Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

André Georgi
Almost no-one but losers

Who shot the Treuhand CEO? And who directed the finger on the trigger? André Georgi presents a dark and gripping fiction from the era of German reunification.

By Marit Borcherding

Die letzte Terroristin © Suhrkamp Georgi, successful scriptwriter for Tatort (i.e. crime-scene) a popular German TV mystery series, and other films with crime plots, is not a man for leisurely lead-ups. Breathlessly jumping back and forth between scenes, on the first pages of his thriller Die letzte Terroristin (i.e. the last terrorist), he depicts the cold-blooded murder of a high-ranking German banker – with unmistakable parallels with the terrorist attack on Deutsche Bank head Alfred Herrhausen in 1989.

The despair of Georgis investigator Andreas Kawert also reflects the societal climate: "The red star and assault rifle are emblazoned at the top of the letter. Below it, the Kommando Holger Meins terror cell claims responsibility for the assassination. Kawert [...] looks back upon the disaster behind him, on the totally wrecked car, on Wegner's corpse half covered by Kawert's coat. Never in his life - never - has Kawert felt so much like a failure."  He'll soon be too late once again to salvage anything.

A double-game

Different setting, different characters: Sandra Wellmann, studied law, a single mother of ten-year-old Markus, is interviewed. Successfully. But it soon becomes clear that she is playing a double game. She is the last terrorist, guided by fanatical fellow believers. And she becomes an assistant to the CEO of Deutsche Treuhand. His name here is Dahlmann and he is based on Detlev Karsten Rohwedder, the Treuhand president who took office in January 1991 and who was murdered in April of the same year with a precision shot through a window of his Düsseldorf home.

The terror group "Red Army Faction" claimed responsibility for the act, the actual sniper has still not been identified. A blank spot in the investigation in which André Georgi skilfully places his fictional political thriller about the third generation of the RAF, about unscrupulous capitalist practices following reunification and the limits of criminal investigation. The author follows the deadly trail left behind by a terrorist group wavering between callousness and quiet scruples in a fast-paced change of perspective, sometimes in an ironically gruff tone, sometimes with quiet empathy.

Georgi brings the Stasi and its expertly trained marksmen into the violent equation, and he has a dubious Geneva business lawyer with the best connections appear as well. The Dahlmann character turns out in the course of the novel to be someone whose intention is to prevent the worst economic upheavals in the former GDR, which displeases many. Sandra, who is attached to him, increasingly loses her certainty as to who is on the right and who is on the wrong side of history: "So here we are, we have achieved what we wanted, the bastard is dead. But the bastard may not have been a bastard at all, and what we wanted may have been wrong. Maybe even unquestionably wrong. And maybe there's nothing worse than achieving our goals."

Repercussions of violence

Although it is clear how everything will end since the novel is based on historical events of the post-reunification period, the story grips the reader to the end. This is not least due to the fact that Georgi repeatedly and impressively refers to the lasting repercussions of violence, which irretrievably damage the lives of all, guilty and innocent alike: "Sandra no longer sees Markus fleeing out of the courtroom, away from his mother, whom he will never see again for the rest of his life. When she is granted early release from prison, Markus will be as old as she is now. He will have changed his name, and after a failed therapy for depression [...] he will live on as a third-rate journalist in Hamburg, basically just trying to comprehend his parents' lives." The fatal impact of terrorist personnel can hardly be summed up more sadly or austerely.

Those who wish for a compact presentation of the historical facts beyond fiction after this page-turner experience will find it in the book Die Rote Armee Fraktion. Eine Geschichte terroristischer Gewalt (i.e. the Red Army Faction, a tale of terrorist violence) by contemporary historian Petra Terhoeven. André Georgi's book has also been filmed under the title Der Mordanschlag (i.e. the assassination) with Ulrich Tukur and Petra Schmidt-Schaller; the two-part film is available until May 2019 in the ZDF media library.
 

Cherry Picker André Georgi: Die letzte Terroristin
Berlin: Suhrkamp, 2018.361 S.
ISBN: 978-3-518-46780-0
You can find this title in our Onleihe.

Petra Terhoeven: Die Rote Armee Fraktion. Eine Geschichte terroristischer Gewalt.
München: C.H. Beck, 2017. 128 S.
ISBN: 978-3-406-71235-7
You can find this title in our Onleihe.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

André Georgi
Fast nur Verlierer

Wer erschoss den Treuhand-Chef? Und wer dirigierte den Finger am Abzug? André Georgi präsentiert eine hochspannende und düstere Fiktion aus der Zeit der deutschen Wiedervereinigung.

Von Marit Borcherding

Die letzte Terroristin © Suhrkamp Georgi, erfolgreicher Drehbuchschreiber für den Tatort und andere Filme mit Krimiplot, ist kein Mann für gemächliche Einführungen. Atemlos zwischen den Szenen hin- und herspringend, schildert er auf den ersten Seiten seines Thrillers Die letzte Terroristin die kaltblütige Ermordung eines hochrangigen bundesdeutschen Bankiers – mit unverkennbaren Parallelen zum terroristischen Attentat auf den Deutsche-Bank-Chef Alfred Herrhausen im Jahr 1989.
 
Die Verzweiflung von Georgis Ermittler Andreas Kawert spiegelt auch gesellschaftliche Stimmungen: „Oben auf dem Brief prangen der rote Stern und das Sturmgewehr. Darunter bekennt sich das Kommando Holger Meins zu dem Attentat. Kawert [...] schaut zurück auf das Desaster hinter ihm, auf den völlig zerstörten Wagen, auf Wegners halb von Kawerts Mantel bedeckte Leiche. Noch nie in seinem Leben – noch nie – hat Kawert sich so sehr wie ein Versager gefühlt.“ Er wird bald ein weiteres Mal zu spät kommen, um noch etwas retten zu können.

Doppeltes Spiel

Anderer Schauplatz, andere Figuren: Sandra Wellmann, studierte Juristin, alleinerziehende Mutter des zehnjährigen Markus, absolviert ein Vorstellungsgespräch. Mit Erfolg. Doch bald ist klar: Sie betreibt ein doppeltes Spiel. Sie ist die letzte Terroristin, gelenkt von fanatisierten Gesinnungsgenossen und -genossinnen. Und sie wird Assistentin des Chefs der deutschen Treuhand. Der heißt hier Dahlmann und ist Detlev Karsten Rohwedder nachempfunden, jenem Treuhand-Präsidenten, der dieses Amt im Januar 1991 antrat und der im April des gleichen Jahres mit einem Präzisionsschuss durch ein Fenster seines Düsseldorfer Wohnhauses ermordet wurde.
 
Die Terrorgruppe „Rote Armee Fraktion“ bekannte sich zu der Tat, der tatsächliche Schütze ist bis heute nicht gefunden. Eine Ermittlungslücke, in die André Georgi äußerst gekonnt seinen fiktiven Politthriller um die dritte Generation der RAF, um kapitalistisch-rücksichtsloses Gebaren nach der Wiedervereinigung und die Grenzen kriminalistischer Ermittlung platziert. Immer weiter im rasanten Wechsel der Perspektiven, mal durchaus im ironisch-ruppigen Ton, mal leise empathisch verfolgt der Autor die tödlichen Spuren, die eine zwischen Abgebrühtheit und leisen Skrupeln schwankende Terrorgruppe hinterlässt.
 
Georgi bringt die Stasi und ihre profund ausgebildeten Schützen ins gewalttätige Spiel, und er lässt einen dubiosen Genfer Wirtschaftsanwalt mit besten Beziehungen auftreten. Die Figur des Dahlmann entpuppt sich im Laufe des Romans als jemand, nach dessen Willen die schlimmsten ökonomischen Verwerfungen in der ehemaligen DDR verhindert werden sollten, was vielen nicht gefällt. Die auf ihn angesetzte Sandra verliert mehr und mehr ihre Gewissheiten, wer auf der richtigen und wer auf der falschen Seite der Geschichte steht: „Hier sind wir also, haben erreicht, was wir wollten, der Sack ist tot. Aber der Sack war vielleicht gar kein Sack, und was wir wollten, war vielleicht falsch. Oder vielleicht ganz sicher falsch. Und vielleicht gibt es nichts Schlimmeres als unsere Ziele zu erreichen.“

Nachwirkungen der Gewalt

Obwohl durch die Anlehnung des Romans an die historischen Ereignisse in der Nachwendezeit klar ist, wie alles enden wird, packt einen die Geschichte bis zum Schluss. Das liegt nicht zuletzt daran, dass Georgi immer wieder eindrucksvoll auf die Nachhaltigkeit der Gewalt verweist, die das Leben aller, Schuldiger wie Unschuldiger, unwiederbringlich beschädigt: „Sandra sieht nicht mehr, dass Markus aus dem Gerichtssaal flieht, weg von seiner Mutter, die er sein Leben lang nicht mehr wiedersehen wird. Als sie aus dem Gefängnis entlassen wird, vorzeitig, wird Markus so alt sein wie sie jetzt. Er wird seinen Namen gewechselt haben, und nach einer erfolglosen Therapie wegen Depressionen [...] wird er als drittklassiger Journalist in Hamburg leben und im Grunde nur versuchen, das Leben seiner Eltern zu verstehen.“ Traurig-nüchterner kann man das fatale Wirken des terroristischen Personals kaum auf den Punkt bringen.
 
Wer sich nach dem Pageturner-Leseerlebnis kompakte Aufklärung über die historischen Fakten jenseits der Fiktion wünscht, findet die im Buch Die Rote Armee Fraktion. Eine Geschichte terroristischer Gewalt der Zeithistorikerin Petra Terhoeven. André Georgis Buch ist zudem unter dem Titel Der Mordanschlag mit Ulrich Tukur und Petra Schmidt-Schaller verfilmt worden, der Zweiteiler lässt sich bis Mai 2019 in der ZDF-Mediathek abrufen.
 
Rosinenpicker André Georgi: Die letzte Terroristin
Berlin: Suhrkamp, 2018. 361 S.
ISBN: 978-3-518-46780-0
Diesen Titel finden Sie auch in unserer Onleihe

Petra Terhoeven: Die Rote Armee Fraktion. Eine Geschichte terroristischer Gewalt.
München: C.H. Beck, 2017. 128 S.
ISBN: 978-3-406-71235-7
Diesen Titel finden Sie auch in unserer Onleihe
Zurück zur Startseite

Top