Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Libraries and Social Media
“Make libraries great again”

The Future of the Library
The Future of the Library | © raumlaborberlin on behalf of Kulturprojekte Berlin

Ville Vaarne, communications manager of the Finnish Library Association, has received over 200,000 hits with a Youtube video about US President Trump. For Vaarne the proof that social media is a must for libraries.

By Leonard Novy

Mr Vaarne, in your opinion: What kind of work was communication for libraries once, compared to now? In addition, what is your approach in communication?

When I got here, we first started to think about how we can use social media more differently. Because I have a background in television productions, I had this idea to do videos. Now videos are reaching most people so far in our communications. I am happy how we have reached a different, more general audience with this.

Why did you choose that medium? What kind of reactions do you get?

I love the idea about videos because in my opinion, libraries are still seen as a static place and videos are dynamic. They are about things that are happening and that are dynamic and interesting. What makes social media videos so special is, that they get shared organically when people find something special about them.

Social-Media-Videos have been around for a few years now, but they are still something of a new thing. And I love the idea to help the library field to be a part of this scene. It's a nice challenge for me as a professional to make these videos, because I really need to put my imagination into the work and think about how to make the library field interesting enough so that social media would start to share those videos organically.

How should the communication of libraries change in the age of social media in general? Should they be represented there? And how?

Libraries are in a constant process of rethinking themselves due to digitalization. Because of that, social media becomes a natural part of this whole question. It's a small part but an important one.

There are over 700 public libraries in Finland for example. I think, every one of them should at least think about what they are doing on social media. If they are relevant to the community there. Is there some way we could increase our presence in social media? That is one of the ways that libraries should rebrand themselves. It challenges the libraries to rethink their positions in numerous different ways.

At this point libraries have a beautiful opportunity to increase their personal connection with their audience through social media.

Ville Vaarne

For a long time the raison d'être for libraries were the media, the stock of books and so on. Now, in the course of the process that you describe, everything is changing and they need to legitimize themselves in different ways, because I can read books anywhere. Isn’t it the platform-character for language that gets more important, the dialogue on an eye-to-eye level with the readers?

Yes, exactly. At this point, I think libraries have a beautiful opportunity to increase their personal connection with their audience through social media.

Are the videos a suitable tool to reach attention?

Exactly, they are a tool to sort of make people think about libraries more. Libraries are such a cornerstone and vital part in our society in Finland. However, they are also taken for granted. What I want to do, I want to start making people appreciate library more in a active way, become aware of the importance of libraries in Finland. But the skills are on our side of the table, right? If we make people actively think about libraries and see them in a positive way, the goal is achieved.

So it's basically advocacy for the the library as an institution and a public good? What are the reactions here? Are there people who are sceptical?

I'm pretty sure that there are people, who are sceptical. In the library field there is a divide. There are people who are happy about the library taking on a more active role. Then there is a group of people who would say that libraries should be neutral, don't make social media videos about, for example, the refugee crisis. I made a video about how the libraries are supporting refugees. I think everybody agrees that we are to support the refugees. Still some would argue that libraries as a neutral place should not take a position in this kind of matter. I haven't received lots of criticism directly, but I am pretty sure it exists.

There are people who are happy about the library taking on a more active role.

Ville Vaarne

Can you tell me how high the coverage of the Donald-Trump-Video was? It's the most successful one, right?

Over 200.000 views. I just really wanted to connect to Trump and his war on literacy and intelligence and I wanted to use the video as a tool to promote the very things that he is fighting against. Trump as a character is the opposite of what a library represents.

How much time did it take between your initial idea and the moment you went online?

It was a matter of a couple of days. However, I would say that in the end coming up with the idea was the key thing, not so much the execution. It was the idea that I wanted to talk with the audience about. Therefore, it took me a long time to get the idea and I needed other people to spar with to shape the idea.

When somebody says, "we do not have this kind of money" what do you respond? Was it that costly, in terms of money?

There are fears that you would have to pay ridiculous sums of money and that nobody will ever have the money to do something new, something that is not in the normal budget.

But for example for the Trump video, I hired a professional voice actor to do the imitation, some guy from the US, through an internet service called "fiver" where you pay five US-Dollar for different kind of works. Overall, I think I paid about 50 dollars for the voice actor. The software is adobe licenced, so it costs 50 Euros a month. Overall the budget was, let's say, a 100 euros for one video. That’s not much.

 

Ville Vaarne Ville Vaarne | Photo (detail): private Ville Vaarne has been working for Finnish television and magazines as a journalist before joining the Library Association one year ago. His special skill is making short videos for social media.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Bibliotheken und soziale Medien
„Macht Bibliotheken wieder großartig!”

Die Zukunft der Bibliothek
Die Zukunft der Bibliothek | © raumlaborberlin im Auftrag von Kulturprojekte Berlin

Mit einem Youtube-Video über US-Präsident Trump erzielt der Kommunikations-manager der Finnish Library Association, Ville Vaarne, über 200.000 Aufrufe. Für Vaarne der Beweis, dass soziale Medien für Bibliotheken ein Muss sind.

Von Leonard Novy

Herr Vaarne, wie hat sich in der Bibliothekslandschaft die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit Ihrer Ansicht nach verändert und wie sieht Ihr Ansatz aus?

Bei meinem Einstieg in die Finnish Library Association haben wir überlegt, wie wir die sozialen Medien anders nutzen können. Ich komme aus der Fernsehproduktion und schlug deshalb vor, Videos zu produzieren. Mittlerweile erreichen wir mit Hilfe von Videos die meisten Menschen und ein anderes, breiteres Publikum, was mich wirklich glücklich macht.

Warum haben Sie sich das Medium Video ausgesucht? Wie sind die Reaktionen?

Ich liebe dieses Medium, weil meiner Ansicht nach Bibliotheken immer noch als statischer Ort angesehen werden und Videos dynamisch sind. Sie handeln von den Dingen, die gerade passieren und die interessant sind. Das Besondere an Social-Media-Videos ist, dass sie sich wie von selbst teilen, wenn sie die Menschen ansprechen.

Obwohl es Social-Media-Videos seit einigen Jahren gibt, sind sie immer noch etwas Neues für das Publikum. Ich liebe die Vorstellung, dass die Bibliothekswelt mit Hilfe von Videos Teil dieser Szene wird. Es ist eine schöne Herausforderung für mich als Profi, diese Videos zu machen. Ich muss meine Kreativität einsetzen, um die Bibliotheksbranche so interessant darzustellen, dass sich die Videos über Social Media verbreiten.

Wie sollte sich die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit von Bibliotheken im Zeitalter der sozialen Netzwerke generell ändern? Sollten sie dort vertreten sein und wenn ja, wie?

Die Digitalisierung sorgt für einen permanenten Neufindungsprozess der Bibliotheken. Deshalb sind die sozialen Medien ein natürlicher Bestandteil dieser ganzen Fragen, ein kleiner, aber wichtiger Teil dieses Prozesses.

Es gibt zum Beispiel mehr als 700 öffentliche Bibliotheken in Finnland. Ich persönlich denke, dass jede einzelne von ihnen zumindest darüber nachdenken sollte, was sie in den sozialen Netzwerken tut und ob sie dort relevant für ihre Community ist. Ob es Wege gibt, die Präsenz in den sozialen Medien zu erhöhen. Das ist eine der Möglichkeiten, mit denen Bibliotheken sich einen neuen Anstrich geben können. Die Bibliotheken sind herausgefordert, ihre Rolle aus vielen verschiedenen Blickwinkeln zu überdenken.
 

Im Moment haben Bibliotheken eine wunderbare Gelegenheit, via Social Media ihre persönliche Beziehung mit ihrem Publikum und den Menschen allgemein zu vertiefen.

Ville Vaarne

Die Daseinsberechtigung für Bibliotheken speiste sich lange aus der Bereitstellung eines Bücherbestandes und anderer Medien. Aufgrund des von Ihnen beschriebenen Prozesses müssen sich die Bibliotheken neu legitimieren, denn ich kann nun überall Bücher lesen. Ist es nicht der Plattform-Charakter für Sprache, der nun wichtiger wird, der Dialog mit den Lesern auf Augenhöhe?

Ja, genau. Im Moment haben Bibliotheken eine wunderbare Gelegenheit, via Social Media ihre persönliche Beziehung mit ihrem Publikum und den Menschen allgemein zu vertiefen.

Sind Videos ein geeignetes Werkzeug, um diese Aufmerksamkeit zu erhalten und Beziehungen herzustellen?

Exakt, sie dienen dazu, dass die Leute mehr über Bibliotheken nachdenken. Bibliotheken sind in Finnland ein Eckpfeiler und vitaler Teil unserer Gesellschaft. Gleichzeitig werden sie für selbstverständlich gehalten. Ich möchte dafür sorgen, dass die Menschen die Bibliotheken aktiver schätzen lernen. Dass ihnen bewusst wird, wie wichtig die finnischen Bibliotheken sind. Aber da liegen die Kompetenzen auf unserer Seite des Tisches. Wenn wir es schaffen, dass die Menschen aktiv über Bibliotheken nachdenken und sie in einem positiven Licht sehen, ist das Ziel erreicht.

Sie setzen sich also für die Bibliothek als Institution und öffentliches Gut ein? Wie sind die Reaktionen? Stoßen Sie auch auf Skepsis?

Sicher ist Skepsis vorhanden. Es gibt einen Graben in der Bibliothekslandschaft. Manche Leute freuen sich darüber, dass Bibliotheken eine aktivere Rolle einnehmen. Andere würden sagen, dass Bibliotheken neutral sein und beispielsweise keine Videos über die Flüchtlingskrise in den sozialen Medien verbreiten sollten. Ich hatte ein Video darüber gemacht, wie die Bibliotheken Flüchtende und Asylsuchende unterstützen. Zwar glaube ich an eine generelle Zustimmung dafür, dass wir diese Menschen unterstützen sollten. Dennoch würden einige argumentieren, dass eine Bibliothek als neutraler Ort keine Position in dieser Frage beziehen sollte. Ich habe nicht viel direkte Kritik gehört, aber sie wurde sicherlich geäußert.
 

Manche Leute freuen sich darüber, dass Bibliotheken eine aktivere Rolle einnehmen.

Ville Vaarne

Ihr bisher erfolgreichstes Video war ein Beitrag über US-Präsident Donald Trump, richtig? Wie hoch war die Reichweite?

Über 200.000 Aufrufe. Ich wollte die Verbindung zwischen Trump und seinem Feldzug gegen Bildung und Intelligenz herstellen und ich wollte mit dem Video genau die Dinge unterstützen, gegen die er kämpft. Als Figur ist Trump im Grunde genau das Gegenteil dessen, was eine Bibliothek repräsentiert.

Wie lange dauerte es von der ursprünglichen Idee bis zur Veröffentlichung des Videos?

Es waren ein paar Tage, wobei die Idee an sich das Schlüsselereignis war, nicht so sehr die Ausführung. Ich will nicht über die Machart mit dem Publikum diskutieren, sondern über meine Idee. Deshalb brauchte ich sehr lange, um diese Idee zu formulieren und mich mit anderen Menschen darüber auszutauschen.

Wenn jemand sagt, er habe nicht das nötige Geld für eine Videoproduktion, was antworten Sie? Was kostet so ein Video?

Ja, es gibt tatsächlich die Befürchtungen, dass man astronomische Summen für so etwas ausgeben muss und das niemand jemals das Geld hat, etwas zu tun, was nicht im normalen Budget enthalten ist.

Für das Trump-Video habe ich beispielsweise einen professionellen Stimmenimitator aus den USA engagiert. Gefunden habe ich ihn bei einem Internet-Service, der „Fiver“ („Fünfer“, Anm. der Redaktion) heißt, wo du fünf Dollar für verschiedenste Arten von Arbeit zahlst. Insgesamt bekam er etwa 50 Dollar Honorar. Die Software ist von Adobe und kostet etwa 50 Euro im Monat. Insgesamt lag das Budget für das Video also bei grob 100 Euro. Das ist nicht viel.

 

Ville Vaarne Ville Vaarne | Foto (Ausschnitt): privat Ville Vaarne war als Journalist für das finnische Fernsehen und Magazine tätig, bevor er vor einem Jahr der Finnish Library Association beigetreten ist. Seine Spezialität sind kurze Social-Media-Videos.

Top