Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Daniel Fassbender
Karlsson-on-the-Roof, reloaded

Up on the roofs of Stockholm, a 21-year-old roofer is looking for freedom and adventure – and running away from his problems as well as from growing up. He is brought back down to earth not only by a fall, but also by love.

By Holger Moos

Faßbender: Die weltbeste Geschichte vom Fallen © Mirabilis Verlag In the extreme sport of roofing, young people climb tall buildings and film their daring endeavours. Daniel Faßbender’s debut novel Die weltbeste Geschichte vom Fallen [The world’s best story about falling] tells the story of one of these roofers.
 
The nameless first-person narrator climbs across the roofs of Stockholm because he literally wants to be a step above the crowd rather than a “bored, ordinary zombie”. Referring to his climbing adventures as “small-scale heroics just for myself,” he is well aware of the dangers: “It’s no coincidence that we talk about soldiers falling and mean their death. Falling is dying.” At the same time, he meets a character resembling Astrid Lindgren’s Karlsson-on-the-Roof on one of the roofs and brings him marihuana for his “propeller rheumatism”.

The roofer as a social media star

A climbing stunt on Kaknäs Tower, Stockholm’s tallest building, makes him famous when he manages to do a handstand on the antenna railing, 170 metres in the air. The associated YouTube video as well as the photos on Instagram and Facebook are viewed, shared and liked by millions.
 
However, during his preparations, he also meets a young woman named Bojana at the Sky Bar. She is from Bosnia, has lost her left lower leg in an accident and is studying political science with a focus on international law. The two fall in love, become a couple, move in together.

Not poser literature

After a fall that he is lucky to escape relatively unscathed, Bojana confronts him with a choice: climbing or her! But he is drawn to Vladivostok, where he wants to join a legendary Viper Crew and their leader Ikarus to climb one of the Russky Bridge’s 320-metre-tall pylons. Love or adventure, or the adventure of love, those are the questions he must confront. How close does the first-person narrator have to get to the line where falling and dying are the same, a line his father was familiar with as well?
 
Given his unusual subject, Faßbender could easily have fallen into the trap of writing his story in an overly sensationalist way, with a true hero of the heights. But at heart, his hero is a pretty normal adolescent who is trying to find his place in life, albeit a few storeys higher up than everyone else. Written in youth language, this makes his novel likeable, despite certain lengths and redundancies: It is not poser literature.
 

Faßbender, Daniel: Die weltbeste Geschichte vom Fallen Cherry Picker
Klipphausen/Miltitz: Mirabilis, 2018. 240 S.
ISBN:  978-3-9818484-6-5

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Daniel Faßbender
Karlsson vom Dach reloaded

Ein 21-jähriger Roofer sucht auf den Dächern von Stockholm nach Abenteuer und Freiheit – und flieht zugleich vor seinen Problemen und dem Erwachsenwerden. Auf den Boden der Tatsachen holt ihn nicht nur ein Sturz, sondern auch die Liebe.

Von Holger Moos

Faßbender: Die weltbeste Geschichte vom Fallen © Mirabilis Verlag Roofing ist eine Extremsportart, bei der junge Menschen auf hohe Gebäude klettern und sich bei ihren waghalsigen Aktionen filmen. In seinem Debütroman Die weltbeste Geschichte vom Fallen widmet sich Daniel Faßbender einem solchen Roofer.
 
Der namenlose Ich-Erzähler klettert über die Dächer von Stockholm, weil er sich im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes von der Masse abheben will, er will kein „gelangweilter Alltagszombie“ werden. Seine Kletterei nennt er „kleines Heldentum nur für mich“. Die Gefahren sind ihm bewusst: „Es ist kein Zufall, dass man bei Soldaten von Fallen spricht und damit ihren Tod meint. Fallen ist Sterben.“ Auf einem der Dächer lernt er aber auch eine an Astrid Lindgrens Karlsson vom Dach erinnernde Figur kennen, dem er Marihuana gegen dessen „Propeller-Rheuma“ bringt.

Der Roofer als Social Media-Star

Eine Kletteraktion auf den Fernsehturm, Stockholms höchstes Gebäude, macht ihn berühmt. Ihm glückt ein Handstand auf dem Geländer der Antenne in 170 Metern Höhe. Das dazugehörige Youtube-Video sowie die Fotos auf Instagram und Facebook werden millionenfach gesehen, geteilt und geliked.
 
Doch bei seinen Vorbereitungen lernt er in der Skybar auch ein Mädchen namens Bojana kennen. Sie stammt aus Bosnien, verlor bei einem Unfall ihren linken Unterschenkel und studiert Politik mit Schwerpunkt Völkerrecht. Die beiden verlieben sich, werden ein Paar, ziehen zusammen.

Keine Angeberliteratur

Nach einem einigermaßen glimpflich verlaufenen Sturz stellt Bojana ihn vor die Wahl: das Klettern oder sie! Doch ihn zieht es nach Wladiwostok, wo er mit einer legendenumwobenen Viper Crew und deren Anführer Ikarus auf einen der 320 Meter hohen Pylonen der Russki-Brücke klettern will. Liebe oder Abenteuer oder doch lieber das Abenteuer der Liebe, das sind dann die Fragen, die sich stellen. Wie nah muss der Ich-Erzähler an die Grenze kommen, an der fallen und sterben identisch sind, eine Grenze, die auch sein Vater kannte?
 
Faßbender hätte leicht in die Falle dieses ungewöhnlichen Themas tappen und die Geschichte sehr reißerisch schreiben können, mit einem echten Helden der Höhen. Doch sein Held ist im Grund ein ziemlich normaler Heranwachsender, der sich auf der Suche nach seinem Platz im Leben befindet, nur eben ein paar Stockwerke höher als alle anderen. Trotz gewisser Längen und Redundanzen macht das diesen in jugendlichem Jargon geschriebenen Roman sympathisch: Es ist keine Angeberliteratur.
 
Rosinenpicker Faßbender, Daniel: Die weltbeste Geschichte vom Fallen.
Klipphausen/Miltitz: Mirabilis, 2018. 240 S.
ISBN:  978-3-9818484-6-5

Top