Art Critic Will Grohmann “In the Network of Modernism”

He was known as the “godfather of modernism”. Will Grohmann (1887-1968), one of the leading art critics of the twentieth century, was a force to be reckoned with throughout his life – strongly interpretive, influential and controversial. An exhibition staged by the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (27 September 2012 until 6 January 2013) is bringing him back into the public eye to mark the 125th anniversary of his birth – while at the same time allowing a historical excursus into the role of art criticism.

Exhibition view; Exhibition view; | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden/photographer: Herbert Boswank In 1924, the art writer and critic Will Grohmann penned one of the very first texts about Paul Klee, writing for the magazine Cicerone. Henceforth Klee and Grohmann were good friends, and the critic composed 40 further texts about the artist. Even today, they are valid and well worth reading.

Edmund Kesting: portrait Will Grohmann (1947); Edmund Kesting: portrait Will Grohmann (1947); | © Photo: Herbert Boswank / VG Bild-Kunst 2012 However, while Klee rose to fame and nowadays more than ever is a star of the exhibition industry, Grohmann dropped out of the public eye, despite the fact that he was once regarded as the “doyen of modernism” and the “leading art authority”. After all, he brought renown not only to Klee, but also to many other leading modernist artists, such as Kirchner, Kandinsky, Schmidt-Rottluff, Baumeister and Moore.

Demand for the critic’s verdict

In total, Grohmann published over 500 essays on more than 150 artists – including the big names of the twentieth century: Munch, Barlach, Braque, Matisse, Picasso, Miró. During the five decades of his career, he wrote 1,300 newspaper articles, overviews of twentieth century German and European art, countless catalogue forewords and critical reports. He started out by contributing articles to the Dresden Secession Group in 1919 and, at the ripe old age of nearly 80, was once again one of the first to write about Gerhard Richter, Horst Antes and Konrad Klapheck.

In the nineteen fifties and sixties, he was also one of the most influential German art critics to appear on radio and television. He died in 1968, a historically charged year. Did he slip into oblivion because a critic’s verdict no longer counted for much in view of the stylistic pluralism that was already emerging at the time and is still predominant today? Or because the only proof of quality necessary now is a work’s monetary value, which is driven upwards by the market, aided and abetted by mass media that are always hungry for a good story? Exhibition view; Exhibition view; | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden/photographer: Herbert Boswank

A successful network

What was the situation like when Will Grohmann began writing about modernist art after the First World War? How could he become so influential? Above all, this was thanks to the extensive network that the critic established. He corresponded with numerous artists, visited them in their studios, was friends with publishers and gallery owners, and arranged for works to be provided to museums and collectors. He was highly committed to his work, and always willing to engage.

The basis for the exhibition of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden at the Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau is several years of research, which included work on documents left by Grohmann and held in the Staatsgalerie Stuttgart. Some of his texts are available to read in a single volume – a real treasure. The exhibition uses works by artists whom the critic championed to illustrate various stages of his biography. It features all the big names that today make up the canon of modern art which Grohmann was involved in creating with sensitivity and ambition.
Will Grohmann: In the Network of Modernism (exhibition report, in German)

Not unproblematic

The spectrum ranges from the Die Brücke group of artists via the Bauhaus and Art Informel to Baselitz and Bacon, and also includes works from Grohmann’s private collection. This is nice to look at, but unexpectedly harmonious and not unproblematic. Not because not only masterpieces are on show – that is in fact rather informative – but above all because it is not made sufficiently clear how someone who wanted to write about art and make a living doing so was able to deal with the upheavals and shocking episodes of the century, and what stance he adopted in various political systems – the Weimar Republic, National Socialism and the divided Germany.

To mark the 125th anniversary of his birth, it was decided in Grohmann’s home city of Dresden that tribute should be paid to the critic rather than asking critical questions about him – no doubt partly because this vehement defender of abstract art had been declared an “enemy of the people” in the GDR. Positions became even more entrenched as a result of the public dispute in 1954 between him and the artist Karl Hofer over abstract versus representational art. It was only later, mainly thanks to paintings by Francis Bacon and the intervention of his gallerist, that Grohmann also acknowledged the qualities of representational painting.

Grohmann lived in Dresden until he was 60. Born in Bautzen, he read German studies, history and philosophy in Leipzig and Paris, worked as a grammar school teacher from 1914 until his dismissal in 1933, and survived the period of Nazi rule by writing adapted journalistic articles about literature and history. After 1945 he immediately took up cultural positions and became the rector of a newly established art academy, the Hochschule für Werkkunst. In 1948 Grohmann moved to West Berlin to teach at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste (i.e. University of Fine Arts) there. In addition, he co-organized the documenta I, II and III exhibitions, as well as the biennales in Venice, Sao Paulo and Paris. Exhibition view; Exhibition view; | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden/photographer: Herbert Boswank

Stories behind the pictures

The exhibition uses media stations to reveal – in a relatively inconspicuous manner – the history and the stories behind the pictures: visitors can leaf through a virtual photo album, read articles by Grohmann, take a look at his researched private collection or listen to radio contributions.

One extremely informative element is a 3D reconstruction of the 1946 General German Art Exhibition in Dresden. This exhibition, which was the first and only general German exhibition in the divided Germany, had been co-initiated and co-organized by Grohmann: not least in a bid to rehabilitate many of “his” artists about whom he had not been able to write during the Nazi period, their work having been ostracized as “degenerate art”.

Kunstkritiker Will Grohmann „Im Netzwerk der Moderne“

„Pate der Moderne“ wurde er genannt. Will Grohmann (1887–1968), einer der bedeutendsten Kunstkritiker des 20. Jahrhunderts, war zu Lebzeiten eine Instanz – deutungsmächtig, einflussreich und umstritten. Eine Ausstellung der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden (27. September 2012 bis 6. Januar 2013) rückt ihn anlässlich seines 125. Geburtstages wieder in die Öffentlichkeit – und ermöglicht zugleich einen historischen Exkurs zur Rolle von Kunstkritik.

Blick in die Ausstellung; Blick in die Ausstellung; | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden/Fotograf: Herbert Boswank Einen der ersten Texte, die über Paul Klee geschrieben wurden, hat der Kunstschriftsteller und Kritiker Will Grohmann 1924 für die Zeitschrift Cicerone verfasst. Klee und Grohmann waren seitdem gute Freunde. 40 weitere Texte hat der Kritiker über diesen Künstler geschrieben. Sie sind noch immer gültig und gut zu lesen.

Edmund Kesting: Porträt Will Grohmann (1947); Edmund Kesting: Porträt Will Grohmann (1947); | © Foto: Herbert Boswank / VG Bild-Kunst 2012 Doch während Klee berühmt wurde und heute mehr denn je ein Star des Ausstellungsbetriebs ist, geriet Grohmann aus dem Blickfeld. Dabei galt er einst als „Doyen der Moderne“ und „Kunstpapst“. Denn er hat nicht nur Klee, sondern viele namhafte Künstler der Moderne – wie Kirchner, Kandinsky, Schmidt-Rottluff, Baumeister, Moore – bekannt gemacht.

Das Kritikerurteil war gefragt

Insgesamt veröffentlichte Grohmann über 500 Aufsätze zu mehr als 150 Künstlern – darunter die Großen des 20. Jahrhunderts: Munch, Barlach, Braque, Matisse, Picasso, Miró. In den fünf Jahrzehnten seines Wirkens schrieb er 1.300 Zeitungsbeiträge, Überblicksdarstellungen zur deutschen und europäischen Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts, unzählige Katalogvorworte und kritische Berichte. Er begann mit Beiträgen zur „Dresdner Sezession Gruppe 1919“ und schrieb fast 80-jährig – wiederum als einer der ersten – über Gerhard Richter, Horst Antes oder Konrad Klapheck.

In den Fünfziger- und Sechzigerjahren war er als einer der deutungsmächtigsten deutschen Kunstkritiker auch in Radio und Fernsehen präsent. Gestorben ist er im geschichtsträchtigen Jahr 1968. Geriet er in Vergessenheit, weil angesichts des damals sich schon abzeichnenden und heute vorherrschenden Stilpluralismus ein Kritikerurteil nur noch wenig zählt? Weil als Qualitätsbeweis nun der Geldwert genügt, den der Markt in die Höhe treibt und Massenmedien quoteneifrig kolportieren?
Blick in die Ausstellung; Blick in die Ausstellung; | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden/Fotograf: Herbert Boswank

Ein erfolgreiches Netzwerk

Wie war das, als Will Grohmann nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg sein Schreiben über die Kunst der Moderne begann? Wie konnte er so einflussreich werden? Es ist vor allem das umfangreiche Netzwerk, das der Kritiker aufbaute. Er korrespondierte mit zahlreichen Künstlern, besuchte sie in den Ateliers, er war mit Verlegern und Galeristen befreundet, vermittelte Werke an Museen und Sammler. Er engagierte sich und ließ sich engagieren.

Die Ausstellung der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden in der Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau basiert auf einer mehrjährigen Forschungsarbeit, unter anderem zu Grohmanns Nachlass, der sich in der Staatsgalerie Stuttgart befindet. Ein Schriftenband macht einen Teil seiner Texte zusammenschauend nachlesbar. Das ist ein Schatz. In der Ausstellung werden mit Werken von Künstlern, für die sich der Kritiker einsetzte, Etappen seiner Biografie abgesteckt. All die großen Namen sind vertreten, die heute den Kanon der Moderne bilden, an dem Grohmann ebenso einfühlend wie ehrgeizig mitwirkte.
Will Grohmann: Im Netzwerk der Moderne (Ausstellungsbericht)

Nicht unproblematisch

Von der Künstlergruppe „Die Brücke“ über das Bauhaus und das Informel bis Baselitz und Bacon spannt sich der Bogen. Darunter auch Werke aus der privaten Sammlung Grohmanns. Das ist schön anzusehen, aber unerwartet harmonisch und nicht unproblematisch. Nicht deshalb, weil nicht nur Meisterwerke zu sehen sind – das ist sogar aufschlussreich. Sondern vor allem, weil zu wenig nachvollziehbar wird, wie einer, der über Kunst schreiben und davon leben wollte, die Aufbrüche und schockierenden Abgründe dieses Jahrhunderts bewältigte, wie er sich in mehreren politischen Systemen – Weimarer Republik, Nationalsozialismus und geteiltes Deutschland – positionierte.
Blick in die Ausstellung; Blick in die Ausstellung; | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden/Fotograf: Herbert Boswank Anlässlich seines 125. Geburtstages hat man sich in Grohmanns Heimatstadt Dresden entschieden, den Kritiker mehr zu würdigen als kritisch zu befragen: wohl auch deshalb, weil der vehemente Verfechter einer abstrakten Kunst in der DDR zur Feindfigur erklärt worden war. Der 1954 öffentlich ausgetragene Streit zwischen ihm und dem Künstler Karl Hofer über abstrakte contra figürliche Kunst verhärtete die Fronten. Erst später, vor allem durch Bilder von Francis Bacon und vermittelt durch dessen Galeristen, erkannte Grohmann auch Qualitäten figürlicher Malerei an.

Bis zu seinem 60. Lebensjahr lebte Grohmann in Dresden. In Bautzen geboren, hatte er in Leipzig und Paris Germanistik, Geschichte, Philosophie studiert, war 1914 bis zu seiner Entlassung 1933 als Gymnasiallehrer angestellt, überlebte die Zeit des Nationalsozialismus mit angepassten journalistischen Beiträgen über Literatur und Geschichte. Nach 1945 übernahm er sogleich kulturelle Ämter, wurde Rektor einer neu gegründeten Hochschule für Werkkunst. 1948 siedelte Grohmann nach West-Berlin über, um dort an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste zu lehren. Zudem war er Mitorganisator der Documenta I, II und III sowie der Biennalen in Venedig, São Paulo und Paris. Blick in die Ausstellung; Blick in die Ausstellung; | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden/Fotograf: Herbert Boswank

Geschichten hinter den Bildern

Geschichte und die Geschichten hinter den Bildern werden in der Ausstellung eher unauffällig mit Medienstationen vermittelt: Der Besucher kann in einem virtuellen Fotoalbum blättern, Artikel Grohmanns nachlesen, sich seine recherchierte Privatsammlung vor Augen führen oder Radiobeiträge hören.

Außerordentlich aufschlussreich ist eine 3-D-Rekonstruktion der Allgemeinen Deutschen Kunstausstellung 1946 in Dresden. Diese erste und einzige gesamtdeutsche Ausstellung im geteilten Deutschland hatte Grohmann mitinitiiert und -organisiert: nicht zuletzt, um viele „seiner“ Künstler, über die er während der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus nicht schreiben konnte, weil ihr Werk als „Entartete Kunst“ verfemt wurde, zu rehabilitieren.