Sculptor Fritz Koenig Turns 90 Showing So We Can Understand

Portrait Fritz Koenig
Portrait Fritz Koenig | Photo: Dr. Karl-Heinz Rothenberger

Form language may have changed over the years and decades, but sculptor Fritz Koenig has always dedicated himself to the big existential themes and questions. Whereas his sculptures are installed worldwide, the artist himself remained deeply rooted in his homeland of Lower Bavaria.

When you enter the Landshut Sculpture Museum in Hofberg, a museum devoted to showing Fritz Koenig’s work and collection since 1998, you notice a handprint on one of the bricks of the exposed wall. This is by no means the signature of the artist-donor. Rather, we could interpret it as a greeting and gesture by the artist. The artifact refers to the so-called “Feierabendziegel” (‘closing-time brick’) which was an unbaked clay brick with a handprint, a tradition formerly used to mark the last piece of the workday. Even when such literally tangible cues in Koenig’s work are not within easy grasp of the viewer, trace elements from ethnology, liturgical pieces or African sculpture infuse his oeuvre, as well as observations of human and animal and of his own life. Life-forms and experience are rendered visually – not in a narrative, but rather in a reductionist way. His abstractions remove the subjective and individual character of things in order to ultimately make a universally valid statement. His focus is on the great themes of life: the inevitable cycle of coming-into-being and passing away, of love and death, emerges in his sculptures, preparatory drawings and cardboard reliefs with a severity of content and form. The horse – with and without a rider, as well as a mixture of both – is an important motif in Koenig’s work. For the artist, who also breeds thoroughbred Arabians, sculptures of horses are by far the most beautiful.

Between Landshut and elsewhere

Koenig was born in Würzburg in 1924 and at the age of five moved to Landshut with his mother. He studied with Professor Anton Hiller at the Munich Academy of the Arts and subsequently became a tenured professor of sculpture at the Technical University in Munich. He can look back on a busy career of extensive travel and international shows. Landshut, however, has always been his home. The museum of this city, a former ducal residence, provides a glimpse on a small scale of the larger works that are admired all over the world. At the entrance we are greeted by Golgatha, the multi-figured sculpture from 1956 where bodies unite and blend into one another and become a whole without losing their shape. The work shows multiplicity subdued into unity. In his sculptures, Koenig makes do with the geometrical forms of a sphere, a cube and a cylinder – the forms to which Paul Cézanne felt all of nature could be reduced. Koenig’s 1982 Memorial of the Federal Republic of Germany for the former Mauthausen concentration camp in Austria is the most poignant example of this reduction of form. Placed at the very angle where two monumental rusted surfaces meet, a sphere and rods join to form a single reclining figure that finds its final resting place here. Seen within the context of the mass murders that took place, it is as though this unique creature gave back each and every victim their dignity.
 
Slideshow: Sculptures by Fritz Koenig
 

The drawings as accompanying medium

Koenig’s drawings support the sculptural work and yet remain a separate medium in their own right. The draftsmanship here seems to be free from the gravity of the topics as well as from the sheer weight of the material. White raised surfaces shape the contours into sculpted bodies on the paper. Nuanced thoughts about figuration, movement and the universal theme of mating flow into the pictographic script, and become annotations of an idea.

A reluctant memorial

In hindsight, a dark premonition hovers over the series of paper cuts entitled “Beben” that was created in the 1990s. The paper is crinkled, as are the two stylized twin towers. What must Koenig have thought when he saw images of the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks? He was very familiar with the site: in 1967 he had been commissioned to create a three-dimensional piece to be placed against the monumental towers in the World Trade Center but the size of the work was not to tower over a human being. The result was a 7.60 meter (25 feet) high ‘spheral caryatide” that turned on its own axis every half-hour and, set in a fountain, seemed to emerge from the water. When “The Sphere” – as the bronze sculpture is known in the U.S. – was recovered from the rubble, it was damaged but not destroyed. Now in a fragile condition, the sculpture has been installed, contrary to its original location, as an exhibit at the memorial site in the nearby Battery Park.

Bildhauer Fritz Koenig wird 90 Vorzeigen zumutbarer Dinge

Portrait Fritz Koenig
Portrait Fritz Koenig | Foto: Dr. Karl-Heinz Rothenberger

Die Formensprache mag sich über die Jahre und Jahrzehnte gewandelt haben, doch waren es stets die großen, existenziellen Themen und Fragestellungen, denen sich der Bildhauer Fritz Koenig gewidmet hat. Während seine Werke weltweit ausgestellt wurden, blieb der Künstler selbst in der niederbayerischen Heimat tief verwurzelt.

Betritt man das Landshuter Skulpturenmuseum im Hofberg, das sich seit 1998 dem Werk und der Sammlung von Fritz Koenig widmet, fällt ein Handabdruck in einem der Ziegel der unverputzten Backsteinwand auf. Es ist nicht etwa die Signatur des Künstlers und Stifters, vielmehr darf man es als Gruß und Geste von ihm verstehen, denn es handelt sich bei dem historischen Fundstück um einen sogenannten Feierabendziegel. Mit diesen haben Ziegeleiarbeiter einst einen ungebrannten Tonziegel als letzten eines Tagewerks mit einem Abdruck gekennzeichnet. Auch wenn solche buchstäblich greifbaren Anregungen im Werk Koenigs nicht vordergründig zu finden sind, so fließen doch Belege aus der Ethnologie, liturgisches Gerät oder afrikanische Plastik mit ein, ebenso wie Beobachtungen von Mensch und Tier und dem eigenen Leben. Lebensformen und Erfahrungen werden sichtbar gemacht – nicht narrativ, sondern eher reduktiv: Koenig abstrahiert alles Subjektive, Individuelle, sodass am Ende eine Aussage allgemeiner Gültigkeit steht. Es sind die großen Themen des Lebens, die unabdingbare Abfolge von Werden und Vergehen oder Liebe und Tod, die in den Plastiken, begleitenden Zeichnungen und Kartonreliefs mit inhaltlich wie formaler Strenge verhandelt werden. Auch das Pferd – mit und ohne Reiter oder als Mischform – ist ein wichtiges Motiv Koenigs, denn Pferde, so der Künstler und Züchter von Vollblutarabern, seien überhaupt die schönsten Skulpturen.

Zwischen Landshut und anderswo

Mit fünf Jahren kam der 1924 in Würzburg geborene Koenig mit seiner Mutter nach Landshut. Nach einem Studium bei Anton Hiller an der Münchener Akademie der Bildenden Künste hatte er eine Professur für Plastisches Gestalten an der Technischen Universität München inne. Koenig kann auf eine rege Reise- und internationale Ausstellungstätigkeit verweisen. Gelebt hat er jedoch immer in Landshut. So kann man nun im Museum der ehemaligen Residenzstadt Landshut im Kleinen betrachten, was in größeren Dimensionen auf der ganzen Welt Beachtung findet. Zu Beginn steht die vielfigurige Menschenplastik Golgatha von 1956, in der sich die Körper verbinden und einander durchdringen, in der sie Eins werden ohne dabei an Gestalt zu verlieren: sie zeigt das Bändigen der Vielfältigkeit in der Einheit. Koenig kommt bei seinen Skulpturen mit dem geometrischen Formenvokabular von Kugel, Kubus und Zylinder aus – Formen von denen Paul Cézanne meinte, dass auf sie die gesamte Natur zurückgeführt werden könne. Das von Koenig 1982 entworfene Mahnmal der Bundesrepublik Deutschland im ehemaligen Konzentrationslager Mauthausen (Österreich) ist wohl das ergreifendste Beispiel dieser Formenreduktion. In einem Winkel, in dem zwei groß dimensionierte, rostige Ebenen zusammentreffen, fügen sich eine Kugel und Stäbe zu einer einzelnen Figur, die hier die letzte Ruhe gefunden hat. Angesichts des Massenmordes ist es, als ob jene singuläre Kreatur jedem einzelnen Opfer seine Würde zurückgeben würde.
 
Bildergalerie: Skulpturen von Fritz Koenig
 

Zeichnung als begleitendes Medium

Die Zeichnungen Koenigs begleiten das plastische Werk zwar, bleiben aber ein eigenständiges Medium. Die Hand scheint hier befreit vom Gewicht der Themen wie des Materials. Weiße Lichtflächen modellieren die Linien zu plastischen Körpern auf dem Papier. In den Werken fließen die Gedanken über Figuration, Bewegung und das ewige Thema der Paarung differenziert dahin und werden zu Aufzeichnungen einer Idee.

Mahnmal wider Willen

Aus heutiger Sicht schwingt bei der Scherenschnitt-Reihe Beben, entstanden in den 1990er-Jahren, eine dunkle Vorahnung mit. Das Papier ist geknittert, ebenso die beiden stilisierten Zwillingstürme. Was mag sich Fritz Koenig wohl gedacht haben, als er die Bilder nach den Anschlägen vom 11. September 2001 gesehen hat? Der Ort war ihm durchaus vertraut, 1967 war er beauftragt worden, am Areal des World Trade Centers in New York den mächtigen Türmen plastisch etwas entgegenzusetzen und dennoch bei einer Dimension zu bleiben, die den Menschen nicht zusätzlich überwältigt. Fortan drehte sich die 7,60 Meter hohe Kugelkaryatide inmitten einer Brunnenanlage halbstündlich einmal um ihre eigene Achse und wirkte dabei, als würde sie aus dem Wasser aufsteigen. Als man The Sphere – wie man die Bronzeskulptur in den USA nennt – aus den Trümmern geborgen hatte, war sie beschädigt, jedoch nicht zerstört. In ihrer Versehrtheit wurde sie nun, entgegen ihrer ursprünglichen Bestimmung, zum Ausstellungsstück der Gedenkstätte im nahe gelegenen Battery Park.