The Library of the GFZ in Potsdam “Modern science, grounded by its history”

The rooms of the library used to house the Geodetic Institute.
The rooms of the library used to house the Geodetic Institute. | Photo (detail): © Ula Brunner

Sibylle Itzerott analyses satellite data that has been gathered about the earth.  Her work benefits from the library of the Research Centre for Geosciences. Not just because of the fact that the history of surveying started there.

My work as a geoscientist involves me analysing satellite data on the processes of change taking place on the earth's surface, mostly pertaining to soils and vegetation. It is a field of research that is developing rapidly. Since 2001 I have been working at the Helmholtz Centre, the German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ) on the Telegrafenberg in Potsdam. And I have been using its library for just as long.

In the bosom of Mother Nature: the library on the Telegrafenberg in Potsdam In the bosom of Mother Nature: the library on the Telegrafenberg in Potsdam | Photo (detail): © Ula Brunner The facility is housed in the former Institute for Geodesy, i.e. surveying – an institute so steeped in tradition. The building first came into being in 1892. The rooms were remodelled for use as a modern library with great care and with pride in our history.

Online research in the GFZ database. Online research in the GFZ database. | Photo (detail): © Ula Brunner The reading room is not large and has only a few places where people can work. For research in the natural sciences, library space does not have the same function as that of a public or university library. I do not have to actually be present to use the library of the GFZ, as it is primarily used for online research and publication, without which research work today would be impossible.

The library staff are there to support us in all matters. The library staff are there to support us in all matters. | Photo (detail): © Ula Brunner The most important medium for this research are scientific journals, of which 99 per cent are now in digital form. The GFZ library makes all the relevant contributions from the realm of geoscience available online. Thus, on the one hand, a lot of time is saved when researching – I just have to enter a keyword or an author, I always find what I am looking for. Quite seldom is it the case that an article cannot be made available immediately. Then I submit a document delivery request and what I want arrives two days later.

The touch screen – a great help when we have visitors. The touch screen – a great help when we have visitors. | Photo (detail): © Ula Brunner On the other hand, the library supports and advises me in all questions concerning the publication process. It is customary in our field of research, in particular, to make scientific information freely accessible, i.e. Open Access publishing. The next step involves the library staff entering my essay in the GFZ online database, known as GFZpublic. This ensures that it will actually become known. For books or a doctoral thesis, the library can also take on the function of publishing. All we have to do is hand in one text file, and the librarians do everything else – from preparing it for electronic publication to ensuring its availability.

For scientists who are new to the GFZ, the library regularly offers talks, lectures or an introduction to the use of their service options: How to publish research data as one’s own, separate data publication? How to use the GFZ publishing service?

Sibylle Itzerott also likes to look at the old surveying equipment. Sibylle Itzerott also likes to look at the old surveying equipment. | Photo (detail): © Ula Brunner It is a real joy to work there – also because of its location: the Telegrafenberg in the bosom of Mother Nature, the historic buildings, it is nice to be amidst all this. The building lives and breathes history: there are old surveying devices all over the place and old books and reports that tell us today how science worked at that time.
When measuring gravity acceleration the number 9.81m /s² was determined with this pendulum apparatus. When measuring gravity acceleration the number 9.81m /s² was determined with this pendulum apparatus. | Photo (detail): © Ula Brunner
In one of the rooms there is a pendulum apparatus with which the magnitude of gravitational force was determined as a benchmark for all measurements on the globe. We are really proud of the fact that this is part of our history. The historical devices are beautiful and finely crafted, but they are also very heavy. I think it must have been really exhausting to work with them. When you read the reports, you realise just how much effort went into surveying back then. If it were still like that today, I am not sure, if I would still want to do the job.

But sometimes I borrow works on the history of geodesy, in which I am particularly interested. History is not only the basis for our current scientific work, it is also exciting to find out how what we know about the shape of the earth was developed from the findings of various research groups. Especially in the field of satellite observation, things are progressing at a similarly rapid pace today. It makes you feel a little bit grounded, too, when you see just how the science started in this building 150 years ago.

Researching the old books in the historical library of the former Institute for Geodesy. Researching the old books in the historical library of the former Institute for Geodesy. | Photo (detail): © Ula Brunner

Dr. Sibylle Itzerott is a senior scientist at the German Research Centre for Geosciences in Potsdam. Her field of research is applied remote sensing (analysis of satellite data) of vegetation and soils. She also works as a consultant for the director of the Department of Geodesy.
The GFZ library on the Telegrafenberg in Potsdam sees itself as a scientific service facility. As an affiliated member library of the Albert Einstein Science Park, it also supplies other institutions. The library provides printed and electronic media as well as information on geoscientific issues needed for current research. It is also the main contact point for all questions concerning scientific publishing.

Bibliothek des GFZ Potsdam „Moderne Wissenschaft, geerdet durch ihre Geschichte“

In den Räumen der Bibliothek war früher das geodätische Institut.
In den Räumen der Bibliothek war früher das geodätische Institut. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ula Brunner

Sibylle Itzerott wertet Satellitendaten über die Erde aus. Ihre Arbeit profitiert von der Bibliothek des Geoforschungszentrums. Nicht nur, weil die Vermessungsgeschichte dort ihren Anfang nahm.

Als Geowissenschaftlerin beobachte ich die Veränderungsprozesse an der Erdoberfläche mithilfe der Auswertung von Satellitendaten – ein Forschungsbereich, der sich rasant entwickelt. Meist geht es um Böden und Vegetation. Seit 2001 arbeite ich am GFZ, dem Helmholtz Zentrum Potsdam Deutsches Geoforschungszentrum auf dem Telegrafenberg in Potsdam. Und genauso lange nutze ich die Bibliothek hier.

Mitten in der Natur: die Bibliothek auf dem Telegrafenberg Mitten in der Natur: die Bibliothek auf dem Telegrafenberg | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ula Brunner Die Räumlichkeiten sind im traditionsreichen ehemaligen Institut für Geodäsie, also für Vermessung, untergebracht. Das Haus wurde 1892 errichtet. Behutsam und mit Stolz auf unsere Geschichte hat man die Räume für die moderne Bibliotheksnutzung umgebaut.

Online-Recherche in der GFZ-Datenbank Online-Recherche in der GFZ-Datenbank | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ula Brunner Der Lesesaal ist nicht groß und bietet nur einige Arbeitsplätze. Für die Forschung in den Naturwissenschaften hat Bibliothek als Raum nicht die Bedeutung wie in einer öffentlichen oder in einer Universitätsbibliothek. Um die Bibliothek des GFZ zu nutzen, muss ich mich nicht dort aufhalten: Denn sie erfüllt primär die Funktionen von Online-Recherche und -Veröffentlichung, ohne die Forschungsarbeit heute nicht möglich ist.

Die Mitarbeiterinnen unterstützen in allen Belangen. Die Mitarbeiterinnen unterstützen in allen Belangen. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ula Brunner Wichtigstes Medium dafür sind wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften, von denen mittlerweile 99 Prozent elektronisch erscheinen. Die Bibliothek des GFZ stellt alle relevanten Beiträge aus den Geowissenschaften online zur Verfügung. Dadurch ist das Recherchieren enorm zeitsparend: Ich kann nach Stichworten oder Autoren suchen – hier werde ich immer fündig. Wenn mir, was selten vorkommt, ein Artikel nicht sofort bereitgestellt werden kann, beauftrage ich eine Dokumentenlieferung, die zwei Tage später da ist.

Der Touch-Screen – praktisch wenn Gäste da sind Der Touch-Screen – praktisch wenn Gäste da sind | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ula Brunner Außerdem unterstützt und berät mich die Bibliothek in allen Fragen des Publikationsprozesses. Denn gerade in unserem Forschungsfeld ist es üblich, wissenschaftliche Informationen frei zugänglich, also Open Access, zu veröffentlichen. Im nächsten Schritt stellen die Mitarbeiter der Bibliothek meinen Aufsatz in die GFZ-Onlinedatenbank GFZpublic ein. Das sorgt dafür, dass er tatsächlich bekannt wird. Bei Büchern oder einer Doktorarbeit kann die Bibliothek auch Verlagsfunktion übernehmen. Wir geben nur eine Textdatei ab, alles andere erledigen die Bibliothekarinnen und Bibliothekare: von der Aufbereitung über die elektronische Publikation bis hin zur Sicherung der Verfügbarkeit.

Für die neuen Wissenschaftler im GFZ bietet die Bibliothek regelmäßig Gespräche, Vorträge oder eine Einführung in die Nutzung ihrer Servicemöglichkeiten an: Wie publiziert man Forschungsdaten als eigene Datenpublikation? Wie nutze ich den Verlagsservice des GFZ?

Gerne schaut sich Sibylle Itzerott auch die alten Vermessungsgeräte an. Gerne schaut sich Sibylle Itzerott auch die alten Vermessungsgeräte an. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ula Brunner Hier zu arbeiten, ist wirklich ein Genuss – auch wegen der Lokalitäten: der Telegrafenberg mitten in der Natur, die historischen Gebäude. Ich komme sehr gerne an diesen Ort. Das Haus atmet Geschichte: Überall stehen alte Vermessungsgeräte und die alten Bücher und Berichtsbände, die uns heute erzählen, wie Wissenschaft damals funktionierte.

Die Zahl 9,81m/s² für die Fallbeschleunigung wurde mit diesem Pendelapparat bestimmt. Die Zahl 9,81m/s² für die Fallbeschleunigung wurde mit diesem Pendelapparat bestimmt. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ula Brunner In einem Raum steht ein Pendelapparat, mit dem die Größe der Gravitationskraft als Vergleichswert für alle Messungen auf dem Globus bestimmt wurde. Dass das zu unserer Geschichte gehört, darauf sind wir wirklich stolz. Die historischen Geräte sind schön und mechanisch fein gearbeitet, aber auch sehr schwer. Ich glaube, es war wirklich anstrengend, damit zu arbeiten. In den alten Berichten steht, mit welchem personellen Aufwand die bei Vermessungen unterwegs waren, bin ich mir nicht sicher, ob ich das heute machen möchte.

Doch manchmal leihe ich mir hier Werke zur Geschichte der Geodäsie aus, das interessiert mich sehr. Die Geschichte ist nicht nur Basis für unsere heutige wissenschaftliche Arbeit. Es ist auch spannend zu ergründen, wie sich das Wissen zur Form der Erde aus den Ergebnissen verschiedener Forschergruppen zusammensetzte. Gerade im Feld der Satellitenbeobachtung geht es heute ähnlich rasant voran. Da fühlt man sich auch ein bisschen geerdet, wenn man hier im Haus sehen kann, wie die Wissenschaft vor 150 Jahren technisch begonnen hat.

Buchrecherche in der historischen Bibliothek des ehemaligen Instituts für Geodäsie Buchrecherche in der historischen Bibliothek des ehemaligen Instituts für Geodäsie | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Ula Brunner

Dr. Sibylle Itzerott ist leitende Wissenschaftlerin im Deutschen Geoforschungszentrum Potsdam. Ihr Themenfeld ist die angewandte Fernerkundung (Auswertung von Satellitendaten) von Vegetation und Böden. Zudem arbeitet sie als Referentin des Direktors im Department für Geodäsie.
Die Bibliothek des GFZ auf dem Telegrafenberg in Potsdam versteht sich als wissenschaftliche Serviceeinrichtung. Sie versorgt als gemeinsame Bibliothek des Wissenschaftsparks Albert Einstein auch weitere Institutionen. Die Bibliothek stellt gedruckte und elektronische Medien sowie Informationen zu geowissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen bereit, die für die aktuelle Forschung benötigt werden. Sie ist Ansprechpartnerin in allen Fragen des wissenschaftlichen Publizieren.