Otto Piene at the ZKM Elements and Experiments

Otto Piene was involved in the founding of the “ZKM – Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie” (the Center for Art and Media Technology) in Karlsruhe; since then he has always taken part in its exhibitions. Just before his 85th birthday, the ZKM had given the artist the opportunity to hold his first solo exhibition – entitled “Energiefelder” (Energy Fields).

Otto Piene; Otto Piene; | © Südpol-Redaktionsbüro/M. Conrads Otto Piene can remember his first artistic activity in Karlsruhe very clearly – in 1968 he had been invited to what was then a US Air Force base to release some sculptures that had been filled with helium into the air. It was the time when Piene discovered that the sky could be used as a space for art. For these Sky Art events dozens of people had to help - an activity Piene instigated to bring all kinds of social groups together. It was “the first step towards people getting involved in participating event art”, as the artist said on the occasion of his “Energy Fields” exhibition at the ZKM’s Museum of Contemporary Art in Karlsruhe in 2013.

It was above all these Sky Art events that brought international acclaim for the artist, who was born in 1928. The aim was to promote the awareness that “we live from the sky and that we eat from the sky”. A fine example of these spectacular works would be the rainbow that curved 125 metres into the sky above the closing ceremony at the 1972 Olympics in Munich.
Energy Fields. Otto Piene on his 85th birthday


Mythological moments

It is however all the more baffling that there was no documentation of his Sky Art events in his retrospective - a retrospective that has turned out to be rather modest as it only showcases 50 of his works. To compensate for this, curator Philipp Ziegler says, the “mythological moments” in Piene’s Sky Art works have been preserved in the ceramic works on display. After all, the artist considers these heavy, glazed clay tablets that have only come into being over the last few years to be the siblings of “light” Sky Art.

The thing however that strikes the viewer most when it comes to works like Frieze (2007) or Viereck Auflösung (2008) is the similarity the abstract motifs have with Piene’s works from the late 1950s and 1960s. Both works involve the raster screen technique Piene has been using since 1957 and which is symbolised by the yellow image called o.T. (1959/60). Back then the artist perforated cardboard screens with a hole punch to form a grid and then passed oil through it onto a screen to create a relief image.

Light ballets and fire images

As a member of the group of artists known as ZERO (1958–66) Piene devoted a great deal of his creative attention to experimenting with visual phenomena. “Elements” or “Energy” were concepts that enabled the members of the group to search for a contrast to what at that time was the prevailing “Art Informel” movement - a movement they felt dwelled upon the dark and dismal.

It was within this context that Piene made two discoveries: in his quest to find a way of documenting his raster images he allowed light from candles and petroleum lamps to shine through the perforated clay tablets and this is how his “Light Ballets” came into being. By causing them to move in a dark room they would then cast spots of light along the walls, floor and ceiling. Two excellent examples of this are being shown at the exhibition: Pirouetten (2012) and Four-Foot Light Cube Black (2012). At the same time Piene experimented with smoke signals; this is what led to his fire images that involved spraying a canvas with paint and then setting fire to it. In an act that was perceived as constructive he created works like Komet (1973) or Hot Mountain (1964/1974), in which the images take on an almost figure-like appearance. Otto Piene, Fleurs du Mal, 1969; Otto Piene, Fleurs du Mal, 1969; | © Otto Piene / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013, Photo: altengarten.de

Innovative aesthetics

Alongside the large-scale, pneumatic work, Fleurs du Mal (1969), there is also the 45-minute-long film entitled Black Gate Cologne which is the “living” heart of the exhibition, so to speak. In 1968 Piene worked together with the Italian-American artist, Aldo Tambellini, on a live-action project involving audience participation for a TV production for the Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR) station. The project made use, among other things, of light shows and films. The images were then later collaged in such a way that they paved the way for an innovative aesthetic approach to the depiction of electronic visual media.

Again and again Piene’s works have been compared to those of László Moholy-Nagy; in 1974 Piene took over the management of the Center for Advanced Visual Studies at Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge (USA) from Moholy-Nagy’s colleague, György Kepes.There is however hardly any mention or sign of this in the exhibition. Unfortunately the Energy Fields retrospective does not do justice to either the exhibition capacities of the ZKM or, more pertinently, to the significance of Piene for contemporary, inter-medial art.
 

After studying painting, art education and philosophy in Munich, Düsseldorf and Cologne, Otto Piene, born in Laasphe in 1928, made a name for himself as one of the founding members of group of artists known as ZERO. The group, which has been operating out of Düsseldorf since 1958 and to which Heinz Mack and Günther Uecker also belong, caused quite a stir back then when they rejected the “Art Informel” movement that was dominant in West Germany at that time. It gained international renown when it joined forces with other European artists living in other European countries, like Yves Klein and Piero Manzoni. When ZERO was dissolved in 1966 Piene spent more time teaching at universities in the USA. Piene’s works, which have been shown at many exhibitions and which change hands these days for a very high price, are considered to be particularly influential in the field of inter-medial art.

Otto Piene im ZKM Elemente und Experimente

Otto Piene hat 1990 an der Gründung des Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie (ZKM) in Karlsruhe mitgewirkt; seitdem war er dort immer wieder in Ausstellungen vertreten. Mit „Energiefelder“ wird dem Künstler kurz vor seinem 85. Geburtstag seine erste Einzelausstellung am ZKM zuteil.

Otto Piene; Otto Piene; | © Südpol-Redaktionsbüro/M. Conrads An seine erste künstlerische Tätigkeit in Karlsruhe erinnert sich Otto Piene genau: 1968 war er eingeladen, mit Helium gefüllte Skulpturen auf der damaligen U.S. Air Force Base in die Luft steigen zu lassen. Das war die Zeit, in der Piene den Himmel als Kunstraum entdeckte.

Bei diesen sogenannten Sky Art-Events mussten oft Dutzende von Personen mithelfen, wobei Piene bewusst verschiedene gesellschaftliche Gruppen zusammenführte. Ein „Einstieg in die partizipierende Event-Kunst“ sei dies gewesen, sagt der Künstler 2013 anlässlich seiner Ausstellung Energiefelder am Museum für Neue Kunst des ZKM in Karlsruhe.

Es waren vor allem die Sky Art-Events, die den 1928 geborenen Künstler international populär machten. Sie sollten das Bewusstsein schärfen, „dass wir vom Himmel leben und dass wir vom Himmel essen“. Die Bilder des 125 Meter hoch gewölbten Regenbogens, den Piene für die Abschlussfeiern der Olympischen Spiele 1972 in München bog, stehen für diese spektakulären Arbeiten.
Energiefelder. Otto Piene zum 85. Geburtstag


Mythologische Momente

Umso mehr verwundert es, dass die mit nur knapp 50 Arbeiten eher bescheiden ausgefallene Retrospektive Pienes auf eine Dokumentation seiner Sky Art-Arbeiten verzichtet hatte. Zum Ausgleich, so Kurator Philipp Ziegler, seien die „mythologischen Momente“ von Pienes Sky Art-Arbeiten auch in den ausgestellten keramischen Arbeiten aufgehoben. Immerhin sähe der Künstler die schweren, glasierten Tontafeln als Geschwister der „leichten“ Sky Art an.

Was an Arbeiten wie Frieze (2007) oder Viereck Auflösung (2008) jedoch vor allem auffällt, ist die Ähnlichkeit der abstrakten Motive zu Pienes Arbeiten aus den späten Fünfziger- und frühen Sechzigerjahren. Beide Werke bedienen sich jener Rastertechnik, die Piene seit 1957 anwandte und für die das die Ausstellung eröffnende gelbe Bild o.T. (1959/60) steht. Damals hatte der Künstler Papptafeln mit Locheisen in Rasterformationen perforiert und hierdurch Öl auf eine Leinwand gepresst, wodurch die Reliefbilder entstanden.

Lichtballette und Feuerbilder

Als Mitglied der Künstlergruppe ZERO (1958–66) widmete Piene dem Experiment mit visuellen Phänomenen die höchste Aufmerksamkeit. „Licht“, „Elemente“ oder „Energie“ waren Begriffe, mit denen die Mitglieder der Gruppe den Kontrast zum damals vorherrschenden, ihnen düster erscheinenden Informel suchten.

In diesem Rahmen machte Piene zwei Entdeckungen: Auf der Suche nach einer Möglichkeit, seine Rasterbilder zu dokumentieren, ließ er Licht von Kerzen und Petroleumlampen durch die perforierten Papptafeln hindurchscheinen und entwickelte daraus ab 1959 seine „Lichtballette“, bei denen sich im dunklen Raum bewegende Objekte Lichtpunkte an Wände, Boden und Decken werfen. Pirouetten (2012) und Four-Foot Light Cube Black (2012) geben in der Ausstellung hiervon Zeugnis. Etwa zeitgleich experimentierte Piene mit Rauchzeichen auf Papier; hieraus entstanden seine Feuerbilder, für die er mit Farbe besprühte Leinwände in Brand setzte. In einem konstruktiv verstandenen Akt entstanden hierbei Arbeiten wie Komet (1973) oder Hot Mountain (1964/1974) mit fast figürlichen Motiven. Otto Piene, Fleurs du Mal, 1969; Otto Piene, Fleurs du Mal, 1969; | © Otto Piene / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013, Foto: altengarten.de

Eine neuartige Ästhetik

Neben der großformatigen pneumatischen Arbeit Fleurs du Mal (1969) ist der 45-minütige Film Black Gate Cologne das – quasi lebendige – Herz der Ausstellung. Gemeinsam mit dem italo-amerikanischen Künstler Aldo Tambellini hatte Piene 1968 für eine Fernsehproduktion im Auftrag des Westdeutschen Rundfunks (WDR) eine Live-Aktion mit Publikumsbeteiligung realisiert, bei der unter anderem Lichtarbeiten und Filme zum Einsatz kamen. Die Aufnahmen wurden später so collagiert, dass eine neuartige Ästhetik elektronischer Bildmedien aufschien.

Die Nähe Pienes zu Arbeiten von László Moholy-Nagy ist immer wieder betont worden; von Moholy-Nagys Mitarbeiter György Kepes übernahm Piene 1974 die Leitung des Center for Advanced Visual Studies am Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge (USA). Diese Linie thematisiert die Ausstellung kaum. Eine Retrospektive am ZKM, die den Ausstellungskapazitäten des Hauses und nicht zuletzt der Bedeutung Pienes für die Gegenwart intermedialer Künste gerecht würde, ist Energiefelder leider nicht.
 

Otto Piene, 1928 in Laasphe geboren, wurde nach einem Studium der Malerei, Kunsterziehung und Philosophie in München, Düsseldorf und Köln als Gründungsmitglied der Künstlergruppe ZERO bekannt. Die seit 1958 von Düsseldorf aus wirkende Gruppe, zu der neben Piene Heinz Mack und Günther Uecker gehörten, erregte durch die Ablehnung des seinerzeit in Westdeutschland vorherrschenden Informel Aufsehen. Internationale Bekanntheit erlangte sie durch die Vernetzung mit Künstlern im europäischen Ausland wie Yves Klein oder Piero Manzoni. Nach Auflösung von ZERO 1966 vertiefte Piene seine Lehrtätigkeiten an Universitäten in den USA. Pienes in zahlreichen Ausstellungen gezeigte Werke werden bis heute hochpreisig gehandelt und gelten vor allem im Bereich der intermedialen Künste als einflussreich.