Intercultural library work in Hamm “The library helped me to integrate”

Having a chat – Mohammed Bakr (right), supervises the “Meet & Talk” group
Having a chat – Mohammed Bakr (right), supervises the “Meet & Talk” group | Photo (detail): © Mohammed Bakr

The Syrian, Mohammed Bakr, has lived in Hamm since 2015. Since then he has been actively using the library's range of intercultural services – first for language learning, now for his professional training. He has even organised a group for refugees to practice speaking German together.
 

My name is Mohammed Bakr, but my friends just call me Mo. I am 29 years old and I come from the north of Syria, from the town of Kobane. There was a big library in Kobane, which I actually did not go to often. It was not until later, when I was studying mechanical engineering in Aleppo that I used the library as a place to study and research.

Today Mo Bakr speaks German really well. Study programs for learning German on a computer really helped him. Today Mo Bakr speaks German really well. Study programs for learning German on a computer really helped him. | Photo (detail): © Mohammed Bakr I have lived in Hamm / Westphalia since 2015 and I started going to the library right from the start to learn the language. They have everything for learning German: teaching materials, programs, computers and books.

In the summer of 2015, we organised a summer party in collaboration with Hamm’s refugee aid agency (Flüchtlingshilfe Hamm e.V.). There I met the then head of the library. Together we hit upon the idea of providing refugees with an opportunity to speak German. “Meet & Talk” brings refugees and the people of Hamm together and gets them talking. He offered us meeting rooms free of charge, which are centrally located for everyone and are easily accessible. By attending the “Meet & Talk” sessions, I was able to begin a nine-month internship in the library in March 2016. I prepared and supervised the group meetings and translated flyers into Arabic and Kurdish.

For Mo Bakr, intercultural library work means above all access to information. For Mo Bakr, intercultural library work means above all access to information. | Photo (detail): © Mohammed Bakr My tasks also included sorting Arabic books into the appropriate categories, organising a reading corner in a refugee hostel and interpreting for Arab or Kurdish clients. I have offered these clients a tour of the library so they can get to know the lay-out of the building and where to find what they are looking for.

The internship in the library helped a lot with my integration in German society. By coming into daily contact with Germans, my language improved quickly. I supported my colleagues in their various work processes and found out more about German culture. I was often able to borrow books and dictionaries.

Today Mo Bakr mostly borrows novels and specialised literature. Today Mo Bakr mostly borrows novels and specialised literature. | Photo (detail): © Mohammed Bakr My favourite place is on the second floor, there are seats and the atmosphere is quiet. I really enjoy being there. The Reading Café is very cosy, as you can have a coffee while reading.

A cosy atmosphere for studying at the desks on the second floor A cosy atmosphere for studying at the desks on the second floor | Photo (detail): © Mohammed Bakr This year, I began a training course at Hamm’s city college to become an IT specialist. I still use the library for my course research. I meet there with my course colleagues to study with them. In the meantime, I have now started to take out textbooks and novels in German. And, just as before, I still supervise the “Meet & Talk” group. We meet informally twice a week in the library over coffee and biscuits, discuss topics such as Easter customs or Christmas, play “Taboo” or “Ludo”. Every now and then we go out for the day to the zoo, the museum or the carnival parade.

The Hamm Central Library has a good range of media for learning German. The Hamm Central Library has a good range of media for learning German. | Photo (detail): © Mohammed Bakr For me, intercultural library work means above all access to information: via the Internet, books, CDs, etc. Joining a library is an ideal thing to do, especially if you are trying to learn the German language. I have, however, also been to a Kurdish evening at the library, with music and readings. There was also a cultural night with a Harry Potter theme that was pretty cool. I'm very happy with the library, what it has to offer, and the fact that it is such a nice place with such nice people.

When Mo Bakr walks into the library, he likes to say hello to his former colleagues. They really helped him when he was doing his internship there. When Mo Bakr walks into the library, he likes to say hello to his former colleagues. They really helped him when he was doing his internship there. | Photo (detail): © Mohammed Bakr

Since about 2007, the municipal libraries of Hamm have intensified their range of intercultural services. Among other things, the media collection in the field of languages has been supplemented, their multilingual orientation has been expanded and event activities extended to different target groups.

Interkulturelle Bibliotheksarbeit „Die Bibliothek hat mir bei der Integration geholfen“

Ins Gespräch kommen: Mohammed Bakr, rechts, leitet die Gruppe „Meet & Talk“
Ins Gespräch kommen: Mohammed Bakr, (rechts), leitet die Gruppe „Meet & Talk“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Mohammed Bakr

Der Syrer Mohammed Bakr lebt seit 2015 in Hamm. Das interkulturelle Angebot der Bücherei nutzte er erst zum Sprachenlernen, jetzt für seine Ausbildung. Sogar eine Gruppe für Geflüchtete hat er gegründet, in der sie miteinander Deutsch sprechen.

Mein Name ist Mohammed Bakr, meine Freunde nennen mich aber nur Mo. Ich bin 29 Jahre alt und komme aus dem Norden von Syrien, aus der Stadt Kobane. In Kobane gab es eine große Bücherei, die ich allerdings nicht oft besucht habe. Erst als ich später Maschinenbau in Aleppo studierte, nutzte ich die Bibliothek zum Lernen und Recherchieren.

Heute spricht Mo Bakr sehr gut Deutsch. Geholfen haben ihm dabei  Lern-PCs mit Deutschprogrammen. Heute spricht Mo Bakr sehr gut Deutsch. Geholfen haben ihm dabei Lern-PCs mit Deutschprogrammen. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Mohammed Bakr Seit 2015 lebe ich in Hamm/Westfalen und bin von Anfang in die Bücherei gegangen: Hier gibt es Lehrmaterial, Programme, Computer und Bücher zum Deutschlernen.

Im Sommer 2015 feierten wir mit der Flüchtlingshilfe Hamm e.V. ein Sommerfest. Dort lernte ich den damaligen Leiter der Bibliothek kennen. Wir hatten gemeinsam die Idee, Geflüchteten in einer festen Gruppe die Möglichkeit zu geben, Deutsch zu sprechen. „Meet & Talk“ bringt Geflüchtete und Hammer Bürger ins Gespräch. Der Bibliotheksleiter bot uns kostenlose Räumlichkeiten an, die zentral für alle liegen und gut erreichbar sind. Über die Teilnahme an „Meet & Talk“ konnte ich im März 2016 ein neunmonatiges Praktikum in der Bibliothek beginnen: Ich habe die Gruppentreffen vorbereitet, begleitet und Flyer ins Arabische und Kurdische übersetzt.

Für Mo Bakr bedeutet interkulturelle Bibliotheksarbeit auch, Zugang zu Informationen zu erhalten. Für Mo Bakr bedeutet interkulturelle Bibliotheksarbeit auch, Zugang zu Informationen zu erhalten. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Mohammed Bakr Zu meinen Aufgaben gehörte es auch, arabische Bücher in die entsprechenden Sachgruppen zu sortieren, eine Leseecke in einer Flüchtlingsunterkunft zu betreuen und beim Besuch arabischer oder kurdischer Kunden zu dolmetschen. Diesen Kunden habe ich eine Führung durch das Haus angeboten, damit sie die Bibliothek kennenlernen und wissen, wo sie etwas finden.

Das Praktikum in der Bibliothek hat mir bei der Integration sehr geholfen. Durch den täglichen Kontakt zu Deutschen hat sich meine Sprache schnell verbessert, ich unterstützte die Kolleginnen und Kollegen bei Arbeitsabläufen und lernte die deutsche Kultur kennen. Oft habe ich mir Bücher und Wörterbücher ausgeliehen.

Mo Bakr liest heute vor allem Romane und Fachliteratur. Mo Bakr liest heute vor allem Romane und Fachliteratur. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Mohammed Bakr Mein Lieblingsort befindet sich im zweiten Stock, dort sind Sitzgelegenheiten und es herrscht eine ruhige Atmosphäre. Das genieße ich sehr. Auch das Lesecafé ist sehr gemütlich, da kann man während des Lesens einen Kaffee trinken.

Angenehme Arbeitsatmosphäre im zweiten Stock Angenehme Arbeitsatmosphäre im zweiten Stock | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Mohammed Bakr In diesem Jahr habe ich eine Ausbildung als Fachinformatiker bei der Stadt Hamm begonnen. Die Bibliothek nutze ich weiterhin für die schulische Recherche. Hier treffe ich mich auch mit meinen Kollegen zum Lernen. Mittlerweile leihe ich mir meist Fachbücher und Romane auf Deutsch aus. Und nach wie vor leite ich die Gruppe „Meet & Talk“. Wir treffen uns zweimal in der Woche ganz zwanglos in der Bibliothek bei Kaffee und Keksen, besprechen Themen wie Osterbräuche oder Weihnachten, spielen „Tabu“ oder „Mensch ärgere dich nicht“. Ab und zu machen wir einen Ausflug: in den Tierpark, ins Museum oder zum Karnevalsumzug.

Die Zentralbibliothek Hamm hat ein umfangreiches Medienangebot zum Deutschlernen. Die Zentralbibliothek Hamm hat ein umfangreiches Medienangebot zum Deutschlernen. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Mohammed Bakr Für mich bedeutet interkulturelle Bibliotheksarbeit vor allem der Zugang zu Informationen: mit Internet, Büchern, CDs etc. Gerade um die deutsche Sprache kennenzulernen, eignet sich der Besuch in der Bücherei. Aber ich habe hier auch mal einen kurdischen Abend mit Musik und Vorlesen besucht. Eine Kulturnacht mit einer Harry-Potter-Veranstaltung war ziemlich cool. Ich bin sehr zufrieden mit der Bibliothek, ihrem Angebot, und ich freue mich, dass es so einen schönen Ort mit netten Leuten gibt.

Wenn er in die Bücherei kommt, begrüßt er gerne seine ehemaligen Kolleginnen und Kollegen. Sie haben ihn bei seinem Praktikum sehr unterstützt. Wenn Mo Bakr in die Bücherei kommt, begrüßt er gerne seine ehemaligen Kolleginnen und Kollegen. Sie haben ihn bei seinem Praktikum sehr unterstützt. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Mohammed Bakr

Seit etwa 2007 haben die Stadtbüchereien Hamm ihr interkulturelles Angebot intensiviert. Unter anderem wurde der Medienbestand im Sprachbereich ergänzt, die mehrsprachige Ausrichtung ausgebaut und die Veranstaltungsarbeit für verschiedene Zielgruppen erweitert.