Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Lorenz Just
On the rooftops of Berlin

In his debut novel, Lorenz Just describes growing up in 1990s Berlin-Mitte that comes across as a sort of derelict urban adventure playground. The local youths explore, hang out and waste time there – the way kids used to do before the Internet age.

By Holger Moos

Just: Am Rand der Dächer © Dumont Lorenz Just, born in Halle an der Saale in 1983, moved with his family to Berlin’s Mitte district in 1988. This area of Berlin is now the gentrified centre and tourist hub of the reunited capital. Andrej, the hero of Just's first novel Am Rande der Dächer, who is about eight years old at the beginning of the story, lives with his parents and two brothers in a pre-war building, likewise in Berlin-Mitte. But his family live not so much together as side by side.
 
Just draws on his own life experiences in his coming-of-age novel. In an interview with the taz newspaper, the author recounts: “We didn't have to rebel against our parents or shake off the fetters of growing up in East Germany because we took our first steps towards independence by delving into the city, so to speak, in the years of upheaval following German reunification. To us, chaos was a natural state of affairs. It seemed like things had always been that way.”

AN URBAN ADVENTURE PLAYGROUND

Andrej spends his adolescence at loose ends, aimless and adrift. His surroundings in 1990s Berlin-Mitte seem like one big derelict adventure playground. It’s all a bit run-down, but the future is wide open. Anything goes, at least it feels that way, though his actual options are limited at best. Time is very relative, life isn’t yet determined by our present-day digital time sinks. Not a trace of self-optimization yet: just hang out and hang loose is the watchword.

Andrej and his best friend Simon drift around the neighbourhood. No need to build tree houses, there are plenty of deserted buildings for them to explore. The rest of the time they horse around with airsoft guns and, later on, break into newly gentrified penthouses just for kicks.

“WHAT DO YOU hope TO achieve HERE?”

When squatters move into an abandoned building nearby, Andrej and Simon are fascinated by their strange way of life, which is new and alien to the boys. But they’re even more fascinated later on by the USA. At the end of the story, after the turn of the millennium, Andrej is planning to spend a year on an exchange programme in the States, the land of opportunity that so many young people hanker after. But as with many a hankering, they have no concrete goal to pursue there. It’s just that anywhere seems better than here in Berlin. When asked what he actually hopes to achieve in America, one of the youths answers with the question: “And what do you hope to achieve here?”
 
In his debut novel, Just shows the protagonists in all their helplessness, including their inability to express themselves and their aimless activity, thereby poignantly capturing the feel of adolescent forlornness. The narrator – namely the older boy, Andrej – recounts and occasionally analyses his experiences, but doesn’t resolve any of his issues. Only one thing is clear in the end: the sad certainty that life goes on, but the days of even a wasted youth are numbered and irretrievably gone at some point.
 

Logo Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Lorenz Just: Am Rande der Dächer
Köln: Dumont, 2020. 272 S.
ISBN: 978-3-8321-7040-0
You can find this title in our eLibrary Onleihe.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Lorenz Just
Über den Dächern von Berlin

Eine Jugend in einem bereits historisch gewordenen Berlin-Mitte in den 1990er-Jahren, das wie ein verwahrloster Abenteuerspielplatz anmutet. In seinem Debüt beschreibt Lorenz Just, wie man vor dem Internetzeitalter seine Zeit verschwendete.

Von Holger Moos

Just: Am Rand der Dächer © Dumont Die Eltern des 1983 in Halle an der Saale geborenen Lorenz Just zogen 1988 mit ihrer Familie in den Berliner Stadtteil Mitte. Andrej, der Held von Justs erstem Roman Am Rande der Dächer, ist anfangs ungefähr acht Jahre alt und lebt mit Vater, Mutter und zwei Brüdern in einer Altbauwohnung, ebenfalls in Berlin-Mitte. Die Familie lebt aber weniger zusammen als nebeneinander her.
 
Just schöpft in seinem Roman aus eigenen Lebenserfahrungen. Sein Heranwachsen skizziert der Autor in einem taz-Interview so: „Wir mussten weder gegen die Eltern rebellieren noch die Enge einer DDR-Jugend abschütteln, da wir in den Umbruchsjahren der Wende sozusagen unsere ersten eigenständigen Schritte in die Stadt getan haben. Das Chaotische war für uns eine natürliche Gegebenheit. Es war gefühlt immer schon da.“

Die Stadt als Abenteuerspielplatz

Andrejs Heranwachsen ist geprägt von Orientierungslosigkeit. Das Umfeld im Berlin-Mitte der 1990er-Jahre erscheint wie ein großer, verwahrloster Abenteuerspielplatz. Alles ist etwas heruntergekommen, aber die Zukunft offen. Man spürt, dass alles möglich ist, auch wenn nicht gerade viel geht. Zeit ist eine sehr relative Komponente, das Leben ist noch nicht bestimmt von den heutigen digitalen Zeitfressern. Von Selbstoptimierung keine Spur, einfach mal abhängen, lautet die Devise.
 
Andrej und sein bester Freund Simon lassen sich treiben, erkunden die Nachbarschaft. Baumhäuser müssen sie nicht bauen, denn es gibt ja genug leerstehende Häuser, die sie erkunden können. Ansonsten ballern sie mit Softair-Pistolen herum und rauben später aus Langeweile Dachwohnungen aus, in denen sich die Gentrifizierung ankündigt.

„Und was willst du hier?“

In der unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft ziehen Hausbesetzer in ein verlassenes Gebäude ein. Fasziniert erkunden Andrej und Simon deren für sie neue und fremde Lebensform. Doch auch diese Episode findet bald ein Ende. Ein noch größeres Faszinosum sind die USA. Andrej strebt am Ende, nach der Jahrtausendwende, ein Austauschjahr in den USA an, diesem Sehnsuchtsort vieler Jugendlicher. Wie bei mancher Sehnsucht ist damit kein konkretes Ziel verbunden. Überall scheint es besser zu sein als hier. Auf die Frage, was er denn eigentlich in Amerika wolle, antwortet ein Jugendlicher mit einer Gegenfrage: „Und was willst du hier?“
 
Just ist es in seinem Debütroman gut gelungen, das jugendliche Verlorenheitsgefühl einzufangen, indem er die Protagonisten in ihrer – auch sprachlichen – Ohnmacht und ihrem ziellosen Handeln zeigt. Der erklärende Erzähler, es ist der ältere Andrej, führt die Dinge zwar aus, ordnet sie bisweilen auch ein, löst aber nichts auf. Nur eines ist am Ende klar und traurige Gewissheit zugleich: Das Leben geht weiter, das Zeitalter der verschwendeten Jugend ist irgendwann unwiederbringlich zu Ende.
 
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Lorenz Just: Am Rande der Dächer
Köln: Dumont, 2020. 272 S.
ISBN: 978-3-8321-8111-6
Diesen Titel finden Sie auch in unserer Onleihe

Top