Neue Nationalgalerie “Expansion of the Combat Zone”: Who’s Afraid of Red, Yellow and Blue

“Extension of the combat zone. The collection. 1968-2000“, Neue Nationalgalerie Berlin, in front: Anselm Kiefer “Mohn und Gedächtnis” 1989, back: Werner Tübke „Frühbürgerliche Revolution in Deutschland, 1979-81“ Draft version 1:10 of the panoramic painting in Bad Frankenhausen
“Extension of the combat zone. The collection. 1968-2000“, Neue Nationalgalerie Berlin, in front: Anselm Kiefer “Mohn und Gedächtnis” 1989, back: Werner Tübke „Frühbürgerliche Revolution in Deutschland, 1979-81“ Draft version 1:10 of the panoramic painting in Bad Frankenhausen | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, Photo: Sigrun Hellmich

In this third selection of its works on show the Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin turns its attention to how artists addressed conflicts of society in the years 1968 – 2000.

What is the museum’s collecting policy for new acquisitions? Who makes the purchase decisions – in an art world with changing hype phases and exploding prices? The Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin is putting its cards on the table. And it is high time it did so. After more than 40 years the museum, that was built by Mies van der Rohe and opened in 1968, is no longer able to present its grown collection on 20th century art in an aesthetically appropriate form. It will be closed to the public as from 2015 for an extensive renovation lasting several years.

The extension plans have not yet been finally approved. This, however, is not the only reason for the museum’s exhibition trilogy that has been showcasing parts of the collection over several years. It also has to do with international standing. It is important to realise that artworks were collected differently in Berlin, say the curators. Up until the fall of the Berlin wall the Nationalgalerie was a divided museum. It has been reunited since 1990, but the way the collection grew in the East and in the West was based on different ideologies concerning art.

Neither museum nor artworks are neutral and objective

The third presentation – after Moderne Zeiten (Modern Times) (1900-1945) and Der geteilte Himmel (Divided Heaven) that addressed the post-war period – bears the provoking title Ausweitung der Kampfzone (Expansion of the combat zone). It sounds rather like a smart marketing scheme. But the reference to the German title of Michel Houellebecq’s novel Extension du domaine de la lutte, where Houellebecq’s protagonists are left depressed as a result of economic and sexual liberalism, has first and foremost been chosen to signify that neither museum nor art show neutrality. Within the short period of the last 30 years of the previous century, raging changes took place: these were brought about by the student movement, sexual liberation, armament rivalry, the threat of nuclear war, terrorism, environmental issues, the fall of the Berlin wall and the downfall of socialism. Driven by globalism, computerisation and the economic quantification of all domains of life. Do we find this reflected in art? The answer the exhibition gives is yes, and yes again.
 
  • Katharina Sieverding: Schlachtfeld Deutschland XI/78, 1978 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013, Foto: Jens Ziehe
    Katharina Sieverding: Schlachtfeld Deutschland XI/78, 1978 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie
  • Bruce Nauman „Double Poke in the Eye II“, 1985, courtesy: Friedrich Christian Flick Collection im Hamburger Bahnhof © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013, Foto: Stefan Altenburger, Zürich
    Bruce Nauman „Double Poke in the Eye II“, 1985, courtesy: Friedrich Christian Flick Collection im Hamburger Bahnhof
  • Joseph Beuys: Richtkräfte einer neuen Gesellschaft, 1974-1977 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013, Foto: Jens Ziehe
    Joseph Beuys: Richtkräfte einer neuen Gesellschaft, 1974-1977 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie
  • Gerhard Richter: Studio, 1985 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie © Gerhard Richter, Foto: Jörg P. Anders © Gerhard Richter 2014
    Gerhard Richter: Studio, 1985 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie

It started with a utopian dream

At the beginning of the exhibition we see blackboards bearing cryptic writing that are mounted on easels or lying on the ground. This space-consuming installation Directive Forces for a New Society (1974) by Joseph Beuys is set up in the foyer, between the bookshop and the ticket counter. This is the place where Beuys, the shaman-artist und campaigner for a “social sculpture” once purposely placed the installation outside the actual showrooms, in protest against the museum’s acquisition policy in 1977. Now it is part of the exhibition.

The next room goes on to show the different ways in which art responds to societal conflicts. The photographer Wolfgang Tillmans was irritated by the number of pictures of soldiers in American and European newspapers. Collected, enlarged and pinned to the wall, it is a study into mediated portrayal: Soldiers – the Nineties. In 1986 Andy Warhol turned the military camouflage pattern into a meter-long abstract all-over design. Jenny Holzer had the words The Beginning of the War will be Secret engraved on a small memorial plate. The simple name Soldaten (Soldiers) is the title given to this first of altogether 18 topics in which 100 selected artworks are displayed. In the combat zone Atelier paintings by Gerhard Richter, Sigmar Polke and blunt concrete sculptures by Isa Genzken stand face to face.

Battlefield Germany and the Painting Maschine

Moving on we find Katharina Sieverding’s Schlachtfeld Deutschland (1978) (Battlefield Germany). A violet-alienated enlarged photo of the anti-terror unit GSG 9, who successfully stormed an aircraft hijacked by RAF terrorists in 1977. To the other side is Rebecca Horn’s Malmaschine (1991) (Painting Machine). Replacing the artist, an equally ingenious and subtle artist’s invention splashes paint onto the wall. Other artists, such as Marina Abramovic and Carolee Schneemann, chose the excessive use of their own bodies in the nineteen seventies to make their contribution to art history. Ulrike Rosenbach shoots at an image of the Madonna that she had superimposed with her own face.

Who’s afraid of colour

Right in the centre of the exhibition, with almost religious reference, is Barnett Newman’s Who’s Afraid of Red, Yellow and Blue IV (1969/70), one of the major works of the Nationalgalerie’s collection. When purchased in 1982 for 1.2 million US dollars, with the support of Freunde der Nationalgalerie, it caused a public scandal. Several other works are on loan from private collectors. Bruce Nauman’s large stand installation is part of the Flick collection.

Anselm Kiefer’s Lead Bomber (1989) and his moving painting Maikäfer flieg! (May bug, fly!) belong to the Marx collection. Werner Tübke’s 1:10 Draft (1979–81) for the 123-metre long monumental panorama “Frühbürgerlichen Revolution in Deutschland“ (Early Bourgeois Revolution in Germany) and works of Wolfgang Mattheuer are from the GDR Nationalgalerie. Now shown together they are without ideological rigidity.

When works of Martin Kippenberger, Michel Majerus, Neo Rauch und Jason Rhoades come together under the title Ausgebrannt (burnt out), this is to refer to arguments for and against the art of painting.

Works by Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons and Andreas Gursky end the exhibition – their high price being more talked about than what they are saying.
 

Expansion of the Combat Zone. 1968–2000. The Collection Part 3
until end of 2014

Neue Nationalgalerie „Ausweitung der Kampfzone“: Keine Angst vor Rot, Gelb, Blau

„Ausweitung der Kampfzone. Die Sammlung. 1968-2000“, Neue Nationalgalerie Berlin, vorne: Anselm Kiefer „Mohn und Gedächtnis“ 1989, hinten: Werner Tübke „Frühbürgerliche Revolution in Deutschland, 1979-81“ Entwurfsfassung 1:10 für das Panorama in Bad Frankenhausen
„Ausweitung der Kampfzone. Die Sammlung. 1968-2000“, Neue Nationalgalerie Berlin, vorne: Anselm Kiefer „Mohn und Gedächtnis“ 1989, hinten: Werner Tübke „Frühbürgerliche Revolution in Deutschland, 1979-81“ Entwurfsfassung 1:10 für das Panorama in Bad Frankenhausen | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, Foto: Sigrun Hellmich

Die Neue Nationalgalerie Berlin zeigt in der dritten Präsentation ihrer Sammlung, wie sich Künstlerinnen und Künstler in den Jahren von 1968 bis 2000 zu gesellschaftlichen Konflikten positionierten.

Was sammelt ein Kunstmuseum und warum? Wer entscheidet über Ankäufe – angesichts wechselnder Hypes und explodierender Preise? Die Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin bekennt Farbe. Und das muss sie auch. Der 1968 eröffnete Museumsbau von Ludwig Mies van der Rohe bleibt ab 2015 wegen Sanierung für mehrere Jahre geschlossen. Er kann die gewachsene Sammlung zur Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts nach mehr als 40 Jahren weder quantitativ noch ästhetisch zur Geltung bringen.

Ein geplanter Erweiterungsbau muss legitimiert werden. Aber nicht nur deshalb führt eine mehrjährige Ausstellungs-Trilogie Teile der Sammlung prononciert vor. Es geht auch um die internationale Positionierung. In Berlin wurde anders gesammelt, betonen die Kuratoren. Bis zum Mauerfall war in der geteilten Stadt auch die Nationalgalerie geteilt. Seit 1990 ist die zuvor in West und Ost nach unterschiedlichen kulturpolitischen Maßgaben erweiterte Sammlung wiedervereinigt.

Weder Museum noch Kunst sind neutral

Die dritte Sammlungspräsentation – nach Moderne Zeiten (1900–1945) und Der geteilte Himmel (zu den Nachkriegsjahren) – provoziert nun mit dem Titel Ausweitung der Kampfzone. Das klingt nach geschicktem Marketing. Der Bezug zum gleichnamigen Roman des umstrittenen französischen Autors Michel Houellebecq, der seine Protagonisten an den Folgen von Wirtschafts- und Sexualliberalismus scheitern lässt, soll aber vor allem signalisieren: Weder Museum noch Kunst sind neutrales Terrain. In der kurzen Zeitspanne der letzten 30 Jahre des zu Ende gegangenen 20. Jahrhunderts rasen die Veränderungen – ausgelöst durch Studentenbewegung, sexuelle Befreiung, Rüstungswettstreit, Atomkriegsgefahr, Terrorismus, Umweltprobleme, Mauerfall und Untergang des Sozialismus, vorangetrieben durch Globalisierung, Computerisierung und Ökonomisierung aller Lebensbereiche. Findet sich das in der Kunst wieder? Ja, und nochmals ja, behauptet die Ausstellung.
 
  • Katharina Sieverding: Schlachtfeld Deutschland XI/78, 1978 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013, Foto: Jens Ziehe
    Katharina Sieverding: Schlachtfeld Deutschland XI/78, 1978 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie
  • Bruce Nauman „Double Poke in the Eye II“, 1985, courtesy: Friedrich Christian Flick Collection im Hamburger Bahnhof © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013, Foto: Stefan Altenburger, Zürich
    Bruce Nauman „Double Poke in the Eye II“, 1985, courtesy: Friedrich Christian Flick Collection im Hamburger Bahnhof
  • Joseph Beuys: Richtkräfte einer neuen Gesellschaft, 1974-1977 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2013, Foto: Jens Ziehe
    Joseph Beuys: Richtkräfte einer neuen Gesellschaft, 1974-1977 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie
  • Gerhard Richter: Studio, 1985 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie © Gerhard Richter, Foto: Jörg P. Anders © Gerhard Richter 2014
    Gerhard Richter: Studio, 1985 Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie

Am Anfang war Utopie

Den Ausstellungsauftakt bilden kryptisch beschriebene Schiefertafeln auf Staffeleien und auf dem Boden. Die raumgreifende Installation Richtkräfte einer neuen Gesellschaft (1974) von Joseph Beuys ist im Foyer zwischen Buch-Shop und Kasse zu sehen. Dort, außerhalb der eigentlichen Schauräume, hatte sie Beuys, der Kunst-Schamane und Kämpfer für eine „soziale Plastik“ 1977 aus Protest gegen die Ankaufspolitik des Museums ausgebreitet. Nun ist sie drin: Die Installation ist regulärer Teil der Sammlungspräsentation.

Wie unterschiedlich Kunst auf gesellschaftliche Konflikte reagiert, zeigt der Fotograf Wolfgang Tillmans. Er war irritiert von den vielen Soldatenfotos in amerikanischen und europäischen Zeitungen. Gesammelt und vergrößert an die Wand gepinnt, führen sie mediale Raster vor Augen: Soldiers – The Nineties. Andy Warhol stilisierte 1986 das militärische Tarnmuster zu einem meterlangen abstrakten Allover-Design. Jenny Holzer ließ The Beginning of the War will be Secret in ein kleines Gedenkschild gravieren. Schlicht und einfach „Soldaten“ lautet die Überschrift für diesen ersten von insgesamt 18 Themenkomplexen der Ausstellung, in denen 100 ausgewählte Werke zu sehen sind. In der Kampfzone „Atelier“ treffen Gemälde von Gerhard Richter, Sigmar Polke und spröde Betonskulpturen von Isa Genzken aufeinander.

Schlachtfeld Deutschland und Malmaschine

Blickt man weiter, bekommt man das Schlachtfeld Deutschland (1978) von Katharina Sieverding zu sehen. Ein großgezogenes, violett verfremdetes Foto der Antiterroreinheit GSG 9, die ein von RAF-Terroristen 1977 entführtes Flugzeug erfolgreich stürmte. Gegenüber erblickt man die Malmaschine (1991) von Rebecca Horn. Anstelle eines Künstlers spritzte eine ebenso ausgeklügelte wie sinnliche und hintergründige Erfindung einer Künstlerin Farbe auf die Wand. Andere Künstlerinnen – wie Marina Abramovic und Carolee Schneemann – setzten in den 1970er-Jahren exzessiv den eigenen Körper ein, um ihren Part an der Kunstgeschichte zu behaupten. Ulrike Rosenbach schoss auf ein Madonnenbild, das sie mit dem eigenen Gesicht überblendete.

Keine Angst Farbe zu bekennen

Fast sakral im Zentrum der Ausstellung wird Barnett Newmans Who’s Afraid of Red, Yellow and Blue IV (1969/70) platziert, eines der Hauptwerke der Nationalgalerie. Sein Ankauf für 1,2 Millionen US-Dollar mit Hilfe der Freunde der Nationalgalerie löste 1982 einen öffentlichen Skandal aus. Nicht wenige andere Werke sind lediglich Leihgaben privater Sammler. Bruce Naumans große Tribünen-Installation etwa gehört zur Flick-Collection.

Anselm Kiefers Blei-Bomber (1989) und sein berührendes Gemälde Maikäfer flieg! gehören zur Sammlung Marx. Werner Tübkes 1:10-Entwurf (1979–81) für das 123 Meter lange vielfigurige Panorama zur „Frühbürgerlichen Revolution in Deutschland“ und Bilder von Wolfgang Mattheuer stammen aus der DDR-Nationalgalerie. Ihre Zusammenschau erfolgt jetzt ohne ideologische Deklaration.

Wenn unter der Überschrift „Ausgebrannt Werke“ von Martin Kippenberger, Michel Majerus, Neo Rauch und Jason Rhoades zusammentreffen, wird auf Kämpfe für und gegen die Malerei angespielt. Die Ausstellung endet mit Arbeiten von Damien Hirst, Jeff Koons und Andreas Gursky, deren hoher Preis ihren Sinn überstrahlt.
 

Ausweitung der Kampfzone. 1968–2000. Die Sammlung Teil 3, Neue Nationalgalerie Berlin,
bis Ende 2014