Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Naika Foroutan and Jana Hensel
​Forge ties!

If you want to bring about change, you need allies. Jana Hensel and Naika Foroutan call on east Germans and migrants to build an alliance. Their aim is to stake out their interests more effectively vis-à-vis non-migrant west German dominant society.

By Helena Matschiner

Foroutan / Hensel: Die Gesellschaft der Anderen © Aufbau The racist murders in Hanau and the election of the Thuringian premier using votes from the Alternative für Deutschland (AfD) in February 2020 sparked an exchange of views on experiences of east Germans and migrants in Germany between social scientist and migration expert Naika Foroutan and journalist and east Germany expert Jana Hensel. Die Gesellschaft der Anderen (The Society of Others) is the textualisation of their discussion. Since the two writers speak not only as experts, but also as people themselves affected, their dialogue includes both analytical observations and accounts of their personal experience.

Experiences of rejection

Even 30 years after reunification, the non-migrant west German part of the population in Germany still hold the key social positions, thereby defining discourse and the yardstick by which everyone else is to be measured. In their discussion, the authors recognise the many experiences migrants and east Germans have in common: learning new structures, downgrading in the educational system, lack of recognition of vocational experience, a sense of insecurity. Members of both groups know what it means to be found collectively guilty of offences committed by other members of their group and to be pressed to give an explanation - an experience spared members of the dominant society.
 
While it is taken for granted that west German knowledge has to be acquired, members of the dominant society can act with impunity when they display ignorance and disinterest towards marginalised groups. In some areas, the experiences of the two groups differ, however: east Germans have no experience of racism, for example, and migrants living in west Germany are not affected by the same demographic imbalances and regional structural weakness as some parts of the population in east Germany.  

Identity politics as a strategy

Both writers see themselves as speakers for their communities, whereby they understand the term “community” as a construct. The fact that Naika Foroutan not only has a migration biography but also grew up in west Germany, while Jana Hensel is east German but does not have a migration biography shows how fluid the boundaries of these constructs are. More than once, Jana Hensel accuses her conversation partner of talking about east Germans like a representative of the dominant society. Yet both agree that for strategic reasons, identity politics in the sense of the term used by Gayatri Spivak, one of the founders of post-colonial theory, is necessary for a functioning democracy in order to reveal mechanisms of suppression and exert political influence. In a second step, according to the theories of sociologist Stuart Hall, power relations should be corrected before identities can be deconstructed once again. 

Alliances for more participation

Since attempts at dialogue with the dominant society never take place on equal terms and its representatives usually turn out to be “permanent misunderstanders”, Jana Hensel favours empowering discourses within the communities, enabling them to form alliances and formulate joint demands to the outside world.

Specifically, and this is directed at policymakers, the authors advocate quotas for filling decision-making positions. They would like to see greater diversity within the parties and the introduction of voting rights for foreigners. For the next legislative period, they recommend the establishment of a Mission Statement Committee for the Development of Participation and Equal Opportunities in a pluralist democracy.
Some of the discussion topics would have benefited from more controversial, more profound debate. Nevertheless, the authors have succeeded in creating a narrative of German plurality, which they use to underline their plea for alliance-building. By making maximum demands, the two writers aim to change the discourse and call on the dominant society to engage in self-reflection. They make an important contribution to achieving that objective in this book.
 

Logo Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Naika Foroutan und Jana Hensel: Die Gesellschaft der Anderen
Berlin: Aufbau Verlag, 2020. 356 S.
ISBN: 978-3-351-03811-3
You can find this title in our eLibrary Onleihe.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Naika Foroutan und Jana Hensel
Bildet Banden!

Wer Veränderung bewirken will, braucht Verbündete. Jana Hensel und Naika Foroutan rufen Ostdeutsche und Migrant*innen zur Bildung einer Allianz auf. Sie wollen die Interessen gegenüber der nicht-migrantischen westdeutschen Dominanzgesellschaft besser platzieren.

Von Helena Matschiner

Foroutan / Hensel: Gesellschaft der Anderen © Aufbau Die rassistische Morde in Hanau und die Wahl des thüringischen Ministerpräsidenten mit den Stimmen der AfD im Februar 2020 waren für die Sozialwissenschaftlerin und Migrationsexpertin Naika Foroutan und die Journalistin und Ostdeutschlandexpertin Jana Hensel dringender Anlass, sich über Erfahrungen von Ostdeutschen und Migrant*innen in Deutschland auszutauschen. Die Gesellschaft der Anderen ist die Verschriftlichung ihres Gesprächs. Da beide Autorinnen nicht nur als Fachexpertinnen, sondern auch als Betroffene sprechen, umfasst ihr Dialog sowohl analytische Beobachtungen als auch persönliche Erfahrungsberichte.

Erfahrungen der Ablehnung

Der nicht-migrantische westdeutsche Teil der Bevölkerung in Deutschland besetzt auch 30 Jahre nach der Wiedervereinigung die wesentlichen gesellschaftlichen Positionen und bestimmt so den Diskurs und den Maßstab, an dem sich alle anderen zu messen haben. Im Gespräch erkennen die Autorinnen, dass Migrant*innen und Ostdeutsche viele Erfahrungen teilen: das Erlernen neuer Strukturen, die Abstufung im Bildungssystem, die mangelnde Anerkennung von Berufserfahrungen, das Gefühl der Verunsicherung. Angehörige beider Gruppen wissen, was es heißt, bei Vergehen anderer Angehöriger ihrer Gruppe kollektiv schuldig gesprochen und zur Erklärung gedrängt zu werden - eine Erfahrung, die Angehörigen der Dominanzgesellschaft erspart bleibt.

Während die Aneignung westdeutschen Wissens vorausgesetzt wird, dürfen sich Angehörige der Dominanzgesellschaft gegenüber marginalisierten Gruppen ignorant und desinteressiert zeigen, ohne Folgen befürchten zu müssen. Es gibt aber auch unterschiedliches Erleben: So machen Ostdeutsche keine Rassismuserfahrungen und die in Westdeutschland lebende Migrant*innen sind nicht von derselben demografischen Schieflage und regionalen Strukturschwäche betroffen wie Teile der Bevölkerung in Ostdeutschland.

Identitätspolitik als Strategie

Beide Autorinnen sehen sich als Sprecherinnen ihrer Communities, wobei sie den Begriff „community“ als Konstrukt verstehen. Dass Naika Foroutan aber nicht nur eine Migrationsbiografie hat, sondern auch in Westdeutschland aufgewachsen ist, während Jana Hensel zwar ostdeutsch, aber ohne Migrationsbiografie ist, zeigt, wie fluide die Grenzen dieser Konstrukte sind. So wirft Jana Hensel ihrer Gesprächspartnerin mehr als einmal vor, wie eine Vertreterin der Dominanzgesellschaft über Ostdeutsche zu sprechen. Dennoch stimmen beide darin überein, dass aus strategischen Gründen eine Identitätspolitik im Sinne von Gayatri Spivak, einer der Begründerinnen der postkolonialen Theorie, für eine funktionierende Demokratie notwendig ist, um Unterdrückungsmechanismen aufzuzeigen und politisch Einfluss zu nehmen. Gemäß der Theorien des Soziologen Stuart Hall sollen dann in einem zweiten Schritt die Machtverhältnisse korrigiert werden, bevor die Identitäten wieder dekonstruiert werden können.

Allianzen für mehr Teilhabe

Da Dialogversuche mit der Dominanzgesellschaft nie auf Augenhöhe geschehen und sich ihre Repräsentanten meist als „permanente Missversteher“ herausstellen, befürwortet Jana Hensel empowernde Diskurse innerhalb der Communities, um dann Allianzen bilden und nach außen gemeinsame Forderungen formulieren zu können.
Konkret und an die Politik gerichtet plädieren die Autorinnen für Quoten bei der Besetzung von Entscheider*innenpositionen. Sie wünschen sich mehr Diversität innerhalb der Parteien und die Einführung eines Ausländerwahlrechts. Für die kommende Legislaturperiode empfehlen sie die Einrichtung einer Leitbildkommission zur Entwicklung von Teilhabe und Chancengleichheit in der pluralen Demokratie.
Manchen der Gesprächsthemen hätte eine kontroversere und damit tiefgründigere Auseinandersetzung gut getan. Dennoch ist den Autorinnen eine Erzählung der deutschen Pluralität gelungen, mit der sie ihr Plädoyer für Allianzenbildung unterstreichen. Durch die Aufstellung von Maximalforderungen wollen beide den Diskurs verändern und die Dominanzgesellschaft zur Selbstreflexion aufrufen. Dafür leisten sie mit diesem Buch einen wichtigen Beitrag.
 
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Naika Foroutan und Jana Hensel: Die Gesellschaft der Anderen
Berlin: Aufbau Verlag, 2020. 356 S.
ISBN: 978-3-351-03811-3
Diesen Titel finden Sie auch in unserer Onleihe

Top