Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

New German Crime Novels
On Cirrostratus Clouds and Fishers of Men

The last few months have seen very different German crime novels published, all well worth reading. Some of their topics: dead people who aren’t dead, a showdown on the Lorelei, brains uploaded into clone bodies and subtle horror in a mother-daughter relationship.

By Holger Moos

Kerkerkind © Knaur For some people, crime novels are all they can read in bed at night, suspense being the only thing that will keep them awake. Looking for new recommendations? This selection is guaranteed to increase your sleep deficit.

Headless in the Wannsee forest

Katja Bohnet’s thriller Kerkerkind (Dungeon Child) is a rather bloody story about two police inspectors who are hunting a serial killer. First, the burnt corpse of a pregnant woman is found in the Wannsee forest, followed by a number of beheaded male corpses. And one of the inspectors is heading into danger himself. Elmar Krekeler concludes in the Welt newspaper: “It takes a while to get your bearings, until you’re no longer surprised by the matryoshka-like way you get from one story to the one that lies beneath, no longer baffled by the increasing suspicion just how closely everything is interconnected.”

Not dead in Munich

A man wakes up in a coffin. He manages to free himself but can’t remember anything. Max Bronski sends his protagonist “Oskar” on a journey of self-discovery, first to the English Garden in Munich dressed in nothing but boxer shorts, and then further afield. Elmar Krekeler has reviewed this crime novel in the Welt newspaper as well and believes Bronski’s latest book delivers an answer to the question of why we read crime novels: “Because there is nothing crazier than literature that digs under or flies over genre borders to that place where literature is as crazy as life can be. Oskar is one of those novels.”

Love crime

Film maker and Grimme award winner Volker Heise has written his first novel. In Außer Kontrolle (Out of Control), he unfurls a cityscape in which everything escalates over the course of one night. “Berlin. The city as will, imagination and collapse. Everything has to end well for the boy and the girl. Everyone collapses: the star chef, his fish, the old and the young policeman, the adulterer, the emergency doctor. Ruggedly orchestrated, composed in minor key: Heise’s sound of a metropolis on a late summer night”, as the jury of the Krimibestenliste (a monthly list of the best German crime novels) describes it (4th place in February 2018).

German sci-fi

Tom Hillenbrand’s sci-fi crime novel Hologrammatica fuses the narrative of a crime novel with questions of artificial intelligence and digitalisation. As the Krimibestenliste jury states: “2088. Horror for identity fetishists. The overheated Earth has been holographically beautified, people upload their brains into clone bodies. Disappeared: top programmer Juliette, along with her know-how. Quaestor Singh is looking for her. Great ideas, logically structured, the future through the eyes of a detective, philosophy light“ (4th place on the Krimibestenliste April 2018).

That tingling sensation on the back of your neck

Regina Nössler’s thriller Schleierwolken (Cirrostratus Clouds) tells the story of a mid-forties woman and dutiful daughter who lives in Berlin. She regularly visits her demanding mother in Wattenscheid and increasingly feels like someone is following her. “Rarely has subtle horror been so softly and skilfully told. There is nothing shrill, nothing sensational, but much that is cruel, mean and decidedly nasty,” Thomas Wörtche states on culturmag.de. The book has catapulted the relatively unknown author onto the Krimibestenliste: “Berlin, Wattenscheid. Proofreader Elisabeth feels like someone is following her. Her lonely mother complains about everything, someone follows her, she falls in front of a bus. Indignities all around. Bad conscience: Has she done the right thing? Once, when she was young. The past returns. Subtle: the horror of everyday life” (8th place on the Krimibestenliste February 2018).

Inspector Marthaler’s sixth case

In Jan Segher’s crime novel Menschenfischer (Fishers of Men), Inspector Marthaler investigates an cruel, unsolved murder case from 1998 that leads him first to Southern France and then onto the trail of a gang of human traffickers. Dietmar Jacobsen has reviewed the novel for literaturkritik.de: “Like all novels in this series, Fishers of Men manages the feat of dovetailing initially disparate facts more and more tightly. Until a number of seemingly unconnected cases become one whose individual aspects neatly explain each other.” Brigitte Grahl from krimi-couch.de is a fan as well: “A gripping case with unforeseeable twists and a logical solution, and a taut storyline with dynamic narrative pace. Even so, ‘Fishers of Men’ frequently has room for atmosphere and emotion, even poetry. Seghers just keeps getting better!”

Losers, Ordinary People, Criminals

Roland Spranger’s crime novel Tiefenscharf (Depth of Focus) tells the story of a video journalist with job issues who hears about a drug deal and senses a scoop. Kolja Mensing calls the “book [...] an uncompromising crime novel from a desolate regional area” (deutschlandfunkkultur.de), and the Krimibestenliste jury has the following to say: “Franconian-Czech border. Family man Sascha is a one-man TV crew in trouble. His investigation never gets very far, but he manages to pick a fight with a group of neo-Nazi bohemians who deal crystal and operate across borders. Sobering stuff for political optimists” (7th place on the Krimibestenliste April 2018).
 
Cherry Picker

Bohnet, Katja: Kerkerkind
München: Knaur, 2018. 331 pages.
ISBN: 978-3-426-52093-2
 
Bronski, Max: Oskar
München: Droemer, 2017. 298 pages.
ISBN: 978-3-426-30610-9
 
Heise, Volker: Außer Kontrolle
Berlin: Rowohlt Berlin, 2017. 240 pages. 
ISBN: 978-3-644-10043-5
 
Hillenbrand, Tom: Hologrammatica
Köln: Kiepenheuer & Witsch, 2018. 557 pages.
ISBN: 978-3-462-05149-0
 
Nössler, Regina: Schleierwolken
Tübingen: konkursbuch, 2017. 314 pages.
ISBN: 978-3-88769-563-7
 
Seghers, Jan: Menschenfischer
Reinbek: Kindler, 2017. 428 pages.
ISBN: 978-3-463-40670-1
 
Spranger, Roland: Tiefenscharf
Hamburg: Polar, 2018. 286 pages.
ISBN: 978-3-945133-59-0

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Aktuelle deutschsprachige Krimis
Von Schleierwolken und Menschenfischern

In den letzten Monaten sind sehr unterschiedliche, allesamt lesenswerte deutschsprachige Krimis erschienen. Einige Inhalte: Scheintote, ein Showdown auf der Loreley, Hirn-Upload in Klonkörper sowie subtiler Horror in einer Mutter-Tochter-Beziehung.

Von Holger Moos

Buchcover: Kerkerkind © Knaur Für manche sind Krimis die einzigen Bücher, die sie auch noch abends im Bett lesen können. Nur die Spannung hält sie wach. Lust auf neue Empfehlungen? Diese Auswahl erhöht den Schlafmangel.

Kopflos im Wannseeforst

Katja Bohnets Thriller Kerkerkind ist ein recht blutiges Buch. Ein Kommissarduo folgt den Spuren eines Serienkillers. Zuerst findet man im Wannseeforst die verbrannte Leiche einer schwangeren Frau, anschließend einige kopflose Männerleichen. Einer der beiden Kommissare gerät selbst in Gefahr. Elmar Krekelers Fazit in der Welt lautet: „Ein bisschen braucht man, bis man sich zurechtgefunden hat, bis es einen nicht mehr überrascht, wie in einer Babuschka von einer Privatgeschichte in die nächst tiefer liegende zu geraten, nicht mehr verblüfft wird von der immer stärker werdenden Ahnung, wie sehr alles mit allem zusammenhängt“.

Scheintot in München

Ein Mann wacht in einem Sarg auf, befreit sich und kann sich erst mal an nichts erinnern. Max Bronski schickt seine zunächst nur mit Boxershorts bekleidete Titelfigur „Oskar“ in den Englischen Garten in München und von dort aus weiter auf einen Selbstfindungstrip. Auch diesen Krimi hat Elmar Krekeler in der Welt besprochen. Danach liefert Bronskis neues Buch eine Antwort auf die Frage, warum wir Krimis lesen: „Weil es nichts Wahnsinnigeres gibt als Literatur, die sich unter Genregrenzen hindurchgräbt, über sie hinwegfliegt, dahin, wo Literatur so wahnsinnig ist wie manchmal das Leben. Oskar ist so ein Roman“.

Verbrechen aus Liebe

Sein Romandebüt vorgelegt hat der Filmemacher und Grimmepreisträger Volker Heise. In Außer Kontrolle entfaltet er ein Großstadtpanorama. Erzählt wird von einer Nacht, in der alles eskaliert. „Berlin. Die Stadt als Wille, Vorstellung und Kollaps. Alles muss gut werden mit dem Jungen und dem Mädchen. Alle kollabieren: der Sternekoch, seine Fische, der alte und der junge Polizist, der Ehebrecher, der Notarzt. Rau instrumentiert, in Moll komponiert: Heises Spätsommernachts-Metropolen-Sound“, so die Umschreibung der Krimibestenlisten-Jury (Platz 4 der Krimibestenliste Februar 2018).

Deutsche Sci-Fi

Tom Hillenbrand verknüpft in seinem Science-Fiction-Krimi Hologrammatica die Krimihandlung mit Fragen der künstlichen Intelligenz und der Digitalisierung. Die Jury der Krimibestenliste meint: „2088. Horror für Identitätsfetischisten. Die überhitzte Erde ist holographisch geschönt, man uploadet sein Hirn in Klonkörper. Verschwunden: Spitzenprogrammiererin Juliette samt Knowhow. Quästor Singh hinterher. Prima ausgedacht, schlüssig designt, Zukunft durch Detektivbrille, Philosophie light“ (Platz 4 der Krimibestenliste April 2018).

Nackenkribbeln

Von einer in Berlin lebenden Mittvierzigerin, die als brave Tochter ihre anstrengende Mutter regelmäßig in Wattenscheid besucht und sich dabei zunehmend verfolgt fühlt, handelt Regina Nösslers Thriller Schleierwolken. „Selten wurde subtiler Horror so leise und so gekonnt erzählt. Nichts ist schrill, nichts sensationell, aber vieles ist grausam, gemein und entschieden fies“, schreibt Thomas Wörtche auf culturmag.de. Und auch auf die Krimibestenliste hat es die bislang eher unbekannte Autorin geschafft: „Berlin, Wattenscheid. Korrektorin Elisabeth fühlt sich verfolgt. Die einsame Mutter nörgelt, ihr geht jemand nach, sie fällt vor einen Bus. Demütigungen überall. Schlechtes Gewissen: Hat sie alles richtig gemacht? Einmal, als sie jung war. Diese Vergangenheit kehrt wieder. Subtil: Grauen des Alltags“ (Platz 8 der Krimibestenliste Februar 2018).

Kommissar Marthalers sechster Fall

In Jan Seghers Krimi Menschenfischer ermittelt Kommissar Marthaler in einem bislang unaufgeklärten, grausamen Mordfall aus dem Jahr 1998, der ihn erst nach Südfrankreich und dann auf die Spur einer Menschenhändlerbande führt. Dietmar Jacobsen zieht auf literaturkritik.de folgendes Fazit: „Wie alle Romane der Reihe bringt auch Menschenfischer das Kunststück fertig, am Anfang Disparates immer enger miteinander zu verzahnen. Bis aus mehreren scheinbar unverbundenen Fällen schließlich einer wird, dessen einzelne Aspekte sich gegenseitig erklären“. Auch Brigitte Grahl von krimi-couch.de ist überzeugt: „Ein spannender Fall mit unvorhersehbaren Wendungen und einer schlüssigen Auflösung, und eine straffe Handlung mit einem dynamischen Erzähltempo. Trotzdem gibt es in Menschenfischer immer wieder Platz für Atmosphäre und Gefühl, ja sogar Poesie. Seghers wird immer besser!“

Verlierer, Normalos, Kriminelle

Um einen Video-Journalisten mit beruflichen Problemen, der in einem Drogendeal einen Scoop wittert, geht es in Roland Sprangers Krimi Tiefenscharf. Für Kolja Mensing ist das „Buch [...] ein kompromissloser Krimi aus der trostlosen Provinz“ (deutschlandfunkkultur.de). Und die Jury der Krimibestenliste skizziert das Buch wie folgt: „Fränkisch-tschechisches Grenzgebiet. Familienvater Sascha ist ein Einmann-TV-Team in Nöten. Als investigativer Ermittler kommt er nicht weit. Aber er hat sich auch mit einer Crystal dealenden Neonazi-Bohème angelegt, die grenzüberschreitend operiert. Ernüchterungsmittel für Politikoptimisten“ (Platz 7 der Krimibestenliste April 2018).
 
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank

Bohnet, Katja: Kerkerkind
München: Knaur, 2018. 331 S.
ISBN: 978-3-426-52093-2
 
Bronski, Max: Oskar
München: Droemer, 2017. 298 S.
ISBN: 978-3-426-30610-9
 
Heise, Volker: Außer Kontrolle
Berlin: Rowohlt Berlin, 2017. 240 S.  
ISBN: 978-3-644-10043-5
 
Hillenbrand, Tom: Hologrammatica
Köln: Kiepenheuer & Witsch, 2018. 557 S.
ISBN: 978-3-462-05149-0
 
Nössler, Regina: Schleierwolken
Tübingen: konkursbuch, 2017. 314 S.
ISBN: 978-3-88769-563-7
 
Seghers, Jan: Menschenfischer
Reinbek: Kindler, 2017. 428 S.
ISBN: 978-3-463-40670-1
 
Spranger, Roland: Tiefenscharf
Hamburg: Polar, 2018. 286 S.
ISBN: 978-3-945133-59-0

Top