Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Libraries in Russia
Increasing importance of social media tools

For years digital services took a very humble place among other types of library services. During the COVID-19 crisis the role of digital offerings has become significantly more important. Nowadays most of the libraries in Russia, no matter how small they are, use technology to improve services for customers.

By Daria Klenova

By using digital tools modern libraries aim to:

  • Attract customers to library services
  • Make library services more accessible
  • Help users to learn new skills
  • Provide users with a variety of information 
Social media is playing an increasingly important role in engaging library users. Before 2020 social media activity was just a complementary way of informing customers. Now Instagram, Facebook and VKontakte (national social media) have become the main link between libraries and service users.
 

Librarians all over the country have been obliged to acquire social media skills in order to gain a competitive advantage.

Daria Klenova

Librarians all over the country have been obliged to acquire social media skills in order to gain a competitive advantage. During the crisis, libraries started working on increasing the quality of their digital services, as well as increasing the range of digital services on offer. The most popular digital services offered by libraries include:
  • Online research services
  • App-based access to libraries’ materials
  • Book, audio, and video recommendation schemes
  • Educational services: master-classes, workshops, open lessons, lectures
National libraries continue to do everything possible to ensure that their users are well-supplied with things to read, watch, learn and do.
 
I believe that the digital services offered by libraries are now more important than ever before. Library advocates from all over the world should work together to keep up with contemporary trends, share successful practices and create a strong international network. My personal aim is to continue fostering positive changes in the field of digital library services.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digitale Bibliotheken in Russland
Soziale Netwerke werden immer wichtiger

Jahrelang nahmen digitale Dienste einen sehr bescheidenen Platz unter anderen Bibliotheksdienstleistungen ein, aber durch die COVID-19-Krise hat die Rolle der digitalen Angebote deutlich an Bedeutung gewonnen. Egal wie klein sie sind, nutzen heutzutage die meisten Bibliotheken in Russland Technologie, um ihre Kundendienstleistungen zu verbessern. 

Von Daria Klenova

Durch den Einsatz digitaler Instrumente verfolgen moderne Bibliotheken folgende Ziele:

  • Kund*innen für Bibliotheksdienste zu gewinnen
  • Bibliotheksdienste leichter zugänglich zu machen
  • Nutzer*innen beim Erlernen neuer Fähigkeiten zu unterstützen
  • Nutzer*innen mit einer Vielzahl von Informationen zu versorgen 
Soziale Netzwerke spielen eine immer wichtigere Rolle bei der Gewinnung von Bibliotheksbenutzer*innen. Vor 2020 waren Aktivitäten in sozialen Netzwerken nur eine zusätzliche Möglichkeit, Kund*innen zu informieren. Inzwischen sind Instagram, Facebook und VKontakte (nationale soziale Netzwerke) zum wichtigsten Bindeglied zwischen Bibliotheken und Dienstleistungsnutzer*innen geworden.
 

Librarians all over the country have been obliged to acquire social media skills in order to gain a competitive advantage.

Daria Klenova

Bibliothekar*innen im ganzen Land sind gezwungen, sich Fähigkeiten im Bereich der sozialen Netzwerke anzueignen, um sich einen Wettbewerbsvorteil zu verschaffen. Während der Krise begannen die Bibliotheken damit, ihre digitalen Dienste qualitativ zu verbessern und das Angebot zu erweitern. Zu den beliebtesten digitalen Diensten von Bibliotheken gehören:
  • Online-Recherchedienste
  • App-basierter Zugang zu den Materialien der Bibliotheken
  • Buch-, Audio- und Videoempfehlungsprogramme
  • Pädagogische Angebote: Meisterklassen, Workshops, offener Unterricht, Vorträge
Die Nationalbibliotheken tun weiterhin alles, um sicherzustellen, dass ihre Benutzer*innen gut mit unterhaltsamen und lehrreichen Materialien und Aktivitäten versorgt sind.
 
Ich glaube, dass die von Bibliotheken angebotenen digitalen Dienste heute wichtiger sind als je zuvor. Bibliotheksverfechter*innen aus aller Welt sollten zusammenarbeiten, um mit den aktuellen Trends Schritt zu halten, erfolgreiche Praktiken auszutauschen und ein starkes internationales Netzwerk zu schaffen. Mein persönliches Ziel ist es, weiterhin positive Veränderungen im Bereich der digitalen Bibliotheksdienste zu fördern.

Top