An Interview with Luc Tuymans Romanticism – a European phenomenon

The Belgian artist Luc Tuymans, born in 1958, is co-curator of an exhibition at the Dresden Albertinum in which he has four masters of European Romanticism encounter artistic positions of the present. In an interview he explains why this is often anything but Romantic.

Luc Tuymans (right) with the director of the New Masters Gallery, Professor Ulrich Bischoff, in front of Tuymans’s work “The Architect”; Luc Tuymans (right) with the director of the New Masters Gallery, Professor Ulrich Bischoff, in front of Tuymans’s work “The Architect”; | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, Galerie Neue Meister Mr Tuymans, does one catch the European zeitgeist with exhibitions about Romanticism?

You can at any rate find ideas in contemporary society that are similar to those of Romanticism. More and more people are developing, for example, a need for harmony, a desire for feeling and for a more intense experience of nature. They want the world to be, so to say, “healed”. These are thoughts, desires and ideas that also form central themes of Romanticism.

Romanticism inspires artists to this day

“Las Gigantillas” by Francisco de Goya; “Las Gigantillas” by Francisco de Goya; | © Museo Nacional del Prado, Madrid Does the Dresden exhibition, which brings together sixteen artists from 200 years of art history, show this?

The exhibition doesn’t treat Romanticism as a social desire for wellness or more experience of nature. That isn’t its theme. The theme is rather to delve more deeply into the Romantic epoch. It is, to begin with, a European exhibition. In Constable, Delacroix, Caspar David Friedrich and Goya, it presents a long forgotten time. In this sense, it doesn’t deal with current positions. Many artists of European Romanticism worked with light and darkness – for example, Caspar David Friedrich. In this they shook the established artistic ideas around 1800. The exhibition shows how these positions have inspired and influenced artists to this day. Cézanne, for example, related his work to the pictures of Delacroix; for David Claerbout, John Constable is an influence.
The video projection “The Quiet Shore” by David Claerbout, from the Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris; The video projection “The Quiet Shore” by David Claerbout, from the Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris; | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013 To what findings and insights should this delving into Romanticism lead?

We are, in terms of time, going back into the epoch of Romanticism, but actually of course there’s no going back in time. The exhibition leads to a response of Modernist and contemporary artists to then. The idea behind the exhibition is the question of how a visual perception of Europe can look. And in this sense it is also anti-Romantic, a confrontation with the real, if you like.

Loans and new works produced especially for the exhibition

“The Wounded Robber” by Eugène Delacroix; “The Wounded Robber” by Eugène Delacroix; | © Kunstmuseum Basel The idea of bringing Old Masters together with contemporary art is a popular staging device. How did you select the exhibited artists?

I’ve now been the curator of eight large projects, but I’ve initiated none of them. In each case I was asked to take on the task. So too this time: Ulrich Bischoff, the Director of the Gallery of the Old Masters, approached me with proposals for the Old Masters and other artists to be exhibited. These include loans from the Louvre in Paris, the Prado in Madrid and the Tate Britain in London. One of the seldom exhibited drawings of Goya on ivory comes from the Dresden State Art Collections.

David Claerbout, Jeff Wall, Gerhard Richter, Per Kirkeby and you yourself have produced new works especially for the exhibition. How did that come about?

The contemporary works contributed to the exhibition are by artists some of whose works the Albertinum already possesses. In 1998 the museum acquired my picture of a fallen skier entitled The Architect. It’s based on a photo of Albert Speer on winter holidays, which was shown in a television documentary. I photographed and altered it. The picture shows Speer, Hitler’s Minister of War, fallen down skiing. In my work I annihilated his identity. In place of his face is only a white hole. The work I did for the exhibition, on the other hand, is a very personal picture. It shows what I see everyday in Belgium at the door of my neighbour’s house: broken glass. I photographed this glass with an iPhone and then abstracted. Though the glass is in fact transparent, because of the abstraction it seems to be opaque.

When, like you, one was born and has grown up in Belgium, can one be a Romantic at all?

No, one can’t. We had eighty years of war, were repeatedly subjugated. One has to survive. Then there’s no time for Romanticism.

“Constable, Delacroix, Friedrich, Goya. A Shock to the Senses”
New Masters Gallery, Albertinum, Dresden
16.03.–14.07.2013

Exhibited artists: John Constable, Adolph Menzel, Max Liebermann, David Claerbout, Eugène Delacroix, Paul Cézanne, Per Kirkeby, Luc Tuymans, Caspar David Friedrich, Vilhelm Hammersøy, Mark Rothko, Gerhard Richter, Francisco de Goya, Èdouard Manet, Max Ernst, Jeff Wall.

Luc Tuymans im Interview Romantik, ein europäisches Phänomen

Der belgische Künstler Luc Tuymans, Jahrgang 1958, lässt im Dresdner Albertinum als Co-Kurator vier Meister der europäischen Romantik auf künstlerische Positionen der Gegenwart treffen. Im Gespräch erklärt er, warum dies oft alles andere als romantisch ist.

Luc Tuymans (rechts) mit dem Direktor der Galerie Neue Meister, Professor Ulrich Bischoff, vor Tuymans Arbeit „Der Architekt“; Luc Tuymans (rechts) mit dem Direktor der Galerie Neue Meister, Professor Ulrich Bischoff, vor Tuymans Arbeit „Der Architekt“; | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, Galerie Neue Meister Herr Tuymans, trifft man mit Ausstellungen zur Romantik den europäischen Zeitgeist?

Man kann in der heutigen Gesellschaft in jedem Fall Ideen und Vorstellungen finden, die denen der Romantik ähnlich sind. Immer mehr Menschen entwickeln beispielsweise ein Bedürfnis nach Harmonie, einen Wunsch nach Gefühl und nach intensiverer Naturerfahrung. Die Welt soll sozusagen „heil“ werden – das sind Gedanken, Wünsche und Vorstellungen, die auch zentrale Motive der Romantik bildeten.

Die Romantik inspiriert Künstler bis heute

„Las Gigantillas“ von Francisco de Goya; „Las Gigantillas“ von Francisco de Goya; | © Museo Nacional del Prado, Madrid Zeigt das die Ausstellung in Dresden, die Bilder von 16 Künstlern aus 200 Jahren Kunstgeschichte in Bezug zueinander bringt?

Die Ausstellung beschäftigt sich nicht mit der Romantik als einem sozialen Wunsch nach Wellness oder mehr Naturerfahrung. Das ist nicht ihr Motiv. Es ist vielmehr ein vertieftes Eindringen in die Epoche. Zunächst einmal ist sie eine europäische Ausstellung. Sie zeigt mit Constable, Delacroix, Caspar David Friedrich und Goya vier europäische Künstler einer längst vergangenen Zeit. Insofern werden keine aktuellen Positionen verhandelt. Viele Künstler der europäischen Romantik haben mit Licht und Dunkel gearbeitet, etwa Caspar David Friedrich. Damit haben sie in der Zeit um 1800 etablierte Bildvorstellungen erschüttert. Die Schau zeigt, wie diese Positionierungen bis heute Künstler inspirieren und prägen. Paul Cézanne bezog sich in seiner Arbeit zum Beispiel auf Bilder von Delacroix, bei David Claerbout wiederum spielt John Constable eine Rolle.

Die Videoprojektion „The Quiet Shore“ von David Claerbout aus dem Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris; Die Videoprojektion „The Quiet Shore“ von David Claerbout aus dem Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris; | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013 Zu welchen Erkenntnissen und Einsichten soll diese Vertiefung führen?

Wir gehen, zeitlich gesehen, zwar zurück in die Epoche der Romantik – aber tatsächlich gibt es natürlich kein Zurück in diese Zeit. Die Ausstellung führt zu einer Antwort der Künstler der Moderne und der Gegenwart auf damals. Die Idee der Ausstellung ist die Frage, wie eine visuelle Anschauung Europas aussehen kann. Und insofern ist sie auch anti-romantisch, eine Auseinandersetzung mit dem Realen, wenn Sie so wollen.

Leihgaben und eigens produzierte Arbeiten

„Der Verwundete Räuber“ von Eugène Delacroix; „Der Verwundete Räuber“ von Eugène Delacroix; | © Kunstmuseum Basel Die Idee, Alte Meister und Gegenwartskunst zusammenzubringen, ist ein beliebtes dramaturgisches Mittel. Wie kam es zur Auswahl der Künstler?

Ich habe inzwischen acht große Projekte kuratiert, davon aber keines selbst initiiert. Ich wurde jeweils gebeten, die Aufgabe zu übernehmen. So auch jetzt: Ulrich Bischoff, der Direktor der Galerie der Neuen Meister, hat mich angesprochen und auch die Alten Meister und die anderen in der Ausstellung vertretenen Künstler vorgeschlagen. Unter anderem sind Leihgaben aus dem Louvre in Paris, dem Prado in Madrid und der Tate Britain aus London zu sehen. Eine der ausgestellten seltenen Zeichnungen Goyas auf Elfenbein stammt aus den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden.

David Claerbout, Jeff Wall, Gerhard Richter, Per Kirkeby und Sie selbst haben eigens neue Arbeiten produziert. Wie kam es dazu?

Die für die Ausstellung geschaffenen Werke wurden von Gegenwartskünstlern beigesteuert, von denen das Albertinum bereits Arbeiten besitzt. Von mir hat das Museum 1998 das Bild eines gestürzten Skifahrers mit dem Titel Der Architekt erworben. Basis dafür ist ein Foto von Albert Speer, aus dem Winterurlaub, das in einem Dokumentarfilm im Fernsehen gezeigt wurde. Ich habe es von dort abfotografiert und umgeändert. Es zeigt Albert Speer, Hitlers Kriegsminister, der mit Skiern gestürzt ist. In meiner Arbeit habe ich seine Identität vernichtet. Statt seines Gesichts ist nur ein weißes Loch zu sehen. Die aktuelle Arbeit ist dagegen ein sehr persönliches Bild. Es zeigt, was ich zuhause in Belgien jeden Tag an der Tür des Nachbarhauses sehe: gebrochenes Glas. Ich habe dieses Glas mit dem iPhone abfotografiert und es dann abstrahiert. Obwohl Glas an sich transparent ist, wirkt es durch die Abstraktion undurchdringlich.

Kann man, wenn man in Belgien geboren und aufgewachsen ist wie Sie, überhaupt Romantiker sein?

Nein, kann man nicht. Wir hatten 80 Jahre Krieg, waren immer unter dem Joch. Man muss überleben. Da gibt es keine Zeit für Romantik.
 

„Constable, Delacroix, Friedrich, Goya. Die Erschütterung der Sinne“
Galerie Neue Meister im Albertinum, Dresden
16. März bis 14. Juli 2013

Künstler: John Constable, Adolph Menzel, Max Liebermann, David Claerbout, Eugène Delacroix, Paul Cézanne, Per Kirkeby, Luc Tuymans, Caspar David Friedrich, Vilhelm Hammersøy, Mark Rothko, Gerhard Richter, Francisco de Goya, Èdouard Manet, Max Ernst, Jeff Wall.