Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Libraries in Russia
Storytelling, poetry and hand washing

Russians are really incredible in their ability to think creatively. I have made a short list of practices that appeared in Russian libraries during the isolation period. Please welcome five digital case studies, showcased exclusively for the Goethe-Institut.

By Ilya Rogovenko

1. Tales by Phone

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 1 Poster text: ‘Call us and we will read your child a fairy tale!’ | Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0

The most popular library innovation of this COVID-19 season in Russia is ‘Tales by phone’. The idea is very simple: you can telephone the library, and one of the librarians will read a story to your (or someone else's) child. As a rule, the reading lasts from twenty to sixty minutes. The book is read to each child individually, and the librarians also take requests.

This simple idea has been extremely well-received among library users. The librarians who came up with the idea are in demand on radio and TV: almost all the mass media have reported on the initiative and the Minister of Culture mentioned them as an example of successful practice during the COVID epidemic.

2. Online Poetry Slam

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 2 Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0 During the quarantine, the number of online music concerts increased dramatically. Everything started moving online, and we immediately realised that this was an opportunity to gather together people from all over the country and beyond in one virtual place. We decided to try to work with poetry, and the ‘Link’ project offering online readings for poets was born.

It looks like this: several poets gather at the appointed hour in an online room. We use WhereBy because it looks cooler than Zoom. The hosts announce the poet, the poet reads their poems for 10-15 minutes, all this mixed with casual communication. The broadcast takes place on social networks, generating tens of thousands of views. Now more and more libraries are joining the project and offering their own formats, including literary discussions and storytelling evenings.

3. Online Festivals

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 3 Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0 Few people today can be surprised by an online lecture or masterclass. If you collect a lot of such events, it is quite possible to put on a fully-fledged online festival. This is very convenient, because instead of advertising several small events, you can advertise one large festival that will potentially provide an audience to everyone.

A good example is the ‘Color of Magic’ festival dedicated to the birthday of Terry Pratchett. This online festival lasted almost a week. One of the most important lessons from this festival is that the literary fan community are willing to participate in the organisation of such events and pay a key part in expanding audiences.

4. Digital Magazine

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 4 Top digital library magazine Culturise! | Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0 For one of the capital's library systems (an association of 30-35 libraries), the epidemic has become an important driver for bold personnel reforms. They decided to create an interlibrary editorial office staffed by regular librarians. The title of their project could be translated by the newly-coined verb, ‘Culturise’.

How did they manage to do this? The system's management announced a competition to join the editorial office. Any librarian could participate by completing a creative task, including writing an article on a given topic. In this way, seven of the most talented librarians were selected to form the editorial office. The editors began to publish high quality articles with enviable regularity on a new section of the library system's website. Short summaries of articles are published on social networks, directing visitors to the site, as well as attracting new users to the library's services.

5. Audiobooks + clean hands

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 5 Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0 What possible connection could there be between audio books and the coronavirus epidemic? Librarians in one Russian library suggested a collaboration with the Storytel audiobook service which is proving very popular. The librarians select passages of 30 seconds in length for people to listen to while washing their hands. Each time you wash your hands, you listen to a new excerpt that Storytel have provided for the project free of charge. Several such collections have now been compiled.

Many more digital projects were produced by Russian librarians, and new activities are continuing to appear. It seems that alongside the negative impact of the coronavirus, there is one real benefit: libraries have accelerated the development of their digital services and now there is no stopping them!

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digitale Bibliotheken in Russland
Geschichten erzählen, Gedichte und Hände waschen

In ihrer Fähigkeit, kreativ zu denken, sind Russ*innen wirklich unglaublich. Ich habe eine kurze Liste von Praktiken erstellt, die in russischen Bibliotheken während der Isolationsperiode geschaffen worden sind. Erfreuen Sie sich an fünf digitalen Fallstudien, die hier exklusiv für das Goethe-Institut präsentiert werden.

Von Ilya Rogovenko

1. Geschichten per Telefon

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 1 Plakattext: “Rufen Sie uns an, und wir lesen Ihrem Kind ein Märchen vor!” | Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0

 

In Russland heißt die beliebteste Bibliotheksinnovation dieser COVID-19-Saison "Geschichten per Telefon". Die Idee ist ganz einfach: Sie können die Bibliothek anrufen, und eine der Bibliothekar*innen liest Ihrem – oder einem anderen – Kind eine Geschichte vor. In der Regel dauert die Lesung zwanzig bis sechzig Minuten. Das Buch wird jedem Kind einzeln vorgelesen, und die Bibliothekar*innen nehmen auch Wünsche entgegen.

Diese einfache Idee ist bei den Bibliotheksbenutzer*innen sehr gut angekommen. Die Bibliothekar*innen, die diese Idee entwickelt haben, sind in Radio und Fernsehen gefragt: Fast alle Massenmedien haben über die Initiative berichtet, und die Kulturministerin nannte sie als Beispiel für eine erfolgreiche Tätigkeit während der COVID-Epidemie.

2. Online Poetry Slam

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 2 Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0 Während der Quarantäne nahm die Zahl der Online-Musikkonzerte dramatisch zu. Alles begann sich online zu verschieben, und wir erkannten sofort, dass dies eine Gelegenheit war, Menschen innerhalb und außerhalb des Landes an einem gemeinsamen virtuellen Ort zu versammeln. Wir beschlossen, mit Poesie zu arbeiten, und so entstand das "Link"-Projekt, das Dichtern Online-Lesungen anbietet.

Es sieht wie folgt aus: Mehrere Dichter versammeln sich zur festgesetzten Stunde in einem Online-Raum. Wir verwenden WhereBy, weil es cooler aussieht als Zoom. Die Gastgeber*innen kündigen die Dichter*innen an, die ihre Gedichte 10–15 Minuten lang vorlesen, und all dies ist von ungezwungener Kommunikation begleitet. Die Sendung findet in sozialen Netzwerken statt und generiert Zehntausende von Views. Immer mehr Bibliotheken nehmen am Projekt teil und bieten ihre eigenen Formate an, darunter literarische Diskussionen und Erzählabende.

3. Online Festivals

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 3 Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0

Nur wenige Menschen dürften heute über eine Online-Vorlesung oder einen Meisterkurs staunen. Wenn man viele solcher Veranstaltungen zusammenträgt, ist es durchaus möglich, ein vollwertiges Online-Festival zu veranstalten. Das ist sehr praktisch, denn statt für mehrere kleine Veranstaltungen kann man so für ein großes Festival werben, das potenziell jedem ein Publikum bietet.

Ein gutes Beispiel ist das Festival "Farbe der Magie", welches dem Geburtstag von Terry Pratchett gewidmet war. Dieses Online-Festival dauerte fast eine Woche. Eine der wichtigsten Lehren daraus ist, dass die literarische Fangemeinde bereit ist, sich an der Organisation solcher Veranstaltungen zu beteiligen und eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Erweiterung des Publikums zu spielen.

4. Eine Digitale Zeitschrift

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 4 Das Top-Magazin für digitale Bibliotheken! Culturise! | Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0

Für eines der Bibliothekssysteme der Hauptstadt (ein Zusammenschluss von 30–35 Bibliotheken) ist die Pandemie zu einem wichtigen Motor für mutige Personalreformen geworden. Man beschloss, ein interbibliothekarisches Redaktionsbüro einzurichten und mit regulären Bibliotheksmitarbeiter*innen zu besetzen. Der Titel dieses Projekts könnte mit dem neu geprägten Verb "Culturise" (Kulturieren) übersetzt werden.

Wie wurde dies erreicht? Die Verwaltung des Systems kündigte einen Wettbewerb für die Mitarbeit in der Redaktion an. Alle Bibliothekar*innen konnten sich beteiligen, indem sie eine kreative Aufgabe erledigten, die das Verfassen eines Artikels zu einem bestimmten Thema einschloss. Auf diese Weise wurden sieben der talentiertesten Bibliothekar*innen ausgewählt, die nun das Redaktionsbüro bilden. Die Herausgeber*innen begannen, qualitativ hochstehende Artikel mit beneidenswerter Regelmäßigkeit auf einem neuen Teilbereich der Webseite des Bibliothekssystems zu veröffentlichen. Kurze Zusammenfassungen von Artikeln werden in sozialen Netzwerken veröffentlicht, um Besucher*innen auf die Webseite zu leiten und neue Benutzer*innen für die Bibliotheksdienste zu gewinnen.

5. Hörbücher + saubere Hände

Ilya Rogovenko - Screenshot 5 Screenshot by Ilya Rogovenko | CC BY-SA 4.0

Welcher Zusammenhang könnte zwischen Hörbüchern und der Coronavirus-Pandemie bestehen? Bibliothekar*innen einer russischen Bibliothek schlugen eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Hörbuchdienst Storytel vor, die sich als sehr beliebt erwiesen hat. Die Bibliothekar*innen wählen Passagen von 30 Sekunden Länge aus, die man sich beim Händewaschen anhören kann. Jedes Mal, wenn man sich die Hände wäscht, hört man sich einen neuen Ausschnitt an, den Storytel für das Projekt kostenlos zur Verfügung stellt. Mehrere solche Sammlungen sind jetzt zusammengestellt.

Russischen Bibliothekar*innen haben zahlreiche weitere digitale Projekte erstellt, und es erscheinen laufend neue Aktivitäten. Es scheint, dass es neben all den negativen Auswirkungen des Coronavirus einen echten Gewinn gibt: Die Bibliotheken haben die Entwicklung ihrer digitalen Dienste beschleunigt, und sie sind nicht mehr aufzuhalten!

Top