The German Central Library for the Blind “Immerse yourself in the world of the narrative”

Stefan Debus reading in braille.
Stefan Debus reading in braille. | Photo (detail): © Julius Lukas

Since his accident Stefan Debus has not been able to see. Nevertheless, books are an important part of his life – thanks to the Deutsche Zentralbücherei für Blinde/DZB (the German Central Library for the Blind) in Leipzig.

Words have a special quality for me. They help me to imagine the way things are. Written texts make hidden worlds accessible to all of us. Books are therefore an important part of my life. As I am blind, I cannot make use of the resources most libraries have to offer. That is why the German Central Library for the Blind is all the more important for me.

I cannot really remember the first time I used the Central Library for the Blind. One thing I am sure about, however, is that I have been borrowing books regularly since 2009. That was when I moved to Leipzig, where the Central Library for the Blind is also based. The local proximity, however, plays no role when you take out a book. Since the books are sent by mail, they can be ordered from anywhere in Germany. Recently, it even became possible to download them onto your computer or smart phone. That makes life even easier.

Stefan Debus reading a book in braille at the Central Library for the Blind. Stefan Debus reading a book in braille at the Central Library for the Blind. | Photo (detail): © Julius Lukas I still order most books on CD. However, these are not the usual, standard audio books you can buy in the shops. The Central Library for the Blind produces its own range. That is why it has its own recording studio for this very purpose. Audio books for the blind have a special audio format. This has been developed by libraries for the blind and is used worldwide. There are also special audio players for them. The difference being that this format enables more audio pages to be put on a CD. In addition, you can easily navigate between chapters and jump to individual text sections.

A narrator in the Central Library’s recording studio. Every year it produces about 200 audio books. A narrator in the Central Library’s recording studio. Every year it produces about 200 audio books. | Photo (detail): © Julius Lukas However, I do not use these possibilities so often, since I usually listen to the books without taking many breaks. I have a particular penchant for world literature: Elfriede Jelinek, Thomas Mann, Umberto Eco. Their works fascinate me. For example, I read The Name of the Rose by Eco. An insanely exciting murder mystery that is so packed with knowledge and historical observations. Listening to the book was a very intense experience for me. I even had the images of the movie with Sean Connery in my mind’s eye. I had seen it before I lost my sight.

A relief print of a Yeti in the Central Library’s current calendar. The bookbinding shop does not produce just books, but also relief prints like this. A relief print of a Yeti in the Central Library’s current calendar. The bookbinding shop does not produce just books, but also relief prints like this. | Photo (detail): © Julius Lukas The Central Library for the Blind also has books in braille that are produced by the Central Library. These are always quite thick volumes – from the point of view of size. Braille takes up much more space than conventional “black print” – as blind people call the printed writing in books. A paperback with 300 pages, when translated into braille, could well fill five A4-size volumes. This voluminous format is, in fact, more comfortable for the blind and sight-impaired. The lines are longer and you do not have to search for the start of the next line so often.

Stefan Debus listening to a CD. The audio player makes for easy navigation. Stefan Debus listening to a CD. The audio player makes for easy navigation. | Photo (detail): © Julius Lukas I find reading braille script, by the way, somewhat strenuous. As I lost my sight somewhat later in life, I am not particularly fast, and I actually get more physically tired when reading braille. That's why I always “read” books in the audio book version. The Central Library also puts out a magazine in braille, which is called SternZeit. It publishes selected articles from the magazine Stern and the weekly newspaper Die Zeit. I always make sure I have a copy delivered to me. And in that way I stay up to date on all the current issues.

Books and also magazines are an integral part of my life. Through them I can access information and knowledge, they entertain me and encourage me to think. Often, however, they also give me support, comfort and orientation. Sure, many people, of course, feel the same way about books and these experiences would also be possible without the Central Library for the Blind. The Central Library, however, makes it easier for me to immerse myself in the world of the narrative.
 

Stefan Debus, born in 1969, works as an independent piano tuner in Leipzig. From 1991 to 1994 he studied at the Conservatoire de Musique in Luxembourg. In 1998, he lost his sight in an accident. In 2002, he completed his training as a piano tuner in Chemnitz with top marks. Debus is also the author of the book Stockdunkel - ein Handbuch für Blinde zum Thema Mobilität (a handbook for blind people on mobility).

The Deutsche Zentralbücherei für Blinde/DZB (German Central Library for the Blind) is the oldest library of its kind in Germany. It was founded in the year 1894 as an association for the provision of letterpress (braille) print for blind people in Leipzig. Today the library enables the approximately 155,000 blind people and approximately 500,000 visually impaired people in Germany to borrow media. The stock includes 40,000 audio books, 20,000 books in braille, as well as numerous reliefs. These are all produced in the recording studio, the printing shop and the bookbinding shop of the Central Library.

 

Write to us!

What is your favorite library? What do you like about your library? Did you have a special library experience? Your story is in demand!

Deutsche Zentralbücherei für Blinde „Abtauchen in die Welt des Erzählens“

Stefan Debus liest in Braille-Schrift.
Stefan Debus liest in Braille-Schrift. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Julius Lukas

Stefan Debus kann seit einem Unfall nicht mehr sehen. Doch Bücher sind weiterhin ein wichtiger Teil seines Lebens – dank der Deutschen Zentralbücherei für Blinde in Leipzig.  

Worte haben eine besondere Qualität für mich. Durch sie entsteht in mir die Vorstellung von Dingen. Texte machen verborgene Welten für uns alle erfahrbar. Bücher sind deswegen ein wichtiger Bestandteil meines Lebens. Da ich blind bin, kann ich die Bestände der meisten Bibliotheken nicht sinnvoll nutzen. Umso größer ist der Wert, den die Deutsche Zentralbücherei für Blinde, kurz DZB genannt, für mich hat.
 
Wann ich die Zentralbücherei das erste Mal genutzt habe, kann ich gar nicht genau sagen. Ganz sicher bin ich mir, dass ich seit 2009 regelmäßig dort Bücher ausleihe. Damals bin ich nach Leipzig gezogen, wo die DZB ihren Sitz hat. Allerdings spielt beim Ausleihen die örtliche Nähe gar keine Rolle. Da die Bücher per Post zugeschickt werden, kann man sie von überall in Deutschland bestellen. Seit kurzem ist es sogar möglich, sie auf den Computer oder das Smartphone zu laden. Das macht es noch einfacher.

Stefan Debus liest ein Braille-Schrift-Buch in der Deutschen Zentralbücherei für Blinde. Stefan Debus liest ein Braille-Schrift-Buch in der Deutschen Zentralbücherei für Blinde. | Photo (detail): © Julius Lukas Ich bestelle mir die meisten Bücher immer noch auf CD. Allerdings handelt es sich dabei nicht um die Hörbücher des Standardsortiments, die man auch im Laden kaufen kann. Die DZB produziert ihr Angebot nämlich selbst – in einem eigenen Tonstudio. Hörbücher für Blinde haben ein spezielles Audio-Format. Das wurde von Blindenbibliotheken entwickelt und wird weltweit genutzt. Es gibt auch besondere  Abspielgeräte dafür. Durch den Einsatz dieses Formats passen mehr vorgelesene Seiten auf eine CD. Zudem kann man sehr leicht zwischen Kapiteln hin und her navigieren und zu einzelnen Textabschnitten springen.

Sprecherin im Tonstudio der DZB. Pro Jahr werden dort etwa 200 Hörbücher produziert. Sprecherin im Tonstudio der DZB. Pro Jahr werden dort etwa 200 Hörbücher produziert. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Julius Lukas Diese Möglichkeiten nutze ich jedoch nicht so oft, da ich Bücher meistens ohne viele Pausen höre. Ein besonderes Faible habe ich für Weltliteratur: Elfriede Jelinek, Thomas Mann, Umberto Eco. Deren Werke faszinieren mich. Von Ecco habe ich zum Beispiel Der Name der Rose gelesen. Eine wahnsinnig spannende Kriminalstory, die so voll gepackt ist mit Wissen und historischen Betrachtungen. Das Hören des Buches war eine sehr intensive Erfahrung für mich. Ich hatte sogar wieder die Bilder des Films mit Sean Connery vor Augen. Den hatte ich gesehen, bevor ich erblindet bin.
  Relief eines Yetis im aktuellen Kalender der DZB. Neben Büchern stellt die Blindenbücherei auch solche Hochdrucke her. Relief eines Yetis im aktuellen Kalender der DZB. Neben Büchern stellt die Blindenbücherei auch solche Hochdrucke her. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Julius Lukas Die Zentralbücherei für Blinde hat auch Bücher in Braille-Schrift im Bestand. Die werden ebenfalls von der DZB produziert. Meistens sind das ganz schön dicke Bände – also vom Volumen her. Die Blindenschrift braucht nämlich deutlich mehr Platz als der Schwarzdruck – so nennen Blinde die gedruckte Schrift in Büchern. Ein Taschenbuch mit 300 Seiten kann in Braille-Schrift schnell mal fünf Bände in A4-Größe umfassen. Tatsächlich ist dieses voluminöse Format für Menschen, die nicht sehen können, auch angenehmer. Die Zeilen sind dadurch länger, und man muss nicht so oft den nächsten Zeilenanfang suchen.

Stefan Debus hört sich eine CD an. Das Abspielgerät ermöglicht leichtes Navigieren. Stefan Debus hört sich eine CD an. Das Abspielgerät ermöglicht leichtes Navigieren. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Julius Lukas Das Lesen in Braille-Schrift strengt mich, nebenbei bemerkt, einigermaßen an. Da ich spät erblindet bin, ist meine Geschwindigkeit nicht sehr hoch, und motorisch ermüde ich beim Lesen schnell. Deswegen lese ich Bücher fast immer in der Hörbuch-Fassung. Die DZB bietet auch ein Magazin in Blindenschrift an, das SternZeit heißt. Darin werden ausgewählte Artikel aus dem Magazin Stern und der Wochenzeitung Die Zeit veröffentlicht. Das lasse ich mir immer zuschicken. Und so bleibe ich bei aktuellen Themen auf dem Laufenden.

Bücher in Blindenschrift haben einen etwa zehn Mal so großen Umfang, wie normale Bücher. Bücher in Blindenschrift haben einen etwa zehn Mal so großen Umfang, wie normale Bücher. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Julius Lukas Bücher und auch Zeitschriften sind aus meinem Leben nicht wegzudenken. Durch sie bekomme ich Informationen und Wissen, werde unterhalten und zum Denken angeregt. Oft geben sie mir Halt, Trost und Orientierung. Sicher geht das vielen Menschen ähnlich. Natürlich wären diese Erfahrungen auch ohne die Zentralbücherei für Blinde möglich. Die DZB macht es mir aber einfacher, in die Welt des Erzählens einzutauchen.
 

Stefan Debus, Jahrgang 1969, arbeitet als selbständiger Klavierstimmer in Leipzig. Von 1991 bis 1994 studierte er am Conservatoire de Musique in Luxemburg. 1998 erblindete er in Folge eines Unfalls. 2002 schloss er seine Ausbildung zum Klavierstimmer in Chemnitz mit Bestnote ab. Debus ist außerdem Autor des Buches Stockdunkel – ein Handbuch für Blinde zum Thema Mobilität.
 
Die Deutsche Zentralbücherei für Blinde (DZB) ist die älteste Bibliothek ihrer Art in Deutschland. 1894 wurde sie als  Verein zur Beschaffung von Hochdruckschriften für Blinde zu Leipzig gegründet. Heute können sich hier die etwa 155.000 blinden und rund 500.000 sehbehinderten Menschen in Deutschland Medien ausleihen. Der Bestand umfasst 400.00 Hörbücher, 200.00 Bücher in Blindenschrift sowie zahlreiche Reliefs. Diese Medien werden im Tonstudio, der Druckerei und der Buchbinderei der DZB produziert.