Exhibition “Beuys Brock Vostell” Work and Influence

Bazon Brock, “The Line of Hamburg”. Joint Action of Bazon Brock and Friedensreich Hundertwasser at the Academy of Fine Arts in Hamburg, 18th-20th December 1959.
Bazon Brock, “The Line of Hamburg”. Joint Action of Bazon Brock and Friedensreich Hundertwasser at the Academy of Fine Arts in Hamburg, 18th-20th December 1959. | Photo: Photo-graphic Witting, © Bazon Brock, © 2014 Hundertwasser Archive, Vienna

Each of them produced an extensive œuvre, they were friends with one another and appeared together at important actions. The Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe (ZKM) has now dedicated an exhibition to the three major German action artists Joseph Beuys, Bazon Brock and Wolf Vostell that throws light on their central role in post-war art and in particular performative art.

The experience of the Second World War was formative for many artistic positions; in the cases of Beuys, Brock and Vostell it was long to form a thematic focus; they always remained political. If colleagues found their means of expression in the abstract painting of Art Informel, for the three it was about seeing off traditional media so as to extend the concept of the “work”; it was about sculpture as action and, above all things, the inclusion of the public. All three found a form of teaching that resulted in changing their reception. They agitated and argued, demonstrated and discussed. While Joseph Beuys, quite the missionary, organised his actions before the public, in most of Vorstell’s actions the public was requested to participate actively, and Bazon Brock comported himself ambivalently towards the issue. Today the latter, who is still perceived primarily as art educator of the nation, sometimes assumed the role of actor, and sometimes that of animator.

Exhibition “Beuys Brock Vostell” – Video guide with Bazon Brock

Honey pump and Starfighter

Brock, the only survivor of the triad, sums it up as follows: he had influence, but no work; Vorstell, a work but no influence; and Beuys, both work and influence. At the heart of the exhibition are the actions in which all three took part: for example, the Festival of New Art in Aachen on 20 July 1964, the 24-hour happening at the Galerie Parnass in Wuppertal, telecasts such as the series Drehscheibe (ie, Hub) and the Documenta 6 in 1977. At the latter large-scale event in Kassel, Beuys installed the Honey Pump at the Workplace and used the space as a permanent forum for discussion. There for the second time Brock also opened his “visitors’ school”, which taught an understanding of contemporary art, while Vostell’s contribution originally intended to set a Starfighter on the roof of the Fridericanum, but was foiled by the authorities, who felt uneasy about its political sensitivity. As if a posthumous satisfaction, the combat aircraft now hovers in the atrium of ZKM. In addition, with the work Transmigración (1958), the museum presents a new accession to the collection’s holdings. It is one of the first works in the history of art in which a television is an integral part of the work. Vorstell was a pioneer not only in the participative arts.

Of course, the actions that went under the names of Fluxus, happening and Agit-Pop make up only a part of each artist’s œuvre. As if in explanation, individual works of the three artists, who were actually quite different in their approaches, have been integrated into the Karlruhe show. The beginnings of Germany’s contribution to performance art, on the other hand, can be illustrated only by means of relicts, written and photographic documents, and film records.
 
Slide show: Beuys Brock Vostell
 

Long-cherished plan

“We can prepare a meaningful, hard-hitting publication BBV (Beuys Brock Vostell) all the better with plenty of texts and posters. Give us some time for this.” wrote Vostell to Brock on Christmas 1964 about the deliberations of the triumvirate on manifesting their joint actions in the form of a book. And time they have been given. Fifty years later, the ZKM is now working on this important book project and is thus also setting the capstone to their thematic focus on the beginnings of performativity and participation. As before in the exhibition Moments and Franz Erhard Walther. Raum durch Handlung (ie, Franz Erhard Walther. Space through Action) (both in 2012), Peter Weibel, Director of the ZKM, wanted to fulfil the museum’s obligation to “supply a memory of the historical conditions of current trends and work them up for discussion”.
 

Joseph Beuys, born in 1921 in Krefeld, died in 1986 in Düsseldorf, is considered one of the most influential figures of German post-war art. The main concern of his “social sculpture” was art’s influence on political and social changes.

Bazon Brock, born in 1936 in Stolp, studied German literature, philosophy and political science, and taught aesthetics and cultural mediation in Hamburg, Vienna and Wuppertal. In addition to his “visitors’ school” at the documenta 4 (1968), 5 (1972) and 6 (1977), Brock is known to a wide audience as moderator of the series Bilderstreit (ie, Iconoclastic Controversy), broadcast by 3Sat from 1997 to 2008.

Wolf Vostell, born in 1932 in Leverkusen, died in 1998 in Berlin, was an apprentice in lithography and then received his artistic training in Paris und Düsseldorf. He is regarded as one of the most important German figures of Fluxus and happening art, and also as a pioneer of video art. Central elements of his œuvre are décollage, blurring and works in concrete.


Beuys Brock Vostell – Aktion. Partizipation. Performance (ie, Beuys Brock Vostell – Action, Participation, Performance) will be published by Hatje Cantz in October 2014.

Ausstellung „Beuys Brock Vostell“ Werk und Wirkung

Bazon Brock, „Die Linie von Hamburg“. Gemeinsame Aktion von Bazon Brock und Friedensreich Hundertwasser an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg, 18.–20. Dezember 1959.
Bazon Brock, „Die Linie von Hamburg“. Gemeinsame Aktion von Bazon Brock und Friedensreich Hundertwasser an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg, 18.–20. Dezember 1959. | Foto: Photo-Graphik-Witting, © Bazon Brock, © 2014 Hundertwasser Archiv, Wien

Jeder von ihnen verfügt über ein umfangreiches Werk, sie waren miteinander befreundet und traten bei wichtigen Aktionen gemeinsam auf. Das Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe (ZKM) widmet den drei bedeutenden deutschen Aktionskünstlern Joseph Beuys, Bazon Brock und Wolf Vostell eine Ausstellung und beleuchtet damit ihre zentrale Rolle in der Kunst der Nachkriegszeit und darüber hinaus für die performativen Künste.

Die Erfahrungen des Zweiten Weltkrieges waren für viele künstlerische Positionen des 20. Jahrhunderts prägend. Im Falle von Beuys, Brock und Vostell sollten sie noch lange einen thematischen und politischen Schwerpunkt der Arbeit ausmachen. Hatten andere Kollegen ihren Ausdruck in der Malerei im abstrakten Informell gefunden, ging es den dreien darum, sich von den herkömmlichen Medien zu verabschieden. Es ging ihnen um eine Erweiterung des Werkbegriffes, um Skulptur als Handlung und vor allem um eine Miteinbeziehung des Publikums. Alle drei hatten für sich eine Form der Lehre gefunden, die auf eine Rezeptionsveränderung hinauslief. Es wurde agitiert und argumentiert, demonstriert und diskutiert. Während Joseph Beuys, ganz Missionar, seine Aktionen vor dem Publikum veranstaltete, forderte Vostell in den meisten seiner Aktionen dazu auf, selbst aktiv teilzunehmen. Bazon Brock verhielt sich diesbezüglich ambivalent. Er, der heute noch vornehmlich als Kunstvermittler der Nation wahrgenommen wird, nahm mal die Rolle des Akteurs und mal die des Animators ein.

Ausstellung „Beuys Brock Vostell“ – Videoführung mit Bazon Brock

Honigpumpe und Starfighter

Brock habe Wirkung ohne Werk, Vostell Werk ohne Wirkung. Beuys hingegen habe Werk und Wirkung, fasst es Brock, der einzige noch Lebende der Trias, heute zusammen. Im Zentrum der Ausstellung im ZKM stehen Aktionen, an denen alle drei beteiligt waren, beispielsweise das Festival der Neuen Kunst am 20. Juli 1964 in Aachen, das 24-Stunden-Happening in der Galerie Parnass in Wuppertal, Fernsehsendungen, wie Drehscheibe oder die Teilnahme an der Documenta 6 im Jahr 1977. Beuys installierte damals die Honigpumpe am Arbeitsplatz und nutzte die Räumlichkeit als permanentes Diskussionsforum. Bazon Brock öffnete zum zweiten Mal auf der Kasseler Großveranstaltung seine Besucherschule, in der ein Verständnis für zeitgenössische Kunst vermittelt werden sollte. Wolf Vostells ursprünglicher Beitrag sah vor, ein Kampfflugzeug vom Typ Starfighter auf das Dach des Fridericanums zu setzen, was an den Behörden und deren Unbehagen ob einer politischen Brisanz scheiterte. Gleichsam als posthume Genugtuung schwebt das Kampfflugzeug nun im Lichthof des ZKM. Zudem präsentiert das Museum mit dem Werk Transmigración von 1958 einen Neuzugang des Sammlungsbestandes. Es ist eines der ersten Werke der Kunstgeschichte überhaupt, in dem ein Fernseher integraler Bestandteil der Arbeit ist. Nicht nur in den partizipativen Künsten war Vostell ein Pionier.

Freilich machten jene Aktionen, die unter den Begriffen Fluxus, Happening und Agitprop firmieren, nur einen Teil des jeweiligen Werkes aus. Gleichsam zur Erklärung sind Einzelwerke der drei, in ihren Ansätzen doch recht unterschiedlichen Künstler, in die Ausstellung integriert. Der Beginn von Deutschlands Beitrag zur Performance-Kunst hingegen kann nur mittels Relikten, schriftlichen wie fotografischen Dokumenten und filmischen Aufzeichnungen veranschaulicht werden.
 
Bildergalerie: Beuys Brock Vostell
 

Lang gehegter Plan

„Umso besser können wir eine sinnvoll-schlagkräftige Publikation BBV (Beuys Brock Vostell) vorbereiten mit viel Text, ebenfalls Plakat. Lass uns etwas Zeit dafür“, schreibt Vostell zu Weihnachten 1964 an Brock zu den Überlegungen des der drei, ihre gemeinsamen Aktionen in einem Buch zu manifestieren. Zeit gelassen hat man sich in der Tat. Fünfzig Jahre später arbeitet das ZKM nun an diesem wichtigen Projekt und setzt damit auch den Schlusspunkt seines thematischen Schwerpunktes zu den Anfängen der Performativität und Partizipation. Wie bereits mit der Ausstellung Moments und Franz Erhard Walther. Raum durch Handlung (beide im Jahr 2012) wollte Peter Weibel, Direktor des Museums, der Aufgabe nachkommen, „das Gedächtnis zu liefern und die historischen Voraussetzungen zu aktuellen Tendenzen und Diskussionen aufzuarbeiten“.
 

Joseph Beuys, geboren 1921 in Krefeld, gestorben 1986 in Düsseldorf, gilt als Künstler und Professor an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie als einer der einflussreichsten Protagonisten der Deutschen Nachkriegskunst. Zentrales Anliegen seiner „Sozialen Plastik“ war die Einflussnahme der Kunst auf politische und gesellschaftliche Veränderungen.

Bazon Brock, geboren 1936 in Stolp (heute Słupsk, Polen), studierte Germanistik, Philosophie und Politikwissenschaften und unterrichtete Ästhetik und Kulturvermittlung in Hamburg, Wien und Wuppertal. Neben seiner Besucherschule auf der Documenta 4 (1968), 5 (1972) und 6 (1977) ist Brock einem breiten Publikum durch seine Moderation der 1997 bis 2008 ausgestrahlten Reihe Bilderstreit des Sender 3Sat bekannt.

Wolf Vostell, geboren 1932 in Leverkusen, gestorben 1998 in Berlin, absolvierte seine künstlerische Ausbildung nach einer Lithografielehre in Paris und Düsseldorf. Er gilt als einer der wichtigsten deutschen Protagonisten von Fluxus und Happening und als Pionier der Videokunst. Zentrale Bestandteile seines Werkes sind Dé-collagen, Verwischungen, sowie das Arbeiten mit Beton.

Beuys Brock Vostell – Aktion. Partizipation. Performance, Hrsg. Peter Weibel, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe, mit einer Einleitung von Peter Weibel. Deutsch 2014. ca. 500 Seiten, ca. 700 Abb.