Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Norbert Bolz
Religion of Fear?

Was the Green Party so successful in Germany recently because it served a religious need? This is one of the main hypotheses in Norbert Bolz’s new book.

By Holger Moos

Bolz: Avantgarde der Angst © Matthes & Seitz Berlin Easily-invoked and constant fear is considered typically German. The word angst is even used in English with an existentialist meaning. In Die Avantgarde der Angst, Nobert Bolz formulates the hypothesis that a “political theology” has arisen in Germany over the past few decades around the environmental movement. This substitute religion does not live from promises of salvation, but from the expectation of calamity. The clock is always ticking down.

Paired with this expectation of calamity is an ascetic programme to save the world. The maxim is if an individual changes their life, is more environmentally aware, turns away from the capitalist system and from overly scientific and technical civilization, there is hope to avert the dreaded apocalypse.
The result is that fears are reacted to not with prudence or risk assessment, but fears are incited and exploited – also and especially in the media – according to the motto: Only bad news is good news. A fear culture, indeed a fear industry, has emerged in which “accommodating scientists” provide the suitable “Cassandrian research.”

Fear of our own power

For Bolz, the “principle of responsibility” established by the philosopher Hans Jonas is essentially an “ethic of fear of our own power.” Bolz assumes that the humanist-educated middle class, especially in Germany, is “afraid of technology and risk averse,” in other words has an “anti-technology affect”. The anxious populace no longer trusts that (environmental) problems can be solved technologically. Technology is no longer seen as part of the solution, but as the actual problem. According to Bolz, this is a rejection of the ideas of enlightenment and progress, a “betrayal of the modern age.” As a result, a view of history according to which everything is only getting worse has won majority appeal.

In the history of ideas, Bolz also goes back to Walter Benjamin, the “cult author of left-wing intellectuals,” who experienced his era as “a single catastrophe that incessantly piles rubble upon rubble.” Based on this understanding of his time, Benjamin used metaphors that the environmental movement as well as Fridays for Future activists resort to: Benjamin saw the revolution as “grasping for the emergency brake,” which would bring about a “real state of emergency”.

Arduous hypotheses

In his book, the media scientist delivers very arduous hypotheses that bring him close to the deniers of climate change. Bolz is known for his pointed, sometimes provocative opinions, which he regularly spreads in aphoristic manner on Twitter. For his “cudgel statements” – as Jörg Scheller and Wolfgang Ullrich call his “hail of tweets” in Pop magazine – he also has to take criticism.

As understandable as Bolz’s call for more prudence and less emotion and his lament over the infantilisation of our society are, his book itself doesn’t shy from fanning fears. After all, Bolz warns of an alleged eco-dictatorship and the looming end of the enlightened, rational modern age. Bolz has therefore also internalised the principle of our time: If you want attention, you have to exaggerate both the positive and the negative.
 

Logo Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Norbert Bolz: Die Avantgarde der Angst
Berlin: Matthes & Seitz Berlin, 2020. 191 S.
ISBN: 978-3-95757-951-5

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Norbert Bolz
Religion der Angst?

War die Partei Die Grünen in Deutschland zuletzt so erfolgreich, weil sie ein religiöses Bedürfnis bedient? So lautet eine Hauptthese in Norbert Bolz' neuem Buch.

Von Holger Moos

Bolz: Avantgarde der Angst © Matthes & Seitz Berlin Sich schnell und fortwährend zu ängstigen, gilt als typisch deutsch. Das Wort Angst gibt es sogar im Englischen, mit einer existenzphilosophischen Bedeutung. Nobert Bolz formuliert in Die Avantgarde der Angst die These, dass in Deutschland in den letzten Jahrzehnten rund um die Umweltbewegung eine „politische Theologie“ entstanden sei. Diese Ersatzreligion lebe nicht von Heilsversprechen, sondern von Unheilserwartung. Es sei permanent 5 vor 12.
 
Gekoppelt an diese Unheilserwartung sei ein asketisches Programm zur Rettung der Welt. Die Maxime laute: Wenn der Einzelne sein Leben ändert, umweltbewusster lebt, sich vom kapitalistischen System und von der wissenschaftlich-technischen Zivilisation abwendet, besteht Hoffnung, die gefürchtete Apokalypse abzuwenden.
 
Das Resultat sei, dass auf Ängste weder mit Besonnenheit noch Risikoabwägung reagiert werde, sondern Ängste würden – auch und gerade in den Medien – angestachelt und ausgebeutet, nach dem Motto: Nur schlechte Nachrichten sind gute Nachrichten. Es sei eine Angstkultur, ja eine Angstindustrie entstanden, in der es „Gefälligkeitswissenschaftler“ gebe, die die passende „kassandrische Forschung“ liefern.

Furcht vor unserer eigenen Macht

Für Bolz ist das vom Philosophen Hans Jonas aufgestellte „Prinzip Verantwortung“ im Kern eine „Ethik der Furcht vor unserer eigenen Macht“. Dem humanistisch gebildeten Bürgertum, vor allem in Deutschland, unterstellt Bolz „Technikangst und Risikoaversion“, also einen „antitechnischen Affekt“. Die verängstigten Menschen vertrauten nicht mehr in die technische Lösbarkeit von (Umwelt-)Problemen. Technik werde nicht mehr als Teil der Lösung, sondern als das eigentliche Problem betrachtet. Das sei laut Bolz eine Absage an die Ideen von Aufklärung und Fortschritt, ein „Verrat an der Neuzeit“. Als Folge sei ein Geschichtsbild mehrheitsfähig geworden, nach dem alles nur immer schlimmer werde.
 
Ideengeschichtlich geht Bolz auch zu Walter Benjamin zurück, dem „Kultautor der Linksintellektuellen“, der seine Epoche als „eine einzige Katastrophe [erlebte], die unablässig Trümmer auf Trümmer häuft“. Aufgrund dieses Verständnisses seiner Zeit habe Benjamin Metaphern benutzt, auf die die Umweltbewegung bis hin zu Fridays for Future-Aktivist*innen zurückgreifen: Benjamin sah etwa in der Revolution den „Griff nach der Notbremse“, durch den ein „wirklicher Ausnahmezustand“ herbeigeführt werden sollte.

Steile Thesen

In seinem Buch liefert der Medienwissenschaftler sehr steile Thesen, die ihn in die Nähe der Leugner*innen des Klimawandels rücken. Bolz ist bekannt für seine pointierten, bisweilen provokativen Meinungsäußerungen, die er nicht zuletzt regelmäßig in aphoristischer Manier über Twitter verbreitet. Für seine „Satzkeulen“ – so nennen Jörg Scheller und Wolfgang Ullrich in der Pop-Zeitschrift sein „Stahlgezwitscher“ – muss er auch Kritik einstecken.
 
So nachvollziehbar Bolz' Aufruf zu mehr Besonnenheit und weniger Emotionalisierung sowie seine Klage über die Infantilisierung unserer Gesellschaft sind, so ist doch gerade sein Buch nicht frei davon, Ängste zu schüren. Schließlich warnt Bolz vor einer angeblichen Öko-Diktatur und dem für ihn sich abzeichnenden Ende der aufklärerisch-rationalen Neuzeit. Das Prinzip unserer Zeit, dass wer Aufmerksamkeit will, im Positiven wie im Negativen übertreiben muss, hat also auch Bolz ganz gut verinnerlicht.
 
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Norbert Bolz: Die Avantgarde der Angst
Berlin: Matthes & Seitz Berlin, 2020. 191 S.
ISBN: 978-3-95757-951-5

Top