Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Libraries in UK
Digital divide between academic and public libraries

The accesibility of digital services is a question of budget and priorities. What strategies do academic and public libraries in the UK adopt?

By Naomi Smith

In 2007 Mark Herring asserted that it is a ‘preposterous notion [that the internet] will one day soon replace conventional libraries’ (p.1). Although the impact of COVID-19 has debunked this statement, it is true that until recently, the majority of British libraries only offered limited digital services.

This was largely due to financial constraints. Arguably only large and well-funded academic research libraries, such as the University of Birmingham, could prioritise the provision of digital services. For example, since 2017, 80% of the University of Birmingham’s library acquisition budget has been spent on electronic books (e-books) and 20% on physical material (University of Birmingham, 2018).

The rationale for academic libraries seeking to prioritise digital services can be explained by the performance measurement landscape of Higher Education (HE) in the United Kingdom. In the HE context, there can be commercial advantages for an academic library that is seen to be at the forefront of technological innovation (Brophy, 2007). In addition, the ready accessibility of e-books explains why academic libraries often aspire to transition from physical to digital collections. For many, web-based electronic resources are the preferred medium to meet learning, teaching and research needs (Creaser, 2011).  In comparison to paper collections, the social benefit of providing books in digital format is their ability to provide accessibility, immediacy and searchability for patrons based in a range of environments (Deegan and Tanner, 2002). 

According to The Centre for Information Behaviour and the Evaluation of Research (CIBER), researchers in particular expect ‘immediate access on their desktops to all kinds of materials relevant to their research’ (Creaser, p.53). More significantly, researchers often view paper resources as a ‘barrier to access’ (Creaser, p.53), due to issues such as a lack of availability of paper copies which may necessitate waiting or paying for an inter-library loan. Academic libraries have to take these opinions seriously. Taking account of the needs and expectations of students is vitally important in the highly competitive HE environment in which all academic libraries operate. British Universities are ranked according to The National Student Survey (NSS); a ‘high profile annual survey’ which is an ‘influential’ source of public information about student experiences at university (NSS, 2020).

The prioritisation of digital services is not something that can be easily replicated by public libraries. The financial constraints which have long been placed on local councils by government make it impossible for British public libraries to provide solely online resources (Swaffield, 2017). This is because electronic journals are licensed, with libraries having to purchase access from publishers. Inflation, currency conversion and the commercial practices of publishers often cause subscription costs for journals to be expensive. The University of Birmingham pays well over £1 million per year in subscription costs (University of Birmingham, 2018). Moreover, subscription costs often increase annually. On average, journal subscription costs increased between 5-6% in 2018, compared to 2017 (University of Birmingham, 2018). Some have increased by 10% or more (University of Birmingham, 2018).

For these reasons, a wholesale adoption of digital services by British libraries is unlikely. Consequently, the provision of digital services in the UK’s libraries remains unequal. A ‘digital divide’ exists whereby provision of digital library services depends on where one lives and whether the area is served by well-funded academic libraries or under-resourced public libraries.

During the pandemic, we witnessed a disconnect between staff and students who were not able to access our services, due to them not having access to wi-fi and/or a suitable computer device. Similarly, the pandemic highlighted differences in digital literacy, confidence and users’ ability to make effective use of online services.

Naomi Smith


The COVID-19 crisis has also revealed that a social and cultural exclusivity exists in digital library provision, where not everyone has easy access to the digital services on offer in libraries. During the pandemic, we witnessed a disconnect between staff and students who were not able to access our services, due to them not having access to wi-fi and/or a suitable computer device. Similarly, the pandemic highlighted differences in digital literacy, confidence and users’ ability to make effective use of online services. Innovative solutions and good practices need to be shared by libraries internationally, if we are to make digital services accessible for all.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digitale Bibliotheken im Vereinigten Königreich
Die digitale Kluft zwischen akademischen und öffentlichen Bibliotheken

Die Zugänglichkeit von digitalen Angeboten ist eine Frage von Budget und Prioritäten. Welche Strategien wenden akademische und öffentliche Bibliotheken im Vereinigten Königreich an?

Von Naomi Smith

Im Jahr 2007 behauptete Mark Herring, dass es sich um eine “absurde Vorstellung handle, [dass das Internet] demnächst die konventionellen Bibliotheken ersetzen werde” (S. 1). Obwohl die Auswirkungen von COVID-19 diese Aussage entkräftet haben, stimmt es, dass bis vor kurzem die Mehrheit der britischen Bibliotheken nur begrenzte digitale Dienste anboten.

Dies hatte weitgehend mit finanziellen Beschränkungen zu tun. Allein große und finanziell gut ausgestattete wissenschaftliche Forschungsbibliotheken, wie etwa die Universität Birmingham, konnten die Bereitstellung digitaler Dienste priorisieren. Seit 2017 wurden beispielsweise 80% des Bibliotheksanschaffungsbudgets der Universität Birmingham für elektronische Bücher (E-Books) und 20% für gedrucktes Material ausgegeben (Universität Birmingham, 2018).

Dass akademische Bibliotheken den digitalen Diensten Vorrang einräumen wollen, lässt sich mit der Leistungsmessungslandschaft der Hochschulbildung (Higher Education; HE) im Vereinigten Königreich erklären. Im Hochschulbereich kann es für eine akademische Bibliothek von kommerziellem Vorteil sein, in der technologischen Innovation als führend angesehen zu werden (Brophy, 2007). Darüber hinaus erklärt die leichte Zugänglichkeit von E-Books, warum akademische Bibliotheken oft den Übergang von physischen zu digitalen Sammlungen anstreben. Für viele sind webgestützte elektronische Ressourcen das bevorzugte Medium zur Erfüllung von Lern-, Lehr- und Forschungsanforderungen (Creaser, 2011). Im Vergleich zu gedruckten Sammlungen besteht der gesellschaftliche Nutzen der Bereitstellung von Büchern in digitalem Format darin, dass sie für Benutzer*innen in verschiedenen Umgebungen zugänglich, unmittelbar und durchsuchbar sind (Deegan und Tanner, 2002). 

Nach Angaben des Zentrums für Informationsverhalten und Forschungsevaluierung (CIBER) erwarten vor allem Forscher*innen “sofortigen Zugang zu allen Arten von Materialien auf ihrem Desktop, die für ihre Forschung relevant sind” (Creaser, S. 53). Noch bedeutender ist, dass Forscher*innen gedruckte Ressourcen oft als “Zugangshindernis” betrachten (Creaser, S. 53); dies aufgrund von Problemen wie der mangelnden Verfügbarkeit von gedruckten Kopien, die eine Wartezeit oder eine Gebühr für eine Fernleihe erforderlich machen können. Akademische Bibliotheken müssen diese Meinungen ernst nehmen. Die Berücksichtigung der Bedürfnisse und Erwartungen der Studierenden ist in dem stark wettbewerbsorientierten Hochschulumfeld, in dem alle akademischen Bibliotheken tätig sind, von entscheidender Bedeutung. Britische Universitäten werden nach dem National Student Survey (NSS) eingestuft – eine “hochkarätige jährliche Umfrage”, die eine “einflussreiche” Quelle für öffentliche Informationen über die Erfahrungen von Studierenden an Universitäten ist (NSS, 2020).

Die Priorisierung digitaler Dienste kann nicht leicht von öffentlichen Bibliotheken übernommen werden. Die finanziellen Beschränkungen, die den Gemeindeverwaltungen seit langem von der Regierung auferlegt werden, machen es den britischen öffentlichen Bibliotheken unmöglich, ausschließlich Online-Ressourcen anzubieten (Swaffield, 2017). Grund dafür ist, dass elektronische Zeitschriften lizenziert werden, wobei die Bibliotheken den Zugang von den Verlagen erwerben müssen. Inflation, Währungsumrechnungen und die Geschäftspraktiken von Verleger*innen verursachen oft teure Abonnementskosten für Zeitschriften. Die Universität Birmingham zahlt weit über £1 Million pro Jahr an Abonnementskosten (Universität Birmingham, 2018). Außerdem steigen diese oft jährlich. Im Durchschnitt sind die Kosten für Zeitschriftenabonnements 2018 im Vergleich zu 2017 um 5–6% gestiegen (Universität Birmingham, 2018). Einige sind um 10% oder mehr gestiegen (Universität Birmingham, 2018).

Aus diesen Gründen ist eine flächendeckende Einführung digitaler Dienste durch britische Bibliotheken unwahrscheinlich. Folglich bleibt die Bereitstellung digitaler Dienste in den Bibliotheken Großbritanniens ungleich. Es besteht eine “digitale Kluft”, wobei die Bereitstellung digitaler Bibliotheksdienste davon abhängt, wo man lebt und ob das Gebiet von gut finanzierten akademischen Bibliotheken oder von öffentlichen Bibliotheken mit unzureichenden Ressourcen versorgt wird.

Während der Pandemie erlebten wir eine Verbindungsunterbrechung zwischen Mitarbeiter*innen und Studierenden, die keinen Zugang zu unseren Diensten hatten, weil sie keinen Internetzugang und/oder keinen geeigneten Computer hatten. Gleichzeitig verdeutlichte die Pandemie Unterschiede in der digitalen Kompetenz, im Vertrauen und in der Fähigkeit der Nutzer*innen, Online-Dienste effektiv zu nutzen.

Naomi Smith

Die COVID-19-Krise hat auch gezeigt, dass es eine soziale und kulturelle Exklusivität bei der Bereitstellung digitaler Bibliotheken gibt, in denen nicht jede*r den gleichen Zugang zu den angebotenen digitalen Diensten hat. Während der Pandemie erlebten wir eine Verbindungsunterbrechung zwischen Mitarbeiter*innen und Studierenden, die keinen Zugang zu unseren Diensten hatten, weil sie keinen Internetzugang und/oder keinen geeigneten Computer hatten. Gleichzeitig verdeutlichte die Pandemie Unterschiede in der digitalen Kompetenz, im Vertrauen und in der Fähigkeit der Nutzer*innen, Online-Dienste effektiv zu nutzen. Wenn wir digitale Dienste allen zugänglich machen wollen, müssen Bibliotheken weltweit innovative Lösungen und bewährte Verfahren gemeinsam nutzen.

Top