Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Alejandra Quiroz Hernández
Emerging International Voices

Library Globetrotter based in Mexico, speaking her mind and spreading Library Love on Social Media.

Alejandra Quiroz Hernández private What’s a library to you?

Libraries are spaces for social transformation and personal growth. The services and information provided allow people to take informed decisions. They promote self-learning and continuous learning throughout life, making people become protagonists of their own learning.

What’s the single most essential thing you need in your everyday work?

I need information on libraries. I can’t begin the day without reading about libraries of the world at least for an hour. It’s something I do early in the morning to get inspired or just have some food for thought.

What was the most memorable experience you ever had in a library?

I’d say it’s watching people grow: from babies giving their first steps to a homeless man getting better by himself. People are at the core of library services. The most memorable experience was the Vasconcelos babies’ ensemble, a project built after a yearlong of sound exploration with babies and toddlers. We gifted our first public presentation on Children’s Day.
Alejandra Quiroz Hernández - Emerging International Voices for Library Advocacy. The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLA Goethe-Institut | created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

Statement on digital libraries
No roots for digital libraries in Mexico

In the political discourse of Mexico, it is constantly said that there is interest in creating a digital offer in various areas. However, it has been difficult for projects to endure, either due to lack of budget, vision or follow-up. The cultural issue is no exception.

 Alejandra Quiroz Hernández - Emerging International Voices for Library Advocacy. The Goethe-Institut Programme with IFLA Goethe-Institut | created with Canva | CC BY 4.0

Is there a recipe for a successful digital library?
Crossing the threshold: push-pull strategies in digital libraries

Too pushy? Sometimes libaries seem to push too hard to get attention. To consolidate communities around digital libraries, push-pull strategies should be considered when developing content of value for audiences.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Alejandra Quiroz Hernández
Ein Weltweites Netzwerk

Bibliotheken Weltenbummlerin ansässig in Mexiko, die ihre Meinung sagt und Bibliotheken-Liebe auf Social Media versprüht.  

Alejandra Quiroz Hernández private WAS IST/ BEDEUTET EINE BIBLIOTHEK FÜR DICH? 

Bibliotheken sind Räume für soziale Veränderungen und persönliche Entwicklung. Die angebotene Dienstleistung und Informationen ermöglicht den Menschen fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen. Sie fördern lebenslanges selbstlernendes und kontinuierliches Lernen, sie bringt die Menschen dazu Hauptdarsteller ihres eigenen Lernens zu werde.  

WAS IST DAS WICHTIGSTE, DAS DU ZUM TÄGLICHEN ARBEITEN BENÖTIGST? 

Ich brauche Informationen über Bibliotheken. Ich kann den Tag nicht starten ohne über Bibliotheken aus der ganzen Welt, zumindest für eine Stunde, gelesen zu haben. Das ist etwas, das ich früh am Morgen mache um inspiriert zu werden oder nur um einen Denkanstoß zu erhalten. 

WAS WAR DAS UNVERGESSLICHSTE ERLEBNIS, DAS DU JE IN EINER BIBLIOTHEK HATTEST?   

Ich würde sagen, zu sehen wie Menschen wachsen: Von Babies, die ihre ersten Schritte machen zu einem obdachlosen Mann, der durch sich selbst besser wird. Menschen sind das Kernstück von Bibliotheksdienstleistungen. Das unvergesslichste Erlebnis war das “Vasconcelos babies’ ensemble", ein Projekt, das nach einem Jahr Klangforschung mit Babie und Kleinkinder entstanden ist. Wir haben unsere erste öffentliche Präsentation am Kindertag gehalten.

Keine Wurzeln für digitale Bibliotheken in Mexiko

Im politischen Diskurs Mexikos wird immer wieder gesagt, dass ein Interesse an der Schaffung eines digitalen Angebots in verschiedenen Bereichen bestehe. Allerdings ist es für Projekte schwierig gewesen, Bestand zu haben, sei es aus Mangel an finanziellen Mitteln, Vision oder Follow-up.

Die Schwelle überschreiten: Push-Pull-Strategien in digitalen Bibliotheken

Um Gemeinschaften rund um digitale Bibliotheken zu vereinigen, sollte man bei der Entwicklung von Strategien und Inhalten, die für das Publikum wertvoll sind, Push-Pull-Strategien in Betracht ziehen.

Top