Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Katharina Greve
The Little Prince, a Stupid Smoocher

All the world loves “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. But in reality he is just the fat Princess Petronia's stupid cousin, as cartoonist Katharina Greve reveals in her comic volume.

By Holger Moos

Greve: Die dicke Prinzessin Petronia © Avant-Verlag Petronia really doesn't have an easy time of it. There is no room for her in her parents' palace. So the heir to the throne gets her own planet in the infinite vastness of space. The only problem is that it's "perhaps the measliest and most boring clod of earth in the universe. On this clod called W857 the grumpy princess stands, sits and ponders.
 
She cannot understand why even her cousin, the "Little Prince", has gotten a bigger planet - though he's quite a smoocher who successfully vies for everybody's favour. Besides, he's not exactly the sharpest tool in the shed. Petronia knows what counts far better than he does: "You can see better with a magnifying glass than with your heart".

A shrunken planet stimulates imagination

Katharina Greve, whose web comic Das Hochhaus (i.e. the high-rise) was released in book form by Avant-Verlag, has been publishing her Petronia cartoons since 2015 in the cultural magazine Das Magazin and the daily newspaper taz: With her Petronia comics she has worked off her love-hate relationship to the hackneyed figure of the "Little Prince", as she tells it in a Deutschlandfunk Kultur interview. They have now also been published by Avant-Verlag under the title Die dicke Prinzessin Petronia (i.e. the fat princess Petronia).

 
In her new work, Greve does not pack the diversity and cacophony of the world into a skyscraper, but instead depicts it on a shrunken planet. The narrowness of the space stimulates Petronia's powers of imagination and thought. Her hobbies are calculating, researching, ruling. She likes to think in opposites: "My planet: tiny. But boredom is infinite." She devotes herself to evolution, the Big Bang, physical and mathematical problems such as the "Schrödinger's Cat" thought experiment.

Dust – the interest yield on our existence

Then Petronia's parents give her the multifunctional worm Mirco as a birthday present. He not only serves as a jump-rope, suitcase belt and headgear, but can also help her on space-time journeys. But it turns out he isn't good for much after all - because of his limited sense of orientation and his great need for rest after every trip through a wormhole, she first ends up in a phone booth at the edge of the universe, then on Planet Nine, where there's absolutely nothing at all, and misses her last chance somewhere else to meet David Bowie alias Ziggy Stardust.
 
Greve's space comic skilfully parodies various science fiction classics such as The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Star Trek, Alien and the notion of parallel worlds in the multi-verse. Greve succeeds in depicting her title character's emotional world with just a few strokes.
 
Petronia is also inclined towards humorous philosophising. She thus wonders whether Camus' Sisyphus would still be happy if he didn't just have to roll the rock every day, but clean it too. And the ill-tempered heroine delivers immortal maxims such as: "Dust – that’s the interest yield on existence".

Greve: Die dicke Prinzessin Petronia, p. 14-15 © Katharina Greve / Avant-Verlag
 

Cherry Picker Greve, Katharina: Die dicke Prinzessin Petronia
Berlin: Avant-Verlag, 2019. 104 S.
ISBN: 978-3-96445-008-1

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Katharina Greve
Der kleine Prinz, ein blöder Schleimer

Die ganze Welt liebt den „Kleinen Prinzen“ von Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. Doch in Wirklichkeit ist er nur der blöde Cousin der dicken Prinzessin Petronia, enthüllt die Zeichnerin Katharina Greve in ihrem Comicband.

Von Holger Moos

Greve: Die dicke Prinzessin Petronia © Avant-Verlag Petronia hat es wahrlich nicht leicht. Im Palast ihrer Eltern ist kein Platz für sie. Also bekommt die Thronfolgerin ihren eigenen Planeten in den unendlichen Weiten des Weltalls. Das Problem ist nur: Es ist „der vielleicht mickrigste und langweiligste Klumpen im Universum“. Auf diesem Klumpen namens W857 steht, sitzt und grübelt die mürrische Prinzessin.
 
Sie kann nicht verstehen, dass sogar ihr Cousin, der „Kleine Prinz“, einen größeren Planeten bekommen hat, obwohl er ein ziemlicher Schleimer ist, der erfolgreich um die Gunst seiner Mitmenschen buhlt. Außerdem ist er nicht gerade der Hellste. Petronia weiß viel besser als er, worauf es ankommt: „Mit der Lupe sieht man besser als mit dem Herzen.“

Schrumpfplanet fördert Vorstellungskraft

Katharina Greve, deren Webcomic Das Hochhaus schon beim Avant-Verlag in Buchform erschienen ist, hat seit 2015 in der Zeitschrift Das Magazin und der Tageszeitung taz ihre Petronia-Cartoons veröffentlicht, mit denen sie ihre Hassliebe zur abgedroschenen Figur des „Kleinen Prinzen“ abgearbeitet hat, wie sie in einem Deutschlandfunk Kultur-Interview erzählt. Und diese sind nun unter dem Titel Die dicke Prinzessin Petronia ebenfalls beim Avant-Verlag erschienen.
 
In ihrem neuen Werk packt Greve die Vielfalt und Kakophonie der Welt nicht in ein Hochhaus, sondern bildet sie auf einem Schrumpfplaneten ab. Die Enge des Raumes fördert Petronias Vorstellungs- und Denkvermögen. Ihre Hobbys sind: rechnen, forschen, herrschen. Gerne denkt sie in Widersprüchen: „Mein Planet: winzig. Die Langeweile aber unendlich.“ Sie widmet sich der Evolution, dem Urknall, physikalischen und mathematischen Problemen, etwa dem Gedankenexperiment „Schrödingers Katze“.

Staub – die Zinsen unseres Daseins

Dann bekommt Petronia von ihren Eltern zum Geburtstag den Multifunktionswurm Mirco geschenkt, der ihr nicht nur als Springseil, Koffergurt und Kopfbedeckung dienen, sondern auch zu Raum-Zeit-Reisen verhelfen kann. Er ist allerdings dann doch nicht viel wert – wegen seines eingeschränkten Orientierungssinns und seinem großen Ruhebedarf nach jeder Reise durch ein Wurmloch, landet sie erst mal in einer Telefonzelle am Rande des Universums, anschließend auf Planet Neun, auf dem es absolut gar nichts gibt, und verpasst andernorts die letzte Chance, David Bowie alias Ziggy Stardust zu treffen.
 
Greves Weltraum-Comic parodiert gekonnt diverse klassische Science-Fiction-Vorlagen wie Per Anhalter durch die Galaxis, Star Trek, Alien oder die Idee von Parallelwelten im Multiversum. Es gelingt Greve, die Gefühlswelt ihrer Titelfigur mit wenigen Strichen darzustellen.
 
Petronia neigt außerdem zum humoristischen Philosophieren. So fragt sie sich, ob Camus‘ Sisyphos wohl auch ein glücklicher Mensch wäre, wenn er den Felsen nicht jeden Tag rollen, sondern putzen müsste. Und die übellaunige Heldin liefert Sentenzen für die Ewigkeit, wie etwa: „Staub – das sind die Zinsen des Daseins.“

Greve: Die dicke Prinzessin Petronia, S. 14-15 © Katharina Greve / Avant-Verlag   
Rosinenpicker Greve, Katharina: Die dicke Prinzessin Petronia
Berlin: Avant-Verlag, 2019. 104 S.
ISBN: 978-3-96445-008-1

Top