Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Libraries in Indonesia
Supporting open data and open government

How can specialist libraries transform themselves in order to serve the communities better? On the importance of open data and making information available.

By Madiareni Sulaiman

The Center for Scientific Data and Documentation at the Indonesian Institute of Sciences (PDDI-LIPI) focuses on the management of data, information and scientific and non-scientific documentation. PDDI-LIPI is categorised as a government-specific library that shares some of the functions of a data lab. Data labs can also refer to GLAM Labs (Gallery, Library, Archive and Museum Labs) in certain fields. The data lab is one of element of the data centre, owned by almost all organisations in the special library environment of government and private agencies, on behalf of data and information centres (Pusdatin). Data labs are an element of a specialised library that focuses on the institution's repository. PDDI-LIPI started using scientific repositories in 2014 that can be categorised as having elements of data labs. It has initiated open data and open government movements in line with the global Plan S programme, promoting open-access science publishing. 

The idea of collections as data is a concept present through the Santa Barbara statement in support of the Institute of Museum and Library Services programme: ‘Always Already Computational: Collections as Data’, (Padilla et al., 2017). Specialised libraries with various backgrounds such as those of government institutions, private institutions, law firms, and hospitals often have diverse approaches to library collection management. Over time, knowledge management has become the key way of managing an institution's library collection. This may be motivated by the efforts of a dedicated library community to preserve the knowledge it possesses. 

If you look at the collection as data, then the concept can be seen from the production side of digital data collection. The process of utilising library collections can also be diverse and complex when interpreting them into complementary practices, such as text mining, data visualisation, mapping, image analysis, audio analysis and network analysis. The resulting digital data can be used and reused through special analysis with open access. In this case, the ethical side of information disclosure becomes important because the results of the analysis provided need to be widely accessed by the public. The library is a data and information centre (Pusdatin), which naturally collects data when viewed from its business processes. However, with more and more information, it is not easy to manage data with limited time and resources, so the library data labs in UK libraries are a way of supporting librarians and the public to be able to analyse the available data (Burke et al., 2018).

The use of complex data disclosure or open data will help to provide better services for the public by converting complex data into information that can be better understood and acted upon. Surely the implementation of open data and open government will give more value to its political, social, economic, and cultural activities and its managing institutions (Abella et al., 2019). However, unfortunately not all elements of the organisation realise the value of the data openness as well as the potential it has.

The use of complex data disclosure or open data will help to provide better services for the public by converting complex data into information that can be better understood and acted upon.

Madiareni Sulaiman


The need for specialist libraries to transform themselves in order to keep up with the times is undeniable. The transformation needs to be accompanied by additional capacity among information professionals to be able to manage the information and data. In addition, if focused on government agencies, then in accordance with the mandate of Law No. 11 of 2019 of the National System of Science and Technology (Article 40 related to R&D Data Deposit), Presidential Regulation No. 39/2019 on One Data Indonesia and Law No. 14/2008 regarding Public Information Disclosure (National System of Science and Technology, 2019; Presidential regulations. Satu Data Indonesia, 2019; Public Information Disclosure, 2008), the transformation of specialised libraries, which in general are closely related to data and information centres in government agencies, is essential.

Open data and open government could form the basis of policy for the National Library of Indonesia on developing the librarians of government and non-governmental agencies in order to increase capacity, promote innovation and support open-access to data and transparency of government.


References

Abella, A., Ortiz-de-Urbina-Criado, M., & De-Pablos-Heredero, C. (2019). The Process of Open Data Publication and Reuse. Journal of the Association for Information Science and Technology, 70(3), 296–300. https://doi.org/10.1002/asi.24116

Burke, S., MacIntyre, R., & Stone, G. (2018). Library data labs: using an agile approach to develop library analytics in UK higher education. Information and Learning Science, 119(1–2), 5–15. https://doi.org/10.1108/ILS-05-2017-0035

Padilla, T., Allen, L., Varner, S., Potvin, S., Roke, E. R., & Frost, H. (2017). The Santa Barbara Statement on Collections as Data • Always Already Computational - Collections as Data. https://collectionsasdata.github.io/statement/

Keterbukaan Informasi Publik, Pub. L. No. 14 (2008).

Serah Simpan Karya Cetak dan Karya Rekam, Pub. L. No. 13 (2018).

Peraturan Presiden. Satu Data Indonesia, (2019).

Sistem Nasional Ilmu Pengetahuan dan Teknologi, Pub. L. No. 11 (2019).

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digitale Bibliotheken in Indonesien
Unterstützung von open data und open government

Wie können Spezialbibliotheken sich wandeln, um der Gemeinschaft bessere Dienste zu leisten? Über die Wichtigkeit von Open Data und Informationen zugänglich zu machen.

Von Madiareni Sulaiman

Das Zentrum für wissenschaftliche Daten und Dokumentation am Indonesischen Institut der Wissenschaften (PDDI-LIPI) befasst sich mit der Verwaltung von Daten, Informationen und wissenschaftlicher und nicht-wissenschaftlicher Dokumentation. Das PDDI-LIPI ist als regierungsspezifische Bibliothek kategorisiert, die einige der Funktionen eines Datenlabors teilt. In bestimmten Bereichen können Datenlabore sich auch auf GLAM Labs (Gallery, Library, Archive and Museum Labs) beziehen. Das Datenlabor ist eines der Elemente des Datenzentrums, und es gehört zu fast allen Organisationen im speziellen Bibliotheksumfeld staatlicher und privater Behörden im Auftrag von Daten- und Informationszentren (Pusdatin). Datenlabore sind jenes Element einer Spezialbibliothek, welches sich auf den Datenspeicher der Institution konzentriert. Das PDDI-LIPI hat 2014 damit begonnen, wissenschaftliche Datenspeicher zu nutzen, die als Elemente von Datenlabors kategorisiert werden können. Es hat im Einklang mit dem globalen Plan-S-Programm offene Daten und offene Regierungsinitiativen initiiert und fördert den freien Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Publikationen.
 
Die Auffassung von Sammlungen als Daten ist ein Konzept, das in der Erklärung von Santa Barbara zur Unterstützung des Programms des Instituts für Museums- und Bibliotheksdienste vorgestellt wird: ‘Always Already Computational: Collections as Data’ (Padilla et al., 2017). Spezialbibliotheken mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund, z.B. solche von Regierungseinrichtungen, privaten Institutionen, Anwaltskanzleien und Krankenhäusern, haben oft unterschiedliche Ansätze für die Verwaltung von Bibliotheksbeständen. Im Laufe der Zeit hat sich das Wissensmanagement in Institutionen zum wichtigsten Mittel der Verwaltung ihrer Bibliothekssammlung entwickelt. Dies kann durch die Bemühungen einer engagierten Bibliotheksgemeinschaft motiviert sein, das in ihrem Besitz befindliche Wissen zu bewahren.
 
Wenn man die Sammlung als Daten begreift, kann das Konzept von der Produktionsseite der digitalen Datensammlung her betrachtet werden. Der Prozess der Nutzung von Bibliotheksbeständen kann auch vielfältig und komplex sein, wenn man sie als komplementäre Praktiken wie Text Mining, Datenvisualisierung, Mapping, Bildanalyse, Audioanalyse und Netzwerkanalyse interpretiert. Die resultierenden digitalen Daten können durch spezielle Analysen mit offenem Zugang genutzt und wiederverwendet werden. In diesem Fall wird die ethische Seite der Offenlegung von Informationen wichtig, da die Ergebnisse der erstellten Analyse der breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden müssen. Die Bibliothek ist ein Daten- und Informationszentrum (Pusdatin), das naturgemäß Daten sammelt, wenn es von seinen Geschäftsprozessen aus betrachtet wird. Da es jedoch bei immer mehr Informationen nicht einfach ist, Daten in begrenzter Zeit und mit limitierten Ressourcen zu verwalten, sind die Bibliotheksdatenlabors in britischen Bibliotheken eine Möglichkeit, Bibliothekar*innen und die Öffentlichkeit bei der Analyse der verfügbaren Daten zu unterstützen (Burke et al., 2018).
 
Die Nutzung der Offenlegung komplexer Daten oder offener Daten wird dazu beitragen, bessere Dienstleistungen für die Öffentlichkeit zu erbringen, indem komplexe Daten in Informationen umgewandelt werden, die besser verstanden und umgesetzt werden können. Die Einführung offener Daten und einer offenen Regierungspraxis wird ihren politischen, sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Aktivitäten und ihren Verwaltungseinrichtungen bestimmt größere Geltung verleihen (Abella u. a., 2019). Leider erkennen nicht alle Teile der Organisation den Wert der Datenoffenheit und ihr Potenzial.

Die Nutzung der Offenlegung komplexer Daten oder offener Daten wird dazu beitragen, bessere Dienstleistungen für die Öffentlichkeit zu erbringen, indem komplexe Daten in Informationen umgewandelt werden, die besser verstanden und umgesetzt werden können.

Madiareni Sulaiman

Für Fachbibliotheken ist es unbestreitbar notwendig, sich zu wandeln, um mit der Zeit Schritt zu halten. Diese Wandlung muss von zusätzlichen Kapazitäten bei den Informationsfachleuten begleitet sein, um die Informationen und Daten verwalten zu können. Im Allgemeinen sind Spezialbibliotheken eng mit Daten- und Informationszentren in Regierungsbehörden verbunden, und falls man sich auf Regierungsstellen konzentriert, ist ihre Umgestaltung in Übereinstimmung mit verschiedenen Vorschriften von wesentlicher Bedeutung (dem Mandat des Gesetzes Nr. 11 von 2019 des Nationalen Systems der Wissenschaft und Technologie [Artikel 40 in Bezug auf F&E-Daten-Hinterlegung], der Präsidialverordnung Nr. 39/2019 über One Data Indonesia und des Gesetzes Nr. 14/2008 über die Offenlegung öffentlicher Informationen [National System of Science and Technology, 2019; Präsidialverordnungen. Satu Data Indonesia, 2019; Public Information Disclosure, 2008]).
 
Offene Daten und eine offene Verwaltung könnten die Grundlage der Richtlinien der indonesischen Nationalbibliothek bilden, um die Weiterbildung der Bibliothekar*innen von Regierungs- und Nichtregierungsorganisationen zu unterstützen, die Kapazität zu erhöhen, Innovation zu fördern und den offenen Zugang zu Daten und die Transparenz der Verwaltung zu begünstigen.


Literaturhinweise

Abella, A., Ortiz-de-Urbina-Criado, M., & De-Pablos-Heredero, C. (2019). The Process of Open Data Publication and Reuse. Journal of the Association for Information Science and Technology, 70(3), 296–300. https://doi.org/10.1002/asi.24116

Burke, S., MacIntyre, R., & Stone, G. (2018). Library data labs: using an agile approach to develop library analytics in UK higher education. Information and Learning Science, 119(1–2), 5–15. https://doi.org/10.1108/ILS-05-2017-0035

Padilla, T., Allen, L., Varner, S., Potvin, S., Roke, E. R., & Frost, H. (2017). The Santa Barbara Statement on Collections as Data • Always Already Computational - Collections as Data. https://collectionsasdata.github.io/statement/

Keterbukaan Informasi Publik, Pub. L. No. 14 (2008).

Serah Simpan Karya Cetak dan Karya Rekam, Pub. L. No. 13 (2018).

Peraturan Presiden. Satu Data Indonesia, (2019).

Sistem Nasional Ilmu Pengetahuan dan Teknologi, Pub. L. No. 11 (2019).

Top