Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Alexander Grau
Kulturpessimismus forever

Cultural pessimism was once a potent quasi-philosophical superstructure for morose buzz-kills. Today their default mindset is not compatible with the prevailing ideology of (self-)optimisation. Time for a rehabilitation of cultural pessimism.

By Holger Moos

Grau: Kulturpesimismus © zu Klampen A plea for cultural pessimism, authored by Alexander Grau, appeared recently in a particularly interesting essay series issued by zu-Klampen-Verlag. Grau studied philosophy and works as a journalist. Since 2013 he has been writing columns for the online edition of the magazine Cicero. In one of these columns, as early as 2015, he explored the question of why there are no longer any cultural pessimists to be found and comes to the following conclusion: “Traditional cultural pessimism was the offspring of a homogeneous educational landscape with binding norms and values. This monolithic ideal of a normative culture as the yardstick for rise and fall is being pulverised by the pluralisation of Western societies.”
 
In his book he has now expanded upon this thesis. Cultural pessimism – or cultural criticism in the wake of Adorno – used to be an educational mission of the political left: “But the left has made its peace with mass culture, with the impositions and demands of the electronic media and the commercialisation of all areas of life.”

A TANGIBLE LOSS OF HUMANITY

According to Grau, cultural pessimism is a disruptor of consensus. These days, however, it is unwelcome. In view of the “unconditional affirmation of the existent” as well as the “transfiguration and celebration of secularity”, there is no longer a metaphysical revolt à la Camus. Postculturality is being packaged as multiculturality, but what has in fact occurred is a genuine cultural loss, “a tangible loss of humanity”.

“Culture is conservative” writes Grau at the beginning of the first chapter with the eloquent title “Nach der Kultur (after culture)”. He argues that it “copes with contingencies” and endeavours to make the world clear and manageable. But culture is unstable and always under threat from the chaotic and the foreign. That is the reason why many norms have been set: “Culture essentially consists of norms, canonisation and standardisation” – and thus of course of the exclusion of what lies outside its norms as well.

PostCulturAL SOCIETY generATES NO CONTENT

Advanced civilisations, however, are dynamic, and this is not compatible with the preservation of culture. Today, according to Grau, we have long since arrived in the age of postculturalism. In art, for example, we find an unconditional will towards avant-gardism, but one that leads to self-annulment. Avant-garde merges with the trash of mass culture. In general, the following can be said: “Postcultural society is no longer in a position to generate content.” The disappearance of culture had been the condition for the emergence of a world culture, which, however, offers people nothing but a “bubble of the present moment”.

Grau works his way through a number of theorists, the most well-known being Gustave Le Bon, José Ortega y Gasset and Adorno. But in the end the thinking of all these cultural pessimists or cultural critics (Grau uses these terms synonymously) leads to “methodical escapism and a historical metaphysics of decline”.

In postcultural times, everything is fragmented and there is no longer any normative, homogenizing stability. Only subcultures exist that imitate culture, but in the end are only committed to the moment and their respective milieu. But: “A culture that exhausts itself in the present is no longer a culture.” Whether things were really different in the age of so-called high culture, however, is questionable.

BOUNDLESS SELF-DECEPTION

The postcultural subject is narcissistic and incapable of culture, it aspires to a life of hedonism and to uniqueness. “This is the simple reason why qualities such as imagination and creativity enjoy a downright sacred status in societies organised around self-actualisation.” The narcissistic desire for uniqueness, however, is a form of boundless self-deception. Thus, an apercu of the misanthropist Emil M. Cioran applies to postcultural people: “Life means being blind to one's own dimension.”

Today, as a cultural pessimist, one is quickly pigeonholed as a right-winger. This is also not unreasonable since right-wing nationalist circles see themselves as preservers and saviours of (national) culture of whatever kind – and as gadflies of the mainstream. Marc Reichwein in Die Welt sees precisely this as a weakness in Grau's book: “The author does not sufficiently address the comeback of this kind of cultural pessimism.”

In parts, especially in the chapters “Fortschritt (progress)”, “Niedergang (decline)” and “Postkultur (postculturalism)”, the style is indeed very academic and the references to sometimes more, sometimes less well-known theorists accordingly numerous. All in all, Grau’s plea is highly stimulating due to his wealth of ideas and for the most part easy to read. Nevertheless, the final chapter offers little comfort. For even the enlightened cultural pessimism he recommends cannot reverse the loss of culture, but perhaps it can at least keep alive the Enlightenment project as an emancipation from all certainties of faith, including one's own.
 

Cherry Picker Grau, Alexander: Kulturpessimismus. Ein Plädoyer
Springe: zu Klampen Verlag, 2018. 157 S.

ISBN:  978-3-86674-582-7

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Alexander Grau
Kulturpessimismus forever

Kulturpessimismus war einst ein wirkmächtiger philosophieähnlicher Überbau für übelgelaunte Miesepeter. Heute ist deren Grundeinstellung nicht kompatibel mit der vorherrschenden Ideologie der (Selbst-)Optimierung. Zeit für eine Rehabilitation des Kulturpessimismus.

Von Holger Moos

Grau: Kulturpesimismus © zu Klampen In einer sehr interessanten Essay-Reihe des zu-Klampen-Verlags erschien zuletzt ein Plädoyer für den Kulturpessimismus, verfasst von Alexander Grau. Er hat Philosophie studiert und arbeitet als Publizist. Seit 2013 verfasst er für die Online-Ausgabe der Zeitschrift Cicero Kolumnen. Bereits 2015 ging er in einer dieser Kolumnen der Frage nach, warum es keine Kulturpessimisten mehr gibt, und kommt zu dem Schluss: „Der traditionelle Kulturpessimismus war das Kind einer homogenen Bildungslandschaft mit verbindlichen Normen und Werten. Dieses monolithische Ideal einer normgebenden Kultur, die der Maßstab ist für Aufstieg und Untergang, ist unter der Pluralisierung der westlichen Gesellschaften pulverisiert.“
 
In seinem Buch hat er diese These nun ausgebaut. Kulturpessimismus – oder Kulturkritik in der Nachfolge Adornos – war früher eine aufklärerische Mission der politischen Linken: „Doch die Linke hat ihren Frieden mit der Massenkultur gemacht, mit den Zumutungen der elektronischen Medien und der Kommerzialisierung aller Lebensbereiche.“

handfester Verlust an Menschlichkeit

Nach Grau ist Kulturpessimismus eine Konsensstörung. Die sei aber heute unerwünscht. Angesichts der „bedingungslosen Affirmation des Vorhandenen“ sowie der „Verklärung und Feier der Diesseitigkeit“ gebe es keine metaphysische Revolte á la Camus mehr. Postkulturalität werde als Multikulturalität verkauft, aber eigentlich sei ein echter Kulturverlust eingetreten, „ein handfester Verlust an Menschlichkeit“.

„Kultur ist konservativ“ schreibt Grau zu Beginn des ersten Kapitels mit dem viel sagenden Titel „Nach der Kultur“. Sie leiste „Kontingenzbewältigung“ und versuche, die Welt übersichtlich und handhabbar zu machen. Aber Kultur sei labil und stets bedroht durch das Chaotische und das Fremde. Darum würden viele Normen gesetzt: „Kultur besteht ganz wesentlich aus Normierung, Kanonisierung und Standardisierung“ – und damit natürlich auch aus der Exklusion dessen, was außerhalb der Normen liegt.

Postkultur generiert keine Inhalte

Hochkulturen seien jedoch dynamisch, und das sei nicht vereinbar mit dem Bewahren von Kultur. Heute sind wir nach Grau längst im Zeitalter der Postkulturalität angekommen. In der Kunst herrsche etwa ein unbedingter Wille zum Avantgardismus, das führe jedoch zur Selbstaufhebung. Avantgarde werde eins mit dem Trash der Massenkultur. Generell gelte: „Die postkulturelle Gesellschaft ist nicht mehr in der Lage, Inhalte zu generieren.“ Das Verschwinden von Kultur sei die Bedingung des Entstehens einer Weltkultur gewesen, die Menschen jedoch nur mehr eine „Gegenwartsblase“ biete.
 
Grau arbeitet sich an vielen Theoretikern ab, die bekanntesten sind Gustave Le Bon, José Ortega y Gasset und eben Adorno. Doch am Ende münde das Denken all dieser Kulturpessimisten bzw. -kritiker (Grau verwendet dieses Begriffe synonym) in „methodischem Eskapismus und eine Geschichtsmetaphysik des Niedergangs“.

In Zeiten der Postkultur sei alles fragmentiert und es gebe keinen normativen, homogenisierenden Halt mehr. Es existierten nur noch Subkulturen, die Kultur imitierten, am Ende jedoch nur dem Augenblick und jeweiligen Milieu verpflichtet seien. Aber: „Eine Kultur, die sich im Gegenwärtigen erschöpft, ist keine mehr.“ Ob das im Zeitalter der so genannten Hochkultur wirklich anders war, ist allerdings fraglich.

Maßloser Selbstbetrug

Das postkulturelle Subjekt sei narzisstisch und kulturunfähig, es strebe nach einem hedonistischen Leben und nach Einzigartigkeit. „Das ist der einfache Grund dafür, dass Eigenschaften wie Phantasie  und Kreativität in Selbstverwirklichungsgesellschaften einen geradezu sakralen Status genießen.“ Der narzisstische Wunsch nach Einzigartigkeit sei aber ein maßloser Selbstbetrug. Daher gelte für den postkulturellen Menschen eine Einschätzung des Misanthropen Emil M. Cioran: „Leben heißt blind sein gegenüber seinen eigenen Dimension.“

Heute wird man als Kulturpessimist schnell in die rechte Ecke gestellt. Das liegt auch nahe, weil sich rechtsnationale Kreise als Bewahrer und Retter einer wie auch immer gearteten (National-)Kultur und als Irritation des Mainstreams verstehen. In der Welt sieht Marc Reichwein genau darin eine Schwäche von Graus Buch: Der Autor gehe zu wenig auf das Comeback dieser Art von Kulturpessimismus ein.

Streckenweise, insbesondere in den Kapiteln „Fortschritt“, „Niedergang“, „Postkultur“, ist der Stil zwar sehr akademisch und die Verweise auf mal mehr, mal weniger bekannte Theoretiker dementsprechend zahlreich. Insgesamt ist Graus Plädoyer aber aufgrund seines Gedankenreichtums sehr anregend und zum größten Teil gut lesbar. Das Schlusskapitel bietet gleichwohl wenig Trost. Denn auch der empfohlene aufgeklärte Kulturpessimismus vermöge den Verlust von Kultur nicht rückgängig zu machen, aber vielleicht kann er wenigstens das Projekt Aufklärung als Emanzipation von allen, auch den eigenen Glaubensgewissheiten am Leben erhalten.
 
Rosinenpicker Grau, Alexander: Kulturpessimismus. Ein Plädoyer
Springe: zu Klampen Verlag, 2018. 157 S.
ISBN:  978-3-86674-582-7
 Zurück zur Startseite

Top