Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Makerspaces in libraries
Leaning by discovering

Libraries long ago ceased to be just about books: Oliver Achilles, director of Kalk Local Library in Cologne, shows children a 3D printer.
Libraries long ago ceased to be just about books: Oliver Achilles, director of Kalk Local Library in Cologne, shows children a 3D printer. | Photo (detail): © Jörn Neumann / Stadtbibliothek Köln

In 2013, libraries in Germany started running makerspaces for creative projects. Has the concept stood the test of time?

By Petra Schönhöfer

Cologne City Library is a pioneer. In 2013, it became the first German library to launch a makerspace based on the US model. Others soon followed suit. Among them was the Saxon State and University Library Dresden (SLUB), which is associated with the public research university TU Dresden. One of the aims of the library initiative is to generate interest in STEM subjects – science, technology, engineering and mathematics – and motivate visitors to experiment together.
Cologne City Library’s mobile makerspace. Cologne City Library’s mobile makerspace. | Photo: © Marco Dreyer / Stadtbibliothek Köln “We offer people a chance to discover and try out tools and technologies that they would not normally have at home,” Cologne City Library director Hannelore Vogt explains. The focus is on robotics, virtual reality, coding, 3D printing and music software and apps. Sewing machines, cutting plotters and photo scanners are also available. The Cologne makerspace is accessible throughout library opening hours and offers flanking online tutorials on the Lynda learning platform. “The aim is to strengthen the library’s role as a place of knowledge transfer and active exchange and to create a community engaging with technology as a hands-on experience,” says Vogt. “‘Explore, Create, Share’ – that is our motto.”

Guiding creative chaos

There are around 250 makerspaces in the German-speaking world. Most of them are in schools and universities, some are in companies. Only a few public libraries have opted to launch makerspaces of their own. Many trialled the concept but then decided against it, researcher Karsten Schuldt points out. The idea of creating a self-organising community worked only in a few cases – he says – because it is not enough just to provide premises and equipment. “Communities will only form if someone works to create them. Establishing a makerspace at a library calls for dedicated staff.”
 
The requirements are met in full in Cologne and Dresden. Activities in Cologne are curated and supported by a team of specialists. Apart from the know-how put across in regular programmes, expertise is also shared by members of the public, many of them volunteers. In Dresden, Jonas Tiepmar of the SLUB Makerspace similarly appreciates the importance of professional supervision. “Groups that organise makerspaces know from experience that a maker scene can profit significantly if the ‘creative chaos’ is guided,” he remarks – adding that the Dresden makerspace profits particularly from networking with the educators and researchers of nearby TU Dresden.

“There is huge demand”

Both library representatives confirm that the makerspace programmes are well received. Tiepmar points out that the Dresden makerspace is used largely by students. For some of them, it is actually part of their curriculum. Under cooperative arrangements with faculties, for instance, architecture students use the facilities to make 3D models for semester assignments and medical students have made vertebrae models for practising spinal anaesthetic procedures.
Students are a major user group at SLUB Dresden’s makerspace. They come, for example, to make 3D models for their semester assignments.  Students are a major user group at SLUB Dresden’s makerspace. They come, for example, to make 3D models for their semester assignments. | Photo: © Fanny Hauser / SLUB Dresden The user group in Cologne is very diverse. Vogt reports that the adult courses are often attended by parents with children or grandparents with grandchildren. “We perform post-course feedback surveys so we can evaluate and fine-tune our programmes. They are very popular; workshops tend to fill up fast. And the maker kids courses are invariably full. There is huge demand.”
 
So the makerspaces in Cologne and Dresden are certainly set to continue: “The SLUB Makerspace started out as a special support project; it is now a strategic unit and will continue to be expanded and upgraded,” Tiepmar explains. And Vogt in Cologne sums up: “Our makerspace is not just a space. The entire library has undergone a paradigm shift – in line with a philosophy of learning by discovering and doing.”

Infobox

Makerspaces are the inventors’ dens of our time – public spaces for DIY projects that are a bit more challenging than making pottery ashtrays, either because they involve digital technologies or because they require the use of high-tech hardware such as 3D printers or laser cutters. All of this is available to the modern Gyro Gearloose in a makerspace – generally free of charge.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Makerspaces in Bibliotheken
Lernen durch Entdecken

Bibliotheken bieten längst mehr als nur Bücher: Der Leiter der Stadtteilbibliothek in Köln Kalk, Oliver Achilles, zeigt Kindern den 3D-Drucker.
Bibliotheken bieten längst mehr als nur Bücher: Der Leiter der Stadtteilbibliothek in Köln Kalk, Oliver Achilles, zeigt Kindern den 3D-Drucker. | Foto (Zuschnitt): © Jörn Neumann / Stadtbibliothek Köln

Seit 2013 richten Bibliotheken in Deutschland zusätzliche Kreativräume für ihre Besucher ein, sogenannte Makerspaces. Hat sich das Konzept bewährt?

Von Petra Schönhöfer

Die Kölner Stadtbibliothek ist eine Pionierin. Nach dem Vorbild der amerikanischen Makerszene wurde hier im Jahr 2013 der erste Makerspace an einer deutschen Bibliothek eingerichtet. Einige folgten bald diesem Beispiel, etwa die Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden (SLUB), die mit der Technischen Universität verbunden ist. Die Bibliotheken möchten damit Interesse für MINT-Themen wecken – Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik – und Besucher motivieren, gemeinsam zu experimentieren.
Der mobile Makerspace der Stadtbibliothek Köln. Der mobile Makerspace der Stadtbibliothek Köln. | Foto: © Marco Dreyer / Stadtbibliothek Köln „Wir bieten Geräte und Technologien zum Kennenlernen und Ausprobieren an, die man in der Regel nicht zu Hause hat“, erklärt Hannelore Vogt, die Direktorin der Kölner Stadtbibliothek, das Konzept. Der inhaltliche Schwerpunkt liege auf Robotik, Virtual Reality, Coding, 3-D-Druck und auf musikalischen Anwendungen wie Musiksoftware und -apps. Außerdem stehen Nähmaschinen, Schneideplotter und Fotoscanner zur Verfügung. Der Kölner Makerspace ist während der Öffnungszeiten jederzeit zugänglich, die Plattform Lynda bietet begleitend E-Learning-Kurse an. „Ziel ist die Stärkung der Bibliothek als Ort der Wissensvermittlung und des lebendigen Austausches, die Schaffung einer Community, für die wir Technik anfassbar und erlebbar machen“, so Vogt. „‚Explore, create, share‘ ist unser Motto.“

Das kreative Chaos lenken

Im deutschsprachigen Raum gibt es rund 250 Makerspaces, die meisten davon sind in Schulen und Universitäten angesiedelt, einige auch in Unternehmen. Die öffentlichen Bibliotheken haben sich nur zum Teil dafür entschieden, eigene Makerspaces einzurichten. Viele hätten das Konzept zwar ausprobiert, dann aber wieder Abstand davon genommen, berichtet der Bibliothekswissenschaftler Karsten Schuldt: Die Idee, eine sich selbst organisierende Community aufzubauen, sei nur wenigen geglückt – denn dafür reiche es nicht aus, die räumlichen und technischen Voraussetzungen zu schaffen. „In der Realität bilden sich Communities selbstverständlich nur, wenn jemand die Arbeit dafür leistet. Makerspaces in Bibliotheken etablieren sich dann, wenn es Personal dafür gibt, das sich hauptsächlich mit diesen beschäftigt.“
Vor allem Studenten nutzen den Makerspace der SLUB Dresden, etwa um 3-D-Modelle für ihre Semesterarbeiten anzufertigen. Vor allem Studenten nutzen den Makerspace der SLUB Dresden, etwa um 3-D-Modelle für ihre Semesterarbeiten anzufertigen. | Foto: © Fanny Hauser / SLUB Dresden In Köln und Dresden ist diese Voraussetzung gegeben. In Köln werden die Aktivitäten von einem Kompetenzteam kuratiert und begleitet. Neben festen Programmen geben Bürgerinnen und Bürger Wissen an andere – häufig ehrenamtlich – weiter. Und auch in Dresden setzt Jonas Tiepmar vom SLUB-Makerspace auf Supervision durch fachkundiges Personal. „Nicht zuletzt die Erfahrung der von Vereinen organisierten Makerspaces hat gezeigt, dass die Makerszene davon profitieren kann, wenn man das ‚kreative Chaos‘ in geordnete Bahnen lenkt“, berichtet er. Der Mehrwert des Dresdner Makerspace liege vor allem in der Vernetzung mit Lehre und Forschung der benachbarten Technischen Universität.

„Es besteht großer Bedarf“

Die Angebote werden den beiden Bibliotheksvertretern zufolge gut angenommen. Vor allem Studenten nutzten den Dresdner Makerspace, so Tiepmar, für manche stehe er sogar auf dem Lehrplan. Dank einer Kooperation mit dem Lehrstuhl für Architektur können die Studierenden hier 3-D-Modelle für ihre Semesterarbeiten anfertigen; Mediziner fertigten beispielsweise Übungswirbel für das Setzen von Rückenmarksspritzen.
 
In Köln ist das Publikum sehr divers: In die Kurse für Erwachsene kämen nicht selten Eltern mit Kindern oder Großeltern mit Enkeln gemeinsam, so Vogt. „Wir führen nach den Kursen Feedback-Umfragen durch und lassen die Angebote bewerten. So passen wir die Programme an. Wir beobachten einen großen Zuspruch der Kölnerinnen und Kölner und zumeist ausgebuchte Workshops. Die Makerkids-Kurse sind zu hundert Prozent ausgebucht – es besteht hoher Bedarf.“

In Köln und Dresden möchte man daher auf jeden Fall an den Makerspaces festhalten: „Aus einem Sachgebiet wurde der Makerspace mittlerweile zu einem strategischen Referat der SLUB. Wir werden ihn weiterhin ausbauen und vergrößern“, erklärt Tiepmar. Und Vogt in Köln resümiert: „Unser Makerspace ist nicht nur ein Raum. Die ganze Bibliothek hat den Paradigmenwechsel mitgemacht, getreu einer Philosophie des Lernens durch Entdecken und Tun.“

Infobox

Makerspaces sind die Tüftlerwerkstätten unserer Zeit. Öffentliche Räume, in denen Do-it-yourself-Projekte gedeihen, die ein wenig aufwendiger sind als der getöpferte Aschenbecher – etwa weil sie digitaler Natur sind oder den Einsatz von neuen Technologien bedürfen, wie 3-D-Drucker oder Lasercutter. All das findet der moderne Daniel Düsentrieb in aller Regel in einem Makerspace zur kostenlosen Nutzung vor.

Top