Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Lena Hach
A Späti romance

Most people think Berlin is awesome and absolutely want to go there. Lotte, the main character in Lena Hach's young-adult novel, disagrees – at least at the outset.

By Holger Moos

Hach: Grüne Gurken © Mixtvision Lotte doesn't have it easy. Her parents are highly gifted: her mother is a doctor, her father a physicist. Giftedness seems to lie in her family's genes. Of course, the parents' expectations of their daughter are immense.
 
But Lotte regularly flunks intelligence and giftedness tests, she’d rather cook pasta dishes with unusual sauces with her parents more often in any case. And then her parents move from the Hessian countryside to Berlin-Kreuzberg because of better career opportunities. The move makes Lotte feel even more overwhelmed than she does already, especially since she also has to leave her best friend Daniel behind.

A late-night purchase as rescue

At the beginning of Grüne Gurken (i.e. Green Cucumbers), a ravenous craving for rice pudding drives Lotte one night to the nearest late-night shop, abbreviated form: “Späti”. Her parents had left because they were going out with their new colleagues*. Because Lotte is a bit of a bumbler, she forgets the key to the flat and has to seek shelter with the Späti’s owner, Yunus.
 
There she finds more than just a temporary place to stay – instead the shop becomes her new home. She has to help out right away because Yunus leaves his Späti in a great hurry. Lotte likes the atmosphere and her spontaneous relief action turns into a steady backup job.

Self-ironic infographics

Her parents of course aren’t exactly thrilled about this, as they had been thinking of completely different positions when it came to holiday jobs. Their ideas went more in the direction of a clinic, institute or laboratory. But working in the Späti becomes a kind of self-empowerment and self-education programme for Lotte. She not only meets Yunus' girlfriend Miri and admires the two, who seem to her to be ideal lovers. Later, however, it turns out that this ideal doesn't match up with the reality at all.
 
And Lotte gets a crush on a boy who regularly buys green cucumbers in the Späti – not the vegetables, however, but the wine gum sort. The novel then tells the story of this first love. Lena Hach is able to present the romance of Lotte and “Vincent von den Grünen Gurken”, who in reality is called Luke, in an un-kitschy manner. She also weaves in the grand themes of impermanence and death. An “adopted” grandma, whom Luke regularly visits in a retirement home, provides insights into the world beyond youth.

Another outstanding feature of this young-adult novel is Katja Berlin's infographics, which are inserted every few pages. These graphics, conceived and drawn by Lotte herself according to the story, provide information about her humorous and self-ironic view of herself and the world, and enhance one’s reading enjoyment.

Hach: Grüne Gurken, infographic © Katja Berlin / Mixtvision

Cherry Picker Hach, Lena: Grüne Gurken
München: Mixtvision, 2019. 224 S.
ISBN: 978-3-95854-108-5

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Lena Hach
Romanze im Späti

Die allermeisten finden Berlin toll und wollen unbedingt dorthin. Lotte, die Hauptfigur in Lena Hachs Jugendroman, ist da anderer Meinung – zumindest anfangs.

Von Holger Moos

Hach: Grüne Gurken © Mixtvision Lotte hat es nicht leicht. Ihre Eltern sind hochbegabt: Die Mutter ist Ärztin, der Vater Physiker. Die Hochbegabung scheint familiär in den Genen zu liegen. Da sind die Erwartungen an die Tochter natürlich immens.
 
Aber Lotte versagt regelmäßig in Intelligenz- und Hochbegabungstests, sie würde ohnehin lieber öfter mit den Eltern Pasta-Gerichte mit ausgefallenen Soßen kochen. Und dann ziehen die Eltern wegen besserer Karrierechancen auch noch von der hessischen Provinz nach Berlin-Kreuzberg. Durch diesen Umzug fühlt sich Lotte noch überforderter als ohnehin schon, zumal sie auch ihren besten Freund Daniel zurücklassen muss.

Ein Spätkauf als Rettung

Zu Beginn von Grüne Gurken treibt der Heißhunger auf Milchreis Lotte eines Nachts in den nächstgelegenen Spätkauf, Kurzform: Späti. Die Eltern sind ausgeflogen, weil sie mit ihren neuen Kolleg*innen ausgehen. Weil Lotte etwas tollpatschig ist, vergisst sie den Wohnungsschlüssel und muss beim Späti-Besitzer Yunus Unterschlupf suchen.
 
Dort findet sie mehr als nur eine vorübergehende Bleibe, stattdessen wird der Laden zu ihrer neuen Heimat. Sie muss dort sofort aushelfen, denn Yunus' verlässt seinen Späti Hals über Kopf. Lotte gefällt die Atmosphäre und aus der spontanen Aushilfsaktion wird ein fester Aushilfsjob.

Selbstironische Infografiken

Ihre Eltern sind natürlich wenig begeistert davon, hatten sie doch an ganz andere Jobs gedacht, als es um Ferienjobs ging. Ihre Vorstellungen gingen eher so in die Richtung Klinik, Institut oder Labor. Doch die Arbeit im Späti wird eine Art Selbstermächtigungs- und -ertüchtigungsprogramm für Lotte. Sie lernt dort nicht nur Yunus' Freundin Miri kennen und bewundert die beiden, die ihr als das ideale Liebespaar erscheinen. Später zeigt sich allerdings, dass es dieses Ideal so gar nicht gibt.
 
Und Lotte verguckt sich in einen Jungen, der im Späti regelmäßig grüne Gurken kauft – allerdings nicht das Gemüse, sondern die Weingummi-Variante. Der Roman erzählt in der Folge die Geschichte dieser ersten Liebe. Lena Hach versteht es, die Romanze von Lotte und „Vincent von den Grünen Gurken", der in Wirklichkeit Luke heißt, unkitschig darzubieten. Sie webt auch die großen Themen Vergänglichkeit und Tod ein. Eine Nenn-Oma, die Luke regelmäßig im Altenheim besucht, gibt Einblicke in die Lebenswelt jenseits der Jugend.
 
Noch etwas ist herausragend an dem Jugendroman: die Infografiken von Katja Berlin, die alle paar Seiten eingefügt sind. Diese Grafiken, laut der Geschichte von Lotte selbst erdacht und gezeichnet, geben Auskunft über ihre humorvolle und selbstironische Sicht auf sich selbst und die Welt und potenzieren das Lesevergnügen.

Hach: Grüne Gurken, Infografik © Katja Berlin / Mixtvision
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Hach, Lena: Grüne Gurken
München: Mixtvision, 2019. 224 S.
ISBN: 978-3-95854-108-5

Top