechts.

Welche zentralen Digitalisierungsinitiativen gibt es in Deutschland?

Die Kultur ist in Deutschland vorwiegend föderal organisiert, deswegen gibt es zahlreiche Initiativen einzelner Bundesländer. Auf Bundesebene ist die Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (DDB) am wichtigsten. Sie fungiert auch als nationaler Datenaggregator der Europeana, die als zentrales Portal die verschiedenen europäischen Initiativen verknüpft und über bestimmte technische Standards die Austauschbarkeit der Daten fördert. Auf nationaler Ebene hat die DDB also eine Katalysatorfunktion. Wenn Daten dort verknüpft werden, steigt ihre Bedeutung für unser kulturelles Gedächtnis. Darüber hinaus verfolgt das Archivportal-D als Teilbereich der DDB einen durchaus eigenständigen Ansatz, indem es Recherchen über Archivgrenzen hinweg ermöglicht.

Was können wir unter "kulturellem Gedächtnis" verstehen?

"Kulturelles Erbe" ist alles, was an Zeugnissen menschlicher Kultur in unser kollektives Gedächtnis eingeht, etwa Gemälde oder Romane aus dem Bereich der Hochkultur. Aber es betrifft auch gesellschaftlich relevante Objekte der Alltagskultur. Nehmen Sie zum Beispiel eine Flugblattsammlung der Studentenbewegung der 1968er-Jahre: Ein einzelnes Flugblatt, das zu einer Demonstration aufruft, mag nicht jeden interessieren. Aber insgesamt ist eine solche Sammlung natürlich sehr wichtig – auch für die Wissenschaft –, um sich zu vergegenwärtigen, welche Entwicklung unser Land in dieser Zeit genommen hat. Zum kulturellen Erbe gehören außerdem Filme, Musik und Computerspiele. Sie beeinflussen unser tägliches Leben und sollten deshalb zumindest in einer Auswahl erhalten bleiben.

Massendigitalisierung  muss möglich werden

Als Mitverfasser der „Hamburger Note zur Digitalisierung des kulturellen Erbes“ plädieren Sie dafür, die komplizierte Rechtesituation von urheberrechtlich geschützten Werken in Archiven, Bibliotheken und Museen zu vereinfachen. Warum?

Unsere rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen sind nicht darauf ausgerichtet, Inhalte massenhaft zu digitalisieren und online zur Verfügung zu stellen. Wir haben im Urheberrecht ein ehernes Prinzip: Wer eine Kopie eines geschützten Werkes machen will – und im Digitalen ist alles eine Kopie – braucht die Einwilligung des Urhebers oder Rechteinhabers. Doch bei der Digitalisierung großer Sammlungen kann unmöglich für jedes einzelne Werk eine Erlaubnis eingeholt werden.

Wie lässt sich dieses Problem lösen?

Wir brauchen eine Lösung, die es den Gedächtnisinstitutionen ermöglicht, massenhaft zu digitalisieren – ohne Prüfung jedes einzelnen Objekts. Das kann funktionieren, indem man mit kollektiven Lizenzen arbeitet und den Verwertungsgesellschaften eine Pauschale zahlt. Es kann auch mit gesetzlichen Ausnahmebestimmungen funktionieren. Über den Weg dorthin mag man streiten. Aber dass es eine Grundlage geben muss, die den Institutionen eine Massendigitalisierung ermöglicht, darüber sind sich alle einig: sowohl die Juristen als auch alle wichtigen Kulturinstitutionen von der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz über die Deutsche Nationalbibliothek und das Bundesarchiv bis hin zum Deutschen Filminstitut.

Dauerhafte Finanzierung ist wichtig

Umfangreiche Digitalisierungsprojekte sind aufwändig. Wie werden sie langfristig finanziert?

In den Anfangszeiten der Digitalisierung gab es vor allem projektbezogene Förderungen. Mittlerweile ist die Digitalisierung ein selbstverständlicher Teil der Arbeit von Institutionen. Deswegen müssen die Strukturen zur nachhaltigen Sicherung von digitalen Artefakten natürlich auch dauerhaft und nicht zeitlich befristet finanziert werden. Wir sind gerade auch politisch an einem Punkt, dass diesen projektbezogenen Strukturen eine dauerhafte Form gegeben werden muss. Und das ist nicht immer ganz einfach.

Warum?

Aufgaben wie die digitale Langzeitarchivierung sind nicht sehr populär. Die langfristige Sicherung ist nichts Sichtbares, und Applaus bekommt man erst, wenn etwas sichtbar ist, wenn etwa ein digitaler Bestand im Internet abrufbar ist. Solange es keine großen Katastrophen gibt, bei denen digitale Objekte verschwinden, solange fehlt auch das Problembewusstsein. Der Brand der Anna-Amalia-Bibliothek in Weimar oder der Einsturz des Kölner Stadtarchivs haben ein Bewusstsein dafür geschaffen, wie gefährdet physische Artefakte sind. In der Folge wurde dann mehr Geld zur Verfügung gestellt, etwa für den Brandschutz. Wahrscheinlich müssen erst wichtige digitale Forschungsdaten verloren gehen, damit mehr Mittel in die Langzeitarchivierung fließen. Die meisten Leute gehen erst zum Zahnarzt, wenn sie Zahnschmerzen haben. Dann ist es oft zu spät.

Welche Schritte sind als nächstes notwendig, um die digitale Langzeitarchivierung voranzutreiben?

Das Dringlichste ist in der Tat eine Änderung der rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen. Alle anderen Bemühungen rennen sonst immer wieder gegen diese eine Wand und verschlingen vor allem unglaublich viele Ressourcen. Es ist sehr teuer, Referenten oder Sachbearbeiter zu beschäftigen, um die Rechte von Flugblättern oder Fotos zu klären. Diese Praxis muss sich ändern, damit wir weiterkommen.

Der promovierte Jurist Paul Klimpel war von 2006 bis 2011 Verwaltungsdirektor der Deutschen Kinemathek. Seit 2012 ist er Partner in der Rechtsanwaltskanzlei iRights.Law. Er leitete unter anderem im November 2016 die Konferenzreihe Zugang gestalten! Mehr Verantwortung für das kulturellen Erbe und lehrt an verschiedenen Institutionen zu Urheberrecht, Digitalisierung und kulturellem Erbe.

 
Softwaresammlung des Computerspielemuseums Berlin Foto (Ausschnitt): Jörg Metzner, © Computerspielemuseum Archivierung von Computerspielen: Schützenswertes Kulturgut
Die Gefahr wächst, einen Teil des Computerspiel-Erbes unwiederbringlich zu verlieren, weil Datenträger und Konsolen altern. Bibliotheken und Museen können bei der Rettung helfen.