Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Studio Berlin Berghain
Welcome to the Art Club

These are not good times, not for the art scene, not for clubs. The Boros Foundation and Berghain joined forces last year and turned the orphaned techno club into an exhibition space. The exhibition closed again a long time ago. But you can browse the exhibition catalogue.

By Holger Moos

Studio Berlin Berghain Distanz Since the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic, there’s been no more partying and dancing at Berghain. The vacancy led to something called interim use, whereby the temporary character of this concept was revealed sooner than the initiators wished. A large exhibition was opened at Berghain on 9 September 2020. The second lockdown in December 2020 put an end to it for the time being.
 
The exhibition was initiated by the collector couple Karen and Christian Boros and Juliet Kothe. The Berghain is located in a former district heating plant near the Ostbahnhof. So there was plenty of space for a larger exhibition.

Art in a symbolic space

The club, as a symbolic space, as a “place of very personal freedom, where every aspect of individual freedom can still be lived, was predestined for this project. A home for self-determination,” as Christian Boros defines the myth of the legendary techno club in a feature by Deutschlandfunk Kultur.
 
Studio Berlin is the name of the exhibition and it aims to be a snapshot of Berlin’s artistic production. 118 artists are taking part in this joint project, including big names such as Nobert Bisky, Isa Genzken, Ólafur Elíasson, Rosemarie Trockel and Wolfgang Tillmans. But there are also artists who are yet relatively unknown and who haven’t yet been represented by a gallery. It is a “emphatically uncurated show,” writes Boris Pofalla in Welt. There’s also little context. The artists only provided brief explanations of their works – if at all – a few paragraphs at most, sometimes a poem, sometimes just one sentence.

References to the surroundings can only be guessed at

At Berghain there is a strict, almost sacrosanct photography ban. There were bag checks before the guided exhibition visits. Cameras were not allowed; cell phone cameras were taped over. The images in the Studio Berlin exhibition catalogue also observe this ban on images: In the photos, only the works of art are sharp, the background – the respective surroundings in the club – is blurred in the way we’re all too familiar with from online meetings. It’s not much of a problem for many paintings or photographs, but for some other works, especially installations or objects, it’s a shame that references to the surroundings can only be guessed.
 
There was art at Berghain even before this exhibition. The illustrations of this art were shown without blurred backgrounds, for example in the Berghain art book, Berghain. Kunst im Klub / Art in the Club (2015). Be that as it may, Studio Berlin offers a broad and diverse insight into the Berlin art scene. The artists come from all over the world. One gladly accepts the club’s privacy protections, especially since we can only stay in the exclusive private sphere at the moment. And hopefully at some point we’ll be able to see the works of art again along with their surroundings.
 

Logo Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Studio Berlin. Berghain (English/German)
Berlin: Distanz, 2020. 480 p.
ISBN: 978-3-95476-369-6

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Studio Berlin Berghain
Willkommen im Kunst-Club

Es sind keine guten Zeiten, weder für die Kunstszene noch für Clubs. Die Boros Foundation und das Berghain hatten sich vergangenes Jahr zusammengetan und den verwaisten Techno-Club zum Ausstellungsraum gemacht. Die Ausstellung ist längst wieder geschlossen. Aber man kann im Ausstellungskatalog schmökern.

Von Holger Moos

Studio Berlin Berghain Distanz Seit dem Ausbruch der Corona-Pandemie ist es vorbei mit Feiern und Tanzen im Berghain. Dieser Leerstand führte zu etwas, das man Zwischennutzung nennt – wobei der temporäre Charakter dieses Konzepts schneller deutlich wurde, als es den Initiator*innen lieb war. Am 9. September 2020 öffnete eine große Kunstausstellung im Berghain. Mit dem zweiten Lockdown im Dezember 2020 war es dann schon wieder vorbei damit.
 
Initiiert wurde diese Ausstellung von dem Sammlerpaar Karen und Christian Boros sowie der Kuratorin Juliet Kothe. Weil das Berghain sich in einer in einem ehemaligen Fernheizwerk in der Nähe des Berliner Ostbahnhofs befindet, gab es Platz genug für ein größeres Event.

symbolisch aufgeladener Raum

Der Club war für dieses Vorhaben als symbolisch aufgeladener Raum prädestiniert, als „Ort der ganz persönlichen Freiheit, wo dann eben die ganze individuelle Freiheit gelebt werden kann. Ein Heimatort für Selbstbestimmtheit“, wie Christian Boros den Mythos des legendären Techno-Clubs in einem Beitrag von Deutschlandfunk Kultur definiert.
 
Studio Berlin heißt die Ausstellung und will eine Momentaufnahme der künstlerischen Produktion Berlins sein. 118 Künstlerinnen und Künstler nehmen an diesem Gemeinschaftsprojekt teil, darunter große Namen wie Nobert Bisky, Isa Genzken, Ólafur Elíasson, Rosemarie Trockel, Wolfgang Tillmans. Aber auch bisher eher unbekannte Kunstschaffende, die noch von keiner Galerie vertreten werden, sind mit dabei. Es sei eine „betont unkuratierte Schau“, schreibt Boris Pofalla in der Welt. Zudem gibt es  wenig Kontext. Die Künstler*innen haben zu ihren Werken – wenn überhaupt – nur kurze Erläuterungen beigesteuert, maximal ein paar Absätze, manchmal ein Gedicht, manchmal lediglich einen Satz.

Bezug zur Umgebung nur zu erahnen

Im Berghain herrscht ein striktes, fast schon sakrosantes Fotoverbot. Also gab es vor den geführten Ausstellungsbesuchen erst einmal Taschenkontrollen. Kameras waren nicht erlaubt, Handy-Kameras wurden abgeklebt. Auch die Abbildungen im gleichnamigen Ausstellungskatalog Studio Berlin beachten dieses Abbildungsverbot: Auf den Fotos sind nur die Kunstwerke scharf gestellt, der Hintergrund, also die jeweilige Umgebung im Club, ist so verschwommen, wie man das zur Genüge aus Online-Meetings kennt. Bei vielen Gemälden oder Fotos stört das wenig, bei einigen anderen Kunstwerken, insbesondere bei Installationen oder Objekten, ist es natürlich schade, dass man den Bezug zur Umgebung nur erahnen kann.
 
Es gab bereits vor dieser Ausstellung Kunst im Berghain. Die Abbildungen dieser Kunst ließen den Hintergrund nicht verschwimmen, wie etwa in dem Kunstband Berghain. Kunst im Klub (2015). Aber sei's drum, Studio Berlin bietet in jedem Fall einen breiten und diversen Einblick in die Berliner Kunstszene – mit Künstler*innen aus aller Welt. Da nimmt man den Schutz der Privatsphäre des Clubs gerne in Kauf, zumal wir uns derzeit ja auch nur in der Sphäre des exklusiv Privaten aufhalten können. Und irgendwann darf man die Kunstwerke hoffentlich wieder mitsamt ihrer Umgebung sehen.
 
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Studio Berlin. Berghain (Englisch/Deutsch)
Berlin: Distanz, 2020. 480 S.
ISBN: 978-3-95476-369-6

Top